A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z
HAM-TMC Library
Databases
Our databases contain a wide variety of medical information resources: journal articles, statistics, images, government information, and more. Browse the alphabetical list of database titles or search for terms that appear in the database descriptions.Search:
CITATIONS Databases
Currently, the Library has 24 databases for the content term: "citations".
- 1. Academic Search Complete (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: abstracts , citations , full text
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Contains full text for nearly 4,650 serials and offers indexing and abstracts for more than 8,200 journals; this scholarly collection offers information in: computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
- Keywords: multidisciplinary | periodicals
- 2. Alt Health Watch (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: citations , partial full text
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Focuses on complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness; offers full text articles for nearly 180 international reports and journals, many of which are peer-reviewed. In addition, there are hundreds of other publication types: pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research, and book excerpts.
- Keywords: alternative medicine | herbs | holistic | wellness
- 3. Bibliography of Native North Americans (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: abstracts , citations , partial full text
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Covers all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life; also provides information on a wide range of topics including archaeology, multicultural relations, gaming, governance, legend, and literacy. BNNA contains more than 100,000 citations for books, essays, journal articles, and government documents of the United States and Canada. Dates of coverage for included content range from the sixteenth century to the present.
- Keywords: American history | homework | Native American | sociology
- 4. ChemSpider: Building Community for Chemists
- Provider: Royal Society of Chemistry
- Contents: abstracts , charts and graphs , chemical compounds , chemical structure , citations , free , images , open access , research tools , search engine , videos , websites
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: "ChemSpider is a free access service providing a structure-centric community for chemists. Providing access to millions of chemical structures and integration to a multitude of other online services, ChemSpider is the richest single source of structure-based chemistry information." A list of the databases drawn upon is provided. In addition to the integration of these sources, qualified users (after a free registration) can also further enrich this database by contributing their own data. Numerous features and applications are to be found here in addition to the main database. Tutorials are provided (also available via YouTube) and a blog helps keep the user up to date on new developments at this site.
- Keywords: chemicals | chemistry | collaborative | data | open access | research | scientist | search | tutorial
- 5. Clinical Queries (PubMed)
- Provider: National Institutes of Health/National Library of Medicine
- Contents: abstracts , citations , free , indexing , links to full text
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: A specialized PubMed search interface that affords an easier, more focused access to clinical studies, systematic reviews and medical genetics information.
- Keywords: clinical evidence | clinical studies | clinical trials | decision support | evidence-based medicine | genetics | open access | point-of-care | systematic reviews
- 6. Faculty of 1000 Biology
- Provider: BioMed Central
- Contents: citations , links
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Online research service that highlights and reviews the most interesting papers published in the biological sciences, based on the recommendations of a faculty of well over 1000 researchers. Provides a rapidly updated consensus map of the important papers and trends across biology, including biochemistry, bioinformatics, biotechnology, cell biology, chemical biology, developmental biology, ecology, evolutionary biology, genomics and genetics, immunology, microbiology, molecular biology, molecular medicine, neuroscience, pharmacology and drug discovery, physiology, plant biology, and structural biology. Faculty of 1000 Biology highlights papers on the basis of their scientific merit rather than the journal in which they appear and offers the researcher a consensus of recommendations from well over 1000 leading scientists.
- Keywords: biomedical research | cell biology | genomics | neuroscience | research | reviews | scientist | social networking
- 7. Faculty of 1000 Medicine
- Provider: BioMed Central
- Contents: abstracts , citations , summaries
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Aimed at clinicians (highlighting evidence that questions current clinical practice) and researchers (highlighting important areas of research and drawing attention to new developments); provides a rapidly updated consensus map of the important papers and trends across medicine, including anesthesiology, cardiovascular disorders, diabetes and endocrinology, and evidence-based health care.
- Keywords: citation analysis | medicine | MedLine | periodicals | reviews
- 8. Fuente Academica (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: abstracts , citations , full text , Spanish language interface
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Collection of scholarly journals from Latin American and Spanish publishers, with full text content from the fields of business and economics, medical sciences, political science, law, computer science, library and information sciences, literature, linguistics, history, philosophy and theology. Database provides full text (including PDF) for about 260 scholarly Spanish language journals.
- Keywords: homework | Latin America | multicultural | multidisciplinary | periodicals | Spanish
- 9. Health & Wellness Resource Center (TexShare)
- Provider: Gale
- Contents: citations , encyclopedia , full text , indexing , links , reference , websites
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Provides integrated access to medical, statistical, health and wellness information for consumers, students, and professionals; provides the Alternative Health Module. Includes the Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine. Delivers reference material as well as full-text magazines, journals, and pamphlets from a wide variety of medical sources. Also includes descriptions and links for some useful and appropriate Websites.
- Keywords: alternative medicine | consumer health | journal | medicine
- 10. Historical Abstracts and America: History and Life
- Provider: EBSCO
- Contents: abstracts , bibliographic records , citations , full text , indexing
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Combined with its sister database America: History and Life, Historical Abstracts contains over 1 million abstracts and citations of book and media reviews, books, and dissertations, many with links to the fulltext. Historical Abstracts provides a complete bibliographic reference to the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Together, America: History and Life and Historical Abstracts cover over 1,700 journals published throughout the world, in over forty languages. Each database deals with those articles that are pertinent to its period of coverage.
- Keywords: American history | books | dissertations | history | homework | multicultural | reviews | society
- 11. Journal Citation Reports
- Provider: ISI Web of Knowledge
- Contents: abstracts , citations , impact factors , indexing , links to full text , statistics
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Provides statistical information to evaluate and compare journals using citation data drawn from over 7,500 scholarly and technical journals from more than 3,300 publishers. Provides information on: most frequently cited journals in a field; highest impact journals in a field; and largest journals in a field. Citation and article counts are indicators of how frequently current researchers are using individual journals.
- Keywords: citation analysis | humanities | informatics | science | social sciences
- 12. Medline (CSA)
- Provider: ProQuest
- Contents: abstracts , citations , index , indexing , links to full text , research tools
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE contains all records published in Index Medicus and since 2002, most citations previously included in separate NLM specialty databases such as SPACELINE and HISTLINE
- Keywords: allied health | dentistry | health sciences | journal | life sciences | medicine | pharmacology | physicians | science | scientist | veterinary medicine
- 13. Medline (EBSCO)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: abstracts , citations , index , indexing , links to full text , research tools
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: This bibliographic database provides information from the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, allied health, and the pre-clinical sciences. It is the electronic counterpart of Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and the International Nursing Index.
- Keywords: allied health | dentistry | health sciences | life sciences | medicine | pharmacology | physicians | science | scientist | veterinary medicine
- 14. Medline (OVID)
- Provider: OVID
- Contents: abstracts , citations , index , indexing , research tools
- Access Levels: Clinical Partner , Educational
- Descriptions: Bibliographic database providing information from the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, allied health, and the pre-clinical sciences; the electronic counterpart of Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and the International Nursing Index.
- Keywords: allied health | dentistry | health sciences | life sciences | nursing | pharmacology | physicians | science | scientist | veterinary medicine
- 15. Mental Measurements Yearbook
- Provider: EBSCO
- Contents: citations , full text , indexing
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Produced by the Buros Institute, contains full text information about and reviews of all English-language standardized tests covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas. A comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments, and designed for users from experienced professionals to novice test consumers, Mental Measurement Yearbook contains information essential for a complete evaluation of test products.
- Keywords: business | education | mental health | psychology | reviews | sociology | tests | workforce
- 16. Newspaper Source (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: citations , full text , indexing , news , newspapers , radio , transcripts
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Provides cover-to-cover full text for 20 national (US) & international newspapers, including The Christian Science Monitor, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Times (London), Toronto Star, etc. The database also contains selected full text for more than 230 regional (US) newspapers, including The Boston Globe, Chicago Tribune, Detroit Free Press, The Miami Herald, Daily News (New York), San Jose Mercury News, etc. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are provided from CBS News, FOX News, NPR, and other sources.
- Keywords: business | culture | current events | government | politics | public affairs | society
- 17. Primary Search (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: citations , full text , images
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Indexes nearly 70 popular elementary school magazines, with all full text articles (about a third of the material indexed) being assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 100 magazines. Full text is also available for over 100 student pamphlets. Examples of publications include: Boys’ Life, Cricket, Highlights for Children, Hopscotch, Jack & Jill, Ladybug, Ranger Rick, Science World, Spider, SuperScience, and Time for Kids. This database also provides the American Heritage Children’s Dictionary, 3rd Edition from Houghton Mifflin, and an image collection of 202,164 photos, maps and flags.
- Keywords: culture | K-12 | kids | multidisciplinary | search
- 18. PubMed
- Provider: National Library of Medicine and National Center for Biotechnology Information
- Contents: abstracts , citations , free , indexing , links to full text , partial full text , reference
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: PubMed is a database of citations from the biomedical literature, including bibliographic information from MEDLINE, covering all aspects of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine and the preclinical sciences. MEDLINE contains bibliographic citations and author abstracts from more than 4,800 biomedical journals published in the United States and 70 other countries. The database contains over 14 million citations dating back to the mid-1960's. Articles in many languages are indexed, but all abstracts are in English. An excellent tutorial on using PubMed's many search refinements and features can be found by clicking here.
- Keywords: biomedical research | journal | life sciences | medicine | multidisciplinary | open access | research | scientist
- 19. Science Citation Index (via Web of Science)
- Provider: Thomson
- Contents: abstracts , citations , full text , indexing
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: A multidisciplinary index to the scientific journal literature; indexes 5,900 journals across 150 scientific disciplines and includes all cited references captured from indexed articles. Provides access to current and retrospective data from 1900 to the present. Contains searchable, full-length English-language author abstracts for approximately 70% of the articles indexed, as well as links to full text. Covers the physical, earth and life sciences.
- Keywords: biology | medicine | multidisciplinary | science
- 20. Scopus
- Provider: Elsevier
- Contents: abstracts , charts and graphs , citations , full text , government documents , indexing , links to full text , proceedings , research tools , websites
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: SCOPUS contains millions of records from 15,000 publications in the health sciences (including 100% of the journals contained in Medline and EmBase), as well as chemistry, physics, mathematics, engineering, biology, agriculture, environmental sciences and the humanities. Link to full text articles from journals in the HAM-TMC Library's collection by clicking the HAM-TMC Library Find It! button. SCOPUS covers the proceedings of 750 conferences, and retrieves a separate set of relevant Web resources with every literature search. Another tab separates a set of patent results from U.S., U.K. and worldwide patent offices. SCOPUS includes a Journal Analyzer tool that graphs journals, singly or for comparison, from 1996 to present, showing total citations, number of articles published, total citations divided by number of articles, and the percentage of uncited articles. A search by affiliation is provided. Free login for authorized users provides additional advantages: a personal profile, with space to save lists of citations and track authors; a publication alerts service; and direct export to RefWorks, each with the user's own settings. For tutorials on searching and SCOPUS features, click here.
- Keywords: biology | biomedical research | chemistry | conference | internet | journal | life sciences | medicine | multidisciplinary | nursing | patents | pharmacology | science
- 21. Spanish Language Interface to EBSCO Databases (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: citations , indexing
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Provides Spanish language interface for searching databases provided by EBSCO, including Academic Search Complete, Business Source Complete, Regional Business News and Medline.
- Keywords: business | general reference | multidisciplinary | Spanish
- 22. TOXLINE (CSA)
- Provider: ProQuest
- Contents: abstracts , citations , indexing
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, provides bibliographic citations and abstracts from the core journal literature in toxicology. Note: this version of TOXLINE has no information from Chemical Abstracts Service, BIOSIS, or International Pharmaceutical Abstracts; it is a "rolling 5-year" database, consisting of records from the last 5 years plus the current year.
- Keywords: biohazard | environmental | NLM | toxicology
- 23. UniProt
- Provider: UniProt Consortium
- Contents: citations , cross reference , free , glossary of terms , index , open access , research tools , sequencing data
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: "The mission of UniProt is to provide the scientific community with a comprehensive, high-quality and freely accessible resource of protein sequence and functional information." Available material consists of: UniProtKB, a two-section protein knowledge base consisting of SwissProt (reviewed and annotated manually) and TrEMBL (not reviewed, annotated automatically;) UniRef (sequence clusters;) UniParc (a sequence archive for tracking sequences and identifiers;) and the supporting data (literature citations, taxonomy, keywords, nomenclature, guidelines and indexes.) A user manual and primer on annotation are provided as well. UniProt is distributed free under a Creative Commons attribution license. Updates happen frequently and it appears the updates must be retrieved from the website.
- Keywords: biomedical research | genetics | ontology | open access | proteins | scientist | sequencing | taxonomy
- 24. Web of Science
- Provider: Thomson
- Contents: citations , impact factors , index , links to full text , research tools
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: This is the portal to two citation databases, Science Citation Index and Social Sciences Citation Index. (We no longer subscribe to Arts & Humanities Citation Index.) Journal Citation Reports also resides here in ISI Web of Knowledge. Some free resources for researchers are also included: ISI Highly Cited, a database identifying (via citation data) the top researchers currently publishing; ResearcherID, an index to author information; the RSS-capable, customizable Knowledge Link Newsletter; and more. To register free for a training session, click here.
- Keywords: biomedical research | life sciences | multidisciplinary | science | scientist




