Home


<<< E-Access Help >>>

SEARCH10...

 

HAM-TMC Library

Databases

Our databases contain a wide variety of medical information resources: journal articles, statistics, images, government information, and more. Browse the alphabetical list of database titles or search for terms that appear in the database descriptions.

Search:

 

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

View All...

Choose By

Institution:

OR

Access Level:

  1. Clinical Partner
  2. Clinical Partners via their portal page
  3. Educational
  4. Institutional
  5. Open Access (freely accessible to all)
  6. Provided only for a specific user group- see database description for details.
  7. Visitor/Cardholder

Currently, the Library has 211 databases.

Academic Search Complete (TexShare)

  • 1. Academic Search Complete (TexShare)
  • Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
  • Contents: abstracts , citations , full text
  • Access Level: Educational
  • Descriptions: Contains full text for nearly 4,650 serials and offers indexing and abstracts for more than 8,200 journals; this scholarly collection offers information in: computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
  • Keywords: multidisciplinary | periodicals

AccessMedicine

AccessSurgery

  • 3. AccessSurgery
  • Provider: McGraw-Hill
  • Contents: CME , full text , images , videos
  • Access Levels: Clinical Partner , Educational
  • Descriptions: An integrated database of surgical resources, both written and visual, that provides medical students, surgical residents, and practicing surgeons with quick answers to surgical inquiries, from trusted sources. Organized around the ACGME's (Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education) mandate for a core curriculum, AccessSurgery delivers content in context. This is a tool for the student, the educator, and the practitioner, and is available to Educational and Clinical Partner users.
  • Keywords: clinical | surgery

ACP Medicine (STAT!Ref -- TexShare)

ACP's PIER--Physician's Information and Education Resource (STAT!Ref -- TexShare)

AgeLine

  • 6. AgeLine
  • Provider: AARP
  • Contents: abstracts , free , indexing
  • Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
  • Descriptions: Provides abstracts of the literature of social gerontology, as well as aging-related research from psychology, sociology, social work, economics, public policy, and the health sciences. It covers aging-related issues for professionals in aging services, health, business, law, and mental health. Also includes selected consumer content. Summarizes journal articles, books and chapters, research reports, dissertations, gray literature, and educational videos from many publishers and organizations, including AARP.
  • Keywords: aging | geriatrics | open access

Agricola (EBSCO -- TexShare)

  • 7. Agricola (EBSCO -- TexShare)
  • Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
  • Contents: abstracts , indexing
  • Access Level: Educational
  • Descriptions: Compiled by the US National Agricultural Library, this bibliographic information resource consists of over 2 million citations to journal articles, monographs, theses, patents, software, audio-visual materials, and technical reports. The records describe publications and resources encompassing all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including: plant and animal sciences; forestry; entomology; soil and water resources; agricultural economics; agricultural engineering; agricultural products; alternative farming practices; and food and nutrition.
  • Keywords: agriculture | animal | nutrition

AHFS Drug Information (Stat!Ref-- TexShare)

  • 8. AHFS Drug Information (Stat!Ref-- TexShare)
  • Provider: American Hospital Formulary Service on STAT!Ref Platform
  • Contents: monographs
  • Access Levels: Clinical Partners via their portal page , Educational
  • Descriptions: Collection of drug monographs on single-drug entities available in the United States; information on various trademarked preparations and brands of a drug is contained in a single monograph. Monographs on principal ingredients also include descriptive information about drug combinations. There are general statements on groups of drugs whose activities and uses permit their discussion as a class. Information on older and prototype drugs is also provided.
  • Keywords: drugs | pharmaceutical

ALFRED: The Allele Frequency Database

Alt Health Watch (TexShare)

  • 10. Alt Health Watch (TexShare)
  • Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
  • Contents: citations , partial full text
  • Access Level: Educational
  • Descriptions: Focuses on complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness; offers full text articles for nearly 180 international reports and journals, many of which are peer-reviewed. In addition, there are hundreds of other publication types: pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research, and book excerpts.
  • Keywords: alternative medicine | herbs | holistic | wellness

America: History and Life and Historical Abstracts

  • 11. America: History and Life and Historical Abstracts
  • Provider: EBSCO
  • Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing
  • Access Level: Educational
  • Descriptions: America: History and Life (AHL) is a complete bibliographic reference to the history of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Published since 1964, the database comprises over 530,000 bibliographic entries for periodicals dating back to 1954. Additional bibliographical entries are constantly added to the databases from editorial projects such as retrospective coverage of journals issues published prior to 1954. This extensive database covers over 1,700 journals published worldwide. In addition to covering all key English-language historical journals, America: History and Life coverage includes selected historical journals from major countries, state and local history journals, and a targeted selection of hundreds of journals in the social sciences and humanities. Over 90% of the articles included are published in English-language journals.
  • Keywords: history | humanities | social sciences

American Film Scripts Online

American Hospital Directory

American Periodicals Series Online, 1740-1900

Approved Drug Products with Therapeutic Equivalence Evaluations (Orange Book)

ARTStor

  • 16. ARTStor
  • Provider: ARTStor
  • Contents: images
  • Access Level: Educational
  • Descriptions: ARTStor contains roughly half a million images of architecture, paintings, sculpture, photography, decorative arts and design, as well as images from other forms of 'visual culture.' This database documents the art of many cultures and eras.
  • Keywords: art | culture | humanities

arXiv

  • 17. arXiv
  • Provider: Cornell University Library
  • Contents: e-prints , free
  • Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
  • Descriptions: Provides open access to e-prints in physics, mathematics, non-linear science, computer science, and quantitative biology. Started in August 1991, arXiv.org (formerly xxx.lanl.gov) is a highly-automated electronic archive and distribution server for research papers. Users can retrieve papers from arXiv either via the web interface, or by sending commands to the system via e-mail. Authors can use a web form to submit their papers and can also update their submissions if they choose, though previous versions remain available. Users can register to automatically receive a listing via email of newly submitted papers in areas of interest to them.
  • Keywords: biology | computers | open access | physics | research

BestBETS: Best Evidence Topics

  • 18. BestBETS: Best Evidence Topics
  • Provider: Manchester Royal Infirmary, Manchester, UK
  • Contents: free , full text
  • Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
  • Descriptions: The BestBETS system was begun in 1996 to address the need for an evidence-based practice tool in the field of Emergency Medicine. Creating a BET (Best Evidence Topic) means following a well-defined set of rules that guide one to formulate effective questions, define the clinical scenario, develop a search strategy and record the search outcome. Literature appraisal results in the assignment of levels of evidence. These guidelines have been published in such journals as Emergency Medicine Journal, Archives of Disease in Childhood, and Interactive Cardiovascular and Thoracic Surgery.
  • Keywords: clinical evidence | emergency medicine | evidence-based medicine | open access | point-of-care

Bibliography of Native North Americans (TexShare)

BioethicsWeb

  • 20. BioethicsWeb
  • Provider: Wellcome Library, Joint Information Systems Committee, University of Nottingham
  • Contents: free , links , links to full text , open access , websites
  • Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
  • Descriptions: Gateway to evaluated, quality Internet resources relating to biomedical ethics, including ethical, social, legal and public policy questions arising from advances in medicine and biology, issues relating to the conduct of biomedical research, and approaches to bioethics. BioethicsWeb is part of Intute, "...a free online service providing access to Web resources for education and research. The service is created by a network of UK universities and partners. Subject specialists select and evaluate the websites in our database and write high quality descriptions of the resources." BioethicsWeb is also affiliated with the BIOME life sciences hub and the Resource Discovery Network (RDN). It is developed and managed by the Wellcome Library for the History and Understanding of Medicine at the Wellcome Trust.
  • Keywords: animal | bioethics | biomedical ethics | open access

Biology Image Library

  • 21. Biology Image Library
  • Provider: BioMed Central
  • Contents: animation , illustrations , images , partial open access , videos
  • Access Level: Educational
  • Descriptions: Brought to you by BioMed Central, the open access publisher, Biology Image Library provides scientific images for downloading and use for non-commercial purposes. For images not in the public domain, Biology Image Library can direct the user to the copyright holder or in some cases handle the sale of rights for commercial use. Submission of contributions is also welcomed. See "About..." for information. The Biology Image Library allows free access to all to view image thumbnails and annotations, but only authorized HAM-TMC users can view full-size versions, save, make PowerPoint slides, or e-mail the images that are under copyright.
  • Keywords: biology | biomedical | e-publishing | education | microbiology

BioMed Central

BioMed Experts

  • 23. BioMed Experts
  • Provider: Collexis Holdings, Inc.
  • Contents: free , interactive
  • Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
  • Descriptions: BioMed Experts is a scientific-literature-based social networking site. "BME connects biomedical researchers to each other through the display and analysis of each scientist’s co-author network, allowing scientists and researchers across organizations to collaborate in new and time-saving ways. BME is available as a free online community to individuals while value-added services are provided for institutional customers." Free registration is required, and fully functional access is now restricted: "If you have published at least three papers over the last ten years that have been indexed in the Pubmed database, you can validate your pre-calculated expert profile and network in a simple, 4-step wizard after you register. If you have not published in Pubmed over the last ten years, you can still register, search, and network with researchers you know."
  • Keywords: biomedical research | citation analysis | collaborative | open access | research | science | scientist | social networking

BIOSIS - Biological Abstracts, 1980 - 2003

  • 24. BIOSIS - Biological Abstracts, 1980 - 2003
  • Provider: OVID
  • Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing
  • Access Level: Educational
  • Descriptions: BIOSIS encompasses the breadth of life sciences and provides coverage of published biological and biomedical research; includes traditional areas of biology, such as botany, zoology and microbiology, as well as experimental, clinical and veterinary medicine, biotechnology, environmental studies, and agriculture. Interdisciplinary fields like biochemistry, biophysics and bioengineering are also included. The Library's coverage ends with 2003. For a brief guide to searching any Ovid database, access the full list of available databases by clicking "Change Databases," and click the "i" (information) logo next to its title.
  • Keywords: biology | biomedical | life sciences | microbiology | veterinary medicine | zoology

BLAST (NCBI)

Books@Ovid

  • 26. Books@Ovid
  • Provider: OVID
  • Contents: e-books , full text
  • Access Level: Educational
  • Descriptions: This browsable, searchable database of electronic books includes a collection of nursing volumes from Lippincott, Williams and Wilkins and the Oxford Textbook of Medicine. All displayed titles are accessible in full text.
  • Keywords: nursing

Business Source Complete (TexShare)

  • 27. Business Source Complete (TexShare)
  • Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
  • Contents: bibliographic records , full text , proceedings
  • Access Level: Educational
  • Descriptions: Scholarly business database, providing both bibliographic and full text content; includes indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back to 1886. In addition to the searchable cited references provided for more than 1,200 journals, Business Source Complete contains detailed author profiles for the 20,000 most-cited authors in the database. Provides full text journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
  • Keywords: business | marketing

Canary Database: Animals as Sentinels of Human Environmental Health Hazards

ChemID Plus

  • 29. ChemID Plus
  • Provider: National Library of Medicine
  • Contents: brief records , chemical compounds , free
  • Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
  • Descriptions: Web-based search system that provides access to structure and nomenclature authority files used for the identification of chemical substances cited in National Library of Medicine (NLM) databases, including the TOXNET system; also provides structure searching and direct links to many biomedical resources at NLM and on the Internet for chemicals of interest. The database contains over 379,000 chemical records, of which over 257,000 include chemical structures, and is searchable by Name, Synonym, CAS Registry Number, Molecular Formula, Classification Code, Locator Code, and Structure.
  • Keywords: chemicals | chemistry | open access | toxicology | toxins

ChemSpider: Building Community for Chemists

CINAHL Plus with Full Text

CKS - Clinical Knowledge Summaries

  • 32. CKS - Clinical Knowledge Summaries
  • Provider: National Library for Health, National Health Service, UK
  • Contents: free , full text , links
  • Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
  • Descriptions: This evidence-based care tool provides the practitioner with "a reliable source of evidence-based information and practical 'know how' about the common conditions managed in primary care." For each topic, information is provided on scope and age range, how recently the topic and the supporting evidence have been updated, background, diagnosis and management information on the condition, the recommended prescribing information, and (for users in the UK) links out to the full text of articles cited. Patient information handouts are also provided. A free registration allows the user to customize the resource according to preference.
  • Keywords: evidence-based medicine | open access

CLASE and PERIODICA (TexShare)

Clin-eguide: Clinical Decision Support

  • 34. Clin-eguide: Clinical Decision Support
  • Provider: OVID
  • Contents: e-books , full text , handbook , patient education , practice guidelines , quick reference , textbooks
  • Access Levels: Clinical Partner , Educational
  • Descriptions: Clin-eguide is a clinical decision support system that combines clinical disease management, drug therapy and laboratory testing information in a single resource. It provides both patient- and disease-specific recommendations, taking into account patient status and concomitant conditions, and prompts the clinician to consider issues that may influence individual patient outcome. Clin-eguide is extensively and systematically researched and updated. It draws information from Evidence-Based Guidelines, Nursing Advisor, Facts & Comparisons drug information, national guidelines, the Cancer Chemotherapy Manual and many other sources, and includes patient handouts. The mobile version is compatible with Palm OS, Windows Mobile, Blackberry and iPhone. To get started with the mobile version, click "MyPDA" in the line of links at top right of the first screen, and register. Your "serial number" entry key will be emailed to you within a few minutes. If you don't receive it within a reasonable time, re-register.
  • Keywords: clinical evidence | clinical practice guidelines | decision support | drugs | evidence-based medicine | nursing | pharmaceutical | physicians | point-of-care

Clinical Queries (PubMed)

ClinicalTrials.gov

  • 36. ClinicalTrials.gov
  • Provider: National Institutes of Health/National Library of Medicine
  • Contents: free , full text
  • Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
  • Descriptions: Contains approximately 29,500 clinical studies sponsored by the National Institutes of Health, other federal agencies, and private industry. Draws on studies conducted in all 50 States and in over 130 other countries. Provides regularly updated information about federally and privately supported clinical research on human volunteers; includes purpose of the trial, who may participate, locations, and phone numbers for learning more details.
  • Keywords: clinical trials | open access

Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews - EBM Reviews

Cochrane Library

Cold Spring Harbor Protocols

  • 39. Cold Spring Harbor Protocols
  • Provider: Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory Press
  • Contents: full text , protocols
  • Access Level: Educational
  • Descriptions: Cold Spring Harbor Protocols is an interactive source of new and classic research techniques. The database is searchable by keyword and subject, and includes discussion forums and personal folders. Its coverage includes cell and molecular biology, genetics, bioinformatics, protein science, and imaging. Protocols will be continuously expanded, updated, and annotated by the originators and users of the techniques.
  • Keywords: bioinformatics | biology | genetics | medical imaging | proteins

Complementary and Alternative Therapies (MedlinePlus)

Computer Source (TexShare)

Consumer Health Complete (TexShare)

Contemporary Authors (TexShare)

  • 43. Contemporary Authors (TexShare)
  • Provider: Gale
  • Contents: bibliographies , biographical , literary criticism
  • Access Level: Educational
  • Descriptions: A bio-bibliographical guide that covers more than 124,000 current writers in a wide range of media, including: current writers of fiction, general nonfiction, poetry, and drama; prominent print and broadcast journalists, editors, photojournalists, syndicated cartoonists, screenwriters, television scriptwriters, and other media people; authors who write in languages other than English, provided their works have been published in the United States or translated into English; and literary greats of the early twentieth century whose works are popular in today's high school and college curriculums and continue to elicit critical attention.
  • Keywords: books | culture | homework | literature

Contemporary Literary Criticism (TexShare)

  • 44. Contemporary Literary Criticism (TexShare)
  • Provider: Gale
  • Contents: literary criticism
  • Access Level: Educational
  • Descriptions: Provides significant published criticism on the works of novelists, poets, playwrights, short story writers, and other creative writers. A strong emphasis is placed on including criticism of works by established authors who frequently appear on syllabuses of high school and college literature courses. Each entry contains the following: a biographical essay that discusses the author's life, works, and critical importance; critical essays or excerpts taken from books, magazines, literary reviews, newspapers, and scholarly journals; and, where available, interviews with featured authors. A complete bibliographical citation prefaces each critical essay and most essays are introduced by a brief annotation that establishes a context and purpose for the criticism. Entries also provide suggestions for further reading.
  • Keywords: books | culture | homework | humanities | literature

Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE) (EBM Reviews)

dbGaP (Database of Genotypes and Phenotypes)

Diagnosaurus

Dictionary of Literary Biography (TexShare)

Dietary Supplements Labels Database

Digital Commons@The Texas Medical Center

Digital National Security Archive

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)

Disaster Information Management Research Center

Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest)

DPDx - Laboratory Identification of Parasites of Public Health Concern

Drug Information Pathfinder

Drug Resource Center

DrugBank

Early Encounters in North America

EBSCOHost Espanol (TexShare)

Economia y Negocios (TexShare)

  • 61. Economia y Negocios (TexShare)
  • Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
  • Contents: bibliographic records , Spanish language interface
  • Access Level: Educational
  • Descriptions: A collaborative effort between EBSCO Publishing and ESAN (Escuela de Administración de Negocios para Graduados), this bibliographic database provides information on research conducted in the areas of business and economics. Search functionality is enhanced through the incorporation of author keywords supplied in Spanish and English. More than 60,000 records, dating back to the early 1980s, provide coverage for over 200 Spanish and Portuguese-language periodicals published in Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Spain, the United States and elsewhere. Active titles include Revista de la CEPAL, Revista de Administraçao, Estudios Empresariales, and Agroeconómico.
  • Keywords: business | economics | Latin America | management | research | Spanish

Eighteenth Century Collections Online (TexShare)

  • 62. Eighteenth Century Collections Online (TexShare)
  • Provider: Gale
  • Contents: full text
  • Access Level: Educational
  • Descriptions: Digital images of over 13 million pages from over 1,500 English-language titles and editions published between 1701 and 1800, with images and maps included. A wide variety of subject matter is represented, from Fine Arts to Medicine. Titles from the British Library and many other university, private and public libraries worldwide.
  • Keywords: culture | history | homework | kids | society

eLibrary Curriculum Edition (TexShare)

Encyclopedia of Animals (TexShare)

Enhanced Business Search Interface (TexShare)

Entrez Cross-Database Search

Epocrates Online®

  • 67. Epocrates Online®
  • Provider: Epocrates, Inc.
  • Contents: free , indexing , monographs , patient education
  • Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
  • Descriptions: Epocrates Online is a database that (with the expected disclaimers and terms of use) provides useful and comprehensive information on pharmaceutical products at no cost to the user. Tabbed sections are provided on drugs, diseases, drug interactions and contraindications, and pill identification. A paid subscription is required for access to MedCalc and another section providing clinical tables/guidelines. Free registration is required to use Epocrates. A free mobile version is also available for download. Subscription information is easy to find on the website.
  • Keywords: drugs | open access | pharmaceutical | pharmacy

ERIC (EBSCO -- TexShare)

  • 68. ERIC (EBSCO -- TexShare)
  • Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
  • Contents: abstracts , bibliographies , directory , dissertation , government documents , indexing , monographs , proceedings , thesis
  • Access Level: Educational
  • Descriptions: ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) database is sponsored by the US Department of Education to provide access to educational-related literature; provides coverage of conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs. Dates of coverage: 1966 - current. Subject coverage includes counseling and personnel services, education management, information resources, languages and linguistics, science, mathematics, and environmental education, teacher education, and tests, measurement, and evaluation.
  • Keywords: education | science | tests | workforce

Ethnic NewsWatch

  • 69. Ethnic NewsWatch
  • Provider: ProQuest -- TexShare
  • Contents:
  • Access Level:
  • Descriptions: An interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of newspapers, magazines and journals from ethnic, minority and native presses. Coverage begins with 1990.
  • Keywords:

European Patent Office (esp@cenet)

Exam Master (USMLE)

  • 71. Exam Master (USMLE)
  • Provider: Exam Master Corp.
  • Contents: test questions
  • Access Levels: Clinical Partner , Educational
  • Descriptions: Exam Master's question bank contains exam practice material for: USMLE Steps 1, 2 and 3; Medical Board Exams, including family practice, internal medicine, and surgery; several medical specialties, including anatomy, microbiology and physiology; and Part I of the National Board Dental Exam. Users register via Remote Access at Exam Master, and set up personal logins in order to create and save their exam questions in the Exam Master database. To register or access your account, log in to your Remote Access account first. Follow the link that says, "Not registered yet?" if you are a new user. The publisher recommends new users take the tutorial they are presented with on first login, before proceeding to select their exam materials.
  • Keywords: medicine | tests | USMLE

Eye Pathologist, The

Faculty of 1000 Biology

  • 73. Faculty of 1000 Biology
  • Provider: BioMed Central
  • Contents: citations , links
  • Access Levels: Clinical Partner , Educational
  • Descriptions: Online research service that highlights and reviews the most interesting papers published in the biological sciences, based on the recommendations of a faculty of well over 1000 researchers. Provides a rapidly updated consensus map of the important papers and trends across biology, including biochemistry, bioinformatics, biotechnology, cell biology, chemical biology, developmental biology, ecology, evolutionary biology, genomics and genetics, immunology, microbiology, molecular biology, molecular medicine, neuroscience, pharmacology and drug discovery, physiology, plant biology, and structural biology. Faculty of 1000 Biology highlights papers on the basis of their scientific merit rather than the journal in which they appear and offers the researcher a consensus of recommendations from well over 1000 leading scientists.
  • Keywords: biomedical research | cell biology | genomics | neuroscience | research | reviews | scientist | social networking

Faculty of 1000 Medicine

FDA Maude Database

Federal Register

Fuente Academica (TexShare)

Funk & Wagnall's New Encyclopedia

Gale Virtual Reference Library (TexShare)

  • 79. Gale Virtual Reference Library (TexShare)
  • Provider: Gale
  • Contents: biographical , dictionary , e-books , encyclopedia , full text , indexing , reference , tables of contents , thesaurus
  • Access Level: Educational
  • Descriptions: E-book reference content in a database format, including many multi-volume encyclopedias, biographical collections, business plan handbooks, company history compilations, consumer health references, and other specialized reference sources. Subjects covered include Arts, Biography, Business, Education, Environment, History, Law, Literature, Medicine, Multicultural Studies, Nation and World, Religion, Science, and Social Science. In addition to titles available from Thomson Gale, content from other publishers is also available, including John Wiley & Sons, SAGE Reference, Cambridge University Press and the xreferplus collection.
  • Keywords: general reference | multidisciplinary

Gene Ontology (GO) project

  • 80. Gene Ontology (GO) project
  • Provider: Gene Ontology Consortium
  • Contents: free , indexing , research tools
  • Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
  • Descriptions: The Gene Ontology (GO) project is a collaborative effort by various organizations and groups working on various genome projects to address the need for consistent description of gene products across different databases. The GO collaborators are developing three "ontologies" (in computer science, specifications of relational vocabularies) that describe three aspects of molecular biology- biological processes, cellular components, and molecular functions- in a species-independent manner. The GO database has a user-friendly interface (AmiGO) available, as well as other downloadable, local-use tools.
  • Keywords: biomedical research | database | genome | genomics | genotype | ontology | open access | sequencing | taxonomy

Genetics Home Reference

Go Local Texas Gulf Coast

  • 82. Go Local Texas Gulf Coast
  • Provider: HAM-TMC Library, UTMB-Galveston Moody Medical Library, and National Library of Medicine
  • Contents: brief records , free , websites
  • Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
  • Descriptions: A joint consumer health website project between the Jesse H Jones Community Health Information Service of the Houston Academy of Medicine-Texas Medical Center Library and the University of Texas Medical Branch, Galveston, Moody Medical Library in partnership with the National Libary of Medicine, this resource provides up-to-date information about local health resources for 38 counties in the Texas Gulf Coast region, and, by linking to MedlinePlus, makes available reliable health information about a number of diseases and conditions.
  • Keywords: consumer health | healthcare | open access | Texas

GoPubMed

GreenFile (TexShare)

Handbook of Texas Online (TexShare)

  • 85. Handbook of Texas Online (TexShare)
  • Provider: Texas State Historical Association and the General Libraries at UT Austin -- TexShare
  • Contents: encyclopedia , full text
  • Access Levels: Clinical Partner , Educational
  • Descriptions: Multidisciplinary encyclopedia of Texas history, geography, and culture sponsored by the Texas State Historical Association and the General Libraries at UT Austin. It comprises more than 23,000 articles on people, places, events, historical themes, institutions, and a host of other topic categories. The scope is broad and inclusive, designed to provide readers with concise, authoritative and accessible articles that provide factual, nonpartisan accounts on virtually every aspect of Texas history and culture.
  • Keywords: culture | history | homework | Texas

HarpWeek

Health & Wellness Resource Center (TexShare)

Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HAPI)

  • 88. Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HAPI)
  • Provider: OVID
  • Contents: research tools , test questions
  • Access Levels: Clinical Partner , Educational
  • Descriptions: Provides access to information on measurement instruments (questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/ manuals, rating scales, projective techniques, vignettes/scenarios, tests) in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information science. Helps to identify measures needed for research studies, grant proposals, client/patient assessment, class papers/projects, theses/dissertations, and program evaluation. For a brief guide to searching any Ovid database, access the full list of available databases by clicking "Change Databases," and click the "i" (information) logo next to its title.
  • Keywords: education | libraries | psychology | social sciences | student

Health Reference Center Academic (TexShare)

Health Source: Consumer Edition (TexShare)

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (TexShare)

  • 91. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (TexShare)
  • Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
  • Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing , reference
  • Access Level: Educational
  • Descriptions: Provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on various medical disciplines and features abstracts and indexing for 850 journals, with coverage of nursing and allied health being particularly strong, including full text from many nursing journals. In addition, this database includes Clinical Pharmacology, which provides access to up-to-date, concise and clinically relevant drug monographs for all U.S. prescription drugs, hard-to-find herbal and nutritional supplements, over-the-counter products and new drugs. Full text information in this database dates as far back as 1975.
  • Keywords: allied health | drugs | medicine | nursing

Herbs and Supplements Information (MedlinePlus)

HeritageQuest Online

Historical Abstracts and America: History and Life

Historical New York Times

IEEE Xplore

Illustrata (CSA)

images.MD, the online encyclopedia of medical images

Index to Chiropractic Literature

Index-Catalogue of the Library of the Surgeon-General's Office. US Army.

Information Science & Technology Abstracts (TexShare)

InfoTrac Newspapers (TexShare)

International Pharmaceutical Abstracts

Internet and Personal Computing Abstracts (TexShare)

  • 104. Internet and Personal Computing Abstracts (TexShare)
  • Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
  • Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing
  • Access Level: Educational
  • Descriptions: Provides abstracts and indexing for literature related to personal computing products and developments in business, the Internet, the home, and all other applied areas. Coverage extends back to the 1980s. Over 400 trade publications, mainstream computer magazines and professional journals are covered, including those that focus on specific topics such as Macintosh and Windows platforms, programming and web development, with special emphasis on hardware and software reviews. Includes content from such titles as Byte.com, PC World, Macworld, and Linux Journal, as well as editor-selected articles from hundreds of popular magazine titles.
  • Keywords: computers | industry | internet | journal | products | technology

Journal Citation Reports

Journals@ OVID Full Text

JSTOR, the Scholarly Journal Archive

  • 107. JSTOR, the Scholarly Journal Archive
  • Provider: JSTOR
  • Contents: archive , full text , indexing
  • Access Level: Educational
  • Descriptions: The JSTOR archive contains the complete digitized back runs of core scholarly journals in multiple disciplines, starting with the very first issues, some dating as far back as the 1600's. New titles and disciplines are added regularly. Via HAM-TMC Library the following collections are available: Arts and Sciences I-IV; Biological Sciences; Business I-II; Ecology & Botany; Health & General Sciences; and Language & Literature.
  • Keywords: digital | journal | multidisciplinary

Kids Search (TexShare)

  • 108. Kids Search (TexShare)
  • Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
  • Contents: full text , illustrations , search engine
  • Access Level: Educational
  • Descriptions: Search interface designed specifically for elementary/middle school students' needs and search abilities. The Kids Search interface combines a search engine with a child-friendly, graphically rich design that is both powerful and fun to use. Important features and functionality of Kids Search include a completely new, visually appealing look and feel and the ability to search by topic, subtopic, or keywords.
  • Keywords: homework | K-12 | kids | multidisciplinary

LactMed: Drugs and Lactation Database

Legal Collection (TexShare)

  • 110. Legal Collection (TexShare)
  • Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
  • Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing
  • Access Level: Educational
  • Descriptions: Collection of scholarly peer-reviewed publications including law journals, documents, and case studies, with information on current issues, studies, thoughts and trends of the legal world. Legal Collection offers full text for nearly 250 law journals and provides information centered on the discipline of law and legal topics such as criminal justice, international law, federal law, organized crime, medical, labor & human resource law, ethics, the environment and much more. Full text information in this database dates as far back as 1965.
  • Keywords: criminal justice | law | legal | multidisciplinary | social sciences

Library of Texas (TexShare)

Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (TexShare)

Literature Resource Center

  • 113. Literature Resource Center
  • Provider: Gale
  • Contents: full text , literary criticism , quick reference
  • Access Level: Educational
  • Descriptions: Literature reference database designed for both undergraduate and graduate students; provides biographical, bibliographical, critical content, and information on literary figures from all time periods writing in such genres as fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, journalism, and more. Includes information from the Thomson Gale databases Contemporary Authors Online, Contemporary Literary Criticism Select, and Dictionary of Literary Biography Online.
  • Keywords: biography | books | gateway | humanities | literature | poetry | portal | student

MAS Ultra School Edition (TexShare)

  • 114. MAS Ultra School Edition (TexShare)
  • Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
  • Contents: encyclopedia , full text , images , maps , monographs , reference
  • Access Level: Educational
  • Descriptions: Contains full text for more than 700 popular magazines, including The Nation, National Review, New Republic, New Scientist, Science News, and Scientific American. All full text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full text is available for biographies and primary source documents. Also included are pamphlets, reference books (including the Columbia Encyclopedia, the CIA World Fact Book and World Almanac & Book of Facts), an image collection, maps & flags, color PDFs and expanded full text backfiles (back to 1975) for key magazines.
  • Keywords: kids | magazines | multidisciplinary | research | student

MasterFILE Premier (TexShare)

  • 115. MasterFILE Premier (TexShare)
  • Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
  • Contents: abstracts , dictionary , e-books , indexing , maps , quick reference , reference , research tools
  • Access Level: Educational
  • Descriptions: Provides full text for more than 1,700 general periodicals covering a broad range of disciplines including general reference, business, education, health, general science, and multicultural issues. In addition to the full text, this database provides indexing and abstracts for nearly 2,400 titles. This database includes full text Magill Book Reviews, full text reference books including the World Almanac & Book of Facts; full text from biographies, full text primary source documents, American Heritage Dictionary, 4th Edition and an image collection of photos, maps and flags. Includes PDF backfiles as far back as 1975 for key publications.
  • Keywords: general reference | multicultural | multidisciplinary | reviews | student

MD Consult

Medical Letter, The

  • 117. Medical Letter, The
  • Provider: The Medical Letter, Inc.
  • Contents: CME , full text , handbook , practice guidelines , reference , research tools
  • Access Level: Educational
  • Descriptions: This database contains The Medical Letter on Drugs and Therapeutics, a searchable current database featuring biweekly updates. Archived information dates back to 1988. Also included: the database Treatment Guidelines from The Medical Letter, which includes guidelines from 2002 through the present; Adverse Drug Reactions Program, a proprietary, evidence-based database of drug interactions, updated frequently and searchable for up to 12 drugs simultaneously; and the Handbook of Antimicrobial Therapy, 17th ed. (2005.) Also available are ACCME/ACPE/AAFP-accredited CME's. PDA access is also supported, for Palm OS users only. Please contact the Circulation Desk staff for details on getting started with PDA and CME.
  • Keywords: drugs | PDA access | pharmaceutical | pharmacology

Medical Subject Headings (MeSH)

  • 118. Medical Subject Headings (MeSH)
  • Provider: National Library of Medicine
  • Contents: cross reference , free , index , thesaurus
  • Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
  • Descriptions: MeSH is the National Library of Medicine's controlled vocabulary thesaurus, consisting of sets of descriptors in a hierarchical structure to permit searching with increasing levels of specificity. This thesaurus is used by NLM for indexing articles from more than 4,800 of the world's leading biomedical journals for the MEDLINE/PubMed® database. It is also used for LocatorPlus, the NLM-produced catalog of books, documents, and audiovisuals acquired by the National Library of Medicine. Each bibliographic record is associated with a set of MeSH terms describing the item's content. MeSH vocabulary can be used in search queries to find items on a desired topic in any NLM database.
  • Keywords: life sciences | MeSH | NLM | open access | subject headings | taxonomy

MedicLatina (TexShare)

  • 119. MedicLatina (TexShare)
  • Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
  • Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing , Spanish language interface
  • Access Level: Educational
  • Descriptions: Spanish language collection of medical research and investigative medicine journals, providing full text in Spanish to peer-reviewed medical journals. A wide range of topics is covered, including neuroscience, cardiology, nephrology, biomedicine, clinical research, pediatrics, human reproduction, clinical pathology, cancer research, and hematology. Publications covered in this database include Revista Medica del IMSS, Revista Mexicana de Patologia Clinica, Boletin Medico del Hospital Infantil de Mexico, Archivos de Neurociencias, Revista Biomedica, Veterinaria Mexico, and Salud Publica de Mexico.
  • Keywords: journal | Latin America | medicine | peer review | physicians | research | scientist | Spanish

Medline (CSA)

Medline (EBSCO)

Medline (OVID)

Medline (PubMed)

MedlinePlus

Medscape

  • 125. Medscape
  • Provider: WebMD
  • Contents: CME , free , full text , patient education
  • Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
  • Descriptions: Original, professional medical content, including review articles, journal commentary, expert columns, patient education articles, book reviews, and more than 850 online CME activities. MedScape now offers free download of drug information for the iPhone and iPod Touch. This includes dosage, interactions and adverse effects and cost across more than 6,000 generics and brands, OTCs, herbals and supplements, as well as information for pregnant or lactating women. MedScape requires free registration.
  • Keywords: consumer health | open access | physicians | reviews

Mental Measurements Yearbook

Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy, The

Merck Manuals Online Medical Library-  Home Edition

Merck Veterinary Manual

Middle Search Plus (TexShare)

Military & Government Collection (TexShare)

National Cancer Institute Website

National Criminal Justice Reference Service

National Guideline Clearinghouse

National Reference Center for Bioethics Literature

Natural & Alternative Treatments (TexShare)

Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database

Nature Neuroscience Gateway

Nature.com Databases and Gateways

NCME TV

  • 140. NCME TV
  • Provider: Network for Continuing Medical Education
  • Contents: CME , videos
  • Access Levels: Clinical Partner , Educational
  • Descriptions: NCME TV™ provides a variety of contemporary topics of interest to primary care physicians, hospitalists, and other specialists. NCME covers important CME topics, some of which are rarely covered by other CME providers. Each month, a new program is posted from one of the following categories: Masters Programs on Critical Topics in Medicine (grand-rounds style reviews of important topics in emergency medicine); State-Mandated CME Topics (needed for licensure in many states); Hospital Quality/Performance Issues;and Late-Breaking and Hot Topics. NCME is accredited by the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education to provide continuing medical education for physicians. All NCME programs are certified for AMA PRA Category 1 Credit™ on an hour-for-hour basis. (Some individual programs are supported by educational grants from industry.) See http://resource.library.tmc.edu/resources/ncme.cfm for clarification on how to register at the NCME TV website.
  • Keywords: education | medicine | physicians | point-of-care | video

NetLibrary E-Books Collection Basic Search Interface (TexShare)

Newspaper Source (TexShare)

  • 142. Newspaper Source (TexShare)
  • Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
  • Contents: citations , full text , indexing , news , newspapers , radio , transcripts
  • Access Level: Educational
  • Descriptions: Provides cover-to-cover full text for 20 national (US) & international newspapers, including The Christian Science Monitor, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Times (London), Toronto Star, etc. The database also contains selected full text for more than 230 regional (US) newspapers, including The Boston Globe, Chicago Tribune, Detroit Free Press, The Miami Herald, Daily News (New York), San Jose Mercury News, etc. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are provided from CBS News, FOX News, NPR, and other sources.
  • Keywords: business | culture | current events | government | politics | public affairs | society

NLM Drug Information Portal

NLM Gateway: search engine for the resources of the National Library of Medicine

North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, and Oral Histories

North American Women's Letters and Diaries

Nursing & Allied Health Source (ProQuest)

Nursing Reference Center

  • 148. Nursing Reference Center
  • Provider: EBSCO
  • Contents: CME , e-books , full text , links to full text , news , patient education , reference
  • Access Levels: Clinical Partner , Educational
  • Descriptions: A comprehensive, point-of-care resource for nursing, Nursing Reference Center draws search results in part from Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses; AHFS Drug Information Essentials; Diseases and Disorders: A Nursing Therapeutics Manual; Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary; and Davis's Comprehensive Handbook of Laboratory & Diagnostic Tests with Nursing Implications. Nursing Reference Center includes: "quick lessons" on diseases and disorders; evidence-based care sheets; practice guidelines; patient education sheets, some available in Spanish; CE modules; news; research instruments; and information on legal cases. Nursing Reference Center provides direct access to full text articles found in CINAHL. First-time users are encouraged to "take the tour" on the database's home page (FlashPlayer required) to learn more.
  • Keywords: clinical practice guidelines | drugs | evidence-based | journal | legal | monographs | nursing | point-of-care

OMMBID (Online Metabolic & Molecular Bases of Inherited Disease)

OncologyStat

  • 150. OncologyStat
  • Provider: Elsevier
  • Contents: free , full text , interactive , patient education , reference , videos
  • Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
  • Descriptions: From the website: "OncologySTAT integrates a multitude of authoritative professional cancer information sources, such as peer-reviewed research, news and regulatory updates, a professional drug monograph and interactions database, chemotherapy regimens, and conference coverage into one easy-to-use online destination. Information and educational materials are delivered across multiple media formats: text, audio, video, interactive, user-generated forums, etc. Community oncologists and cancer-care practitioners in private practice or a non-institutional setting will find OncologySTAT especially useful in gaining immediate integrated access to the latest evidence-based research, news, treatment, and decision support information." Note: Free registration is required to access full text articles and to contribute comments to blogs in this database.
  • Keywords: cancer | clinical trials | database | decision support | evidence-based medicine | oncology | open access

Orphanet: the Portal for Rare Diseases and Orphan Drugs

PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) International

PDQ (Physician Data Query) Cancer Database

PEDro Physiotherapy Evidence Database

Periodicals Archive Online

PLOS Hub for Clinical Trials

Primary Search (TexShare)

  • 157. Primary Search (TexShare)
  • Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
  • Contents: citations , full text , images
  • Access Level: Educational
  • Descriptions: Indexes nearly 70 popular elementary school magazines, with all full text articles (about a third of the material indexed) being assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 100 magazines. Full text is also available for over 100 student pamphlets. Examples of publications include: Boys’ Life, Cricket, Highlights for Children, Hopscotch, Jack & Jill, Ladybug, Ranger Rick, Science World, Spider, SuperScience, and Time for Kids. This database also provides the American Heritage Children’s Dictionary, 3rd Edition from Houghton Mifflin, and an image collection of 202,164 photos, maps and flags.
  • Keywords: culture | K-12 | kids | multidisciplinary | search

Professional Development Collection (TexShare)

  • 158. Professional Development Collection (TexShare)
  • Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
  • Contents: abstracts , career and jobs , full text , indexing
  • Access Level: Educational
  • Descriptions: Designed for professional educators, this database provides a specialized collection of nearly 550 education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports. In addition to full text, indexing and abstracts are provided for more than 700 journals. Titles offered include: Booklist, Curriculum Administrator, Education, Education Digest, Educational Leadership, Journal of Education, Journal of Educational Research, Journal of Learning Disabilities, and School Library Journal.
  • Keywords: education

PsycARTICLES (EbscoHost)

  • 159. PsycARTICLES (EbscoHost)
  • Provider: EBSCO
  • Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing
  • Access Level: Educational
  • Descriptions: Provides full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA’s Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber, including all the material (with the exception of ads and editorial board lists) from 55 top psychology publications. Covers a range of subjects such as general psychology and specialized basic, applied, clinical, and theoretical research areas within psychology. Titles include: Behavioral Neuroscience, Journal of Abnormal Psychology, Psychology of Addictive Behaviors, Psychological Bulletin, and Journal of Personality & Social Psychology.
  • Keywords: journal | neurology | psychology

PsychiatryOnline

  • 160. PsychiatryOnline
  • Provider: American Psychiatric Publishing, Inc.
  • Contents: CME , full text , handbook , news , textbooks
  • Access Levels: Clinical Partner , Educational
  • Descriptions: Provides full text resources including DSM-IV-TR, DSM-IV-TR Casebook and its Treatment Companion, and the American Psychiatric Association Practice Guidelines for the Treatment of Psychiatric Disorders; journals including The American Journal of Psychiatry and Psychiatric Services; textbooks including Textbook of Clinical Psychiatry; self-assessment tools for study, board certification and recertification review, and lifelong learning; and clinical & research news from Psychiatric News.
  • Keywords: neurology | psychiatry | psychoanalysis

Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection (TexShare)

PsycINFO (OVID)

  • 162. PsycINFO (OVID)
  • Provider: OVID
  • Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing
  • Access Levels: Clinical Partner , Educational
  • Descriptions: Provides citations with abstracts to the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences, covering material of relevance to psychologists, students, and professionals in related fields: psychiatry, management, business, and education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work. Journal coverage includes material selected from approximately 2,000 periodicals. Chapter and book coverage includes English-language material published from 1987 to the present. For a brief guide to searching any Ovid database, access the full list of available databases by clicking "Change Databases," and click the "i" (information) logo next to its title.
  • Keywords: behavioral sciences | psychology

PubChem

Public Library of Science (PLoS)

PubMed

PubMed Bookshelf

  • 166. PubMed Bookshelf
  • Provider: National Library of Medicine and National Center for Biotechnology Information
  • Contents: e-books , free , full text , links , open access
  • Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
  • Descriptions: Collaborating with authors and publishers, the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) adapts biomedical books for the web. They may either be accessed via direct search or via "Books" links in PubMed abstracts. In the future, more links will be made between this collection of books and other types of information provided by NCBI, for instance, gene and protein sequences and macromolecular structures.
  • Keywords: biomedical | books | e-books | open access

PubMed Central

  • 167. PubMed Central
  • Provider: National Library of Medicine
  • Contents: archive , free , full text , open access
  • Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
  • Descriptions: Digital archive of life sciences journal literature from the US National Institutes of Health (NIH). With PubMed Central, NLM took the lead in preserving and maintaining unrestricted access to electronic literature, just as it has done for decades with print biomedical literature. PubMed Central aims to fill the role of being a world-class library of the digital age, a repository of knowledge. The National Library of Medicine believes that providing free, unrestricted access to the material in PubMed Central is the best way to ensure the durability and utility of the archive as technology evolves.
  • Keywords: allied health | digital | journal | medicine | open access

PubMed Clinical Queries

  • 168. PubMed Clinical Queries
  • Provider: National Institutes of Health/National Library of Medicine
  • Contents:
  • Access Level:
  • Descriptions: At this PubMed page aimed at the clinician, special search filtering helps the user find citations to clinical studies, systematic reviews or medical genetics studies.
  • Keywords:

Radiation Event Medical Management (REMM)

RefWorks

  • 170. RefWorks
  • Provider: ProQuest
  • Contents: bibliographic management , interactive , reference
  • Access Levels: Clinical Partner , Educational
  • Descriptions: RefWorks is a web-based bibliographic management tool that enables users to organize and create a personal database online, format bibliographies and manuscripts, and import references from a variety of databases using the already-created Import Filters. Users can establish links to RSS feeds and import data from those feeds directly. RefWorks automatically creates author, descriptor and periodical indexes when importing data. It can be used across multiple platforms, including Windows, Mac, and Unix. Individual sign-up is required. See RefWorks under "Online Tutorials" on the Library's home page for instructions on getting started as well as more advanced information. Tutorials are presented in video and print-only format.
  • Keywords: publishing | research | student

Regional Business News (TexShare)

Religion and Philosophy Collection (TexShare)

  • 172. Religion and Philosophy Collection (TexShare)
  • Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
  • Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing
  • Access Level: Educational
  • Descriptions: Covers the predominant world religions, biblical studies, archaeology, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy, ethics, history of philosophy. Contains more than 300 full text journals, among them more than 250 peer-reviewed titles. Indexing and abstracts are provided for all journals in the database.
  • Keywords: ethics | philosophy

RePORTER (Report Expenditures and Results)

Salud en Espanol (TexShare)

Science and Technology Collection (TexShare)

Science Citation Index (via Web of Science)

ScienceDirect

Scitopia

Scopus

  • 179. Scopus
  • Provider: Elsevier
  • Contents: abstracts , charts and graphs , citations , full text , government documents , indexing , links to full text , proceedings , research tools , websites
  • Access Levels: Clinical Partner , Educational
  • Descriptions: SCOPUS contains millions of records from 15,000 publications in the health sciences (including 100% of the journals contained in Medline and EmBase), as well as chemistry, physics, mathematics, engineering, biology, agriculture, environmental sciences and the humanities. Link to full text articles from journals in the HAM-TMC Library's collection by clicking the HAM-TMC Library Find It! button. SCOPUS covers the proceedings of 750 conferences, and retrieves a separate set of relevant Web resources with every literature search. Another tab separates a set of patent results from U.S., U.K. and worldwide patent offices. SCOPUS includes a Journal Analyzer tool that graphs journals, singly or for comparison, from 1996 to present, showing total citations, number of articles published, total citations divided by number of articles, and the percentage of uncited articles. A search by affiliation is provided. Free login for authorized users provides additional advantages: a personal profile, with space to save lists of citations and track authors; a publication alerts service; and direct export to RefWorks, each with the user's own settings. For tutorials on searching and SCOPUS features, click here.
  • Keywords: biology | biomedical research | chemistry | conference | internet | journal | life sciences | medicine | multidisciplinary | nursing | patents | pharmacology | science

Scribner Writers Series (TexShare)

Searchasaurus (TexShare)

Serials Directory (TexShare)

  • 182. Serials Directory (TexShare)
  • Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
  • Contents: bibliographic records , directory , newspapers
  • Access Level: Educational
  • Descriptions: Provides bibliographic information and current pricing structures for popular serials; lists over 184,000 U.S. and international titles, including newspapers; data from nearly 83,500 publishers worldwide, including e-mail and Internet addresses. Historical data is provided for an additional 20,000 titles; and Library of Congress and Dewey Decimal Classification numbers are listed for each entry.
  • Keywords: journal | libraries | magazines | periodicals

Social Sciences Citation Index (Via Web of Science)

Social Services Abstracts

Sociological Abstracts

Spanish Language Interface to EBSCO Databases (TexShare)

STAT!Ref (TexShare)

Statistical Abstract of the United States

Student Research Center Interface (TexShare)

SUMSearch

Tests in Print

  • 191. Tests in Print
  • Provider: EBSCO
  • Contents: brief records , index , indexing , research tools , test questions
  • Access Level: Educational
  • Descriptions: Produced by the Buros Institute of Mental Measurements at the University of Nebraska, Tests in Print (TIP) serves as a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language. TIP provides vital information to users including test purpose, test publisher, in-print status, price, test acronym, intended test population, administration times, publication date(s), and test author(s).
  • Keywords: mental health | psychology | reviews | sociology | tests

Texas Digital Sanborn Maps (TexShare)

  • 192. Texas Digital Sanborn Maps (TexShare)
  • Provider: ProQuest -- TexShare
  • Contents: maps , reference
  • Access Level: Educational
  • Descriptions: Covering 1867 - 1970, Sanborn maps are large-scale plans of a city or town, drawn at a scale of 50 feet to an inch. They were created to assist fire insurance companies as they assessed the risk associated with insuring individual properties. The maps list street blocks and building numbers, including both numbers in use at the time of mapping and numbers designated previously.
  • Keywords: American history | Texas

Texas Reference Center (TexShare)

  • 193. Texas Reference Center (TexShare)
  • Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
  • Contents: biographical , full text , reference
  • Access Level: Educational
  • Descriptions: Includes more than 80 full-text journals and books about Texas history, ethnic and cultural diversity, gender studies, literature, public health, business as well as home & garden, sports & leisure. Contains biographies of famous historical and contemporary Texans like George H.W. Bush, Lady Bird Johnson, Dan Moody, Susanna Dickinson and Sam Houston. Newspapers providing Texas and national news coverage are also included.
  • Keywords: books | history | homework | journal | kids | student | Texas

TOPICsearch (TexShare)

Tox Town

TOXLINE (CSA)

  • 196. TOXLINE (CSA)
  • Provider: ProQuest
  • Contents: abstracts , citations , indexing
  • Access Level: Educational
  • Descriptions: Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, provides bibliographic citations and abstracts from the core journal literature in toxicology. Note: this version of TOXLINE has no information from Chemical Abstracts Service, BIOSIS, or International Pharmaceutical Abstracts; it is a "rolling 5-year" database, consisting of records from the last 5 years plus the current year.
  • Keywords: biohazard | environmental | NLM | toxicology

TOXMAP

TOXNET: Toxicology Data Network

TRIP Database: the search engine for Evidence-Based Medicine

Twayne's Author Series (TexShare)

Twentieth (20th) Century Poetry (American & English) - TexShare

  • 201. Twentieth (20th) Century Poetry (American & English) - TexShare
  • Provider: ProQuest -- TexShare
  • Contents: full text
  • Access Level: Educational
  • Descriptions: American Section: includes 50,000 poems drawn from 750 volumes of works by more than 300 poets, including Adrienne Rich, Andrei Codrescu, Ezra Pound, William Carlos Williams, Denise Levertov, Wallace Stevens, Langston Hughes, Lucille Clifton and Cathy Song. The English Section is a collection of 598 volumes of poems written by 283 poets, dating from 1900 to the present day: W.B. Yeats, Rudyard Kipling, Thomas Hardy, Wilfred Owen, Thom Gunn, Fleur Adcock, Paul Muldoon, Tony Harrison, Benjamin Zephaniah and Carol Ann Duffy and many more; incorporates also poets represented in The Faber Poetry Library.
  • Keywords: books | homework | humanities | poetry | student

U.S. Patent and Trademark Office

UniProt

  • 203. UniProt
  • Provider: UniProt Consortium
  • Contents: citations , cross reference , free , glossary of terms , index , open access , research tools , sequencing data
  • Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
  • Descriptions: "The mission of UniProt is to provide the scientific community with a comprehensive, high-quality and freely accessible resource of protein sequence and functional information." Available material consists of: UniProtKB, a two-section protein knowledge base consisting of SwissProt (reviewed and annotated manually) and TrEMBL (not reviewed, annotated automatically;) UniRef (sequence clusters;) UniParc (a sequence archive for tracking sequences and identifiers;) and the supporting data (literature citations, taxonomy, keywords, nomenclature, guidelines and indexes.) A user manual and primer on annotation are provided as well. UniProt is distributed free under a Creative Commons attribution license. Updates happen frequently and it appears the updates must be retrieved from the website.
  • Keywords: biomedical research | genetics | ontology | open access | proteins | scientist | sequencing | taxonomy

UpToDate

  • 204. UpToDate
  • Provider: UpToDate.com
  • Contents: abstracts , CME , full text , indexing , quick reference
  • Access Level: Provided only for a specific user group- see database description for details.
  • Descriptions: This evidence-based resource is designed for use at the point of care, with topic reviews provided by nearly 3,000 physicians. Information presented is peer-reviewed. Provides access to current information within defined specialties; helps clinicians recognize the clinical manifestations of a wide variety of disorders and describes current options for diagnosis, management and therapy, including drug efficacy, dosage and interactions; and also assists with the identification of optimal screening and prevention strategies. NOTES: FOR BAYLOR USERS: Please go to your ERC's (Education Resource Center's) database list to use UpToDate. FOR ALL USERS: There is no Remote Access Service available for this resource. Access is available at UTHSC TMC campus locations and at HAM-TMC Library.
  • Keywords: diagnosis | drugs | evidence-based medicine | pharmaceutical | physicians | point-of-care

Vocational and Career Collection (TexShare)

Web of Science

Wiley Interscience Journals

WISER: Wireless Information System for Emergency Responders

World History Collection (TexShare)

WorldCat

WorldCat (TexShare)