Databases

Our databases contain a wide variety of medical information resources: journal articles, statistics, images, government information, and more. Browse the alphabetical list of database titles or search for terms that appear in the database descriptions. Click here to see which ones are mobile-compatible.

Major Databases

A listing of our top-used databases.

Search Databases:

 

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

View All...

What Do I Have Access To?

Choose By User Type

Choose By Resource Type

"history" Databases

The Library has 298 databases and
21 under history"

America: History and Life and Historical Abstracts (TexShare)

1. America: History and Life and Historical Abstracts (TexShare)

  • Provider: EBSCO
  • Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing
  • Access Levels: Licensed , On-Site Visitor , TMC Academic User
  • Descriptions: America: History and Life (AHL) is a complete bibliographic reference to the history of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Published since 1964, the database comprises over 530,000 bibliographic entries for periodicals dating back to 1954. Additional bibliographical entries are constantly added to the databases from editorial projects such as retrospective coverage of journals issues published prior to 1954. This extensive database covers over 1,700 journals published worldwide. In addition to covering all key English-language historical journals, America: History and Life coverage includes selected historical journals from major countries, state and local history journals, and a targeted selection of hundreds of journals in the social sciences and humanities. Over 90% of the articles included are published in English-language journals.
  • Keywords: history | humanities | social sciences


American Periodicals Series Online, 1740-1900

2. American Periodicals Series Online, 1740-1900



ARTbibliographies Modern

3. ARTbibliographies Modern



Background Notes/Country Fact Sheets

4. Background Notes/Country Fact Sheets



Compilation of Presidential Documents

5. Compilation of Presidential Documents



Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB)

6. Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB)



Early Encounters in North America

7. Early Encounters in North America



Early English Books Online

8. Early English Books Online



Eighteenth Century Collections Online (TexShare)

9. Eighteenth Century Collections Online (TexShare)

  • Provider: Gale/TexShare
  • Contents: full text
  • Access Levels: Licensed , On-Site Visitor , TMC Academic User
  • Descriptions: Digital images of over 13 million pages from over 1,500 English-language titles and editions published between 1701 and 1800, with images and maps included. A wide variety of subject matter is represented, from Fine Arts to Medicine. Titles from the British Library and many other university, private and public libraries worldwide.
  • Keywords: culture | history | homework | kids | society


Handbook of Texas Online (TexShare)

10. Handbook of Texas Online (TexShare)

  • Provider: Texas State Historical Association and the General Libraries at UT Austin -- TexShare
  • Contents: encyclopedia , full text
  • Access Levels: Licensed , On-Site Visitor , TMC Academic User
  • Descriptions: Multidisciplinary encyclopedia of Texas history, geography, and culture sponsored by the Texas State Historical Association and the General Libraries at UT Austin. It comprises more than 23,000 articles on people, places, events, historical themes, institutions, and a host of other topic categories. The scope is broad and inclusive, designed to provide readers with concise, authoritative and accessible articles that provide factual, nonpartisan accounts on virtually every aspect of Texas history and culture.
  • Keywords: culture | history | homework | Texas


HarpWeek

11. HarpWeek



Historical Abstracts and America: History and Life

12. Historical Abstracts and America: History and Life

  • Provider: EBSCO
  • Contents: abstracts , bibliographic records , citations , full text , indexing
  • Access Levels: Licensed , On-Site Visitor , TMC Academic User
  • Descriptions: Combined with its sister database America: History and Life, Historical Abstracts contains over 1 million abstracts and citations of book and media reviews, books, and dissertations, many with links to the fulltext. Historical Abstracts provides a complete bibliographic reference to the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Together, America: History and Life and Historical Abstracts cover over 1,700 journals published throughout the world, in over forty languages. Each database deals with those articles that are pertinent to its period of coverage.
  • Keywords: American history | books | dissertations | history | homework | multicultural | reviews | society


Historical New York Times

13. Historical New York Times



New England Journal of Medicine (NEJM)

14. New England Journal of Medicine (NEJM)



NewspaperCat

15. NewspaperCat



Periodicals Archive Online

16. Periodicals Archive Online



Statistical Abstract of the United States (1878-2011 only)

17. Statistical Abstract of the United States (1878-2011 only)



Texas Reference Center (TexShare)

18. Texas Reference Center (TexShare)

  • Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
  • Contents: biographical , full text , reference
  • Access Levels: Licensed , On-Site Visitor , TMC Academic User
  • Descriptions: Includes more than 80 full-text journals and books about Texas history, ethnic and cultural diversity, gender studies, literature, public health, business as well as home & garden, sports & leisure. Contains biographies of famous historical and contemporary Texans like George H.W. Bush, Lady Bird Johnson, Dan Moody, Susanna Dickinson and Sam Houston. Newspapers providing Texas and national news coverage are also included.
  • Keywords: books | history | homework | journal | kids | student | Texas


Women's History Online, 1543-1945 (Gerritsen Collection)

19. Women's History Online, 1543-1945 (Gerritsen Collection)



World Factbook

20. World Factbook



World History Collection (TexShare)

21. World History Collection (TexShare)

  • Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
  • Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing
  • Access Levels: Licensed , On-Site Visitor , TMC Academic User
  • Descriptions: Provides a global look at history in content from Africa, Asia, North and South America, Europe and the Middle East. Contains full text for nearly 150 fully indexed and abstracted titles, including many peer-reviewed journals covering a wide range of historical topics including anthropology, art, culture, economics, government, heritage, the military, politics, regional issues, and more.
  • Keywords: anthropology | art | culture | economics | government | history | politics


A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

View All...