Home


<<< E-Access Help >>>

SEARCH10...

 

HAM-TMC Library

Databases

Our databases contain a wide variety of medical information resources: journal articles, statistics, images, government information, and more. Browse the alphabetical list of database titles or search for terms that appear in the database descriptions.

Search:

 

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

View All...

Choose By

Institution:

OR

Access Level:

  1. Clinical Partner
  2. Clinical Partners via their portal page
  3. Educational
  4. Institutional
  5. Open Access (freely accessible to all)
  6. Provided only for a specific user group- see database description for details.
  7. Visitor/Cardholder

INDEXING Databases

Currently, the Library has 90 databases for the content term: "indexing ".

AgeLine

  • 1. AgeLine
  • Provider: AARP
  • Contents: abstracts , free , indexing
  • Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
  • Descriptions: Provides abstracts of the literature of social gerontology, as well as aging-related research from psychology, sociology, social work, economics, public policy, and the health sciences. It covers aging-related issues for professionals in aging services, health, business, law, and mental health. Also includes selected consumer content. Summarizes journal articles, books and chapters, research reports, dissertations, gray literature, and educational videos from many publishers and organizations, including AARP.
  • Keywords: aging | geriatrics | open access

Agricola (EBSCO -- TexShare)

  • 2. Agricola (EBSCO -- TexShare)
  • Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
  • Contents: abstracts , indexing
  • Access Level: Educational
  • Descriptions: Compiled by the US National Agricultural Library, this bibliographic information resource consists of over 2 million citations to journal articles, monographs, theses, patents, software, audio-visual materials, and technical reports. The records describe publications and resources encompassing all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including: plant and animal sciences; forestry; entomology; soil and water resources; agricultural economics; agricultural engineering; agricultural products; alternative farming practices; and food and nutrition.
  • Keywords: agriculture | animal | nutrition

America: History and Life and Historical Abstracts

  • 3. America: History and Life and Historical Abstracts
  • Provider: EBSCO
  • Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing
  • Access Level: Educational
  • Descriptions: America: History and Life (AHL) is a complete bibliographic reference to the history of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Published since 1964, the database comprises over 530,000 bibliographic entries for periodicals dating back to 1954. Additional bibliographical entries are constantly added to the databases from editorial projects such as retrospective coverage of journals issues published prior to 1954. This extensive database covers over 1,700 journals published worldwide. In addition to covering all key English-language historical journals, America: History and Life coverage includes selected historical journals from major countries, state and local history journals, and a targeted selection of hundreds of journals in the social sciences and humanities. Over 90% of the articles included are published in English-language journals.
  • Keywords: history | humanities | social sciences

BIOSIS - Biological Abstracts, 1980 - 2003

  • 4. BIOSIS - Biological Abstracts, 1980 - 2003
  • Provider: OVID
  • Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing
  • Access Level: Educational
  • Descriptions: BIOSIS encompasses the breadth of life sciences and provides coverage of published biological and biomedical research; includes traditional areas of biology, such as botany, zoology and microbiology, as well as experimental, clinical and veterinary medicine, biotechnology, environmental studies, and agriculture. Interdisciplinary fields like biochemistry, biophysics and bioengineering are also included. The Library's coverage ends with 2003. For a brief guide to searching any Ovid database, access the full list of available databases by clicking "Change Databases," and click the "i" (information) logo next to its title.
  • Keywords: biology | biomedical | life sciences | microbiology | veterinary medicine | zoology

CINAHL Plus with Full Text

CLASE and PERIODICA (TexShare)

Clinical Queries (PubMed)

Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews - EBM Reviews

Consumer Health Complete (TexShare)

Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE) (EBM Reviews)

Enhanced Business Search Interface (TexShare)

Entrez Cross-Database Search

Epocrates Online®

  • 13. Epocrates Online®
  • Provider: Epocrates, Inc.
  • Contents: free , indexing , monographs , patient education
  • Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
  • Descriptions: Epocrates Online is a database that (with the expected disclaimers and terms of use) provides useful and comprehensive information on pharmaceutical products at no cost to the user. Tabbed sections are provided on drugs, diseases, drug interactions and contraindications, and pill identification. A paid subscription is required for access to MedCalc and another section providing clinical tables/guidelines. Free registration is required to use Epocrates. A free mobile version is also available for download. Subscription information is easy to find on the website.
  • Keywords: drugs | open access | pharmaceutical | pharmacy

ERIC (EBSCO -- TexShare)

  • 14. ERIC (EBSCO -- TexShare)
  • Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
  • Contents: abstracts , bibliographies , directory , dissertation , government documents , indexing , monographs , proceedings , thesis
  • Access Level: Educational
  • Descriptions: ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) database is sponsored by the US Department of Education to provide access to educational-related literature; provides coverage of conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs. Dates of coverage: 1966 - current. Subject coverage includes counseling and personnel services, education management, information resources, languages and linguistics, science, mathematics, and environmental education, teacher education, and tests, measurement, and evaluation.
  • Keywords: education | science | tests | workforce

FDA Maude Database

Gale Virtual Reference Library (TexShare)

Gene Ontology (GO) project

  • 17. Gene Ontology (GO) project
  • Provider: Gene Ontology Consortium
  • Contents: free , indexing , research tools
  • Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
  • Descriptions: The Gene Ontology (GO) project is a collaborative effort by various organizations and groups working on various genome projects to address the need for consistent description of gene products across different databases. The GO collaborators are developing three "ontologies" (in computer science, specifications of relational vocabularies) that describe three aspects of molecular biology- biological processes, cellular components, and molecular functions- in a species-independent manner. The GO database has a user-friendly interface (AmiGO) available, as well as other downloadable, local-use tools.
  • Keywords: biomedical research | database | genome | genomics | genotype | ontology | open access | sequencing | taxonomy

GreenFile (TexShare)

Health & Wellness Resource Center (TexShare)

Health Source: Consumer Edition (TexShare)

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (TexShare)

  • 21. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (TexShare)
  • Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
  • Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing , reference
  • Access Level: Educational
  • Descriptions: Provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on various medical disciplines and features abstracts and indexing for 850 journals, with coverage of nursing and allied health being particularly strong, including full text from many nursing journals. In addition, this database includes Clinical Pharmacology, which provides access to up-to-date, concise and clinically relevant drug monographs for all U.S. prescription drugs, hard-to-find herbal and nutritional supplements, over-the-counter products and new drugs. Full text information in this database dates as far back as 1975.
  • Keywords: allied health | drugs | medicine | nursing

Herbs and Supplements Information (MedlinePlus)

HeritageQuest Online

Historical Abstracts and America: History and Life

IEEE Xplore

Illustrata (CSA)

Index-Catalogue of the Library of the Surgeon-General's Office. US Army.

Information Science & Technology Abstracts (TexShare)

InfoTrac Newspapers (TexShare)

International Pharmaceutical Abstracts

Internet and Personal Computing Abstracts (TexShare)

  • 31. Internet and Personal Computing Abstracts (TexShare)
  • Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
  • Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing
  • Access Level: Educational
  • Descriptions: Provides abstracts and indexing for literature related to personal computing products and developments in business, the Internet, the home, and all other applied areas. Coverage extends back to the 1980s. Over 400 trade publications, mainstream computer magazines and professional journals are covered, including those that focus on specific topics such as Macintosh and Windows platforms, programming and web development, with special emphasis on hardware and software reviews. Includes content from such titles as Byte.com, PC World, Macworld, and Linux Journal, as well as editor-selected articles from hundreds of popular magazine titles.
  • Keywords: computers | industry | internet | journal | products | technology

Journal Citation Reports

Journals@ OVID Full Text

JSTOR, the Scholarly Journal Archive

  • 34. JSTOR, the Scholarly Journal Archive
  • Provider: JSTOR
  • Contents: archive , full text , indexing
  • Access Level: Educational
  • Descriptions: The JSTOR archive contains the complete digitized back runs of core scholarly journals in multiple disciplines, starting with the very first issues, some dating as far back as the 1600's. New titles and disciplines are added regularly. Via HAM-TMC Library the following collections are available: Arts and Sciences I-IV; Biological Sciences; Business I-II; Ecology & Botany; Health & General Sciences; and Language & Literature.
  • Keywords: digital | journal | multidisciplinary

Legal Collection (TexShare)

  • 35. Legal Collection (TexShare)
  • Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
  • Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing
  • Access Level: Educational
  • Descriptions: Collection of scholarly peer-reviewed publications including law journals, documents, and case studies, with information on current issues, studies, thoughts and trends of the legal world. Legal Collection offers full text for nearly 250 law journals and provides information centered on the discipline of law and legal topics such as criminal justice, international law, federal law, organized crime, medical, labor & human resource law, ethics, the environment and much more. Full text information in this database dates as far back as 1965.
  • Keywords: criminal justice | law | legal | multidisciplinary | social sciences

Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (TexShare)

MasterFILE Premier (TexShare)

  • 37. MasterFILE Premier (TexShare)
  • Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
  • Contents: abstracts , dictionary , e-books , indexing , maps , quick reference , reference , research tools
  • Access Level: Educational
  • Descriptions: Provides full text for more than 1,700 general periodicals covering a broad range of disciplines including general reference, business, education, health, general science, and multicultural issues. In addition to the full text, this database provides indexing and abstracts for nearly 2,400 titles. This database includes full text Magill Book Reviews, full text reference books including the World Almanac & Book of Facts; full text from biographies, full text primary source documents, American Heritage Dictionary, 4th Edition and an image collection of photos, maps and flags. Includes PDF backfiles as far back as 1975 for key publications.
  • Keywords: general reference | multicultural | multidisciplinary | reviews | student

MD Consult

  • 38. MD Consult
  • Provider: Elsevier
  • Contents: abstracts , CME , e-books , full text , indexing , patient education , practice guidelines , reference , textbooks
  • Access Level: Educational
  • Descriptions: MD Consult is a database of clinical point-of-care resources. This subscription includes full-text access to over 50 medical reference books covering a wealth of specialties; browsable access to a large journal collection and to 35 Clinics of North America titles; drug information from Gold Standard; more than 1,000 practice guidelines; and thousands of customizable patient education handouts. It offers the option to create personal accounts and participate in CME activities, and includes a news section. Available to Educational level users.
  • Keywords: drugs | medicine | pharmaceutical | point-of-care

MedicLatina (TexShare)

  • 39. MedicLatina (TexShare)
  • Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
  • Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing , Spanish language interface
  • Access Level: Educational
  • Descriptions: Spanish language collection of medical research and investigative medicine journals, providing full text in Spanish to peer-reviewed medical journals. A wide range of topics is covered, including neuroscience, cardiology, nephrology, biomedicine, clinical research, pediatrics, human reproduction, clinical pathology, cancer research, and hematology. Publications covered in this database include Revista Medica del IMSS, Revista Mexicana de Patologia Clinica, Boletin Medico del Hospital Infantil de Mexico, Archivos de Neurociencias, Revista Biomedica, Veterinaria Mexico, and Salud Publica de Mexico.
  • Keywords: journal | Latin America | medicine | peer review | physicians | research | scientist | Spanish

Medline (CSA)

Medline (EBSCO)

Medline (OVID)

Medline (PubMed)

Mental Measurements Yearbook

  • 44. Mental Measurements Yearbook
  • Provider: EBSCO
  • Contents: citations , full text , indexing
  • Access Level: Educational
  • Descriptions: Produced by the Buros Institute, contains full text information about and reviews of all English-language standardized tests covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas. A comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments, and designed for users from experienced professionals to novice test consumers, Mental Measurement Yearbook contains information essential for a complete evaluation of test products.
  • Keywords: business | education | mental health | psychology | reviews | sociology | tests | workforce

Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy, The

Merck Veterinary Manual

Middle Search Plus (TexShare)

Military & Government Collection (TexShare)

National Criminal Justice Reference Service

National Reference Center for Bioethics Literature

Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database

NetLibrary E-Books Collection Basic Search Interface (TexShare)

Newspaper Source (TexShare)

  • 53. Newspaper Source (TexShare)
  • Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
  • Contents: citations , full text , indexing , news , newspapers , radio , transcripts
  • Access Level: Educational
  • Descriptions: Provides cover-to-cover full text for 20 national (US) & international newspapers, including The Christian Science Monitor, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Times (London), Toronto Star, etc. The database also contains selected full text for more than 230 regional (US) newspapers, including The Boston Globe, Chicago Tribune, Detroit Free Press, The Miami Herald, Daily News (New York), San Jose Mercury News, etc. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are provided from CBS News, FOX News, NPR, and other sources.
  • Keywords: business | culture | current events | government | politics | public affairs | society

NLM Gateway: search engine for the resources of the National Library of Medicine

Nursing & Allied Health Source (ProQuest)

Orphanet: the Portal for Rare Diseases and Orphan Drugs

PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) International

PEDro Physiotherapy Evidence Database

Periodicals Archive Online

PLOS Hub for Clinical Trials

Professional Development Collection (TexShare)

  • 61. Professional Development Collection (TexShare)
  • Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
  • Contents: abstracts , career and jobs , full text , indexing
  • Access Level: Educational
  • Descriptions: Designed for professional educators, this database provides a specialized collection of nearly 550 education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports. In addition to full text, indexing and abstracts are provided for more than 700 journals. Titles offered include: Booklist, Curriculum Administrator, Education, Education Digest, Educational Leadership, Journal of Education, Journal of Educational Research, Journal of Learning Disabilities, and School Library Journal.
  • Keywords: education

PsycARTICLES (EbscoHost)

  • 62. PsycARTICLES (EbscoHost)
  • Provider: EBSCO
  • Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing
  • Access Level: Educational
  • Descriptions: Provides full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA’s Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber, including all the material (with the exception of ads and editorial board lists) from 55 top psychology publications. Covers a range of subjects such as general psychology and specialized basic, applied, clinical, and theoretical research areas within psychology. Titles include: Behavioral Neuroscience, Journal of Abnormal Psychology, Psychology of Addictive Behaviors, Psychological Bulletin, and Journal of Personality & Social Psychology.
  • Keywords: journal | neurology | psychology

Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection (TexShare)

PsycINFO (OVID)

  • 64. PsycINFO (OVID)
  • Provider: OVID
  • Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing
  • Access Levels: Clinical Partner , Educational
  • Descriptions: Provides citations with abstracts to the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences, covering material of relevance to psychologists, students, and professionals in related fields: psychiatry, management, business, and education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work. Journal coverage includes material selected from approximately 2,000 periodicals. Chapter and book coverage includes English-language material published from 1987 to the present. For a brief guide to searching any Ovid database, access the full list of available databases by clicking "Change Databases," and click the "i" (information) logo next to its title.
  • Keywords: behavioral sciences | psychology

PubChem

PubMed

Regional Business News (TexShare)

Religion and Philosophy Collection (TexShare)

  • 68. Religion and Philosophy Collection (TexShare)
  • Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
  • Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing
  • Access Level: Educational
  • Descriptions: Covers the predominant world religions, biblical studies, archaeology, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy, ethics, history of philosophy. Contains more than 300 full text journals, among them more than 250 peer-reviewed titles. Indexing and abstracts are provided for all journals in the database.
  • Keywords: ethics | philosophy

Salud en Espanol (TexShare)

Science and Technology Collection (TexShare)

Science Citation Index (via Web of Science)

  • 71. Science Citation Index (via Web of Science)
  • Provider: Thomson
  • Contents: abstracts , citations , full text , indexing
  • Access Level: Educational
  • Descriptions: A multidisciplinary index to the scientific journal literature; indexes 5,900 journals across 150 scientific disciplines and includes all cited references captured from indexed articles. Provides access to current and retrospective data from 1900 to the present. Contains searchable, full-length English-language author abstracts for approximately 70% of the articles indexed, as well as links to full text. Covers the physical, earth and life sciences.
  • Keywords: biology | medicine | multidisciplinary | science

ScienceDirect

Scopus

  • 73. Scopus
  • Provider: Elsevier
  • Contents: abstracts , charts and graphs , citations , full text , government documents , indexing , links to full text , proceedings , research tools , websites
  • Access Level: Educational
  • Descriptions: SCOPUS contains millions of records from 15,000 publications in the health sciences (including 100% of the journals contained in Medline and EmBase), as well as chemistry, physics, mathematics, engineering, biology, agriculture, environmental sciences and the humanities. Link to full text articles from journals in the HAM-TMC Library's collection by clicking the HAM-TMC Library Find It! button. SCOPUS covers the proceedings of 750 conferences, and retrieves a separate set of relevant Web resources with every literature search. Another tab separates a set of patent results from U.S., U.K. and worldwide patent offices. SCOPUS includes a Journal Analyzer tool that graphs journals, singly or for comparison, from 1996 to present, showing total citations, number of articles published, total citations divided by number of articles, and the percentage of uncited articles. A search by affiliation is provided. Free login for authorized users provides additional advantages: a personal profile, with space to save lists of citations and track authors; a publication alerts service; and direct export to RefWorks, each with the user's own settings. For tutorials on searching and SCOPUS features, click here.
  • Keywords: biology | biomedical research | chemistry | conference | internet | journal | life sciences | medicine | multidisciplinary | nursing | patents | pharmacology | science

Scribner Writers Series (TexShare)

Searchasaurus (TexShare)

Social Sciences Citation Index (Via Web of Science)

Social Services Abstracts

Sociological Abstracts

Spanish Language Interface to EBSCO Databases (TexShare)

Student Research Center Interface (TexShare)

Tests in Print

  • 81. Tests in Print
  • Provider: EBSCO
  • Contents: brief records , index , indexing , research tools , test questions
  • Access Level: Educational
  • Descriptions: Produced by the Buros Institute of Mental Measurements at the University of Nebraska, Tests in Print (TIP) serves as a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language. TIP provides vital information to users including test purpose, test publisher, in-print status, price, test acronym, intended test population, administration times, publication date(s), and test author(s).
  • Keywords: mental health | psychology | reviews | sociology | tests

TOPICsearch (TexShare)

Tox Town

TOXLINE (CSA)

  • 84. TOXLINE (CSA)
  • Provider: ProQuest
  • Contents: abstracts , citations , indexing
  • Access Level: Educational
  • Descriptions: Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, provides bibliographic citations and abstracts from the core journal literature in toxicology. Note: this version of TOXLINE has no information from Chemical Abstracts Service, BIOSIS, or International Pharmaceutical Abstracts; it is a "rolling 5-year" database, consisting of records from the last 5 years plus the current year.
  • Keywords: biohazard | environmental | NLM | toxicology

TOXNET: Toxicology Data Network

Twayne's Author Series (TexShare)

U.S. Patent and Trademark Office

UpToDate

  • 88. UpToDate
  • Provider: UpToDate.com
  • Contents: abstracts , CME , full text , indexing , quick reference
  • Access Level: Provided only for a specific user group- see database description for details.
  • Descriptions: This evidence-based resource is designed for use at the point of care, with topic reviews provided by nearly 3,000 physicians. Information presented is peer-reviewed. Provides access to current information within defined specialties; helps clinicians recognize the clinical manifestations of a wide variety of disorders and describes current options for diagnosis, management and therapy, including drug efficacy, dosage and interactions; and also assists with the identification of optimal screening and prevention strategies. NOTES: FOR BAYLOR USERS: Please go to your ERC's (Education Resource Center's) database list to use UpToDate. FOR ALL USERS: There is no Remote Access Service available for this resource. Access is available at UTHSC TMC campus locations and at HAM-TMC Library.
  • Keywords: diagnosis | drugs | evidence-based medicine | pharmaceutical | physicians | point-of-care

Wiley Interscience Journals

World History Collection (TexShare)