A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z
HAM-TMC Library
Databases
Our databases contain a wide variety of medical information resources: journal articles, statistics, images, government information, and more. Browse the alphabetical list of database titles or search for terms that appear in the database descriptions.Search:
FULL TEXT Databases
Currently, the Library has 129 databases for the content term: "full text".
- 1. Academic Search Complete (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: abstracts , citations , full text
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Contains full text for nearly 4,650 serials and offers indexing and abstracts for more than 8,200 journals; this scholarly collection offers information in: computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
- Keywords: multidisciplinary | periodicals
- 2. AccessMedicine
- Provider: McGraw-Hill
- Contents: e-books , full text , images , reference , textbooks , videos
- Access Levels: Clinical Partner , Educational
- Descriptions: An integrated clinical database, featuring daily updates, that quickly pulls information from a pool of over 50 trusted medical texts, a drug index, a diagnostic tool and an image and video library. Also contains patient handouts. This resource is available to Educational and Clinical Partner users.
- Keywords: clinical | database | diagnosis | drugs | e-books | evidence-based medicine | medicine | point-of-care | video
- 3. AccessSurgery
- Provider: McGraw-Hill
- Contents: CME , full text , images , videos
- Access Levels: Clinical Partner , Educational
- Descriptions: An integrated database of surgical resources, both written and visual, that provides medical students, surgical residents, and practicing surgeons with quick answers to surgical inquiries, from trusted sources. Organized around the ACGME's (Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education) mandate for a core curriculum, AccessSurgery delivers content in context. This is a tool for the student, the educator, and the practitioner, and is available to Educational and Clinical Partner users.
- Keywords: clinical | surgery
- 4. ACP Medicine (STAT!Ref -- TexShare)
- Provider: WebMD and The American College of Physicians via STAT!Ref
- Contents: CME , e-books , full text
- Access Levels: Clinical Partners via their portal page , Educational
- Descriptions: A peer-reviewed, evidence-based guide to clinical decision-making, ACP Medicine covers the 11 sub-specialties of internal medicine, along with other key topics. Individually-authored chapters on Clinical Essentials, Cardiovascular Medicine, Dermatology, Endocrinology, Gastroenterology, Hematology, Immunology/Allergy, Infectious Disease, Interdisciplinary Medicine, Metabolism, Nephrology, Neurology, Oncology, Psychiatry, Respiratory Medicine, Rheumatology, and Women's Health. Includes CME.
- Keywords: decision support | evidence-based medicine | internal medicine
- 5. ACP's PIER--Physician's Information and Education Resource (STAT!Ref -- TexShare)
- Provider: Teton Data Systems
- Contents: e-books , full text , handbook , patient education , websites
- Access Levels: Clinical Partners via their portal page , Educational
- Descriptions: Web-based, evidence-based guidance tool to improve clinical care. Disease topics are selected by the American College of Physicians (ACP), based on prevalence in clinical settings. Evidence for all diseases is evaluated; credibility of the evidence is displayed with a rating. Subcategories for each disease are: Prevention, Non-drug Therapy, Screening, Drug Therapy, Diagnosis, Patient Education, Consultation for Diagnosis, Consultation for Management, Hospitalization, Follow-up. PIER includes AHFS DI® Essentials, with drug information monographs drawn from evidence-based guidelines in the full AHFS DI® database; distills information on prescription and key over-the-counter (OTC) drugs in a structured outline format.
- Keywords: clinical evidence | drugs | evidence-based medicine | internal medicine | physicians | point-of-care
- 6. America: History and Life and Historical Abstracts
- Provider: EBSCO
- Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: America: History and Life (AHL) is a complete bibliographic reference to the history of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Published since 1964, the database comprises over 530,000 bibliographic entries for periodicals dating back to 1954. Additional bibliographical entries are constantly added to the databases from editorial projects such as retrospective coverage of journals issues published prior to 1954. This extensive database covers over 1,700 journals published worldwide. In addition to covering all key English-language historical journals, America: History and Life coverage includes selected historical journals from major countries, state and local history journals, and a targeted selection of hundreds of journals in the social sciences and humanities. Over 90% of the articles included are published in English-language journals.
- Keywords: history | humanities | social sciences
- 7. American Film Scripts Online
- Provider: Alexander Street Press
- Contents: archive , full text , text
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Contains full text movie scripts written between 1920- present.
- Keywords: culture | films | humanities | social sciences | society
- 8. American Periodicals Series Online, 1740-1900
- Provider: ProQuest
- Contents: full text , illustrations , images , newspapers
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Contains digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals that originated between 1741 and 1900, deriving from the American Periodicals Series microform collection, with over 1,100 periodicals spanning nearly 200 years-from colonial times to the advent of American involvement in World War II. Titles range from America's first scientific journal, Medical Repository, to popular magazines such as Vanity Fair and Ladies' Home Journal.
- Keywords: history | history of North America | homework | magazines | periodicals
- 9. Approved Drug Products with Therapeutic Equivalence Evaluations (Orange Book)
- Provider: U.S. Food and Drug Administration
- Contents: cross reference , free , full text , government documents , index , open access , quick reference , reference
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: The Orange Book provides updated information on prescription, over-the-counter and discontinued FDA-approved drug products. It can be searched and consulted online, or the annual edition and monthly cumulative supplements can be downloaded in .pdf format. The Electronic Orange Book provides daily updates of new generic drug approvals. Search by active ingredient, proprietary name, patent, application number or application holder. If a newly-approved drug product is not turned up in the search, use the search box at top right of the page to find results from the Orange Book's monthly supplements and other FDA sources.
- Keywords: drugs | federal agencies | open access | patents | pharmaceutical | products | public health | U.S. Government
- 10. BestBETS: Best Evidence Topics
- Provider: Manchester Royal Infirmary, Manchester, UK
- Contents: free , full text
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: The BestBETS system was begun in 1996 to address the need for an evidence-based practice tool in the field of Emergency Medicine. Creating a BET (Best Evidence Topic) means following a well-defined set of rules that guide one to formulate effective questions, define the clinical scenario, develop a search strategy and record the search outcome. Literature appraisal results in the assignment of levels of evidence. These guidelines have been published in such journals as Emergency Medicine Journal, Archives of Disease in Childhood, and Interactive Cardiovascular and Thoracic Surgery.
- Keywords: clinical evidence | emergency medicine | evidence-based medicine | open access | point-of-care
- 11. BIOSIS - Biological Abstracts, 1980 - 2003
- Provider: OVID
- Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: BIOSIS encompasses the breadth of life sciences and provides coverage of published biological and biomedical research; includes traditional areas of biology, such as botany, zoology and microbiology, as well as experimental, clinical and veterinary medicine, biotechnology, environmental studies, and agriculture. Interdisciplinary fields like biochemistry, biophysics and bioengineering are also included. The Library's coverage ends with 2003. For a brief guide to searching any Ovid database, access the full list of available databases by clicking "Change Databases," and click the "i" (information) logo next to its title.
- Keywords: biology | biomedical | life sciences | microbiology | veterinary medicine | zoology
- 12. Books@Ovid
- Provider: OVID
- Contents: e-books , full text
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: This browsable, searchable database of electronic books includes a collection of nursing volumes from Lippincott, Williams and Wilkins and the Oxford Textbook of Medicine. All displayed titles are accessible in full text.
- Keywords: nursing
- 13. Business Source Complete (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: bibliographic records , full text , proceedings
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Scholarly business database, providing both bibliographic and full text content; includes indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back to 1886. In addition to the searchable cited references provided for more than 1,200 journals, Business Source Complete contains detailed author profiles for the 20,000 most-cited authors in the database. Provides full text journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
- Keywords: business | marketing
- 14. Canary Database: Animals as Sentinels of Human Environmental Health Hazards
- Provider: Yale University Occupational and Environmental Medicine and Yale University School of Medicine
- Contents: free , full text
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: Compilation of peer-reviewed research articles related to the use of animals as sentinels of human health hazards; contains information added by trained curators in addition to bibliographic records from MEDLINE and other databases. Includes studies of wildlife, companion and livestock animals, where either the exposure or the health effect may be considered relevant to human health.
- Keywords: animal | biohazard | environmental | open access | pesticides | workplace
- 15. CINAHL Plus with Full Text
- Provider: EBSCO
- Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing
- Access Levels: Clinical Partners via their portal page , Educational
- Descriptions: CINAHL Plus with Full Text is the comprehensive index to nursing and allied health articles, and contains cover-to-cover, current full text for more than 400 of the top journals indexed. Also provides more than 600,000 historical full-text articles dating back to 1937. A tutorial for the CINAHL interface is available here.
- Keywords: allied health | nursing
- 16. CKS - Clinical Knowledge Summaries
- Provider: National Library for Health, National Health Service, UK
- Contents: free , full text , links
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: This evidence-based care tool provides the practitioner with "a reliable source of evidence-based information and practical 'know how' about the common conditions managed in primary care." For each topic, information is provided on scope and age range, how recently the topic and the supporting evidence have been updated, background, diagnosis and management information on the condition, the recommended prescribing information, and (for users in the UK) links out to the full text of articles cited. Patient information handouts are also provided. A free registration allows the user to customize the resource according to preference.
- Keywords: evidence-based medicine | open access
- 17. Clin-eguide: Clinical Decision Support
- Provider: OVID
- Contents: e-books , full text , handbook , patient education , practice guidelines , quick reference , textbooks
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Clin-eguide is a clinical decision support system that combines clinical disease management, drug therapy and laboratory testing information in a single resource. It provides both patient- and disease-specific recommendations, taking into account patient status and concomitant conditions, and prompts the clinician to consider issues that may influence individual patient outcome. Clin-eguide is extensively and systematically researched and updated. It draws information from Evidence-Based Guidelines, Nursing Advisor, Facts & Comparisons drug information, national guidelines, the Cancer Chemotherapy Manual and many other sources, and includes patient handouts. The mobile version is compatible with Palm OS, Windows Mobile, Blackberry and iPhone. To get started with the mobile version, click "MyPDA" in the line of links at top right of the first screen, and register. Your "serial number" entry key will be emailed to you within a few minutes. If you don't receive it within a reasonable time, re-register.
- Keywords: clinical evidence | clinical practice guidelines | decision support | drugs | evidence-based medicine | nursing | pharmaceutical | physicians | point-of-care
- 18. ClinicalTrials.gov
- Provider: National Institutes of Health/National Library of Medicine
- Contents: free , full text
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: Contains approximately 29,500 clinical studies sponsored by the National Institutes of Health, other federal agencies, and private industry. Draws on studies conducted in all 50 States and in over 130 other countries. Provides regularly updated information about federally and privately supported clinical research on human volunteers; includes purpose of the trial, who may participate, locations, and phone numbers for learning more details.
- Keywords: clinical trials | open access
- 19. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews - EBM Reviews
- Provider: OVID
- Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing
- Access Levels: Clinical Partner , Educational
- Descriptions: Includes the full text of the regularly updated systematic reviews of the effects of healthcare prepared by The Cochrane Collaboration. Reviews are presented in two types: complete reviews- regularly updated Cochrane Reviews, prepared and maintained by Collaborative Review Groups; and protocols- the background, objectives and methods of reviews in preparation. This database is updated and amended regularly, as new evidence becomes available and errors are identified. For a brief guide to searching any Ovid database, access the full list of available databases by clicking "Change Databases," and click the "i" (information) logo next to its title.
- Keywords: clinical evidence | clinical studies | clinical trials | evidence-based medicine | point-of-care | systematic reviews
- 20. Cochrane Library
- Provider: Wiley InterScience
- Contents: full text
- Access Levels: Clinical Partner , Educational
- Descriptions: Aggregated database of information from the following: The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews; Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects; The Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials; Cochrane Database of Methodology Reviews; Cochrane Methodology Register; Health Technology Assessment Database; and NHS Economic Evaluation Database. For information on searching this resource, click here.
- Keywords: clinical evidence | clinical studies | clinical trials | point-of-care | systematic reviews
- 21. Cold Spring Harbor Protocols
- Provider: Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory Press
- Contents: full text , protocols
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Cold Spring Harbor Protocols is an interactive source of new and classic research techniques. The database is searchable by keyword and subject, and includes discussion forums and personal folders. Its coverage includes cell and molecular biology, genetics, bioinformatics, protein science, and imaging. Protocols will be continuously expanded, updated, and annotated by the originators and users of the techniques.
- Keywords: bioinformatics | biology | genetics | medical imaging | proteins
- 22. Complementary and Alternative Therapies (MedlinePlus)
- Provider: National Institutes of Health/National Library of Medicine
- Contents: free , full text , patient education
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: Includes sections on acupuncture, alternative medicine, herbal medicine, cancer alternative therapies, chiropractic, and dietary supplements. These sections include latest news, topic overviews, links to associations and organizations, interactive tutorials, and clinical trials. A Spanish language version is also available.
- Keywords: acupuncture | alternative medicine | consumer health | herbs | open access
- 23. Computer Source (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: bibliographic records , full text
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Provides latest information and current trends in high technology; offers full text for nearly 300 publications, covering topics such as computer science, programming, artificial intelligence, cybernetics, information systems, robotics, and software. In addition, this database offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 450 publications.
- Keywords: computers | electronics | information science | technology
- 24. Consumer Health Complete (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: abstracts , encyclopedia , full text , indexing , monographs , reference
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Provides encyclopedias and reference books, health reports and pamphlets, health news, drug and herb information, alternative health sources, and medical images and diagrams. Includes full-text articles from a variety of journals. A Spanish language version (Salud en Espanol) is available.
- Keywords: consumer health
- 25. Dietary Supplements Labels Database
- Provider: National Library of Medicine
- Contents: brief records , free , full text , quick reference
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: Dietary Supplements Labels Database enables one to look up research results on dietary supplements based on brand name, active ingredients, manufacturer and even intended use. The information available may include adverse effects, mechanism of action and FDA warnings and recalls.
- Keywords: alternative medicine | dietary supplements | drugs | herbs | open access | products
- 26. Digital Commons@The Texas Medical Center
- Provider: HAM-TMC Library
- Contents: archive , bibliographic records , dissertation , free , full text , open access , thesis
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: Digital Commons is the institutional repository for research work produced by TMC faculty, researchers, and students. It is an open access digital library containing preprints, postprints, datasets, conference proceedings, working papers, teaching materials, dissertations, and more.
- Keywords: digital | dissertations | e-prints | medicine | nursing | open access | publishing
- 27. Digital National Security Archive
- Provider: ProQuest and the National Security Archive
- Contents: abstracts , free , full text
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: Comprehensive collection of primary documents, including more than 60,000 declassified documents regarding US policy decisions; there are 27 complete collections, each offering specialized insights, with new collections added regularly.
- Keywords: American history | open access | policy | U.S. Government
- 28. Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
- Provider: Lund University Libraries, Sweden
- Contents: free , full text , links to full text , open access
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: DOAJ is a consistently-updated service listing open access and "hybrid" (partially open access), quality-controlled scholarly journals covering a broad range of disciplines, with articles written in a variety of languages. Over 3,600 journals are included, approximately a third of which are searchable at article level.
- Keywords: e-publishing | humanities | journal | open access | periodicals | science | social sciences
- 29. Disaster Information Management Research Center
- Provider: National Library of Medicine
- Contents: free , full text , links , websites
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: "DIMRC is tasked with the effective collection, organization, and dissemination of health information for natural, accidental, or deliberate disasters."
- Keywords: disaster | open access | public administration | public health | society
- 30. Drug Information Pathfinder
- Provider: U.S. Food and Drug Administration
- Contents: free , full text , government documents , links , monographs , quick reference
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: From this starting point, find a link to the U.S. Pharmacopeia updates and revisions, as well as information about new pending and non-U.S. standards. The full text of the "Orange Book" of approved drug products is accessible from here, under the Generic Drugs heading. Additional sections provide guidance on the drug approval application process, best practices in manufacturing and clinical trials, consumer advice, information on over-the-counter drugs, and more.
- Keywords: clinical trials | drugs | federal agencies | law | marketing | open access | pharmaceutical | pharmacy | standards
- 31. DrugBank
- Provider: University of Alberta
- Contents: chemical compounds , chemical structure , free , full text , links , open access , reference , sequencing data
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: Bioinformatics and cheminformatics resource that combines detailed drug (chemical, pharmacological and pharmaceutical) data with comprehensive drug target (sequence, structure, and pathway) information. The database contains nearly 4300 drug entries including FDA-approved small molecule drugs, FDA-approved biotech (protein/peptide) drugs, nutraceuticals and experimental drugs. Additionally, more than 6,000 protein (i.e. drug target) sequences are linked to these drug entries. Each DrugCard entry contains more than 80 data fields with half of the information being devoted to drug/chemical data and the other half devoted to drug target or protein data.
- Keywords: bioinformatics | biomedical research | biotechnology | chemistry | drugs | open source | pharmacology
- 32. Early Encounters in North America
- Provider: Alexander Street Press
- Contents: full text , illustrations , images , reference
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: This highly searchable database contains over 100,000 pages of letters, diaries, memoirs and accounts of "early encounters" with the humans, flora and fauna of North America, from explorers, missionaries and others new to the "New World." Many images are also included.
- Keywords: American history | biology | botany | culture | history | homework | multicultural | multidisciplinary | Native American
- 33. Early English Books Online
- Provider: ProQuest
- Contents: full text , images
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: "Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700 - from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War..." Historians of science and medicine may find useful material here.
- Keywords: books | digital | history | history of medicine | literature | multidisciplinary | research | science
- 34. Eighteenth Century Collections Online (TexShare)
- Provider: Gale
- Contents: full text
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Digital images of over 13 million pages from over 1,500 English-language titles and editions published between 1701 and 1800, with images and maps included. A wide variety of subject matter is represented, from Fine Arts to Medicine. Titles from the British Library and many other university, private and public libraries worldwide.
- Keywords: culture | history | homework | kids | society
- 35. eLibrary Curriculum Edition (TexShare)
- Provider: ProQuest -- TexShare
- Contents: full text , illustrations , newspapers , websites
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Large collection of periodical and digital media content designed specifically for K-12 students. Powered by the MediaSeek® knowledge base of educational standards to supplement instruction and research. Contains more than 2,000 full-text magazines, newspapers, reference books, and transcripts-plus pictures, maps, educator-approved websites from Homework Central®, and audio/video content
- Keywords: general reference | homework | K-12 | kids | magazines | multidisciplinary
- 36. Enhanced Business Search Interface (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: The Business Searching Interface (BSI) provides an easy way to both browse and search for country economic data, company profiles, industry information and market research, and then use the results as limiters in a keyword search, if desired.
- Keywords: business | company profiles | economics | industry | marketing
- 37. Entrez Cross-Database Search
- Provider: National Center for Biotechnology Information
- Contents: abstracts , free , full text , indexing , sequencing data
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: Integrated, text-based search and retrieval system used at the National Center for Biotechnology Information for its major databases: PubMed, Nucleotide and Protein Sequences, Protein Structures, Complete Genomes, Taxonomy, and others. Entrez integrates the scientific literature, DNA and protein sequence databases, 3D protein structure and protein domain data, population study datasets, expression data, assemblies of complete genomes, and taxonomic information into a tightly interlinked system.
- Keywords: genome | journal | life sciences | NLM | open access | proteins | taxonomy
- 38. FDA Maude Database
- Provider: U.S. Food and Drug Administration
- Contents: free , full text , indexing
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: MAUDE = Manufacturer And User Device Experience. MAUDE data are reports of adverse events involving medical devices. Reporting is voluntary and updates are posted quarterly.
- Keywords: medical devices | open access | quality
- 39. Federal Register
- Provider: US Government Printing Office and US National Archives and Records Administration
- Contents: free , full text , government documents , reference
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: Published by the Office of the Federal Register, National Archives and Records Administration (NARA), the Federal Register is the official daily publication for rules, proposed rules, and notices of Federal agencies and organizations, as well as executive orders and other presidential documents. Frequently requested materials from the Federal Register include grant information and Relative Value Units (RVU), also known as the Unique Physician Fee Schedule.
- Keywords: federal agencies | government | law | medicare/medicaid | office practice | open access | physicians
- 40. Fuente Academica (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: abstracts , citations , full text , Spanish language interface
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Collection of scholarly journals from Latin American and Spanish publishers, with full text content from the fields of business and economics, medical sciences, political science, law, computer science, library and information sciences, literature, linguistics, history, philosophy and theology. Database provides full text (including PDF) for about 260 scholarly Spanish language journals.
- Keywords: homework | Latin America | multicultural | multidisciplinary | periodicals | Spanish
- 41. Funk & Wagnall's New Encyclopedia
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: encyclopedia , full text , images , quick reference
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Indexes over 25,000 records, covering an array of topics, contains various images, and offers brief biographies as well as information on a variety of subject areas; updated annually.
- Keywords: homework | kids | monographs | multidisciplinary
- 42. Gale Virtual Reference Library (TexShare)
- Provider: Gale
- Contents: biographical , dictionary , e-books , encyclopedia , full text , indexing , reference , tables of contents , thesaurus
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: This is a large collection (approx. 150 titles) of Electronic Reference Books that can be searched simultaneously as a database, or singly. GVRL offers access to a wide spectrum of disciplines in multi-volume encyclopedias and other reference books, each focusing on an overview or an aspect of arts and humanities, medicine, social and "hard" sciences. These works are published by Gale and other established, well-known publishers, for instance Wiley, Cambridge and MacMillan.
- Keywords: general reference | multidisciplinary
- 43. Genetics Home Reference
- Provider: National Library of Medicine
- Contents: free , full text , glossary of terms , handbook , illustrations , patient education , summaries
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: The National Library of Medicine's web site for consumer information about genetic conditions and the genes or chromosomes responsible for those conditions. Includes condition, gene, and chromosome summaries, the Help Me Understand Genetics Handbook (with basic explanations of how genes work, genetic testing, and the Human Genome Project) and a glossary of genetic and medical terms.
- Keywords: genetics | mutation | open access
- 44. GreenFile (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: abstracts , full text , images , indexing
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: GreenFILE covers human impact on the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green buildings, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling and more. Indexing and abstracts of more than 384,000 records, and full text of approximately 4,700 open access records.
- Keywords: biology | current events | environmental | general health | government | life sciences | multidisciplinary | policy | public health | society | student | toxins
- 45. Handbook of Texas Online (TexShare)
- Provider: Texas State Historical Association and the General Libraries at UT Austin -- TexShare
- Contents: encyclopedia , full text
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Multidisciplinary encyclopedia of Texas history, geography, and culture sponsored by the Texas State Historical Association and the General Libraries at UT Austin. It comprises more than 23,000 articles on people, places, events, historical themes, institutions, and a host of other topic categories. The scope is broad and inclusive, designed to provide readers with concise, authoritative and accessible articles that provide factual, nonpartisan accounts on virtually every aspect of Texas history and culture.
- Keywords: culture | history | homework | Texas
- 46. HarpWeek
- Provider: HarpWeek
- Contents: full text , newspapers
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Full text of Harper's Weekly, the leading 19th Century American illustrated newspaper, from 1857-1912.
- Keywords: American history | culture | history | society
- 47. Health & Wellness Resource Center (TexShare)
- Provider: Gale
- Contents: citations , encyclopedia , full text , indexing , links , reference , websites
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Provides integrated access to medical, statistical, health and wellness information for consumers, students, and professionals; provides the Alternative Health Module. Includes the Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine. Delivers reference material as well as full-text magazines, journals, and pamphlets from a wide variety of medical sources. Also includes descriptions and links for some useful and appropriate Websites.
- Keywords: alternative medicine | consumer health | journal | medicine
- 48. Health Reference Center Academic (TexShare)
- Provider: Gale
- Contents: audio , full text , newspapers , videos
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Provides access to the full text of nursing and allied health journals, plus a wide variety of personal health information sources, including newspapers and multimedia.
- Keywords: allied health | healthcare | nursing | periodicals
- 49. Health Source: Consumer Edition (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: abstracts , e-books , full text , indexing
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Provides information on many health topics: medical sciences, food science and nutrition, child care, sports medicine and general health. Features searchable full text for nearly 190 journals, as well as abstracts and indexing for over 200 general health, nutrition and professional health care publications. Also included are USP Pharmacopoeia DI: Volume II Advice for the Lay Patient and 20 health research books, including books published by the People's Medical Society.
- Keywords: consumer health | diet | drugs | general health | nutrition | sports medicine
- 50. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing , reference
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on various medical disciplines and features abstracts and indexing for 850 journals, with coverage of nursing and allied health being particularly strong, including full text from many nursing journals. In addition, this database includes Clinical Pharmacology, which provides access to up-to-date, concise and clinically relevant drug monographs for all U.S. prescription drugs, hard-to-find herbal and nutritional supplements, over-the-counter products and new drugs. Full text information in this database dates as far back as 1975.
- Keywords: allied health | drugs | medicine | nursing
- 51. Herbs and Supplements Information (MedlinePlus)
- Provider: National Library of Medicine and Natural Standard
- Contents: free , full text , indexing
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: Entries for individual herbs and supplements include: background, synonyms, evidence, dosing, safety, interactions, methodology, and selected references. Information is also available in Spanish.
- Keywords: dietary supplements | herbs | open access | open source | products
- 52. HeritageQuest Online
- Provider: ProQuest
- Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Contains over 20,000 books currently available, the entire US Federal Census, PERSI, Freedman's Bank Records, Revolutionary War Pension Records, and other expanding collections.
- Keywords: American history | books | census | genealogy
- 53. Historical Abstracts and America: History and Life
- Provider: EBSCO
- Contents: abstracts , bibliographic records , citations , full text , indexing
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Combined with its sister database America: History and Life, Historical Abstracts contains over 1 million abstracts and citations of book and media reviews, books, and dissertations, many with links to the fulltext. Historical Abstracts provides a complete bibliographic reference to the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Together, America: History and Life and Historical Abstracts cover over 1,700 journals published throughout the world, in over forty languages. Each database deals with those articles that are pertinent to its period of coverage.
- Keywords: American history | books | dissertations | history | homework | multicultural | reviews | society
- 54. Historical New York Times
- Provider: ProQuest
- Contents: archive , full text , newspapers
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Searchable database of the New York Times newspaper, 1851 - 2004.
- Keywords: American history | foreign policy | history | policy | politics | popular
- 55. IEEE Xplore
- Provider: IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers)
- Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing , proceedings
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Provides full text access to technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics. IEEE Xplore contains full text documents from IEEE journals, transactions, magazines, letters, conference proceedings, standards, and IEE (Institution of Electrical Engineers) publications from 1988, with select content back to 1952.
- Keywords: computers | conference | electronics | engineering | information science | measurement | medical devices | portal | science | standards
- 56. Illustrata (CSA)
- Provider: ProQuest
- Contents: abstracts , charts and graphs , full text , illustrations , images , indexing , maps , research tools
- Access Levels: Clinical Partner , Educational
- Descriptions: Provides access to nearly one million illustrations, charts, graphs, maps, and other figures from more than 665 journals; using this resource, researchers can specifically search information presented in tables, figures, charts, and other illustrations within articles and then view the full object, including all caption and label text.
- Keywords: figures | science | search
- 57. Information Science & Technology Abstracts (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing , monographs , proceedings
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Coverage includes classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management, search engines, printed and electronic information sources, the information industry, scholarly communication, electronic publishing, and more. ISTA indexes journal articles from more than 450 publications plus books, research reports, and conference proceedings and patents. Coverage extends back to the mid 1960s.
- Keywords: books | computers | e-publishing | industry | informatics | information science | libraries | patents
- 58. InfoTrac Newspapers (TexShare)
- Provider: Gale
- Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing , newspapers
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Collection of over 400 newspapers from the US and around the world, including several Texas newspapers and a 365-day rolling file of the New York Times. Dates of coverage vary.
- Keywords: general reference | Texas
- 59. International Pharmaceutical Abstracts
- Provider: OVID
- Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Provides international coverage of pharmaceutical science and health related literature from 1970 to the present, and is updated monthly. Comprehensive information is included for drug therapy, toxicity, and pharmacy practice as well as legislation, regulation, technology, utilization, biopharmaceutics, information processing, education, economics, and ethics as related to pharmaceutical science and practice.
- Keywords: drugs | ethics | law | office practice | pharmaceutical | pharmacy | toxicology
- 60. Internet and Personal Computing Abstracts (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Provides abstracts and indexing for literature related to personal computing products and developments in business, the Internet, the home, and all other applied areas. Coverage extends back to the 1980s. Over 400 trade publications, mainstream computer magazines and professional journals are covered, including those that focus on specific topics such as Macintosh and Windows platforms, programming and web development, with special emphasis on hardware and software reviews. Includes content from such titles as Byte.com, PC World, Macworld, and Linux Journal, as well as editor-selected articles from hundreds of popular magazine titles.
- Keywords: computers | industry | internet | journal | products | technology
- 61. Journals@ OVID Full Text
- Provider: OVID
- Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing , links to full text , tables of contents
- Access Levels: Clinical Partner , Educational
- Descriptions: Collection of Ovid full text journals. Provides access to all tables of contents, bibliographic citations, abstracts and references; full text for journals subscribed to by the Library.
- Keywords: allied health | journal | nursing | portal | research
- 62. JSTOR, the Scholarly Journal Archive
- Provider: JSTOR
- Contents: archive , full text , indexing
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: The JSTOR archive contains the complete digitized back runs of core scholarly journals in multiple disciplines, starting with the very first issues, some dating as far back as the 1600's. New titles and disciplines are added regularly. Via HAM-TMC Library the following collections are available: Arts and Sciences I-IV; Biological Sciences; Business I-II; Ecology & Botany; Health & General Sciences; and Language & Literature.
- Keywords: digital | journal | multidisciplinary
- 63. Kids Search (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: full text , illustrations , search engine
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Search interface designed specifically for elementary/middle school students' needs and search abilities. The Kids Search interface combines a search engine with a child-friendly, graphically rich design that is both powerful and fun to use. Important features and functionality of Kids Search include a completely new, visually appealing look and feel and the ability to search by topic, subtopic, or keywords.
- Keywords: homework | K-12 | kids | multidisciplinary
- 64. LactMed: Drugs and Lactation Database
- Provider: National Library of Medicine
- Contents: free , full text , patient education
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: A peer-reviewed and fully referenced database of drugs to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed. Among the data included are maternal and infant levels of drugs, possible effects on breastfed infants and on lactation, and alternate drugs to consider.
- Keywords: drugs | open access | women
- 65. Legal Collection (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Collection of scholarly peer-reviewed publications including law journals, documents, and case studies, with information on current issues, studies, thoughts and trends of the legal world. Legal Collection offers full text for nearly 250 law journals and provides information centered on the discipline of law and legal topics such as criminal justice, international law, federal law, organized crime, medical, labor & human resource law, ethics, the environment and much more. Full text information in this database dates as far back as 1965.
- Keywords: criminal justice | law | legal | multidisciplinary | social sciences
- 66. Literature Resource Center
- Provider: Gale
- Contents: full text , literary criticism , quick reference
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Literature reference database designed for both undergraduate and graduate students; provides biographical, bibliographical, critical content, and information on literary figures from all time periods writing in such genres as fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, journalism, and more. Includes information from the Thomson Gale databases Contemporary Authors Online, Contemporary Literary Criticism Select, and Dictionary of Literary Biography Online.
- Keywords: biography | books | gateway | humanities | literature | poetry | portal | student
- 67. MAS Ultra School Edition (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: encyclopedia , full text , images , maps , monographs , reference
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Contains full text for more than 700 popular magazines, including The Nation, National Review, New Republic, New Scientist, Science News, and Scientific American. All full text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full text is available for biographies and primary source documents. Also included are pamphlets, reference books (including the Columbia Encyclopedia, the CIA World Fact Book and World Almanac & Book of Facts), an image collection, maps & flags, color PDFs and expanded full text backfiles (back to 1975) for key magazines.
- Keywords: kids | magazines | multidisciplinary | research | student
- 68. MD Consult
- Provider: Elsevier
- Contents: abstracts , CME , e-books , full text , indexing , patient education , practice guidelines , reference , textbooks
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: MD Consult is a database of clinical point-of-care resources. This subscription includes full-text access to over 50 medical reference books covering a wealth of specialties; browsable access to a large journal collection and to 35 Clinics of North America titles; drug information from Gold Standard; more than 1,000 practice guidelines; and thousands of customizable patient education handouts. It offers the option to create personal accounts and participate in CME activities, and includes a news section. Available to Educational level users.
- Keywords: drugs | medicine | pharmaceutical | point-of-care
- 69. Medical Letter, The
- Provider: The Medical Letter, Inc.
- Contents: CME , full text , handbook , practice guidelines , reference , research tools
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: This database contains The Medical Letter on Drugs and Therapeutics, a searchable current database featuring biweekly updates. Archived information dates back to 1988. Also included: the database Treatment Guidelines from The Medical Letter, which includes guidelines from 2002 through the present; Adverse Drug Reactions Program, a proprietary, evidence-based database of drug interactions, updated frequently and searchable for up to 12 drugs simultaneously; and the Handbook of Antimicrobial Therapy, 17th ed. (2005.) Also available are ACCME/ACPE/AAFP-accredited CME's. PDA access is also supported, for Palm OS users only. Please contact the Circulation Desk staff for details on getting started with PDA and CME.
- Keywords: drugs | PDA access | pharmaceutical | pharmacology
- 70. MedicLatina (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing , Spanish language interface
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Spanish language collection of medical research and investigative medicine journals, providing full text in Spanish to peer-reviewed medical journals. A wide range of topics is covered, including neuroscience, cardiology, nephrology, biomedicine, clinical research, pediatrics, human reproduction, clinical pathology, cancer research, and hematology. Publications covered in this database include Revista Medica del IMSS, Revista Mexicana de Patologia Clinica, Boletin Medico del Hospital Infantil de Mexico, Archivos de Neurociencias, Revista Biomedica, Veterinaria Mexico, and Salud Publica de Mexico.
- Keywords: journal | Latin America | medicine | peer review | physicians | research | scientist | Spanish
- 71. MedlinePlus
- Provider: National Library of Medicine
- Contents: dictionary , encyclopedia , free , full text , illustrations , links , news
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: Provides information from the National Institutes of Health and other trusted sources on more than 700 diseases and conditions; includes lists of hospitals and physicians, a medical encyclopedia and a medical dictionary, health information in Spanish, extensive information on prescription and nonprescription drugs, health information from the media, and links to thousands of clinical trials.
- Keywords: clinical trials | consumer health | drugs | healthcare | open access
- 72. Medscape
- Provider: WebMD
- Contents: CME , free , full text , patient education
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: Original, professional medical content, including review articles, journal commentary, expert columns, patient education articles, book reviews, and more than 850 online CME activities. MedScape now offers free download of drug information for the iPhone and iPod Touch. This includes dosage, interactions and adverse effects and cost across more than 6,000 generics and brands, OTCs, herbals and supplements, as well as information for pregnant or lactating women. MedScape requires free registration.
- Keywords: consumer health | open access | physicians | reviews
- 73. Mental Measurements Yearbook
- Provider: EBSCO
- Contents: citations , full text , indexing
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Produced by the Buros Institute, contains full text information about and reviews of all English-language standardized tests covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas. A comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments, and designed for users from experienced professionals to novice test consumers, Mental Measurement Yearbook contains information essential for a complete evaluation of test products.
- Keywords: business | education | mental health | psychology | reviews | sociology | tests | workforce
- 74. Merck Manuals Online Medical Library- Home Edition
- Provider: Merck & Co., Inc.
- Contents: free , full text , glossary of terms , illustrations , manual , quick reference , reference , tables of contents
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: This manual is an invaluable resource for the layman, explaining medical conditions from every aspect, with introductions giving background information on the biology of body systems and organs, and providing supporting anatomical and 3-D visual aids. Of particular value is the Drugs section, with information on pharmacokinetics, drug interaction and adverse reactions, herbal supplements and over-the-counter drugs. The Special Subjects area contains sections on medical decision-making, limb prosthetics, travel medicine, women's health, alternative and complementary medicines, and more.
- Keywords: consumer health | drugs | medicine
- 75. Merck Veterinary Manual
- Provider: Merck & Co., Inc.
- Contents: audio , free , full text , handbook , images , indexing , links , manual , tables of contents , videos
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: Merck Veterinary Manual Online is a general reference text for veterinary professionals, containing information arranged primarily by body system with some information on specific species. This manual contains a section on laboratory animals and exotic species. Some images, audio and video files are included, along with quick references and lists of useful outside links.
- Keywords: open access | veterinary medicine
- 76. Middle Search Plus (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: abstracts , biographical , dictionary , encyclopedia , full text , images , indexing
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Contains full text for nearly 140 popular magazines. All full text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full text is also available for thousands of biographies, historical essays and student pamphlets. Also contains primary source documents (Essential Documents in American History), reference books (Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia and American Heritage Dictionary), the Encyclopedia of Animals, and an image collection of photos, maps and flags.
- Keywords: biography | general reference | homework | kids | magazines
- 77. Military & Government Collection (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing , monographs
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Offers current news pertaining to all branches of the military and includes cover-to-cover full text for nearly 300 academic journals and other periodicals. The database also includes full text for 245 pamphlets and offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 400 titles.
- Keywords: government | journal | medicine | military | technology | workforce
- 78. National Cancer Institute Website
- Provider: National Cancer Institute
- Contents: free , full text , patient education , websites
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: A comprehensive layman's website. Cancer Topics searches link the user to PubMed with pre-set search limits and retrieve literature citations on more than 100 major cancer topics; search results can be further refined using PubMed's search options and limits. Tabbed categories lead the user to other resources, including information on statistics, clinical trials, research and recent news releases, and dictionaries of oncology terms and drug information.
- Keywords: cancer | clinical trials | consumer health | open access | statistical | U.S. Government
- 79. National Criminal Justice Reference Service
- Provider: U.S. Department of Justice
- Contents: abstracts , free , full text , government documents , indexing , links to full text , statistics , summaries , videos
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: Contains summaries of over 189,000 US and international publications, including federal, state, and local government reports, books, research reports, journal articles, audiovisual presentations, and unpublished research, while excluding most legal decisions, opinions, and statutes.
- Keywords: criminal justice | journal | law enforcement | open access | social sciences | society | sociology | statistical
- 80. National Guideline Clearinghouse
- Provider: Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality
- Contents: free , full text , links to full text , open access , practice guidelines , summaries
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: National Guideline Clearinghouse™ (NGC) is a comprehensive database of evidence-based clinical practice guidelines and related documents, updated weekly. Summaries with links to full text. User-friendly features of the site include: summaries available for download to hand-held devices; a guideline comparison utility for the end user; guideline syntheses prepared by NGC staff; an expert commentary feature from the editorial board; and an annotated bibliography of resources about guidelines- their development, methodology, structure, evaluation and implementation.
- Keywords: clinical evidence | clinical practice guidelines | evidence-based medicine | open access | PDA access
- 81. Natural & Alternative Treatments (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: full text , monographs , patient education , reference
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Detailed information on: more than 180 different conditions and the conventional and natural treatments used to treat them; over 200 herbs and supplements; and drug-herb and drug-supplement interactions for more than 75 drug categories can be found in this database.
- Keywords: alternative medicine | botanical | consumer health | diet | dietary supplements | drugs | herbs
- 82. Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database
- Provider: Therapeutic Research Faculty
- Contents: abstracts , CME , full text , indexing , patient education
- Access Levels: Clinical Partner , Educational
- Descriptions: Updated daily, Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database provides clinically relevant information in an easy-to-use format. Product search is available from any page; click a button to get a patient handout for any product, or click references to see abstracts of articles. Supports PDA access for Palm OS or Windows mobile PDA, except for Smartphones.
- Keywords: dietary supplements | evidence-based medicine | herbs | PDA access | pharmacology | products
- 83. Nature Neuroscience Gateway
- Provider: Nature Publishing Group and the Allen Institute for Brain Science
- Contents: career and jobs , free , full text , news , partial open access
- Access Levels: Clinical Partner , Educational , Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: A comprehensive source for current research, news and events in neuroscience and genomics research developed collaboratively by the Allen Institute for Brain Science and Nature Publishing Group; includes the Allen Brain Atlas, a freely available scientific resource developed by the Allen Institute, which provides maps of the expression of approximately 20,000 genes in the mouse brain. Together, the Neuroscience Gateway and the Allen Brain Atlas are new tools to help researchers navigate neuroscience and genomics research.
- Keywords: gateway | neurology | neuroscience | open access | portal | research | scientist
- 84. NetLibrary E-Books Collection Basic Search Interface (TexShare)
- Provider: NetLibrary/OCLC -- TexShare
- Contents: bibliographic records , dictionary , e-books , full text , indexing , tables of contents
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Electronic book collection of more than 100,000 titles of trade, reference, science, technology and medicine content. Some content is free (out of copyright) and most is licensed by the State Library (TexShare) and restricted to Educational users.
- Keywords: books | e-books | multidisciplinary
- 85. Newspaper Source (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: citations , full text , indexing , news , newspapers , radio , transcripts
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Provides cover-to-cover full text for 20 national (US) & international newspapers, including The Christian Science Monitor, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Times (London), Toronto Star, etc. The database also contains selected full text for more than 230 regional (US) newspapers, including The Boston Globe, Chicago Tribune, Detroit Free Press, The Miami Herald, Daily News (New York), San Jose Mercury News, etc. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are provided from CBS News, FOX News, NPR, and other sources.
- Keywords: business | culture | current events | government | politics | public affairs | society
- 86. North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, and Oral Histories
- Provider: Alexander Street Press
- Contents: archive , biographical , full text
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Personal narratives, including autobiographies and pamphlets, from 342 authors, providing insight on what it meant to be an immigrant to the U.S.A. and Canada during the period from 1840 to 1950.
- Keywords: anthropology | culture | history of North America | homework | humanities | social sciences | society | sociology
- 87. North American Women's Letters and Diaries
- Provider: Alexander Street Press
- Contents: biographical , full text , research tools
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Diaries, journals and letters written by women residents and visitors to North America between 1700 and 1950; to include the personal experiences of 1,500 women from all walks of life and classes in society.
- Keywords: American history | history of North America | homework | humanities | society | sociology | women
- 88. Nursing & Allied Health Source (ProQuest)
- Provider: ProQuest
- Contents: abstracts , dissertation , full text , indexing
- Access Levels: Clinical Partner , Educational
- Descriptions: This mostly full text database provides scholarly articles, dissertations, reports and evidence-based resources (notably from the Joanna Briggs Institute) supporting the study of nursing and the allied health professions, including physical therapy, radiography, dietetics, dental hygiene and the clinical laboratory sciences. Features "Study Paths" (collections of resources particularly relevant for either RN or LPN students); evidence summaries; MMWR reports on public health issues; and practice guidelines.
- Keywords: allied health | care | diet | evidence-based | health insurance | journal | medical imaging | multidisciplinary | nursing | nutrition | systematic reviews
- 89. Nursing Reference Center
- Provider: EBSCO
- Contents: CME , e-books , full text , links to full text , news , patient education , reference
- Access Levels: Clinical Partner , Educational
- Descriptions: A comprehensive, point-of-care resource for nursing, Nursing Reference Center draws search results in part from Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses; AHFS Drug Information Essentials; Diseases and Disorders: A Nursing Therapeutics Manual; Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary; and Davis's Comprehensive Handbook of Laboratory & Diagnostic Tests with Nursing Implications. Nursing Reference Center includes: "quick lessons" on diseases and disorders; evidence-based care sheets; practice guidelines; patient education sheets, some available in Spanish; CE modules; news; research instruments; and information on legal cases. Nursing Reference Center provides direct access to full text articles found in CINAHL. First-time users are encouraged to "take the tour" on the database's home page (FlashPlayer required) to learn more.
- Keywords: clinical practice guidelines | drugs | evidence-based | journal | legal | monographs | nursing | point-of-care
- 90. OMMBID (Online Metabolic & Molecular Bases of Inherited Disease)
- Provider: McGraw-Hill
- Contents: charts and graphs , e-books , full text , illustrations , images , textbooks
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Scriver’s OMMBID,updated several times a year, provides online access to the leading genetic information from renowned international experts. The site now features a researchers' blog, podcasts, the ability to limit searches to images and tables, creation of personal storage and bookmarking.
- Keywords: drugs | genetics | medicine
- 91. OncologyStat
- Provider: Elsevier
- Contents: free , full text , interactive , patient education , reference , videos
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: From the website: "OncologySTAT integrates a multitude of authoritative professional cancer information sources, such as peer-reviewed research, news and regulatory updates, a professional drug monograph and interactions database, chemotherapy regimens, and conference coverage into one easy-to-use online destination. Information and educational materials are delivered across multiple media formats: text, audio, video, interactive, user-generated forums, etc. Community oncologists and cancer-care practitioners in private practice or a non-institutional setting will find OncologySTAT especially useful in gaining immediate integrated access to the latest evidence-based research, news, treatment, and decision support information." Note: Free registration is required to access full text articles and to contribute comments to blogs in this database.
- Keywords: cancer | clinical trials | database | decision support | evidence-based medicine | oncology | open access
- 92. PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) International
- Provider: ProQuest
- Contents: abstracts , bibliographies , full text , indexing , links , proceedings , websites
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Contains references to journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more. PAIS International includes publications from over 120 countries throughout the world. In addition to English, some of the indexed materials are published in French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish. Includes access to the PAIS Archive.
- Keywords: foreign policy | internet | journal | multicultural | multidisciplinary | peer review | policy | politics | public affairs | social sciences
- 93. PDQ (Physician Data Query) Cancer Database
- Provider: National Cancer Institute
- Contents: dictionary , free , full text , links , open access , patient education , reference , statistics , websites
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: PDQ contains peer-reviewed summaries on cancer treatment, screening, prevention, genetics, supportive care, and complementary and alternative medicine; a registry of more than 4,000 open and 15,000 closed cancer clinical trials from around the world; and directories of physicians, genetic counseling professionals, and organizations that provide cancer care. Also included: a dictionary of cancer terms and a drug dictionary.
- Keywords: alternative medicine | cancer | clinical trials | open access | physicians | reviews
- 94. Periodicals Archive Online
- Provider: ProQuest
- Contents: abstracts , archive , full text , indexing
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Contains full text of more than 500 journals, providing access to nearly 2 million articles and affording the user historical access to some of the most respected journals published in the humanities and social sciences.
- Keywords: culture | history | homework | humanities | journal | literature | multidisciplinary | reviews | social sciences
- 95. PLOS Hub for Clinical Trials
- Provider: Public Library of Science
- Contents: abstracts , free , full text , indexing , interactive , open access
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: The PLoS Hub for Clinical Trials collects PLoS journal articles that relate to clinical trials. The Hub is a site for researchers to share their views, comment on and rate the research articles posted there, and build a dynamic, interactive community.
- Keywords: clinical evidence | clinical studies | clinical trials | e-publishing | open access
- 96. Primary Search (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: citations , full text , images
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Indexes nearly 70 popular elementary school magazines, with all full text articles (about a third of the material indexed) being assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 100 magazines. Full text is also available for over 100 student pamphlets. Examples of publications include: Boys’ Life, Cricket, Highlights for Children, Hopscotch, Jack & Jill, Ladybug, Ranger Rick, Science World, Spider, SuperScience, and Time for Kids. This database also provides the American Heritage Children’s Dictionary, 3rd Edition from Houghton Mifflin, and an image collection of 202,164 photos, maps and flags.
- Keywords: culture | K-12 | kids | multidisciplinary | search
- 97. Professional Development Collection (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: abstracts , career and jobs , full text , indexing
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Designed for professional educators, this database provides a specialized collection of nearly 550 education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports. In addition to full text, indexing and abstracts are provided for more than 700 journals. Titles offered include: Booklist, Curriculum Administrator, Education, Education Digest, Educational Leadership, Journal of Education, Journal of Educational Research, Journal of Learning Disabilities, and School Library Journal.
- Keywords: education
- 98. PsycARTICLES (EbscoHost)
- Provider: EBSCO
- Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Provides full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA’s Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber, including all the material (with the exception of ads and editorial board lists) from 55 top psychology publications. Covers a range of subjects such as general psychology and specialized basic, applied, clinical, and theoretical research areas within psychology. Titles include: Behavioral Neuroscience, Journal of Abnormal Psychology, Psychology of Addictive Behaviors, Psychological Bulletin, and Journal of Personality & Social Psychology.
- Keywords: journal | neurology | psychology
- 99. PsychiatryOnline
- Provider: American Psychiatric Publishing, Inc.
- Contents: CME , full text , handbook , news , textbooks
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Provides full text resources including DSM-IV-TR, DSM-IV-TR Casebook and its Treatment Companion, and the American Psychiatric Association Practice Guidelines for the Treatment of Psychiatric Disorders; journals including The American Journal of Psychiatry and Psychiatric Services; textbooks including Textbook of Clinical Psychiatry; self-assessment tools for study, board certification and recertification review, and lifelong learning; and clinical & research news from Psychiatric News.
- Keywords: neurology | psychiatry | psychoanalysis
- 100. Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Provides full text, abstracts and indexing to approximately 575 publications, about 550 of which are peer-reviewed journals. Topics covered: emotional and behavioral characteristics; psychiatry & psychology; mental processes; anthropology; and observational and experimental methods.
- Keywords: anthropology | behavioral sciences | neurology | psychiatry | psychology
- 101. PsycINFO (OVID)
- Provider: OVID
- Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing
- Access Levels: Clinical Partner , Educational
- Descriptions: Provides citations with abstracts to the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences, covering material of relevance to psychologists, students, and professionals in related fields: psychiatry, management, business, and education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work. Journal coverage includes material selected from approximately 2,000 periodicals. Chapter and book coverage includes English-language material published from 1987 to the present. For a brief guide to searching any Ovid database, access the full list of available databases by clicking "Change Databases," and click the "i" (information) logo next to its title.
- Keywords: behavioral sciences | psychology
- 102. Public Library of Science (PLoS)
- Provider: Public Library of Science
- Contents: free , full text
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: In 2003, PLoS launched a nonprofit scientific and medical publishing venture that provides scientists and physicians with high-quality, high-profile journals in which to publish their most important work; under the open access model, PLoS journals are immediately available online, with no charge for access and no restrictions on subsequent redistribution or use, as long as the author(s) and source are cited in the manner specified by its Creative Commons Attribution License.
- Keywords: biology | creative commons | genetics | infectious disease | journal | life sciences | medicine | multidisciplinary | open access | research | science | scientist
- 103. PubMed Bookshelf
- Provider: National Library of Medicine and National Center for Biotechnology Information
- Contents: e-books , free , full text , links , open access
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: Collaborating with authors and publishers, the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) adapts biomedical books for the web. They may either be accessed via direct search or via "Books" links in PubMed abstracts. In the future, more links will be made between this collection of books and other types of information provided by NCBI, for instance, gene and protein sequences and macromolecular structures.
- Keywords: biomedical | books | e-books | open access
- 104. PubMed Central
- Provider: National Library of Medicine
- Contents: archive , free , full text , open access
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: Digital archive of life sciences journal literature from the US National Institutes of Health (NIH). With PubMed Central, NLM took the lead in preserving and maintaining unrestricted access to electronic literature, just as it has done for decades with print biomedical literature. PubMed Central aims to fill the role of being a world-class library of the digital age, a repository of knowledge. The National Library of Medicine believes that providing free, unrestricted access to the material in PubMed Central is the best way to ensure the durability and utility of the archive as technology evolves.
- Keywords: allied health | digital | journal | medicine | open access
- 105. Radiation Event Medical Management (REMM)
- Provider: National Library of Medicine/DHHS
- Contents: free , full text , links , links to full text , websites
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: REMM provides detailed information and government documents on the types of devices via which radiation might be deliberately inflicted, the isotopes that might be used and their properties, and on-site initial response guidelines. Graphically-presented management algorithms and subsequent treatment guidelines for health care providers are included, with links to the full text of referenced articles and documents.
- Keywords: disaster | emergency medicine | open access | public health | radiation | toxicology | toxins
- 106. Regional Business News (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Full text of 75 business journals, newspapers and news wires covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
- Keywords: business | management | marketing
- 107. Religion and Philosophy Collection (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Covers the predominant world religions, biblical studies, archaeology, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy, ethics, history of philosophy. Contains more than 300 full text journals, among them more than 250 peer-reviewed titles. Indexing and abstracts are provided for all journals in the database.
- Keywords: ethics | philosophy
- 108. Salud en Espanol (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: abstracts , encyclopedia , full text , indexing , monographs , news , reference
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Provides an interface designed for the consumer of Spanish-language health care information, with convenient access to the same health and medical information found in the Consumer Health Complete database.
- Keywords: consumer health | drugs | herbs | journal
- 109. Science and Technology Collection (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Contains over 800 full text, mostly scholarly journals focusing on fields such as aeronautics, astrophysics, biology, chemistry, computer technology, geology, aviation, physics, archaeology, marine sciences and materials science. Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 1,700 publications.
- Keywords: biology | chemistry | geoscience | physics | science | technology
- 110. Science Citation Index (via Web of Science)
- Provider: Thomson
- Contents: abstracts , citations , full text , indexing
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: A multidisciplinary index to the scientific journal literature; indexes 5,900 journals across 150 scientific disciplines and includes all cited references captured from indexed articles. Provides access to current and retrospective data from 1900 to the present. Contains searchable, full-length English-language author abstracts for approximately 70% of the articles indexed, as well as links to full text. Covers the physical, earth and life sciences.
- Keywords: biology | medicine | multidisciplinary | science
- 111. ScienceDirect
- Provider: Elsevier
- Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Search gateway to the Elsevier online journals and book series; titles accessible to HAM-TMC Library users are flanked by a green icon.
- Keywords: e-books | journal | multidisciplinary | peer review | science
- 112. Scopus
- Provider: Elsevier
- Contents: abstracts , charts and graphs , citations , full text , government documents , indexing , links to full text , proceedings , research tools , websites
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: SCOPUS contains millions of records from 15,000 publications in the health sciences (including 100% of the journals contained in Medline and EmBase), as well as chemistry, physics, mathematics, engineering, biology, agriculture, environmental sciences and the humanities. Link to full text articles from journals in the HAM-TMC Library's collection by clicking the HAM-TMC Library Find It! button. SCOPUS covers the proceedings of 750 conferences, and retrieves a separate set of relevant Web resources with every literature search. Another tab separates a set of patent results from U.S., U.K. and worldwide patent offices. SCOPUS includes a Journal Analyzer tool that graphs journals, singly or for comparison, from 1996 to present, showing total citations, number of articles published, total citations divided by number of articles, and the percentage of uncited articles. A search by affiliation is provided. Free login for authorized users provides additional advantages: a personal profile, with space to save lists of citations and track authors; a publication alerts service; and direct export to RefWorks, each with the user's own settings. For tutorials on searching and SCOPUS features, click here.
- Keywords: biology | biomedical research | chemistry | conference | internet | journal | life sciences | medicine | multidisciplinary | nursing | patents | pharmacology | science
- 113. Scribner Writers Series (TexShare)
- Provider: Thomson Gale -- TexShare
- Contents: biographical , full text , indexing , literary criticism
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Provides 15-20 page signed essays on more than 1,600 authors and literary genres, from ancient to modern; includes in-depth search tool and a research ideas section.
- Keywords: biography | literature
- 114. Searchasaurus (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: encyclopedia , full text , illustrations , indexing
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Graphical search interface for EBSCO's general student resources, including Encyclopedia of Animals, Middle Search Plus, and Primary Search
- Keywords: K-12 | kids | multidisciplinary | student
- 115. STAT!Ref (TexShare)
- Provider: Teton Data Systems
- Contents: e-books , full text , handbook , reference , tables of contents , textbooks
- Access Levels: Clinical Partners via their portal page , Educational
- Descriptions: Cross-searchable healthcare reference that integrates core electronic book titles with evidence-based resources and innovative tools. Includes numerous titles selected for the Doody’s Core Titles List (DCT), as well as many titles from the Brandon-Hill medical librarians’ list. Titles include the latest editions of ACS Surgery: Principles and Practice, Goodman and Gilman's The Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics, and Hurst's The Heart.
- Keywords: books | communicable diseases | evidence-based | genetics | ICD-9 | infectious disease | internal medicine | medical coding | medicine | nursing | office practice | pediatrics | physicians | surgery
- 116. Student Research Center Interface (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: abstracts , full text , illustrations , images , indexing , reference
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: EBSCO's Student Research Center (SRC) makes it easy for students to search by keyword or by topic to find the most useful search results. Results can be easily sorted by source type: magazines, reference books, photos, flags, etc.
- Keywords: K-12 | kids | magazines | multidisciplinary
- 117. SUMSearch
- Provider: University of Texas Health Science Center - San Antonio
- Contents: free , full text , links , search engine
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: Searches free Web sources for evidence-based health care information (PubMed, including Cochrane Systematic Reviews, National Guideline Clearinghouse and the Merck Index.) SumSearch groups results by category: reviews, practice guidelines, systematic reviews and research articles.
- Keywords: education | evidence-based | evidence-based medicine | medicine | open access
- 118. Texas Reference Center (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: biographical , full text , reference
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Includes more than 80 full-text journals and books about Texas history, ethnic and cultural diversity, gender studies, literature, public health, business as well as home & garden, sports & leisure. Contains biographies of famous historical and contemporary Texans like George H.W. Bush, Lady Bird Johnson, Dan Moody, Susanna Dickinson and Sam Houston. Newspapers providing Texas and national news coverage are also included.
- Keywords: books | history | homework | journal | kids | student | Texas
- 119. TOPICsearch (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing , monographs , news , newspapers
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Current events database focusing on social, political and economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics discussed in today’s classrooms; contains full text from diverse sources including international and regional newspapers, EBSCO’s collection of periodicals, biographies, public opinion polls, book reviews, pamphlets, and government information. This database provides full text from more than 1,550 publications. In addition to the full text, indexing and abstracts are provided for more than 1,650 journals.
- Keywords: biography | current events | economics | homework | journal | politics | reviews | science | society | student | technology | U.S. Government
- 120. Tox Town
- Provider: National Library of Medicine
- Contents: free , full text , government documents , images , indexing , links , videos , websites
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: Provides information on everyday locations where you might find toxic chemicals; non-technical descriptions of chemicals; links to selected, authoritative chemical information on the Internet; how the environment can impact human health; and Internet resources on environmental health topics. Tox Town uses color, graphics, sounds and animation to add interest to learning about connections between chemicals, the environment, and the public's health. A Spanish language version is available. FlashPlayer is required to view videos.
- Keywords: biohazard | chemicals | consumer health | disaster | environmental | NLM | open access | public health | radiation | toxins
- 121. TOXNET: Toxicology Data Network
- Provider: National Library of Medicine
- Contents: cross reference , federated search , free , full text , government documents , images , indexing
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: TOXNET is a cross-searchable cluster of databases covering toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, toxic releases and related areas. Includes Hazardous Substances Data Bank, Chemical Carcinogenesis Research Information System, Haz-Map, and LactMed (Drugs and Lactation). Managed by the Toxicology and Environmental Health Information Program in the Division of Specialized Information Services of the National Library of Medicine (NLM).
- Keywords: chemicals | environmental | open access | public health | toxicology | toxins
- 122. TRIP Database: the search engine for Evidence-Based Medicine
- Provider: TRIP Knowledge Services
- Contents: e-books , free , full text , images , patient education , websites
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: Openly accessible database that simultaneously searches evidence-based resources: systematic reviews, Medline's Clinical Queries, practice guidelines, e-books, images, and patient information handouts. From the website: "The aims of the TRIP Database have remained the same since 1997 - allow health professionals to easily find the highest-quality material available on the web - to help support evidence based practice... The evolution of the TRIP Database has been guided by the desire to answer real clinical questions using the principles of evidence-based medicine."
- Keywords: evidence-based medicine | medicine | open access | systematic reviews
- 123. Twayne's Author Series (TexShare)
- Provider: Gale
- Contents: abstracts , biographical , full text , indexing , literary criticism , reference
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Comprises 600 full-text titles from the Literary Masters series, 200 each from Twayne's World Authors, Twayne's US Authors and Twayne's English Authors.
- Keywords: biography | books | homework | literature | multicultural | student
- 124. Twentieth (20th) Century Poetry (American & English) - TexShare
- Provider: ProQuest -- TexShare
- Contents: full text
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: American Section: includes 50,000 poems drawn from 750 volumes of works by more than 300 poets, including Adrienne Rich, Andrei Codrescu, Ezra Pound, William Carlos Williams, Denise Levertov, Wallace Stevens, Langston Hughes, Lucille Clifton and Cathy Song. The English Section is a collection of 598 volumes of poems written by 283 poets, dating from 1900 to the present day: W.B. Yeats, Rudyard Kipling, Thomas Hardy, Wilfred Owen, Thom Gunn, Fleur Adcock, Paul Muldoon, Tony Harrison, Benjamin Zephaniah and Carol Ann Duffy and many more; incorporates also poets represented in The Faber Poetry Library.
- Keywords: books | homework | humanities | poetry | student
- 125. U.S. Patent and Trademark Office
- Provider: U. S. Department of Commerce
- Contents: free , full text , government documents , indexing
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: Provides full text of registered patents and trademarks, including search aids, a browsable collection of recent patents, and special notices.
- Keywords: open access | patents
- 126. UpToDate
- Provider: UpToDate.com
- Contents: abstracts , CME , full text , indexing , quick reference
- Access Level: Provided only for a specific user group- see database description for details.
- Descriptions: This evidence-based resource is designed for use at the point of care, with topic reviews provided by nearly 3,000 physicians. Information presented is peer-reviewed. Provides access to current information within defined specialties; helps clinicians recognize the clinical manifestations of a wide variety of disorders and describes current options for diagnosis, management and therapy, including drug efficacy, dosage and interactions; and also assists with the identification of optimal screening and prevention strategies. NOTES: FOR BAYLOR USERS: Please go to your ERC's (Education Resource Center's) database list to use UpToDate. FOR ALL USERS: There is no Remote Access Service available for this resource. Access is available at UTHSC TMC campus locations and at HAM-TMC Library.
- Keywords: diagnosis | drugs | evidence-based medicine | pharmaceutical | physicians | point-of-care
- 127. Vocational and Career Collection (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: career and jobs , full text , trade publication
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: This collection provides full text coverage for nearly 350 diverse trade and industry periodicals, including American Machinist, Pediatric Nursing, Wireless Week, Drug Store News, Video Business, Reeves Journal, Hotel and Motel Management, Restaurant Business, and Advertising Age.
- Keywords: business | workforce
- 128. Wiley Interscience Journals
- Provider: Wiley InterScience
- Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing
- Access Levels: Clinical Partner , Educational
- Descriptions: This is the browse and search interface for Wiley Interscience journals.
- Keywords: biology | biomedical | journal | medicine | science
- 129. World History Collection (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Provides a global look at history in content from Africa, Asia, North and South America, Europe and the Middle East. Contains full text for nearly 150 fully indexed and abstracted titles, including many peer-reviewed journals covering a wide range of historical topics including anthropology, art, culture, economics, government, heritage, the military, politics, regional issues, and more.
- Keywords: anthropology | art | culture | economics | government | history | politics
















