A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z
HAM-TMC Library
Databases
Our databases contain a wide variety of medical information resources: journal articles, statistics, images, government information, and more. Browse the alphabetical list of database titles or search for terms that appear in the database descriptions.Search:
PRACTICE GUIDELINES Databases
Currently, the Library has 6 databases for the content term: "practice guidelines".
- 1. Clin-eguide: Clinical Decision Support
- Provider: OVID
- Contents: e-books , full text , handbook , patient education , practice guidelines , quick reference , textbooks
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Clin-eguide is a clinical decision support system that combines clinical disease management, drug therapy and laboratory testing information in a single resource. It provides both patient- and disease-specific recommendations, taking into account patient status and concomitant conditions, and prompts the clinician to consider issues that may influence individual patient outcome. Clin-eguide is extensively and systematically researched and updated. It draws information from Evidence-Based Guidelines, Nursing Advisor, Facts & Comparisons drug information, national guidelines, the Cancer Chemotherapy Manual and many other sources, and includes patient handouts. The mobile version is compatible with Palm OS, Windows Mobile, Blackberry and iPhone. To get started with the mobile version, click "MyPDA" in the line of links at top right of the first screen, and register. Your "serial number" entry key will be emailed to you within a few minutes. If you don't receive it within a reasonable time, re-register.
- Keywords: clinical evidence | clinical practice guidelines | decision support | drugs | evidence-based medicine | nursing | pharmaceutical | physicians | point-of-care
- 2. Index to Chiropractic Literature
- Provider: International Chiropractors' Association
- Contents: abstracts , free , index , practice guidelines , reference
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: Produced by members of the Chiropractic Library Consortium (CLIBCON) the Index to Chiropractic Literature provides cover-to-cover indexing of peer-reviewed literature from chiropractic publishers (see Journals Indexed.) A small number of non-peer-reviewed chiropractic publications are also selectively indexed. The ICL website also includes links to other chiropractic resources- American and international organizations, libraries, colleges, chiropractic clinical practice guidelines, and the Chiropractic Subject Headings.
- Keywords: alternative medicine | chiropractic | healthcare | libraries | open access | peer review | subject headings
- 3. MD Consult
- Provider: Elsevier
- Contents: abstracts , CME , e-books , full text , indexing , patient education , practice guidelines , reference , textbooks
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: MD Consult is a database of clinical point-of-care resources. This subscription includes full-text access to over 50 medical reference books covering a wealth of specialties; browsable access to a large journal collection and to 35 Clinics of North America titles; drug information from Gold Standard; more than 1,000 practice guidelines; and thousands of customizable patient education handouts. It offers the option to create personal accounts and participate in CME activities, and includes a news section. Available to Educational level users.
- Keywords: drugs | medicine | pharmaceutical | point-of-care
- 4. Medical Letter, The
- Provider: The Medical Letter, Inc.
- Contents: CME , full text , handbook , practice guidelines , reference , research tools
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: This database contains The Medical Letter on Drugs and Therapeutics, a searchable current database featuring biweekly updates. Archived information dates back to 1988. Also included: the database Treatment Guidelines from The Medical Letter, which includes guidelines from 2002 through the present; Adverse Drug Reactions Program, a proprietary, evidence-based database of drug interactions, updated frequently and searchable for up to 12 drugs simultaneously; and the Handbook of Antimicrobial Therapy, 17th ed. (2005.) Also available are ACCME/ACPE/AAFP-accredited CME's. PDA access is also supported, for Palm OS users only. Please contact the Circulation Desk staff for details on getting started with PDA and CME.
- Keywords: drugs | PDA access | pharmaceutical | pharmacology
- 5. National Guideline Clearinghouse
- Provider: Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality
- Contents: free , full text , links to full text , open access , practice guidelines , summaries
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: National Guideline Clearinghouseâ„¢ (NGC) is a comprehensive database of evidence-based clinical practice guidelines and related documents, updated weekly. Summaries with links to full text. User-friendly features of the site include: summaries available for download to hand-held devices; a guideline comparison utility for the end user; guideline syntheses prepared by NGC staff; an expert commentary feature from the editorial board; and an annotated bibliography of resources about guidelines- their development, methodology, structure, evaluation and implementation.
- Keywords: clinical evidence | clinical practice guidelines | evidence-based medicine | open access | PDA access
- 6. PEDro Physiotherapy Evidence Database
- Provider: Centre of Evidence-Based Physiotherapy, School of Physiotherapy, University of Sydney
- Contents: abstracts , free , indexing , links , practice guidelines , summaries , websites
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: PEDro provides access to bibliographic details and abstracts of randomized controlled trials, systematic reviews and evidence-based clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy. Most trials covered in PEDro have been rated for quality.
- Keywords: evidence-based | open access | sports medicine

