Databases

Our databases contain a wide variety of medical information resources: journal articles, statistics, images, government information, and more. Browse the alphabetical list of database titles or search for terms that appear in the database descriptions. Click here to see which ones are mobile-compatible.

Major Databases

A listing of our top-used databases.

Search Databases:

 

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

View All...

What Do I Have Access To?

Choose By User Type

Choose By Resource Type

"TMC Non-Academic User" Access Level Databases

Currently, the Library has 175 databases for the TMC Non-Academic User Access Level.

1000 Genomes

1. 1000 Genomes



AARP Country Profiles

2. AARP Country Profiles



Affordable Care Act (ACA) Resources

3. Affordable Care Act (ACA) Resources



Agricola

4. Agricola



ALFRED: The Allele Frequency Database

5. ALFRED: The Allele Frequency Database



Allen Brain Atlas

6. Allen Brain Atlas



Altmetrics

7. Altmetrics



American Association of Poison Control Centers

8. American Association of Poison Control Centers



American Hospital Directory

9. American Hospital Directory



Anatomy Atlases

10. Anatomy Atlases



Approved Drug Products with Therapeutic Equivalence Evaluations (Orange Book)

11. Approved Drug Products with Therapeutic Equivalence Evaluations (Orange Book)



arXiv

12. arXiv

  • Provider: Cornell University Library
  • Contents: e-prints , free
  • Access Levels: Fee-Based Member , Free , Non-Registered TMC User , On-Site Visitor , Online Visitor , Open Access , TMC Academic User , TMC Non-Academic User
  • Descriptions: Provides open access to e-prints in physics, mathematics, non-linear science, computer science, and quantitative biology. Started in August 1991, arXiv.org (formerly xxx.lanl.gov) is a highly-automated electronic archive and distribution server for research papers. Users can retrieve papers from arXiv either via the web interface, or by sending commands to the system via e-mail. Authors can use a web form to submit their papers and can also update their submissions if they choose, though previous versions remain available. Users can register to automatically receive a listing via email of newly submitted papers in areas of interest to them.
  • Keywords: biology | computers | open access | physics | research


ASH (American Society of Hematology) Image Bank

13. ASH (American Society of Hematology) Image Bank

  • Provider: American Society of Hematology
  • Contents: full text , images , index , open access
  • Access Levels: Fee-Based Member , Free , Non-Registered TMC User , On-Site Visitor , Online Visitor , Open Access , TMC Academic User , TMC Non-Academic User
  • Descriptions: "The American Society of Hematology (ASH) Image Bank is intended to serve as a comprehensive reference and teaching tool that is widely accessible to physicians and hematology students around the world. The images are presented in a digital, case-based format that allows both images and text to be searched, cross-referenced, and hyperlinked to other cases as well as other educational resources, including Hematology, the Society's annual meeting Education Program Book, the ASH Teaching Cases and the syllabus from the ASH Self-Assessment Program. In addition to the case studies, the Image Bank includes a collection of basic atlas images. This project is a major outreach effort to the clinical and academic community, defined as members of ASH, internists, clinical pathologists, pediatricians, hematologists and oncologists."
  • Keywords: education | figures


Atlas of Ophthalmology

14. Atlas of Ophthalmology



Background Notes/Country Fact Sheets

15. Background Notes/Country Fact Sheets



BestBETS: Best Evidence Topics

16. BestBETS: Best Evidence Topics



Bioethics Research Library at Georgetown University: ETHXWeb database

17. Bioethics Research Library at Georgetown University: ETHXWeb database



BioethicsWeb

18. BioethicsWeb

  • Provider: Wellcome Library, Joint Information Systems Committee, University of Nottingham
  • Contents: free , links , links to full text , open access , websites
  • Access Levels: Fee-Based Member , Free , Non-Registered TMC User , On-Site Visitor , Online Visitor , TMC Academic User , TMC Non-Academic User
  • Descriptions: Gateway to evaluated, quality Internet resources relating to biomedical ethics, including ethical, social, legal and public policy questions arising from advances in medicine and biology, issues relating to the conduct of biomedical research, and approaches to bioethics. BioethicsWeb is part of Intute, "...a free online service providing access to Web resources for education and research. The service is created by a network of UK universities and partners. Subject specialists select and evaluate the websites in our database and write high quality descriptions of the resources." BioethicsWeb is also affiliated with the BIOME life sciences hub and the Resource Discovery Network (RDN). It is developed and managed by the Wellcome Library for the History and Understanding of Medicine at the Wellcome Trust.
  • Keywords: animal | bioethics | biomedical ethics | open access


Biology Image Library

19. Biology Image Library



BioMart  Bio Portal

20. BioMart Bio Portal



BioMed Central

21. BioMed Central



BioMed Experts

22. BioMed Experts

  • Provider: Elsevier
  • Contents: free , interactive
  • Access Levels: Fee-Based Member , Free , Non-Registered TMC User , On-Site Visitor , Online Visitor , Open Access , TMC Academic User , TMC Non-Academic User
  • Descriptions: BioMed Experts is a scientific-literature-based social networking site. "BME connects biomedical researchers to each other through the display and analysis of each scientist’s co-author network, allowing scientists and researchers across organizations to collaborate in new and time-saving ways. BME is available as a free online community to individuals while value-added services are provided for institutional customers." Free registration is required, and fully functional access is now restricted: "If you have published at least three papers over the last ten years that have been indexed in the PubMed database, you can validate your pre-calculated expert profile and network in a simple, 4-step wizard after you register. If you have not published in PubMed over the last ten years, you can still register, search, and network with researchers you know."
  • Keywords: biomedical research | citation analysis | collaborative | open access | research | science | scientist | social networking


BioMedSearch.com

23. BioMedSearch.com



BLAST (NCBI)

24. BLAST (NCBI)



Canary Database: Animals as Sentinels of Human Environmental Health Hazards

25. Canary Database: Animals as Sentinels of Human Environmental Health Hazards



Cancer Portals (American Society of Clinical Oncology)

26. Cancer Portals (American Society of Clinical Oncology)



CAS Source Index (CASSI) Search Tool

27. CAS Source Index (CASSI) Search Tool



Cases Database

28. Cases Database



CDC WONDER

29. CDC WONDER



Cell Press Free Archive

30. Cell Press Free Archive



Cell, The: An Image Library

31. Cell, The: An Image Library



Center for Biological Sequence Analysis

32. Center for Biological Sequence Analysis



Centre for Reviews and Dissemination

33. Centre for Reviews and Dissemination



ChemID Plus

34. ChemID Plus



CHEMM: Chemical Hazards Emergency Medical Management

35. CHEMM: Chemical Hazards Emergency Medical Management



ChemSpider: Building Community for Chemists

36. ChemSpider: Building Community for Chemists



CIRRIE - Center for International Rehabilitation Research Information and Exchange

37. CIRRIE - Center for International Rehabilitation Research Information and Exchange



Clinical Queries (PubMed)

38. Clinical Queries (PubMed)



ClinicalTrials.gov

39. ClinicalTrials.gov



Cochrane Summaries (Cochrane Reviews)

40. Cochrane Summaries (Cochrane Reviews)



Common Chemistry

41. Common Chemistry



Compilation of Presidential Documents

42. Compilation of Presidential Documents



Complementary and Alternative Therapies (MedlinePlus)

43. Complementary and Alternative Therapies (MedlinePlus)



dbGaP (Database of Genotypes and Phenotypes)

44. dbGaP (Database of Genotypes and Phenotypes)



DBGET search

45. DBGET search



DermAtlas.org (Dermatology Image Atlas)

46. DermAtlas.org (Dermatology Image Atlas)



Dietary Supplement Label Database

47. Dietary Supplement Label Database



Digital Commons@The Texas Medical Center

48. Digital Commons@The Texas Medical Center



Digital National Security Archive

49. Digital National Security Archive



Directory of Health Organizations (DIRLINE)

50. Directory of Health Organizations (DIRLINE)



Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB)

51. Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB)



Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)

52. Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)



Disaster Information Management Research Center

53. Disaster Information Management Research Center



DPDx - Laboratory Identification of Parasites of Public Health Concern

54. DPDx - Laboratory Identification of Parasites of Public Health Concern



Drug Information Portal (NLM)

55. Drug Information Portal (NLM)



DrugBank

56. DrugBank



EBooks on EBSCOHost

57. EBooks on EBSCOHost



Environmental Health and Toxicology (Specialized Information Services)

58. Environmental Health and Toxicology (Specialized Information Services)



European Patent Office (Espacenet) Patent Search

59. European Patent Office (Espacenet) Patent Search



Eye Pathologist, The

60. Eye Pathologist, The



F1000 Posters

61. F1000 Posters



F1000 Research

62. F1000 Research



FDA Drugs

63. FDA Drugs



FDA Maude Database

64. FDA Maude Database



FDA Poisonous Plant Database

65. FDA Poisonous Plant Database

  • Provider: U.S. Food and Drug Administration
  • Contents: brief records , indexing , links
  • Access Levels: Fee-Based Member , Free , Non-Registered TMC User , On-Site Visitor , Online Visitor , Open Access , TMC Academic User , TMC Non-Academic User
  • Descriptions: "This database contains references to the scientific literature describing studies of the toxic properties and effects of plants and plant parts." A search result contains full citation information and, where applicable, links to PubMed abstracts. The most immediately informative links here, however, are the links from the records into the Germplasm Resources Information Network (GRIN.) In GRIN, records give information on taxonomy, common names, distributional range, and economic importance, as well as supplying links to outside references, web-based information and images.
  • Keywords:


FDsys

66. FDsys



Federal Register

67. Federal Register



FedStats

68. FedStats



FlyBase: A Database of Drosophila Genes and Genomes

69. FlyBase: A Database of Drosophila Genes and Genomes



Frontiers

70. Frontiers



Gene Ontology (GO) project

71. Gene Ontology (GO) project



Genetics Home Reference

72. Genetics Home Reference



Geneva Foundation for Medical Education and Research

73. Geneva Foundation for Medical Education and Research



GenomeNet

74. GenomeNet



GigaDB

75. GigaDB



Global Ethics Observatory

76. Global Ethics Observatory



Global Health Data Exchange (GHDx) - Institute for Health Metrics and Evaluation (IHME)

77. Global Health Data Exchange (GHDx) - Institute for Health Metrics and Evaluation (IHME)



Google Scholar

78. Google Scholar



GoPubMed

79. GoPubMed



GQuery: Global Cross-database NCBI Search

80. GQuery: Global Cross-database NCBI Search



GreenFile (TexShare)

81. GreenFile (TexShare)



Grey Literature Report

82. Grey Literature Report



Guide to Grammar and Writing

83. Guide to Grammar and Writing



Herbs and Supplements Information (MedlinePlus)

84. Herbs and Supplements Information (MedlinePlus)



HighWire Press Free Online Full-Text Articles

85. HighWire Press Free Online Full-Text Articles



IMAIOS: e-Anatomy, e-Cases, e-Courses

86. IMAIOS: e-Anatomy, e-Cases, e-Courses



Index to Chiropractic Literature

87. Index to Chiropractic Literature



Index-Catalogue of the Library of the Surgeon-General's Office. US Army.

88. Index-Catalogue of the Library of the Surgeon-General's Office. US Army.



IntegromeDB

89. IntegromeDB



InteliHealth

90. InteliHealth



Interactive Fly, The

91. Interactive Fly, The



ION (Index to Organism Names)

92. ION (Index to Organism Names)



IUPAC Compendium of Chemical Terminology (Gold Book)

93. IUPAC Compendium of Chemical Terminology (Gold Book)



J-STAGE

94. J-STAGE



Just Free Books

95. Just Free Books



KEGG (Kyoto Encyclopedia of Genes and Genomics)

96. KEGG (Kyoto Encyclopedia of Genes and Genomics)



LactMed: Drugs and Lactation Database

97. LactMed: Drugs and Lactation Database



Let’s Ask 4: Questions for Consumers and Providers About Health Insurance

98. Let’s Ask 4: Questions for Consumers and Providers About Health Insurance



Medical Subject Headings (MeSH)

99. Medical Subject Headings (MeSH)



Medline (PubMed)

100. Medline (PubMed)



MedlinePlus

101. MedlinePlus



Medscape

102. Medscape



Mendeley

103. Mendeley



Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy, The

104. Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy, The



Merck Manual: Home Health Handbook for Patients & Caregivers

105. Merck Manual: Home Health Handbook for Patients & Caregivers



Merck Veterinary Manual

106. Merck Veterinary Manual



MerckMedicus

107. MerckMedicus



National Cancer Institute Website

108. National Cancer Institute Website



National Criminal Justice Reference Service

109. National Criminal Justice Reference Service



National Guideline Clearinghouse

110. National Guideline Clearinghouse



Nature.com Databases and Gateways

111. Nature.com Databases and Gateways



NCBI (National Center for Biotechnology Information)

112. NCBI (National Center for Biotechnology Information)



NCBI Bookshelf

113. NCBI Bookshelf



NCMIR - National Center for Microscopy and Imaging Research

114. NCMIR - National Center for Microscopy and Imaging Research



NDB: Nucleic Acid Database

115. NDB: Nucleic Acid Database



Neuroimaging Informatics Tools and Resources Clearinghouse (NITRC)

116. Neuroimaging Informatics Tools and Resources Clearinghouse (NITRC)



NeuroMorpho.Org

117. NeuroMorpho.Org



Neuroscience Information Framework

118. Neuroscience Information Framework



NeuroSynth (beta)

119. NeuroSynth (beta)



New England Journal of Medicine (NEJM)

120. New England Journal of Medicine (NEJM)



NewspaperCat

121. NewspaperCat



NextBio Basic

122. NextBio Basic



NIH Data Sharing Repositories

123. NIH Data Sharing Repositories



NIH RePORTER

124. NIH RePORTER



NIOSH (National Institute for Occupational Health and Safety)

125. NIOSH (National Institute for Occupational Health and Safety)



NLM Gallery of Mobile Apps and Sites

126. NLM Gallery of Mobile Apps and Sites



OHSAH MSDS (Material Safety Data Sheets)

127. OHSAH MSDS (Material Safety Data Sheets)



OMIM - Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man

128. OMIM - Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man



OpenThesis

129. OpenThesis



Orphanet: the Portal for Rare Diseases and Orphan Drugs

130. Orphanet: the Portal for Rare Diseases and Orphan Drugs



Oxford Open

131. Oxford Open



PDQ (Physician Data Query) Cancer Database

132. PDQ (Physician Data Query) Cancer Database



PDR.net

133. PDR.net



PEDro Physiotherapy Evidence Database

134. PEDro Physiotherapy Evidence Database



Plants Database (USDA)

135. Plants Database (USDA)



PLOS Hub for Clinical Trials

136. PLOS Hub for Clinical Trials



PQDT Open-

137. PQDT Open-



PracticeUpdate

138. PracticeUpdate



Protein Data Bank: An Information Portal to Biological Macromolecular Structures

139. Protein Data Bank: An Information Portal to Biological Macromolecular Structures



Proteopedia: Life in 3-D

140. Proteopedia: Life in 3-D



PSI|Nature Structural Biology Knowledgebase

141. PSI|Nature Structural Biology Knowledgebase



PubChem

142. PubChem



Public Library of Science (PLoS)

143. Public Library of Science (PLoS)



PubMed

144. PubMed



PubMed Central

145. PubMed Central



PubMed Clinical Queries

146. PubMed Clinical Queries



PubMed Health

147. PubMed Health



QuantiaMD

148. QuantiaMD



Radiation Emergency Medical Management (REMM)

149. Radiation Emergency Medical Management (REMM)



Registry of Open Access Repositories (ROAR)

150. Registry of Open Access Repositories (ROAR)



SJR - SCImago Journal & Country Rank

151. SJR - SCImago Journal & Country Rank



Social Science Research Network (SSRN)

152. Social Science Research Network (SSRN)



SpringerOpen

153. SpringerOpen



STAR (Software Tools for Academics and Researchers)

154. STAR (Software Tools for Academics and Researchers)



Statistical Abstract of the United States (1878-2011 only)

155. Statistical Abstract of the United States (1878-2011 only)



STITCH 3.1: Chemical-Protein Interactions

156. STITCH 3.1: Chemical-Protein Interactions



Structure (NCBI)

157. Structure (NCBI)



SUMSearch2

158. SUMSearch2



Symbolab: Scientific Equation Search

159. Symbolab: Scientific Equation Search



Systematic Review Data Repository (SRDR)

160. Systematic Review Data Repository (SRDR)



Texas Poison Center Network

161. Texas Poison Center Network

  • Provider: Texas Poison Center Network
  • Contents: free , quick reference
  • Access Levels: Fee-Based Member , Free , Non-Registered TMC User , On-Site Visitor , Online Visitor , Open Access , TMC Academic User , TMC Non-Academic User
  • Descriptions: This site displays poison control center phone numbers for Texas, prevention and first aid information, useful fact sheets and materials for educational programs, information on poisonous plants and animals, and under Links, an excellent selection of links to other relevant sites, including ASPCA's pet poisoning and prevention information. General information brochures with the toll-free poison control number are free to download or print, in English and eleven other languages.
  • Keywords:


Tox Town

162. Tox Town



ToxLearn

163. ToxLearn



TOXMAP

164. TOXMAP



TOXNET: Toxicology Data Network

165. TOXNET: Toxicology Data Network



Traditional Chinese Medicine Database (TCM)

166. Traditional Chinese Medicine Database (TCM)



TRIP Database: the search engine for Evidence-Based Medicine

167. TRIP Database: the search engine for Evidence-Based Medicine



U.S. Patent and Trademark Office

168. U.S. Patent and Trademark Office



UniProt

169. UniProt



Whole Brain Atlas

170. Whole Brain Atlas



Wiley Open Access

171. Wiley Open Access



WISER: Wireless Information System for Emergency Responders

172. WISER: Wireless Information System for Emergency Responders

  • Provider: National Library of Medicine
  • Contents: chemical compounds , free , index , mobile access , reference
  • Access Levels: Fee-Based Member , Free , Non-Registered TMC User , On-Site Visitor , Online Visitor , Open Access , TMC Academic User , TMC Non-Academic User
  • Descriptions: This database is focused on hazardous chemicals, and helps the user to identify unknown chemicals. "WISER is a system designed to assist first responders in hazardous material incidents. WISER provides a wide range of information on hazardous substances, including substance identification support, physical characteristics, human health information, and containment and suppression advice... WISER is also available as a standalone application for PCs and PDAs." The Web version can also be used on PDAs, including BlackBerry and iPhone. See this page for details. Features the Chemical Reactivity utility, in which a group of substances can be entered for a particular circumstance, and the user can see, at an overview or detailed level, reactions and hazards that would ensue. Also includes a protective distance-mapping feature from the U.S. Department of Transportation's Emergency Response Guidebook. WISER for iPhone/iPod touch can be downloaded and installed directly from the Apple App Store: http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/wiser-for-iphone-ipod-touch/id375185381?mt=8
  • Keywords: chemicals | emergency medicine | mobile access | NLM | open access | PDA access | toxins


WolframAlpha: Computational Knowledge Engine

173. WolframAlpha: Computational Knowledge Engine



World Factbook

174. World Factbook



WorldCat

175. WorldCat



A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

View All...