Databases

Our databases contain a wide variety of medical information resources: journal articles, statistics, images, government information, and more. Browse the alphabetical list of database titles or search for terms that appear in the database descriptions. Click here to see which ones are mobile-compatible.

Major Databases

A listing of our top-used databases.

Search Databases:

 

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

View All...

What Do I Have Access To?

Choose By User Type

Choose By Resource Type

REFERENCE Databases

Currently, the Library has 51 databases for the content term: "reference".

AccessMedicine

1. AccessMedicine

  • Provider: McGraw-Hill
  • Contents: e-books , full text , images , mobile access , reference , textbooks , videos
  • Access Levels: Licensed , On-Site Visitor , TMC Academic User
  • Descriptions:

    AccessMedicine is an integrated database, updated daily, that draws on the more than 60 essential clinical and academic medical texts included, as well as a drug index, a differential diagnostic tool (called "Diagnosaurus"), and a library of image and video content. "Clerkship Corner" is an additional resource that organizes AccessMedicine’s content according to topics covered in the internal medicine clerkship and includes content typically needed during an internal medicine rotation. Also provided: patient handouts.

    To access Mobile view log in with a personal profile username and password. (Set up your optional personal profile via the resource's website. See Mobile Instructions under Help at top right of the AccessMedicine home page.) Mobile devices supported: iPhone/iPhone 3G, BlackBerry Bold and Android.

  • Keywords: clinical | database | diagnosis | drugs | e-books | evidence-based medicine | medicine | mobile access | point-of-care | video


ACP Smart Medicine

2. ACP Smart Medicine



Agricola

3. Agricola



Anatomy Atlases

4. Anatomy Atlases



Approved Drug Products with Therapeutic Equivalence Evaluations (Orange Book)

5. Approved Drug Products with Therapeutic Equivalence Evaluations (Orange Book)



ARTbibliographies Modern

6. ARTbibliographies Modern



CDC WONDER

7. CDC WONDER



Drug Information Portal (NLM)

8. Drug Information Portal (NLM)



DrugBank

9. DrugBank



Early Encounters in North America

10. Early Encounters in North America



Environmental Health and Toxicology (Specialized Information Services)

11. Environmental Health and Toxicology (Specialized Information Services)



Eye Pathologist, The

12. Eye Pathologist, The



Federal Register

13. Federal Register



FedStats

14. FedStats



Gale Virtual Reference Library

15. Gale Virtual Reference Library



Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (TexShare)

16. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (TexShare)

  • Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
  • Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing , reference
  • Access Levels: Licensed , On-Site Visitor , TMC Academic User
  • Descriptions: Provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on various medical disciplines and features abstracts and indexing for 850 journals, with coverage of nursing and allied health being particularly strong, including full text from many nursing journals. Lexi-PAL Drug Guide is also indexed, which provides 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names covered. Full text information in this database dates as far back as 1975.
  • Keywords: allied health | drugs | medicine | nursing


Index to Chiropractic Literature

17. Index to Chiropractic Literature



Literary Reference Center (TexShare)

18. Literary Reference Center (TexShare)



MAS Ultra School Edition (TexShare)

19. MAS Ultra School Edition (TexShare)

  • Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
  • Contents: encyclopedia , full text , images , maps , monographs , reference
  • Access Levels: Licensed , On-Site Visitor , TMC Academic User
  • Descriptions: Contains full text for more than 700 popular magazines, including The Nation, National Review, New Republic, New Scientist, Science News, and Scientific American. All full text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full text is available for biographies and primary source documents. Also included are pamphlets, reference books (including the Columbia Encyclopedia, the CIA World Fact Book and World Almanac & Book of Facts), an image collection, maps & flags, color PDFs and expanded full text backfiles (back to 1975) for key magazines.
  • Keywords: kids | magazines | multidisciplinary | research | student


MasterFILE Premier (TexShare)

20. MasterFILE Premier (TexShare)

  • Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
  • Contents: abstracts , dictionary , e-books , indexing , maps , quick reference , reference , research tools
  • Access Levels: Licensed , On-Site Visitor , TMC Academic User
  • Descriptions: Provides full text for more than 1,700 general periodicals covering a broad range of disciplines including general reference, business, education, health, general science, and multicultural issues. In addition to the full text, this database provides indexing and abstracts for nearly 2,400 titles. This database includes full text Magill Book Reviews, full text reference books including the World Almanac & Book of Facts; full text from biographies, full text primary source documents, American Heritage Dictionary, 4th Edition and an image collection of photos, maps and flags. Includes PDF backfiles as far back as 1975 for key publications.
  • Keywords: general reference | multicultural | multidisciplinary | reviews | student


Merck Manual: Home Health Handbook for Patients & Caregivers

21. Merck Manual: Home Health Handbook for Patients & Caregivers



MerckMedicus

22. MerckMedicus



Micromedex

23. Micromedex

  • Provider: Truven Health Analytics
  • Contents: chemical compounds , chemical structure , full text , monographs , protocols , quick reference , reference , summaries
  • Access Levels: Licensed , On-Site Visitor , TMC Academic User
  • Descriptions:

    Micromedex is a quick and in-depth source of information on drugs, toxins and natural/herbal products. Each component of Micromedex addresses a broad subject area: medication safety, disease management and treatment (both general and emergency medicine), patient education, toxicology, laboratory tests. Each broad category is fed by a cluster of relevant databases. Each category is accessible in tabs on every page, and affords the user a drop-down choice to narrow a search to a specific database, or a specific topic. Drug interaction information, various calculator tools, a neonatal drug resource (NeoFax), a database of international drug information (Index Nominum), MSDS (Material Safety Data Sheets) and more additional resources are included.

    Please Note: Micromedex is licensed to us for academic and training use only. Application of this subscription to affect outcomes in any actual clinical setting, whether a laboratory or a care facility, is strictly prohibited by the terms of our license. Please comply with this restriction.

    NOTE: Micromedex may lag with being up to date with new browser versions. Try the Chrome or Safari browsers if you have trouble with IE or Firefox after a new release, or run in compatibility mode.

  • Keywords: database | drugs | emergency medicine | evidence-based | herbs | mobile access | pesticides | pharmaceutical | pharmacology | pharmacy | reproductive health | tests | toxicology | toxins | trademark


Natural & Alternative Treatments (TexShare)

24. Natural & Alternative Treatments (TexShare)



NextBio Basic

25. NextBio Basic



NIH Data Sharing Repositories

26. NIH Data Sharing Repositories



Nursing Reference Center

27. Nursing Reference Center

  • Provider: EBSCO
  • Contents: CME , e-books , full text , links to full text , news , patient education , reference
  • Access Levels: Licensed , On-Site Visitor , TMC Academic User
  • Descriptions: A comprehensive, point-of-care resource for nursing, Nursing Reference Center draws search results in part from Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses; AHFS Drug Information Essentials; Diseases and Disorders: A Nursing Therapeutics Manual; Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary; and Davis's Comprehensive Handbook of Laboratory & Diagnostic Tests with Nursing Implications. Nursing Reference Center includes: "quick lessons" on diseases and disorders; evidence-based care sheets; practice guidelines; patient education sheets, some available in Spanish; CE modules; news; research instruments; and information on legal cases. Nursing Reference Center provides direct access to full text articles found in CINAHL. First-time users are encouraged to "take the tour" on the database's home page (FlashPlayer required) to learn more.
  • Keywords: clinical practice guidelines | drugs | evidence-based | journal | legal | monographs | nursing | point-of-care


OMIM - Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man

28. OMIM - Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man



Orphanet: the Portal for Rare Diseases and Orphan Drugs

29. Orphanet: the Portal for Rare Diseases and Orphan Drugs



PDQ (Physician Data Query) Cancer Database

30. PDQ (Physician Data Query) Cancer Database



Plants Database (USDA)

31. Plants Database (USDA)



Proteopedia: Life in 3-D

32. Proteopedia: Life in 3-D



PubMed

33. PubMed



PubMed Health

34. PubMed Health



QuantiaMD

35. QuantiaMD



RefWorks

36. RefWorks

  • Provider: ProQuest
  • Contents: bibliographic management , interactive , mobile access , reference
  • Access Levels: Licensed , On-Site Visitor , TMC Academic User , TMC Alumni User
  • Descriptions: RefWorks is a web-based bibliographic management tool that enables users to organize and create a personal database online, format bibliographies and manuscripts, and import references from a variety of databases using the already-created Import Filters. Users can establish links to RSS feeds and import data from those feeds directly. RefWorks automatically creates author, descriptor and periodical indexes when importing data. It can be used across multiple platforms, including Windows, Mac, and Unix. Individual sign-up is required. For RefWorks tutorials in video and print-only formats, click here. If you are prompted for a Group Code while using RefWorks, you can find it in your original sign-up email from RefWorks; otherwise, please contact us for that information.

    RefWorks is also available in mobile format; see "RefMobile".

    NOTE: RefWorks is a utility to which users may retain access indefinitely after graduation or departure from their TMC academic institution.

  • Keywords: mobile access | PDA access | publishing | research | student


Registry of Open Access Repositories (ROAR)

37. Registry of Open Access Repositories (ROAR)



Salud en Espanol (TexShare)

38. Salud en Espanol (TexShare)



SJR - SCImago Journal & Country Rank

39. SJR - SCImago Journal & Country Rank



Small Business Reference Center (TexShare)

40. Small Business Reference Center (TexShare)



STAT!Ref (TexShare)

41. STAT!Ref (TexShare)

  • Provider: Teton Data Systems
  • Contents: e-books , full text , handbook , reference , tables of contents , textbooks
  • Access Levels: Licensed , On-Site Visitor , TMC Academic User
  • Descriptions:

    Stat!Ref is a cross-searchable reference database of core full-text medical, pharmacology and nursing books, drug information from AHFS, ACP's PIER, and general tools like the ICD 9, Stedman's and the National Guideline Clearinghouse. This subscription for educational institutions, provided via the Texas State Library, includes the latest editions of more than 80 standard, respected titles.

    An additional feature available to you in Stat!Ref is the Evidence Alerts feed. To register to receive these alerts, which can be customized according to your interests and delivered at selectable regular intervals, you will need to create a My STAT!Ref “Preferences” account. To do this,

    • Access STAT!Ref
    • Go to “Preferences” (located just under the search box)
    • Sign up for preferences
    • Select disciplines and a time interval.

    Stat!Ref provides Mobile Access for IPhone, IPad,Blackberry and Android. See http://www.statref.com/products/srMobile.html for details. You can activate mobile access via your "Preferences" account. Once in your individual account, click "Temporary Log-in Account," and follow directions. Please note that at present, mobile access must be renewed every 90 days. Once your mobile account is established, you will not need to log in with TMC Library to use mobile Stat!Ref. For a video tutorial on setting up mobile access, see this link

  • Keywords: books | clinical | communicable diseases | decision support | evidence-based | evidence-based medicine | genetics | ICD-9 | infectious disease | internal medicine | medical coding | medicine | multidisciplinary | nursing | office practice | pediatrics | pharmacology | physicians | surgery


Statistical Abstract of the United States (1878-2011 only)

42. Statistical Abstract of the United States (1878-2011 only)



Student Research Center Interface (TexShare)

43. Student Research Center Interface (TexShare)



Texas Digital Sanborn Maps (TexShare)

44. Texas Digital Sanborn Maps (TexShare)

  • Provider: ProQuest -- TexShare
  • Contents: maps , reference
  • Access Levels: Licensed , On-Site Visitor , TMC Academic User
  • Descriptions: Covering 1867 - 1970, Sanborn maps are large-scale plans of a city or town, drawn at a scale of 50 feet to an inch. They were created to assist fire insurance companies as they assessed the risk associated with insuring individual properties. The maps list street blocks and building numbers, including both numbers in use at the time of mapping and numbers designated previously.
  • Keywords: American history | Texas


Texas Reference Center (TexShare)

45. Texas Reference Center (TexShare)

  • Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
  • Contents: biographical , full text , reference
  • Access Levels: Licensed , On-Site Visitor , TMC Academic User
  • Descriptions: Includes more than 80 full-text journals and books about Texas history, ethnic and cultural diversity, gender studies, literature, public health, business as well as home & garden, sports & leisure. Contains biographies of famous historical and contemporary Texans like George H.W. Bush, Lady Bird Johnson, Dan Moody, Susanna Dickinson and Sam Houston. Newspapers providing Texas and national news coverage are also included.
  • Keywords: books | history | homework | journal | kids | student | Texas


Traditional Chinese Medicine Database (TCM)

46. Traditional Chinese Medicine Database (TCM)



Twayne's Author Series (TexShare)

47. Twayne's Author Series (TexShare)



Whole Brain Atlas

48. Whole Brain Atlas



WISER: Wireless Information System for Emergency Responders

49. WISER: Wireless Information System for Emergency Responders

  • Provider: National Library of Medicine
  • Contents: chemical compounds , free , index , mobile access , reference
  • Access Levels: Fee-Based Member , Free , Non-Registered TMC User , On-Site Visitor , Online Visitor , Open Access , TMC Academic User , TMC Non-Academic User
  • Descriptions: This database is focused on hazardous chemicals, and helps the user to identify unknown chemicals. "WISER is a system designed to assist first responders in hazardous material incidents. WISER provides a wide range of information on hazardous substances, including substance identification support, physical characteristics, human health information, and containment and suppression advice... WISER is also available as a standalone application for PCs and PDAs." The Web version can also be used on PDAs, including BlackBerry and iPhone. See this page for details. Features the Chemical Reactivity utility, in which a group of substances can be entered for a particular circumstance, and the user can see, at an overview or detailed level, reactions and hazards that would ensue. Also includes a protective distance-mapping feature from the U.S. Department of Transportation's Emergency Response Guidebook. WISER for iPhone/iPod touch can be downloaded and installed directly from the Apple App Store: http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/wiser-for-iphone-ipod-touch/id375185381?mt=8
  • Keywords: chemicals | emergency medicine | mobile access | NLM | open access | PDA access | toxins


WolframAlpha: Computational Knowledge Engine

50. WolframAlpha: Computational Knowledge Engine



World Factbook

51. World Factbook



A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

View All...