A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z
HAM-TMC Library
Databases
Our databases contain a wide variety of medical information resources: journal articles, statistics, images, government information, and more. Browse the alphabetical list of database titles or search for terms that appear in the database descriptions.Search:
"Clinical Partner" Access Level Databases
Currently, the Library has 19 databases for the Clinical Partner Access Level.
- 1. AccessMedicine
- Provider: McGraw-Hill
- Contents: e-books , full text , images , reference , textbooks , videos
- Access Levels: Clinical Partner , Educational
- Descriptions: An integrated clinical database, featuring daily updates, that quickly pulls information from a pool of over 50 trusted medical texts, a drug index, a diagnostic tool and an image and video library. Also contains patient handouts. This resource is available to Educational and Clinical Partner users.
- Keywords: clinical | database | diagnosis | drugs | e-books | evidence-based medicine | medicine | point-of-care | video
- 2. AccessSurgery
- Provider: McGraw-Hill
- Contents: CME , full text , images , videos
- Access Levels: Clinical Partner , Educational
- Descriptions: An integrated database of surgical resources, both written and visual, that provides medical students, surgical residents, and practicing surgeons with quick answers to surgical inquiries, from trusted sources. Organized around the ACGME's (Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education) mandate for a core curriculum, AccessSurgery delivers content in context. This is a tool for the student, the educator, and the practitioner, and is available to Educational and Clinical Partner users.
- Keywords: clinical | surgery
- 3. BioMed Central
- Provider: BioMed Central
- Contents: abstracts , free , interactive , news , partial open access , research tools , videos , websites
- Access Levels: Clinical Partner , Educational , Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: All the research articles published in BioMed Central's more than 160 journals are open access, but other articles in a minority of BMC's journals are available only by subscription. BioMed Central also provides various additional products and services for subscribers only. Because BioMed Central views open access to research as essential to ensure the rapid and efficient communication of research findings, original research articles are made freely and permanently accessible online immediately upon publication.
- Keywords: biomedical research | journal | medicine | open access | research | science
- 4. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews - EBM Reviews
- Provider: OVID
- Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing
- Access Levels: Clinical Partner , Educational
- Descriptions: Includes the full text of the regularly updated systematic reviews of the effects of healthcare prepared by The Cochrane Collaboration. Reviews are presented in two types: complete reviews- regularly updated Cochrane Reviews, prepared and maintained by Collaborative Review Groups; and protocols- the background, objectives and methods of reviews in preparation. This database is updated and amended regularly, as new evidence becomes available and errors are identified. For a brief guide to searching any Ovid database, access the full list of available databases by clicking "Change Databases," and click the "i" (information) logo next to its title.
- Keywords: clinical evidence | clinical studies | clinical trials | evidence-based medicine | point-of-care | systematic reviews
- 5. Cochrane Library
- Provider: Wiley InterScience
- Contents: full text
- Access Levels: Clinical Partner , Educational
- Descriptions: Aggregated database of information from the following: The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews; Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects; The Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials; Cochrane Database of Methodology Reviews; Cochrane Methodology Register; Health Technology Assessment Database; and NHS Economic Evaluation Database. For information on searching this resource, click here.
- Keywords: clinical evidence | clinical studies | clinical trials | point-of-care | systematic reviews
- 6. Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE) (EBM Reviews)
- Provider: OVID
- Contents: abstracts , indexing , links
- Access Levels: Clinical Partner , Educational
- Descriptions: Provides critical assessments of systematic reviews from a variety of medical journals. DARE is produced by reviewers and information staff of the National Health Service's Centre for Reviews and Dissemination (NHS CRD) at the University of York, England, and consists of structured abstracts of systematic reviews from all over the world. DARE records cover topics such as diagnosis, prevention, rehabilitation, screening, and treatment.
- Keywords: diagnosis | reviews | Spanish | systematic reviews
- 7. Diagnosaurus
- Provider: McGraw-Hill
- Contents: brief records , links to full text
- Access Levels: Clinical Partner , Educational
- Descriptions: Diagnosaurus is a tool that links the user to information in texts within AccessMedicine's collection in order to assist with the formation of differential diagnoses on over a thousand diseases and disorders.
- Keywords: decision support | diagnosis | physicians
- 8. Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HAPI)
- Provider: OVID
- Contents: research tools , test questions
- Access Levels: Clinical Partner , Educational
- Descriptions: Provides access to information on measurement instruments (questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/ manuals, rating scales, projective techniques, vignettes/scenarios, tests) in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information science. Helps to identify measures needed for research studies, grant proposals, client/patient assessment, class papers/projects, theses/dissertations, and program evaluation. For a brief guide to searching any Ovid database, access the full list of available databases by clicking "Change Databases," and click the "i" (information) logo next to its title.
- Keywords: education | libraries | psychology | social sciences | student
- 9. Illustrata (CSA)
- Provider: ProQuest
- Contents: abstracts , charts and graphs , full text , illustrations , images , indexing , maps , research tools
- Access Levels: Clinical Partner , Educational
- Descriptions: Provides access to nearly one million illustrations, charts, graphs, maps, and other figures from more than 665 journals; using this resource, researchers can specifically search information presented in tables, figures, charts, and other illustrations within articles and then view the full object, including all caption and label text.
- Keywords: figures | science | search
- 10. images.MD, the online encyclopedia of medical images
- Provider: Current Medicine
- Contents: charts and graphs , illustrations , images , research tools , text
- Access Levels: Clinical Partner , Educational
- Descriptions: Compiles over 50,000 images in internal medicine, all derived from Current Medicine’s series of illustrated atlases. Each image is accompanied by detailed text written by over 2,000 contributing experts. Continually updated, with content added throughout the year. Detailed references accompany each image.
- Keywords: biomedical | internal medicine | medical imaging | medicine
- 11. Journals@ OVID Full Text
- Provider: OVID
- Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing , links to full text , tables of contents
- Access Levels: Clinical Partner , Educational
- Descriptions: Collection of Ovid full text journals. Provides access to all tables of contents, bibliographic citations, abstracts and references; full text for journals subscribed to by the Library.
- Keywords: allied health | journal | nursing | portal | research
- 12. Medline (OVID)
- Provider: OVID
- Contents: abstracts , citations , index , indexing , research tools
- Access Levels: Clinical Partner , Educational
- Descriptions: Bibliographic database providing information from the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, allied health, and the pre-clinical sciences; the electronic counterpart of Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and the International Nursing Index.
- Keywords: allied health | dentistry | health sciences | life sciences | nursing | pharmacology | physicians | science | scientist | veterinary medicine
- 13. Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database
- Provider: Therapeutic Research Faculty
- Contents: abstracts , CME , full text , indexing , patient education
- Access Levels: Clinical Partner , Educational
- Descriptions: Updated daily, Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database provides clinically relevant information in an easy-to-use format. Product search is available from any page; click a button to get a patient handout for any product, or click references to see abstracts of articles. Supports PDA access for Palm OS or Windows mobile PDA, except for Smartphones.
- Keywords: dietary supplements | evidence-based medicine | herbs | PDA access | pharmacology | products
- 14. Nature Neuroscience Gateway
- Provider: Nature Publishing Group and the Allen Institute for Brain Science
- Contents: career and jobs , free , full text , news , partial open access
- Access Levels: Clinical Partner , Educational , Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: A comprehensive source for current research, news and events in neuroscience and genomics research developed collaboratively by the Allen Institute for Brain Science and Nature Publishing Group; includes the Allen Brain Atlas, a freely available scientific resource developed by the Allen Institute, which provides maps of the expression of approximately 20,000 genes in the mouse brain. Together, the Neuroscience Gateway and the Allen Brain Atlas are new tools to help researchers navigate neuroscience and genomics research.
- Keywords: gateway | neurology | neuroscience | open access | portal | research | scientist
- 15. Nursing & Allied Health Source (ProQuest)
- Provider: ProQuest
- Contents: abstracts , dissertation , full text , indexing
- Access Levels: Clinical Partner , Educational
- Descriptions: This mostly full text database provides scholarly articles, dissertations, reports and evidence-based resources (notably from the Joanna Briggs Institute) supporting the study of nursing and the allied health professions, including physical therapy, radiography, dietetics, dental hygiene and the clinical laboratory sciences. Features "Study Paths" (collections of resources particularly relevant for either RN or LPN students); evidence summaries; MMWR reports on public health issues; and practice guidelines.
- Keywords: allied health | care | diet | evidence-based | health insurance | journal | medical imaging | multidisciplinary | nursing | nutrition | systematic reviews
- 16. Nursing Reference Center
- Provider: EBSCO
- Contents: CME , e-books , full text , links to full text , news , patient education , reference
- Access Levels: Clinical Partner , Educational
- Descriptions: A comprehensive, point-of-care resource for nursing, Nursing Reference Center draws search results in part from Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses; AHFS Drug Information Essentials; Diseases and Disorders: A Nursing Therapeutics Manual; Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary; and Davis's Comprehensive Handbook of Laboratory & Diagnostic Tests with Nursing Implications. Nursing Reference Center includes: "quick lessons" on diseases and disorders; evidence-based care sheets; practice guidelines; patient education sheets, some available in Spanish; CE modules; news; research instruments; and information on legal cases. Nursing Reference Center provides direct access to full text articles found in CINAHL. First-time users are encouraged to "take the tour" on the database's home page (FlashPlayer required) to learn more.
- Keywords: clinical practice guidelines | drugs | evidence-based | journal | legal | monographs | nursing | point-of-care
- 17. PsycINFO (OVID)
- Provider: OVID
- Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing
- Access Levels: Clinical Partner , Educational
- Descriptions: Provides citations with abstracts to the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences, covering material of relevance to psychologists, students, and professionals in related fields: psychiatry, management, business, and education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work. Journal coverage includes material selected from approximately 2,000 periodicals. Chapter and book coverage includes English-language material published from 1987 to the present. For a brief guide to searching any Ovid database, access the full list of available databases by clicking "Change Databases," and click the "i" (information) logo next to its title.
- Keywords: behavioral sciences | psychology
- 18. RefWorks
- Provider: ProQuest
- Contents: bibliographic management , interactive , reference
- Access Levels: Clinical Partner , Educational
- Descriptions: RefWorks is a web-based bibliographic management tool that enables users to organize and create a personal database online, format bibliographies and manuscripts, and import references from a variety of databases using the already-created Import Filters. Users can establish links to RSS feeds and import data from those feeds directly. RefWorks automatically creates author, descriptor and periodical indexes when importing data. It can be used across multiple platforms, including Windows, Mac, and Unix. Individual sign-up is required. See RefWorks under "Online Tutorials" on the Library's home page for instructions on getting started as well as more advanced information. Tutorials are presented in video and print-only format.
- Keywords: publishing | research | student
- 19. Wiley Interscience Journals
- Provider: Wiley InterScience
- Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing
- Access Levels: Clinical Partner , Educational
- Descriptions: This is the browse and search interface for Wiley Interscience journals.
- Keywords: biology | biomedical | journal | medicine | science


