A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z
HAM-TMC Library
Databases
Our databases contain a wide variety of medical information resources: journal articles, statistics, images, government information, and more. Browse the alphabetical list of database titles or search for terms that appear in the database descriptions.Search:
INDEX Databases
Currently, the Library has 15 databases for the content term: "index".
- 1. Approved Drug Products with Therapeutic Equivalence Evaluations (Orange Book)
- Provider: U.S. Food and Drug Administration
- Contents: cross reference , free , full text , government documents , index , open access , quick reference , reference
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: The Orange Book provides updated information on prescription, over-the-counter and discontinued FDA-approved drug products. It can be searched and consulted online, or the annual edition and monthly cumulative supplements can be downloaded in .pdf format. The Electronic Orange Book provides daily updates of new generic drug approvals. Search by active ingredient, proprietary name, patent, application number or application holder. If a newly-approved drug product is not turned up in the search, use the search box at top right of the page to find results from the Orange Book's monthly supplements and other FDA sources.
- Keywords: drugs | federal agencies | open access | patents | pharmaceutical | products | public health | U.S. Government
- 2. EBSCOHost Espanol (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: abstracts , index , links , partial full text , research tools , Spanish language interface
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Spanish language version of the interface to multiple databases provided by EBSCO.
- Keywords: database | gateway | homework | multidisciplinary | periodicals | portal | Spanish
- 3. European Patent Office (esp@cenet)
- Provider: European Patent Office
- Contents: bibliographic records , free , government documents , illustrations , index , links , links to full text , open access
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: The European Patent Office (EPO) database actually includes records of patents worldwide, drawing its information also from WIPO (the World Intellectual Property Organization.) Unlike most patent databases, this one is very user-friendly, offering searches without the use of field tags. Search by keyword, author or organization; publication, application, priority or reference number; or search by EPO classification, which is based on the International Patent Classification system. The advanced search offers inclusive searching or limit to WIPO or EPO databases, and entry of up to ten specifics, including keyword. Relevant help information is offered in each screen. The Patent Information Tour (last link on the esp@cenet home page) offers several short video tutorials.
- Keywords: biomedical research | biotechnology | industry | medical devices | multidisciplinary | open access | patents | science | scientist
- 4. Index to Chiropractic Literature
- Provider: International Chiropractors' Association
- Contents: abstracts , free , index , practice guidelines , reference
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: Produced by members of the Chiropractic Library Consortium (CLIBCON) the Index to Chiropractic Literature provides cover-to-cover indexing of peer-reviewed literature from chiropractic publishers (see Journals Indexed.) A small number of non-peer-reviewed chiropractic publications are also selectively indexed. The ICL website also includes links to other chiropractic resources- American and international organizations, libraries, colleges, chiropractic clinical practice guidelines, and the Chiropractic Subject Headings.
- Keywords: alternative medicine | chiropractic | healthcare | libraries | open access | peer review | subject headings
- 5. Medical Subject Headings (MeSH)
- Provider: National Library of Medicine
- Contents: cross reference , free , index , thesaurus
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: MeSH is the National Library of Medicine's controlled vocabulary thesaurus, consisting of sets of descriptors in a hierarchical structure to permit searching with increasing levels of specificity. This thesaurus is used by NLM for indexing articles from more than 4,800 of the world's leading biomedical journals for the MEDLINE/PubMed® database. It is also used for LocatorPlus, the NLM-produced catalog of books, documents, and audiovisuals acquired by the National Library of Medicine. Each bibliographic record is associated with a set of MeSH terms describing the item's content. MeSH vocabulary can be used in search queries to find items on a desired topic in any NLM database.
- Keywords: life sciences | MeSH | NLM | open access | subject headings | taxonomy
- 6. Medline (CSA)
- Provider: ProQuest
- Contents: abstracts , citations , index , indexing , links to full text , research tools
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE contains all records published in Index Medicus and since 2002, most citations previously included in separate NLM specialty databases such as SPACELINE and HISTLINE
- Keywords: allied health | dentistry | health sciences | journal | life sciences | medicine | pharmacology | physicians | science | scientist | veterinary medicine
- 7. Medline (EBSCO)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: abstracts , citations , index , indexing , links to full text , research tools
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: This bibliographic database provides information from the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, allied health, and the pre-clinical sciences. It is the electronic counterpart of Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and the International Nursing Index.
- Keywords: allied health | dentistry | health sciences | life sciences | medicine | pharmacology | physicians | science | scientist | veterinary medicine
- 8. Medline (OVID)
- Provider: OVID
- Contents: abstracts , citations , index , indexing , research tools
- Access Levels: Clinical Partner , Educational
- Descriptions: Bibliographic database providing information from the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, allied health, and the pre-clinical sciences; the electronic counterpart of Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and the International Nursing Index.
- Keywords: allied health | dentistry | health sciences | life sciences | nursing | pharmacology | physicians | science | scientist | veterinary medicine
- 9. Medline (PubMed)
- Provider: National Library of Medicine
- Contents: abstracts , free , index , indexing , links to full text , research tools
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: Bibliographic database providing information from the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, allied health, and the pre-clinical sciences; the electronic counterpart of Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and the International Nursing Index. PubMed is a service of the US National Library of Medicine that includes over 16 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. PubMed includes links to full text articles and other related resources.
- Keywords: allied health | dentistry | journal | life sciences | medicine | nursing | open access | pharmacology | physicians | science | scientist | veterinary medicine
- 10. RePORTER (Report Expenditures and Results)
- Provider: National Institutes of Health
- Contents: abstracts , free , index
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: RePORTER is a module within NIH's Research Portfolio Online Reporting Tool, which provides access to reports, data, and analyses of NIH-funded research activities, including information on NIH expenditures and the results of NIH-supported research. RePORTER replaces the CRISP database, withdrawn in October 2009.
- Keywords: biomedical | biotechnology | federal agencies | grants | medicine | open access | research | scientist | U.S. Government
- 11. Tests in Print
- Provider: EBSCO
- Contents: brief records , index , indexing , research tools , test questions
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Produced by the Buros Institute of Mental Measurements at the University of Nebraska, Tests in Print (TIP) serves as a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language. TIP provides vital information to users including test purpose, test publisher, in-print status, price, test acronym, intended test population, administration times, publication date(s), and test author(s).
- Keywords: mental health | psychology | reviews | sociology | tests
- 12. UniProt
- Provider: UniProt Consortium
- Contents: citations , cross reference , free , glossary of terms , index , open access , research tools , sequencing data
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: "The mission of UniProt is to provide the scientific community with a comprehensive, high-quality and freely accessible resource of protein sequence and functional information." Available material consists of: UniProtKB, a two-section protein knowledge base consisting of SwissProt (reviewed and annotated manually) and TrEMBL (not reviewed, annotated automatically;) UniRef (sequence clusters;) UniParc (a sequence archive for tracking sequences and identifiers;) and the supporting data (literature citations, taxonomy, keywords, nomenclature, guidelines and indexes.) A user manual and primer on annotation are provided as well. UniProt is distributed free under a Creative Commons attribution license. Updates happen frequently and it appears the updates must be retrieved from the website.
- Keywords: biomedical research | genetics | ontology | open access | proteins | scientist | sequencing | taxonomy
- 13. Web of Science
- Provider: Thomson
- Contents: citations , impact factors , index , links to full text , research tools
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: This is the portal to two citation databases, Science Citation Index and Social Sciences Citation Index. (We no longer subscribe to Arts & Humanities Citation Index.) Journal Citation Reports also resides here in ISI Web of Knowledge. Some free resources for researchers are also included: ISI Highly Cited, a database identifying (via citation data) the top researchers currently publishing; ResearcherID, an index to author information; the RSS-capable, customizable Knowledge Link Newsletter; and more. To register free for a training session, click here.
- Keywords: biomedical research | life sciences | multidisciplinary | science | scientist
- 14. WISER: Wireless Information System for Emergency Responders
- Provider: National Library of Medicine
- Contents: chemical compounds , free , index , reference
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: This database is focused on hazardous chemicals, and helps the user to identify unknown chemicals. "WISER is a system designed to assist first responders in hazardous material incidents. WISER provides a wide range of information on hazardous substances, including substance identification support, physical characteristics, human health information, and containment and suppression advice... WISER is also available as a standalone application for PCs and PDAs." The Web version can also be used on PDAs, including BlackBerry and iPhone.
- Keywords: chemicals | emergency medicine | NLM | open access | toxins
- 15. WorldCat (TexShare)
- Provider: OCLC -- TexShare
- Contents: bibliographic records , index
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Catalog of books, journals, audiovisual materials, websites, internet resources, newspapers and maps held by libraries worldwide, including records for items held by HAM-TMC Library.
- Keywords: books | journal | open access | video




