A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z
HAM-TMC Library
Databases
Our databases contain a wide variety of medical information resources: journal articles, statistics, images, government information, and more. Browse the alphabetical list of database titles or search for terms that appear in the database descriptions.Search:
LINKS TO FULL TEXT Databases
Currently, the Library has 20 databases for the content term: "links to full text".
- 1. BioethicsWeb
- Provider: Wellcome Library, Joint Information Systems Committee, University of Nottingham
- Contents: free , links , links to full text , open access , websites
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: Gateway to evaluated, quality Internet resources relating to biomedical ethics, including ethical, social, legal and public policy questions arising from advances in medicine and biology, issues relating to the conduct of biomedical research, and approaches to bioethics. BioethicsWeb is part of Intute, "...a free online service providing access to Web resources for education and research. The service is created by a network of UK universities and partners. Subject specialists select and evaluate the websites in our database and write high quality descriptions of the resources." BioethicsWeb is also affiliated with the BIOME life sciences hub and the Resource Discovery Network (RDN). It is developed and managed by the Wellcome Library for the History and Understanding of Medicine at the Wellcome Trust.
- Keywords: animal | bioethics | biomedical ethics | open access
- 2. Clinical Queries (PubMed)
- Provider: National Institutes of Health/National Library of Medicine
- Contents: abstracts , citations , free , indexing , links to full text
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: A specialized PubMed search interface that affords an easier, more focused access to clinical studies, systematic reviews and medical genetics information.
- Keywords: clinical evidence | clinical studies | clinical trials | decision support | evidence-based medicine | genetics | open access | point-of-care | systematic reviews
- 3. Diagnosaurus
- Provider: McGraw-Hill
- Contents: brief records , links to full text
- Access Levels: Clinical Partner , Educational
- Descriptions: Diagnosaurus is a tool that links the user to information in texts within AccessMedicine's collection in order to assist with the formation of differential diagnoses on over a thousand diseases and disorders.
- Keywords: decision support | diagnosis | physicians
- 4. Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
- Provider: Lund University Libraries, Sweden
- Contents: free , full text , links to full text , open access
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: DOAJ is a consistently-updated service listing open access and "hybrid" (partially open access), quality-controlled scholarly journals covering a broad range of disciplines, with articles written in a variety of languages. Over 3,600 journals are included, approximately a third of which are searchable at article level.
- Keywords: e-publishing | humanities | journal | open access | periodicals | science | social sciences
- 5. European Patent Office (esp@cenet)
- Provider: European Patent Office
- Contents: bibliographic records , free , government documents , illustrations , index , links , links to full text , open access
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: The European Patent Office (EPO) database actually includes records of patents worldwide, drawing its information also from WIPO (the World Intellectual Property Organization.) Unlike most patent databases, this one is very user-friendly, offering searches without the use of field tags. Search by keyword, author or organization; publication, application, priority or reference number; or search by EPO classification, which is based on the International Patent Classification system. The advanced search offers inclusive searching or limit to WIPO or EPO databases, and entry of up to ten specifics, including keyword. Relevant help information is offered in each screen. The Patent Information Tour (last link on the esp@cenet home page) offers several short video tutorials.
- Keywords: biomedical research | biotechnology | industry | medical devices | multidisciplinary | open access | patents | science | scientist
- 6. Journal Citation Reports
- Provider: ISI Web of Knowledge
- Contents: abstracts , citations , impact factors , indexing , links to full text , statistics
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Provides statistical information to evaluate and compare journals using citation data drawn from over 7,500 scholarly and technical journals from more than 3,300 publishers. Provides information on: most frequently cited journals in a field; highest impact journals in a field; and largest journals in a field. Citation and article counts are indicators of how frequently current researchers are using individual journals.
- Keywords: citation analysis | humanities | informatics | science | social sciences
- 7. Journals@ OVID Full Text
- Provider: OVID
- Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing , links to full text , tables of contents
- Access Levels: Clinical Partner , Educational
- Descriptions: Collection of Ovid full text journals. Provides access to all tables of contents, bibliographic citations, abstracts and references; full text for journals subscribed to by the Library.
- Keywords: allied health | journal | nursing | portal | research
- 8. Medline (CSA)
- Provider: ProQuest
- Contents: abstracts , citations , index , indexing , links to full text , research tools
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE contains all records published in Index Medicus and since 2002, most citations previously included in separate NLM specialty databases such as SPACELINE and HISTLINE
- Keywords: allied health | dentistry | health sciences | journal | life sciences | medicine | pharmacology | physicians | science | scientist | veterinary medicine
- 9. Medline (EBSCO)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: abstracts , citations , index , indexing , links to full text , research tools
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: This bibliographic database provides information from the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, allied health, and the pre-clinical sciences. It is the electronic counterpart of Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and the International Nursing Index.
- Keywords: allied health | dentistry | health sciences | life sciences | medicine | pharmacology | physicians | science | scientist | veterinary medicine
- 10. Medline (PubMed)
- Provider: National Library of Medicine
- Contents: abstracts , free , index , indexing , links to full text , research tools
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: Bibliographic database providing information from the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, allied health, and the pre-clinical sciences; the electronic counterpart of Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and the International Nursing Index. PubMed is a service of the US National Library of Medicine that includes over 16 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. PubMed includes links to full text articles and other related resources.
- Keywords: allied health | dentistry | journal | life sciences | medicine | nursing | open access | pharmacology | physicians | science | scientist | veterinary medicine
- 11. National Criminal Justice Reference Service
- Provider: U.S. Department of Justice
- Contents: abstracts , free , full text , government documents , indexing , links to full text , statistics , summaries , videos
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: Contains summaries of over 189,000 US and international publications, including federal, state, and local government reports, books, research reports, journal articles, audiovisual presentations, and unpublished research, while excluding most legal decisions, opinions, and statutes.
- Keywords: criminal justice | journal | law enforcement | open access | social sciences | society | sociology | statistical
- 12. National Guideline Clearinghouse
- Provider: Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality
- Contents: free , full text , links to full text , open access , practice guidelines , summaries
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: National Guideline Clearinghouseâ„¢ (NGC) is a comprehensive database of evidence-based clinical practice guidelines and related documents, updated weekly. Summaries with links to full text. User-friendly features of the site include: summaries available for download to hand-held devices; a guideline comparison utility for the end user; guideline syntheses prepared by NGC staff; an expert commentary feature from the editorial board; and an annotated bibliography of resources about guidelines- their development, methodology, structure, evaluation and implementation.
- Keywords: clinical evidence | clinical practice guidelines | evidence-based medicine | open access | PDA access
- 13. Nursing Reference Center
- Provider: EBSCO
- Contents: CME , e-books , full text , links to full text , news , patient education , reference
- Access Levels: Clinical Partner , Educational
- Descriptions: A comprehensive, point-of-care resource for nursing, Nursing Reference Center draws search results in part from Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses; AHFS Drug Information Essentials; Diseases and Disorders: A Nursing Therapeutics Manual; Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary; and Davis's Comprehensive Handbook of Laboratory & Diagnostic Tests with Nursing Implications. Nursing Reference Center includes: "quick lessons" on diseases and disorders; evidence-based care sheets; practice guidelines; patient education sheets, some available in Spanish; CE modules; news; research instruments; and information on legal cases. Nursing Reference Center provides direct access to full text articles found in CINAHL. First-time users are encouraged to "take the tour" on the database's home page (FlashPlayer required) to learn more.
- Keywords: clinical practice guidelines | drugs | evidence-based | journal | legal | monographs | nursing | point-of-care
- 14. PubChem
- Provider: National Library of Medicine and National Center for Biotechnology Information
- Contents: brief records , chemical compounds , chemical structure , cross reference , free , indexing , links , links to full text , research tools , summaries
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: PubChem provides information on the biological activities of small molecules and is a component of NIH's Molecular Libraries Roadmap Initiative; includes substance information, compound structures, and bioactivity data in three primary databases: PCSubstance, PCCompound and PCBioAssay. PCSubstance contains more than 12 million records; PCCompound contains more than 7 million unique structures; and PCBioAssay contains more than 200 bioassays, each containing a number of data points.
- Keywords: bioassay | chemicals | chemistry | inorganic chemistry | NLM | open access | organic chemistry | pharmacology | taxonomy | toxins
- 15. PubMed
- Provider: National Library of Medicine and National Center for Biotechnology Information
- Contents: abstracts , citations , free , indexing , links to full text , partial full text , reference
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: PubMed is a database of citations from the biomedical literature, including bibliographic information from MEDLINE, covering all aspects of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine and the preclinical sciences. MEDLINE contains bibliographic citations and author abstracts from more than 4,800 biomedical journals published in the United States and 70 other countries. The database contains over 14 million citations dating back to the mid-1960's. Articles in many languages are indexed, but all abstracts are in English. An excellent tutorial on using PubMed's many search refinements and features can be found by clicking here.
- Keywords: biomedical research | journal | life sciences | medicine | multidisciplinary | open access | research | scientist
- 16. Radiation Event Medical Management (REMM)
- Provider: National Library of Medicine/DHHS
- Contents: free , full text , links , links to full text , websites
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: REMM provides detailed information and government documents on the types of devices via which radiation might be deliberately inflicted, the isotopes that might be used and their properties, and on-site initial response guidelines. Graphically-presented management algorithms and subsequent treatment guidelines for health care providers are included, with links to the full text of referenced articles and documents.
- Keywords: disaster | emergency medicine | open access | public health | radiation | toxicology | toxins
- 17. Scopus
- Provider: Elsevier
- Contents: abstracts , charts and graphs , citations , full text , government documents , indexing , links to full text , proceedings , research tools , websites
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: SCOPUS contains millions of records from 15,000 publications in the health sciences (including 100% of the journals contained in Medline and EmBase), as well as chemistry, physics, mathematics, engineering, biology, agriculture, environmental sciences and the humanities. Link to full text articles from journals in the HAM-TMC Library's collection by clicking the HAM-TMC Library Find It! button. SCOPUS covers the proceedings of 750 conferences, and retrieves a separate set of relevant Web resources with every literature search. Another tab separates a set of patent results from U.S., U.K. and worldwide patent offices. SCOPUS includes a Journal Analyzer tool that graphs journals, singly or for comparison, from 1996 to present, showing total citations, number of articles published, total citations divided by number of articles, and the percentage of uncited articles. A search by affiliation is provided. Free login for authorized users provides additional advantages: a personal profile, with space to save lists of citations and track authors; a publication alerts service; and direct export to RefWorks, each with the user's own settings. For tutorials on searching and SCOPUS features, click here.
- Keywords: biology | biomedical research | chemistry | conference | internet | journal | life sciences | medicine | multidisciplinary | nursing | patents | pharmacology | science
- 18. Social Sciences Citation Index (Via Web of Science)
- Provider: Thomson
- Contents: abstracts , indexing , links to full text
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the social sciences; fully indexes more than 1,700 journals across 50 social sciences disciplines, and indexes individually selected, relevant items from over 3,300 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals. Disciplines covered include anthropology, linguistics, psychology, psychiatry, public health, social work, sociology, and substance abuse.
- Keywords: anthropology | criminal justice | journal | linguistics | multidisciplinary | psychiatry | psychology | public health | social sciences | social work | sociology
- 19. Social Services Abstracts
- Provider: ProQuest
- Contents: abstracts , dissertation , indexing , links to full text
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. Indexes 1,300+ serials publications; includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations, and includes citations of book reviews. Major areas of coverage include: community and mental health services, gerontology, social and health policy, and support groups/networks.
- Keywords: journal | mental health | periodicals | policy | social sciences | social work | women | workforce
- 20. Web of Science
- Provider: Thomson
- Contents: citations , impact factors , index , links to full text , research tools
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: This is the portal to two citation databases, Science Citation Index and Social Sciences Citation Index. (We no longer subscribe to Arts & Humanities Citation Index.) Journal Citation Reports also resides here in ISI Web of Knowledge. Some free resources for researchers are also included: ISI Highly Cited, a database identifying (via citation data) the top researchers currently publishing; ResearcherID, an index to author information; the RSS-capable, customizable Knowledge Link Newsletter; and more. To register free for a training session, click here.
- Keywords: biomedical research | life sciences | multidisciplinary | science | scientist




