Databases

Our databases contain a wide variety of medical information resources: journal articles, statistics, images, government information, and more. Browse the alphabetical list of database titles or search for terms that appear in the database descriptions. Click here to see which ones are mobile-compatible.

Major Databases

A listing of our top-used databases.

Search Databases:

 

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

View All...

What Do I Have Access To?

Choose By User Type

Choose By Resource Type

FREE Databases

Currently, the Library has 145 databases for the content term: "free".

1000 Genomes

1. 1000 Genomes



AARP Country Profiles

2. AARP Country Profiles



Affordable Care Act (ACA) Resources

3. Affordable Care Act (ACA) Resources



Agricola

4. Agricola



ALFRED: The Allele Frequency Database

5. ALFRED: The Allele Frequency Database



Allen Brain Atlas

6. Allen Brain Atlas



Altmetrics

7. Altmetrics



Approved Drug Products with Therapeutic Equivalence Evaluations (Orange Book)

8. Approved Drug Products with Therapeutic Equivalence Evaluations (Orange Book)



arXiv

9. arXiv

  • Provider: Cornell University Library
  • Contents: e-prints , free
  • Access Levels: Fee-Based Member , Free , Non-Registered TMC User , On-Site Visitor , Online Visitor , Open Access , TMC Academic User , TMC Non-Academic User
  • Descriptions: Provides open access to e-prints in physics, mathematics, non-linear science, computer science, and quantitative biology. Started in August 1991, arXiv.org (formerly xxx.lanl.gov) is a highly-automated electronic archive and distribution server for research papers. Users can retrieve papers from arXiv either via the web interface, or by sending commands to the system via e-mail. Authors can use a web form to submit their papers and can also update their submissions if they choose, though previous versions remain available. Users can register to automatically receive a listing via email of newly submitted papers in areas of interest to them.
  • Keywords: biology | computers | open access | physics | research


Background Notes/Country Fact Sheets

10. Background Notes/Country Fact Sheets



BestBETS: Best Evidence Topics

11. BestBETS: Best Evidence Topics



Bioethics Research Library at Georgetown University: ETHXWeb database

12. Bioethics Research Library at Georgetown University: ETHXWeb database



BioethicsWeb

13. BioethicsWeb

  • Provider: Wellcome Library, Joint Information Systems Committee, University of Nottingham
  • Contents: free , links , links to full text , open access , websites
  • Access Levels: Fee-Based Member , Free , Non-Registered TMC User , On-Site Visitor , Online Visitor , TMC Academic User , TMC Non-Academic User
  • Descriptions: Gateway to evaluated, quality Internet resources relating to biomedical ethics, including ethical, social, legal and public policy questions arising from advances in medicine and biology, issues relating to the conduct of biomedical research, and approaches to bioethics. BioethicsWeb is part of Intute, "...a free online service providing access to Web resources for education and research. The service is created by a network of UK universities and partners. Subject specialists select and evaluate the websites in our database and write high quality descriptions of the resources." BioethicsWeb is also affiliated with the BIOME life sciences hub and the Resource Discovery Network (RDN). It is developed and managed by the Wellcome Library for the History and Understanding of Medicine at the Wellcome Trust.
  • Keywords: animal | bioethics | biomedical ethics | open access


BioMart  Bio Portal

14. BioMart Bio Portal



BioMed Central

15. BioMed Central



BioMed Experts

16. BioMed Experts

  • Provider: Elsevier
  • Contents: free , interactive
  • Access Levels: Fee-Based Member , Free , Non-Registered TMC User , On-Site Visitor , Online Visitor , Open Access , TMC Academic User , TMC Non-Academic User
  • Descriptions: BioMed Experts is a scientific-literature-based social networking site. "BME connects biomedical researchers to each other through the display and analysis of each scientist’s co-author network, allowing scientists and researchers across organizations to collaborate in new and time-saving ways. BME is available as a free online community to individuals while value-added services are provided for institutional customers." Free registration is required, and fully functional access is now restricted: "If you have published at least three papers over the last ten years that have been indexed in the PubMed database, you can validate your pre-calculated expert profile and network in a simple, 4-step wizard after you register. If you have not published in PubMed over the last ten years, you can still register, search, and network with researchers you know."
  • Keywords: biomedical research | citation analysis | collaborative | open access | research | science | scientist | social networking


BioMedSearch.com

17. BioMedSearch.com



BLAST (NCBI)

18. BLAST (NCBI)



Canary Database: Animals as Sentinels of Human Environmental Health Hazards

19. Canary Database: Animals as Sentinels of Human Environmental Health Hazards



CAS Source Index (CASSI) Search Tool

20. CAS Source Index (CASSI) Search Tool



Cases Database

21. Cases Database



Cell Press Free Archive

22. Cell Press Free Archive



Cell, The: An Image Library

23. Cell, The: An Image Library



ChemID Plus

24. ChemID Plus



CHEMM: Chemical Hazards Emergency Medical Management

25. CHEMM: Chemical Hazards Emergency Medical Management



ChemSpider: Building Community for Chemists

26. ChemSpider: Building Community for Chemists



Clinical Queries (PubMed)

27. Clinical Queries (PubMed)



ClinicalTrials.gov

28. ClinicalTrials.gov



Common Chemistry

29. Common Chemistry



Compilation of Presidential Documents

30. Compilation of Presidential Documents



Complementary and Alternative Therapies (MedlinePlus)

31. Complementary and Alternative Therapies (MedlinePlus)



ConsultGeriRN.org

32. ConsultGeriRN.org

  • Provider: New York University College of Nursing
  • Contents: CME , free , full text , links to full text , open access , practice guidelines , protocols , videos
  • Access Level:
  • Descriptions: This is a rich collection of evidence-based geriatric clinical nursing resources provided by The Hartford Institute for Geriatric Nursing at New York University College of Nursing. ConsultGeriRN is endorsed by several organizations, including National Gerontological Nursing Association (NGNA), the American Association for Long Term Care Nursing (AALTCN), and The National Association of Directors of Nursing Administration in Long Term Care (NADONA). Practice guidelines, assessment tools, a Best Practices series from NYU College of Nursing called "Try This", recommended competencies, continuing education resources, and links to nursing organizations are some of the materials available here to supplement learning and practice. Free registration required for CE activities.
  • Keywords: advocacy | aging | curriculum | evidence-based | geriatrics | nursing | point-of-care


dbGaP (Database of Genotypes and Phenotypes)

33. dbGaP (Database of Genotypes and Phenotypes)



DBGET search

34. DBGET search



DermAtlas.org (Dermatology Image Atlas)

35. DermAtlas.org (Dermatology Image Atlas)



Dietary Supplement Label Database

36. Dietary Supplement Label Database



Digital Commons@The Texas Medical Center

37. Digital Commons@The Texas Medical Center



Digital National Security Archive

38. Digital National Security Archive



Directory of Health Organizations (DIRLINE)

39. Directory of Health Organizations (DIRLINE)



Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB)

40. Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB)



Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)

41. Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)



Disaster Information Management Research Center

42. Disaster Information Management Research Center



DPDx - Laboratory Identification of Parasites of Public Health Concern

43. DPDx - Laboratory Identification of Parasites of Public Health Concern



Drug Information Portal (NLM)

44. Drug Information Portal (NLM)



DrugBank

45. DrugBank



Environmental Health and Toxicology (Specialized Information Services)

46. Environmental Health and Toxicology (Specialized Information Services)



European Patent Office (Espacenet) Patent Search

47. European Patent Office (Espacenet) Patent Search



Eye Pathologist, The

48. Eye Pathologist, The



F1000 Posters

49. F1000 Posters



F1000 Research

50. F1000 Research



FDA Drugs

51. FDA Drugs



FDA Maude Database

52. FDA Maude Database



Federal Register

53. Federal Register



FlyBase: A Database of Drosophila Genes and Genomes

54. FlyBase: A Database of Drosophila Genes and Genomes



Frontiers

55. Frontiers



Gene Ontology (GO) project

56. Gene Ontology (GO) project



Genetics Home Reference

57. Genetics Home Reference



Geneva Foundation for Medical Education and Research

58. Geneva Foundation for Medical Education and Research



GenomeNet

59. GenomeNet



GigaDB

60. GigaDB



Google Scholar

61. Google Scholar



GoPubMed

62. GoPubMed



GQuery: Global Cross-database NCBI Search

63. GQuery: Global Cross-database NCBI Search



Grey Literature Report

64. Grey Literature Report



Guide to Grammar and Writing

65. Guide to Grammar and Writing



Herbs and Supplements Information (MedlinePlus)

66. Herbs and Supplements Information (MedlinePlus)



HighWire Press Free Online Full-Text Articles

67. HighWire Press Free Online Full-Text Articles



Index to Chiropractic Literature

68. Index to Chiropractic Literature



Index-Catalogue of the Library of the Surgeon-General's Office. US Army.

69. Index-Catalogue of the Library of the Surgeon-General's Office. US Army.



IntegromeDB

70. IntegromeDB



InteliHealth

71. InteliHealth



ION (Index to Organism Names)

72. ION (Index to Organism Names)



J-STAGE

73. J-STAGE



Just Free Books

74. Just Free Books



LactMed: Drugs and Lactation Database

75. LactMed: Drugs and Lactation Database



Let’s Ask 4: Questions for Consumers and Providers About Health Insurance

76. Let’s Ask 4: Questions for Consumers and Providers About Health Insurance



Medical Subject Headings (MeSH)

77. Medical Subject Headings (MeSH)



Medline (PubMed)

78. Medline (PubMed)



MedlinePlus

79. MedlinePlus



Medscape

80. Medscape



Mendeley

81. Mendeley



Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy, The

82. Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy, The



Merck Manual: Home Health Handbook for Patients & Caregivers

83. Merck Manual: Home Health Handbook for Patients & Caregivers



Merck Veterinary Manual

84. Merck Veterinary Manual



MerckMedicus

85. MerckMedicus



National Cancer Institute Website

86. National Cancer Institute Website



National Criminal Justice Reference Service

87. National Criminal Justice Reference Service



National Guideline Clearinghouse

88. National Guideline Clearinghouse



Nature.com Databases and Gateways

89. Nature.com Databases and Gateways



NCBI (National Center for Biotechnology Information)

90. NCBI (National Center for Biotechnology Information)



NCBI Bookshelf

91. NCBI Bookshelf



NCMIR - National Center for Microscopy and Imaging Research

92. NCMIR - National Center for Microscopy and Imaging Research



NDB: Nucleic Acid Database

93. NDB: Nucleic Acid Database



Neuroimaging Informatics Tools and Resources Clearinghouse (NITRC)

94. Neuroimaging Informatics Tools and Resources Clearinghouse (NITRC)



Neuroscience Information Framework

95. Neuroscience Information Framework



NeuroSynth (beta)

96. NeuroSynth (beta)



NewspaperCat

97. NewspaperCat



NextBio Basic

98. NextBio Basic



NIH Data Sharing Repositories

99. NIH Data Sharing Repositories



NIH RePORTER

100. NIH RePORTER



NIOSH (National Institute for Occupational Health and Safety)

101. NIOSH (National Institute for Occupational Health and Safety)



NLM Gallery of Mobile Apps and Sites

102. NLM Gallery of Mobile Apps and Sites



OHSAH MSDS (Material Safety Data Sheets)

103. OHSAH MSDS (Material Safety Data Sheets)



OMIM - Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man

104. OMIM - Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man



OpenThesis

105. OpenThesis



Orphanet: the Portal for Rare Diseases and Orphan Drugs

106. Orphanet: the Portal for Rare Diseases and Orphan Drugs



Oxford Open

107. Oxford Open



PDQ (Physician Data Query) Cancer Database

108. PDQ (Physician Data Query) Cancer Database



PDR.net

109. PDR.net



PEDro Physiotherapy Evidence Database

110. PEDro Physiotherapy Evidence Database



PLOS Hub for Clinical Trials

111. PLOS Hub for Clinical Trials



PQDT Open-

112. PQDT Open-



PracticeUpdate

113. PracticeUpdate



Protein Data Bank: An Information Portal to Biological Macromolecular Structures

114. Protein Data Bank: An Information Portal to Biological Macromolecular Structures



Proteopedia: Life in 3-D

115. Proteopedia: Life in 3-D



PSI|Nature Structural Biology Knowledgebase

116. PSI|Nature Structural Biology Knowledgebase



PubChem

117. PubChem



Public Library of Science (PLoS)

118. Public Library of Science (PLoS)



PubMed

119. PubMed



PubMed Central

120. PubMed Central



PubMed Clinical Queries

121. PubMed Clinical Queries



PubMed Health

122. PubMed Health



QuantiaMD

123. QuantiaMD



Radiation Emergency Medical Management (REMM)

124. Radiation Emergency Medical Management (REMM)



Registry of Open Access Repositories (ROAR)

125. Registry of Open Access Repositories (ROAR)



SpringerOpen

126. SpringerOpen



STAR (Software Tools for Academics and Researchers)

127. STAR (Software Tools for Academics and Researchers)



Statistical Abstract of the United States (1878-2011 only)

128. Statistical Abstract of the United States (1878-2011 only)



Structure (NCBI)

129. Structure (NCBI)



SUMSearch2

130. SUMSearch2



Symbolab: Scientific Equation Search

131. Symbolab: Scientific Equation Search



Systematic Review Data Repository (SRDR)

132. Systematic Review Data Repository (SRDR)



Texas Poison Center Network

133. Texas Poison Center Network

  • Provider: Texas Poison Center Network
  • Contents: free , quick reference
  • Access Levels: Fee-Based Member , Free , Non-Registered TMC User , On-Site Visitor , Online Visitor , Open Access , TMC Academic User , TMC Non-Academic User
  • Descriptions: This site displays poison control center phone numbers for Texas, prevention and first aid information, useful fact sheets and materials for educational programs, information on poisonous plants and animals, and under Links, an excellent selection of links to other relevant sites, including ASPCA's pet poisoning and prevention information. General information brochures with the toll-free poison control number are free to download or print, in English and eleven other languages.
  • Keywords:


Tox Town

134. Tox Town



ToxLearn

135. ToxLearn



TOXMAP

136. TOXMAP



TOXNET: Toxicology Data Network

137. TOXNET: Toxicology Data Network



TRIP Database: the search engine for Evidence-Based Medicine

138. TRIP Database: the search engine for Evidence-Based Medicine



U.S. Patent and Trademark Office

139. U.S. Patent and Trademark Office



UniProt

140. UniProt



Wiley Open Access

141. Wiley Open Access



WISER: Wireless Information System for Emergency Responders

142. WISER: Wireless Information System for Emergency Responders

  • Provider: National Library of Medicine
  • Contents: chemical compounds , free , index , mobile access , reference
  • Access Levels: Fee-Based Member , Free , Non-Registered TMC User , On-Site Visitor , Online Visitor , Open Access , TMC Academic User , TMC Non-Academic User
  • Descriptions: This database is focused on hazardous chemicals, and helps the user to identify unknown chemicals. "WISER is a system designed to assist first responders in hazardous material incidents. WISER provides a wide range of information on hazardous substances, including substance identification support, physical characteristics, human health information, and containment and suppression advice... WISER is also available as a standalone application for PCs and PDAs." The Web version can also be used on PDAs, including BlackBerry and iPhone. See this page for details. Features the Chemical Reactivity utility, in which a group of substances can be entered for a particular circumstance, and the user can see, at an overview or detailed level, reactions and hazards that would ensue. Also includes a protective distance-mapping feature from the U.S. Department of Transportation's Emergency Response Guidebook. WISER for iPhone/iPod touch can be downloaded and installed directly from the Apple App Store: http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/wiser-for-iphone-ipod-touch/id375185381?mt=8
  • Keywords: chemicals | emergency medicine | mobile access | NLM | open access | PDA access | toxins


WolframAlpha: Computational Knowledge Engine

143. WolframAlpha: Computational Knowledge Engine



WorldCat

144. WorldCat



WorldCat (TexShare)

145. WorldCat (TexShare)



A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

View All...