Databases

Our databases contain a wide variety of medical information resources: journal articles, statistics, images, government information, and more. Browse the alphabetical list of database titles or search for terms that appear in the database descriptions. Click here to see which ones are mobile-compatible.

Major Databases

A listing of our top-used databases.

Search Databases:

 

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

View All...

What Do I Have Access To?

Choose By User Type

Choose By Resource Type

"Open Access" Access Level Databases

Currently, the Library has 163 databases for the Open Access Access Level.

1000 Genomes

1. 1000 Genomes



AARP Country Profiles

2. AARP Country Profiles



Affordable Care Act (ACA) Resources

3. Affordable Care Act (ACA) Resources



Agricola

4. Agricola



ALFRED: The Allele Frequency Database

5. ALFRED: The Allele Frequency Database



Allen Brain Atlas

6. Allen Brain Atlas



Altmetrics

7. Altmetrics



American Association of Poison Control Centers

8. American Association of Poison Control Centers



Anatomy Atlases

9. Anatomy Atlases



Approved Drug Products with Therapeutic Equivalence Evaluations (Orange Book)

10. Approved Drug Products with Therapeutic Equivalence Evaluations (Orange Book)



arXiv

11. arXiv

  • Provider: Cornell University Library
  • Contents: e-prints , free
  • Access Levels: Fee-Based Member , Free , Non-Registered TMC User , On-Site Visitor , Online Visitor , Open Access , TMC Academic User , TMC Non-Academic User
  • Descriptions: Provides open access to e-prints in physics, mathematics, non-linear science, computer science, and quantitative biology. Started in August 1991, arXiv.org (formerly xxx.lanl.gov) is a highly-automated electronic archive and distribution server for research papers. Users can retrieve papers from arXiv either via the web interface, or by sending commands to the system via e-mail. Authors can use a web form to submit their papers and can also update their submissions if they choose, though previous versions remain available. Users can register to automatically receive a listing via email of newly submitted papers in areas of interest to them.
  • Keywords: biology | computers | open access | physics | research


ASH (American Society of Hematology) Image Bank

12. ASH (American Society of Hematology) Image Bank

  • Provider: American Society of Hematology
  • Contents: full text , images , index , open access
  • Access Levels: Fee-Based Member , Free , Non-Registered TMC User , On-Site Visitor , Online Visitor , Open Access , TMC Academic User , TMC Non-Academic User
  • Descriptions: "The American Society of Hematology (ASH) Image Bank is intended to serve as a comprehensive reference and teaching tool that is widely accessible to physicians and hematology students around the world. The images are presented in a digital, case-based format that allows both images and text to be searched, cross-referenced, and hyperlinked to other cases as well as other educational resources, including Hematology, the Society's annual meeting Education Program Book, the ASH Teaching Cases and the syllabus from the ASH Self-Assessment Program. In addition to the case studies, the Image Bank includes a collection of basic atlas images. This project is a major outreach effort to the clinical and academic community, defined as members of ASH, internists, clinical pathologists, pediatricians, hematologists and oncologists."
  • Keywords: education | figures


Atlas of Ophthalmology

13. Atlas of Ophthalmology



Background Notes/Country Fact Sheets

14. Background Notes/Country Fact Sheets



BestBETS: Best Evidence Topics

15. BestBETS: Best Evidence Topics



Bioethics Research Library at Georgetown University: ETHXWeb database

16. Bioethics Research Library at Georgetown University: ETHXWeb database



BioMart  Bio Portal

17. BioMart Bio Portal



BioMed Central

18. BioMed Central



BioMed Experts

19. BioMed Experts

  • Provider: Elsevier
  • Contents: free , interactive
  • Access Levels: Fee-Based Member , Free , Non-Registered TMC User , On-Site Visitor , Online Visitor , Open Access , TMC Academic User , TMC Non-Academic User
  • Descriptions: BioMed Experts is a scientific-literature-based social networking site. "BME connects biomedical researchers to each other through the display and analysis of each scientist’s co-author network, allowing scientists and researchers across organizations to collaborate in new and time-saving ways. BME is available as a free online community to individuals while value-added services are provided for institutional customers." Free registration is required, and fully functional access is now restricted: "If you have published at least three papers over the last ten years that have been indexed in the PubMed database, you can validate your pre-calculated expert profile and network in a simple, 4-step wizard after you register. If you have not published in PubMed over the last ten years, you can still register, search, and network with researchers you know."
  • Keywords: biomedical research | citation analysis | collaborative | open access | research | science | scientist | social networking


BioMedSearch.com

20. BioMedSearch.com



BLAST (NCBI)

21. BLAST (NCBI)



Canary Database: Animals as Sentinels of Human Environmental Health Hazards

22. Canary Database: Animals as Sentinels of Human Environmental Health Hazards



Cancer Portals (American Society of Clinical Oncology)

23. Cancer Portals (American Society of Clinical Oncology)



CAS Source Index (CASSI) Search Tool

24. CAS Source Index (CASSI) Search Tool



Cases Database

25. Cases Database



CDC WONDER

26. CDC WONDER



Cell Press Free Archive

27. Cell Press Free Archive



Cell, The: An Image Library

28. Cell, The: An Image Library



Center for Biological Sequence Analysis

29. Center for Biological Sequence Analysis



Centre for Reviews and Dissemination

30. Centre for Reviews and Dissemination



ChemID Plus

31. ChemID Plus



CHEMM: Chemical Hazards Emergency Medical Management

32. CHEMM: Chemical Hazards Emergency Medical Management



ChemSpider: Building Community for Chemists

33. ChemSpider: Building Community for Chemists



CIRRIE - Center for International Rehabilitation Research Information and Exchange

34. CIRRIE - Center for International Rehabilitation Research Information and Exchange



Clinical Queries (PubMed)

35. Clinical Queries (PubMed)



ClinicalTrials.gov

36. ClinicalTrials.gov



Common Chemistry

37. Common Chemistry



Compilation of Presidential Documents

38. Compilation of Presidential Documents



Complementary and Alternative Therapies (MedlinePlus)

39. Complementary and Alternative Therapies (MedlinePlus)



dbGaP (Database of Genotypes and Phenotypes)

40. dbGaP (Database of Genotypes and Phenotypes)



DBGET search

41. DBGET search



DermAtlas.org (Dermatology Image Atlas)

42. DermAtlas.org (Dermatology Image Atlas)



Dietary Supplement Label Database

43. Dietary Supplement Label Database



Digital Commons@The Texas Medical Center

44. Digital Commons@The Texas Medical Center



Digital National Security Archive

45. Digital National Security Archive



Directory of Health Organizations (DIRLINE)

46. Directory of Health Organizations (DIRLINE)



Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB)

47. Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB)



Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)

48. Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)



Disaster Information Management Research Center

49. Disaster Information Management Research Center



DPDx - Laboratory Identification of Parasites of Public Health Concern

50. DPDx - Laboratory Identification of Parasites of Public Health Concern



Drug Information Portal (NLM)

51. Drug Information Portal (NLM)



DrugBank

52. DrugBank



Environmental Health and Toxicology (Specialized Information Services)

53. Environmental Health and Toxicology (Specialized Information Services)



European Patent Office (Espacenet) Patent Search

54. European Patent Office (Espacenet) Patent Search



Eye Pathologist, The

55. Eye Pathologist, The



F1000 Posters

56. F1000 Posters



F1000 Research

57. F1000 Research



FDA Drugs

58. FDA Drugs



FDA Maude Database

59. FDA Maude Database



FDA Poisonous Plant Database

60. FDA Poisonous Plant Database

  • Provider: U.S. Food and Drug Administration
  • Contents: brief records , indexing , links
  • Access Levels: Fee-Based Member , Free , Non-Registered TMC User , On-Site Visitor , Online Visitor , Open Access , TMC Academic User , TMC Non-Academic User
  • Descriptions: "This database contains references to the scientific literature describing studies of the toxic properties and effects of plants and plant parts." A search result contains full citation information and, where applicable, links to PubMed abstracts. The most immediately informative links here, however, are the links from the records into the Germplasm Resources Information Network (GRIN.) In GRIN, records give information on taxonomy, common names, distributional range, and economic importance, as well as supplying links to outside references, web-based information and images.
  • Keywords:


FDsys

61. FDsys



Federal Register

62. Federal Register



FedStats

63. FedStats



FlyBase: A Database of Drosophila Genes and Genomes

64. FlyBase: A Database of Drosophila Genes and Genomes



Frontiers

65. Frontiers



Gene Ontology (GO) project

66. Gene Ontology (GO) project



Genetics Home Reference

67. Genetics Home Reference



Geneva Foundation for Medical Education and Research

68. Geneva Foundation for Medical Education and Research



GenomeNet

69. GenomeNet



GigaDB

70. GigaDB



Global Ethics Observatory

71. Global Ethics Observatory



Global Health Data Exchange (GHDx) - Institute for Health Metrics and Evaluation (IHME)

72. Global Health Data Exchange (GHDx) - Institute for Health Metrics and Evaluation (IHME)



GoPubMed

73. GoPubMed



GQuery: Global Cross-database NCBI Search

74. GQuery: Global Cross-database NCBI Search



GreenFile (TexShare)

75. GreenFile (TexShare)



Grey Literature Report

76. Grey Literature Report



Guide to Grammar and Writing

77. Guide to Grammar and Writing



Herbs and Supplements Information (MedlinePlus)

78. Herbs and Supplements Information (MedlinePlus)



HighWire Press Free Online Full-Text Articles

79. HighWire Press Free Online Full-Text Articles



Index to Chiropractic Literature

80. Index to Chiropractic Literature



Index-Catalogue of the Library of the Surgeon-General's Office. US Army.

81. Index-Catalogue of the Library of the Surgeon-General's Office. US Army.



IntegromeDB

82. IntegromeDB



InteliHealth

83. InteliHealth



Interactive Fly, The

84. Interactive Fly, The



ION (Index to Organism Names)

85. ION (Index to Organism Names)



IUPAC Compendium of Chemical Terminology (Gold Book)

86. IUPAC Compendium of Chemical Terminology (Gold Book)



J-STAGE

87. J-STAGE



Just Free Books

88. Just Free Books



LactMed: Drugs and Lactation Database

89. LactMed: Drugs and Lactation Database



Let’s Ask 4: Questions for Consumers and Providers About Health Insurance

90. Let’s Ask 4: Questions for Consumers and Providers About Health Insurance



Medical Subject Headings (MeSH)

91. Medical Subject Headings (MeSH)



Medline (PubMed)

92. Medline (PubMed)



MedlinePlus

93. MedlinePlus



Medscape

94. Medscape



Mendeley

95. Mendeley



Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy, The

96. Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy, The



Merck Manual: Home Health Handbook for Patients & Caregivers

97. Merck Manual: Home Health Handbook for Patients & Caregivers



Merck Veterinary Manual

98. Merck Veterinary Manual



MerckMedicus

99. MerckMedicus



National Cancer Institute Website

100. National Cancer Institute Website



National Criminal Justice Reference Service

101. National Criminal Justice Reference Service



National Guideline Clearinghouse

102. National Guideline Clearinghouse



Nature.com Databases and Gateways

103. Nature.com Databases and Gateways



NCBI (National Center for Biotechnology Information)

104. NCBI (National Center for Biotechnology Information)



NCBI Bookshelf

105. NCBI Bookshelf



NCMIR - National Center for Microscopy and Imaging Research

106. NCMIR - National Center for Microscopy and Imaging Research



NDB: Nucleic Acid Database

107. NDB: Nucleic Acid Database



Neuroimaging Informatics Tools and Resources Clearinghouse (NITRC)

108. Neuroimaging Informatics Tools and Resources Clearinghouse (NITRC)



NeuroMorpho.Org

109. NeuroMorpho.Org



Neuroscience Information Framework

110. Neuroscience Information Framework



NeuroSynth (beta)

111. NeuroSynth (beta)



NewspaperCat

112. NewspaperCat



NextBio Basic

113. NextBio Basic



NIH Data Sharing Repositories

114. NIH Data Sharing Repositories



NIH RePORTER

115. NIH RePORTER



NIOSH (National Institute for Occupational Health and Safety)

116. NIOSH (National Institute for Occupational Health and Safety)



NLM Gallery of Mobile Apps and Sites

117. NLM Gallery of Mobile Apps and Sites



OHSAH MSDS (Material Safety Data Sheets)

118. OHSAH MSDS (Material Safety Data Sheets)



OMIM - Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man

119. OMIM - Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man



Orphanet: the Portal for Rare Diseases and Orphan Drugs

120. Orphanet: the Portal for Rare Diseases and Orphan Drugs



Oxford Open

121. Oxford Open



PDQ (Physician Data Query) Cancer Database

122. PDQ (Physician Data Query) Cancer Database



PEDro Physiotherapy Evidence Database

123. PEDro Physiotherapy Evidence Database



Plants Database (USDA)

124. Plants Database (USDA)



PLOS Hub for Clinical Trials

125. PLOS Hub for Clinical Trials



PQDT Open-

126. PQDT Open-



PracticeUpdate

127. PracticeUpdate



Protein Data Bank: An Information Portal to Biological Macromolecular Structures

128. Protein Data Bank: An Information Portal to Biological Macromolecular Structures



Proteopedia: Life in 3-D

129. Proteopedia: Life in 3-D



PSI|Nature Structural Biology Knowledgebase

130. PSI|Nature Structural Biology Knowledgebase



PubChem

131. PubChem



Public Library of Science (PLoS)

132. Public Library of Science (PLoS)



PubMed

133. PubMed



PubMed Central

134. PubMed Central



PubMed Clinical Queries

135. PubMed Clinical Queries



PubMed Health

136. PubMed Health



QuantiaMD

137. QuantiaMD



Radiation Emergency Medical Management (REMM)

138. Radiation Emergency Medical Management (REMM)



Registry of Open Access Repositories (ROAR)

139. Registry of Open Access Repositories (ROAR)



SJR - SCImago Journal & Country Rank

140. SJR - SCImago Journal & Country Rank



Social Science Research Network (SSRN)

141. Social Science Research Network (SSRN)



SpringerOpen

142. SpringerOpen



STAR (Software Tools for Academics and Researchers)

143. STAR (Software Tools for Academics and Researchers)



Statistical Abstract of the United States (1878-2011 only)

144. Statistical Abstract of the United States (1878-2011 only)



STITCH 3.1: Chemical-Protein Interactions

145. STITCH 3.1: Chemical-Protein Interactions



Structure (NCBI)

146. Structure (NCBI)



SUMSearch2

147. SUMSearch2



Systematic Review Data Repository (SRDR)

148. Systematic Review Data Repository (SRDR)



Texas Poison Center Network

149. Texas Poison Center Network

  • Provider: Texas Poison Center Network
  • Contents: free , quick reference
  • Access Levels: Fee-Based Member , Free , Non-Registered TMC User , On-Site Visitor , Online Visitor , Open Access , TMC Academic User , TMC Non-Academic User
  • Descriptions: This site displays poison control center phone numbers for Texas, prevention and first aid information, useful fact sheets and materials for educational programs, information on poisonous plants and animals, and under Links, an excellent selection of links to other relevant sites, including ASPCA's pet poisoning and prevention information. General information brochures with the toll-free poison control number are free to download or print, in English and eleven other languages.
  • Keywords:


Tox Town

150. Tox Town



ToxLearn

151. ToxLearn



TOXMAP

152. TOXMAP



TOXNET: Toxicology Data Network

153. TOXNET: Toxicology Data Network



Traditional Chinese Medicine Database (TCM)

154. Traditional Chinese Medicine Database (TCM)



TRIP Database: the search engine for Evidence-Based Medicine

155. TRIP Database: the search engine for Evidence-Based Medicine



U.S. Patent and Trademark Office

156. U.S. Patent and Trademark Office



UniProt

157. UniProt



Whole Brain Atlas

158. Whole Brain Atlas



Wiley Open Access

159. Wiley Open Access



WISER: Wireless Information System for Emergency Responders

160. WISER: Wireless Information System for Emergency Responders

  • Provider: National Library of Medicine
  • Contents: chemical compounds , free , index , mobile access , reference
  • Access Levels: Fee-Based Member , Free , Non-Registered TMC User , On-Site Visitor , Online Visitor , Open Access , TMC Academic User , TMC Non-Academic User
  • Descriptions: This database is focused on hazardous chemicals, and helps the user to identify unknown chemicals. "WISER is a system designed to assist first responders in hazardous material incidents. WISER provides a wide range of information on hazardous substances, including substance identification support, physical characteristics, human health information, and containment and suppression advice... WISER is also available as a standalone application for PCs and PDAs." The Web version can also be used on PDAs, including BlackBerry and iPhone. See this page for details. Features the Chemical Reactivity utility, in which a group of substances can be entered for a particular circumstance, and the user can see, at an overview or detailed level, reactions and hazards that would ensue. Also includes a protective distance-mapping feature from the U.S. Department of Transportation's Emergency Response Guidebook. WISER for iPhone/iPod touch can be downloaded and installed directly from the Apple App Store: http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/wiser-for-iphone-ipod-touch/id375185381?mt=8
  • Keywords: chemicals | emergency medicine | mobile access | NLM | open access | PDA access | toxins


WolframAlpha: Computational Knowledge Engine

161. WolframAlpha: Computational Knowledge Engine



World Factbook

162. World Factbook



WorldCat

163. WorldCat



A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

View All...