Databases

Our databases contain a wide variety of medical information resources: journal articles, statistics, images, government information, and more. Browse the alphabetical list of database titles or search for terms that appear in the database descriptions. Click here to see which ones are mobile-compatible.

Major Databases

A listing of our top-used databases.

Search Databases:

 

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

View All...

What Do I Have Access To?

Choose By User Type

Choose By Resource Type

PATIENT EDUCATION Databases

Currently, the Library has 19 databases for the content term: "patient education".

AccessEmergencyMedicine

1. AccessEmergencyMedicine



ACP's PIER--Physician's Information and Education Resource (STAT!Ref -- TexShare)

2. ACP's PIER--Physician's Information and Education Resource (STAT!Ref -- TexShare)

  • Provider: Teton Data Systems
  • Contents: e-books , full text , handbook , patient education , websites
  • Access Levels: Licensed , On-Site Visitor , TMC Academic User
  • Descriptions: Web-based, evidence-based guidance tool to improve clinical care. Disease topics are selected by the American College of Physicians (ACP), based on prevalence in clinical settings. Evidence for all diseases is evaluated; credibility of the evidence is displayed with a rating. Subcategories for each disease are: Prevention, Non-drug Therapy, Screening, Drug Therapy, Diagnosis, Patient Education, Consultation for Diagnosis, Consultation for Management, Hospitalization, Follow-up. PIER includes AHFS DI® Essentials, with drug information monographs drawn from evidence-based guidelines in the full AHFS DI® database; distills information on prescription and key over-the-counter (OTC) drugs in a structured outline format.
  • Keywords: clinical evidence | drugs | evidence-based medicine | internal medicine | physicians | point-of-care


AHFS Consumer Medication Information

3. AHFS Consumer Medication Information



Complementary and Alternative Therapies (MedlinePlus)

4. Complementary and Alternative Therapies (MedlinePlus)



Directory of Health Organizations (DIRLINE)

5. Directory of Health Organizations (DIRLINE)



Drug Resource Center

6. Drug Resource Center



DynaMed

7. DynaMed

  • Provider: EBSCO
  • Contents: CME , full text , mobile access , patient education , practice guidelines
  • Access Levels: Licensed , On-Site Visitor , TMC Academic User
  • Descriptions:

    DynaMed is designed for use at the point of care, providing summaries of about 3,000 topics and monitoring the content of over 500 journals and systematic review databases. Articles are evaluated for clinical relevance and scientific validity; the evidence is integrated with existing content, and conclusions are amended accordingly, to produce a synthesis of the best evidence. DynaMed can be used with a range of PDA and SmartPhone devices; please see our Online Tutorials page for links to the instructions, then call the Circulation staff to request a unique serial number to use when setting up mobile access.

    DynaMed is available to all TMC academic users.

    DynaMed provides a Personal Alerts option for Recent Updates. To create a customized alert that will notify you when new evidence warranting a change in practice is available:

    • -In the Recent Updates page, select from Limit by Category and/or check the box labeled, Practice-Changing Updates only.
    • -Click the alert icon (ringing bell) in the Tools section on the right-side column.
    • -Select frequency for receiving alerts. (Initially "Once a day" will be the only option. Soon to be available, "Once a week" and "Once a month")
    • -Add your e-mail address, and
    • -Click "Create Alert"
    • -Confirm that you want to receive these alerts via the email you will receive.
  • Keywords: clinical practice guidelines | decision support | diagnosis | drugs | evidence-based medicine | PDA access | point-of-care


Epocrates Online®

8. Epocrates Online®



Genetics Home Reference

9. Genetics Home Reference



LactMed: Drugs and Lactation Database

10. LactMed: Drugs and Lactation Database



MD Consult

11. MD Consult



MedlinePlus

12. MedlinePlus



Medscape

13. Medscape



MerckMedicus

14. MerckMedicus



National Cancer Institute Website

15. National Cancer Institute Website



Natural & Alternative Treatments (TexShare)

16. Natural & Alternative Treatments (TexShare)



Nursing Reference Center

17. Nursing Reference Center

  • Provider: EBSCO
  • Contents: CME , e-books , full text , links to full text , news , patient education , reference
  • Access Levels: Licensed , On-Site Visitor , TMC Academic User
  • Descriptions: A comprehensive, point-of-care resource for nursing, Nursing Reference Center draws search results in part from Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses; AHFS Drug Information Essentials; Diseases and Disorders: A Nursing Therapeutics Manual; Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary; and Davis's Comprehensive Handbook of Laboratory & Diagnostic Tests with Nursing Implications. Nursing Reference Center includes: "quick lessons" on diseases and disorders; evidence-based care sheets; practice guidelines; patient education sheets, some available in Spanish; CE modules; news; research instruments; and information on legal cases. Nursing Reference Center provides direct access to full text articles found in CINAHL. First-time users are encouraged to "take the tour" on the database's home page (FlashPlayer required) to learn more.
  • Keywords: clinical practice guidelines | drugs | evidence-based | journal | legal | monographs | nursing | point-of-care


PDQ (Physician Data Query) Cancer Database

18. PDQ (Physician Data Query) Cancer Database



TRIP Database: the search engine for Evidence-Based Medicine

19. TRIP Database: the search engine for Evidence-Based Medicine



A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

View All...