A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z
HAM-TMC Library
Databases
Our databases contain a wide variety of medical information resources: journal articles, statistics, images, government information, and more. Browse the alphabetical list of database titles or search for terms that appear in the database descriptions.Search:
WEBSITES Databases
Currently, the Library has 19 databases for the content term: "websites".
- 1. ACP's PIER--Physician's Information and Education Resource (STAT!Ref -- TexShare)
- Provider: Teton Data Systems
- Contents: e-books , full text , handbook , patient education , websites
- Access Levels: Clinical Partners via their portal page , Educational
- Descriptions: Web-based, evidence-based guidance tool to improve clinical care. Disease topics are selected by the American College of Physicians (ACP), based on prevalence in clinical settings. Evidence for all diseases is evaluated; credibility of the evidence is displayed with a rating. Subcategories for each disease are: Prevention, Non-drug Therapy, Screening, Drug Therapy, Diagnosis, Patient Education, Consultation for Diagnosis, Consultation for Management, Hospitalization, Follow-up. PIER includes AHFS DI® Essentials, with drug information monographs drawn from evidence-based guidelines in the full AHFS DI® database; distills information on prescription and key over-the-counter (OTC) drugs in a structured outline format.
- Keywords: clinical evidence | drugs | evidence-based medicine | internal medicine | physicians | point-of-care
- 2. BioethicsWeb
- Provider: Wellcome Library, Joint Information Systems Committee, University of Nottingham
- Contents: free , links , links to full text , open access , websites
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: Gateway to evaluated, quality Internet resources relating to biomedical ethics, including ethical, social, legal and public policy questions arising from advances in medicine and biology, issues relating to the conduct of biomedical research, and approaches to bioethics. BioethicsWeb is part of Intute, "...a free online service providing access to Web resources for education and research. The service is created by a network of UK universities and partners. Subject specialists select and evaluate the websites in our database and write high quality descriptions of the resources." BioethicsWeb is also affiliated with the BIOME life sciences hub and the Resource Discovery Network (RDN). It is developed and managed by the Wellcome Library for the History and Understanding of Medicine at the Wellcome Trust.
- Keywords: animal | bioethics | biomedical ethics | open access
- 3. BioMed Central
- Provider: BioMed Central
- Contents: abstracts , free , interactive , news , partial open access , research tools , videos , websites
- Access Levels: Clinical Partner , Educational , Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: All the research articles published in BioMed Central's more than 160 journals are open access, but other articles in a minority of BMC's journals are available only by subscription. BioMed Central also provides various additional products and services for subscribers only. Because BioMed Central views open access to research as essential to ensure the rapid and efficient communication of research findings, original research articles are made freely and permanently accessible online immediately upon publication.
- Keywords: biomedical research | journal | medicine | open access | research | science
- 4. ChemSpider: Building Community for Chemists
- Provider: Royal Society of Chemistry
- Contents: abstracts , charts and graphs , chemical compounds , chemical structure , citations , free , images , open access , research tools , search engine , videos , websites
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: "ChemSpider is a free access service providing a structure-centric community for chemists. Providing access to millions of chemical structures and integration to a multitude of other online services, ChemSpider is the richest single source of structure-based chemistry information." A list of the databases drawn upon is provided. In addition to the integration of these sources, qualified users (after a free registration) can also further enrich this database by contributing their own data. Numerous features and applications are to be found here in addition to the main database. Tutorials are provided (also available via YouTube) and a blog helps keep the user up to date on new developments at this site.
- Keywords: chemicals | chemistry | collaborative | data | open access | research | scientist | search | tutorial
- 5. Disaster Information Management Research Center
- Provider: National Library of Medicine
- Contents: free , full text , links , websites
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: "DIMRC is tasked with the effective collection, organization, and dissemination of health information for natural, accidental, or deliberate disasters."
- Keywords: disaster | open access | public administration | public health | society
- 6. eLibrary Curriculum Edition (TexShare)
- Provider: ProQuest -- TexShare
- Contents: full text , illustrations , newspapers , websites
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Large collection of periodical and digital media content designed specifically for K-12 students. Powered by the MediaSeek® knowledge base of educational standards to supplement instruction and research. Contains more than 2,000 full-text magazines, newspapers, reference books, and transcripts-plus pictures, maps, educator-approved websites from Homework Central®, and audio/video content
- Keywords: general reference | homework | K-12 | kids | magazines | multidisciplinary
- 7. Go Local Texas Gulf Coast
- Provider: HAM-TMC Library, UTMB-Galveston Moody Medical Library, and National Library of Medicine
- Contents: brief records , free , websites
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: A joint consumer health website project between the Jesse H Jones Community Health Information Service of the Houston Academy of Medicine-Texas Medical Center Library and the University of Texas Medical Branch, Galveston, Moody Medical Library in partnership with the National Libary of Medicine, this resource provides up-to-date information about local health resources for 38 counties in the Texas Gulf Coast region, and, by linking to MedlinePlus, makes available reliable health information about a number of diseases and conditions.
- Keywords: consumer health | healthcare | open access | Texas
- 8. Health & Wellness Resource Center (TexShare)
- Provider: Gale
- Contents: citations , encyclopedia , full text , indexing , links , reference , websites
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Provides integrated access to medical, statistical, health and wellness information for consumers, students, and professionals; provides the Alternative Health Module. Includes the Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine. Delivers reference material as well as full-text magazines, journals, and pamphlets from a wide variety of medical sources. Also includes descriptions and links for some useful and appropriate Websites.
- Keywords: alternative medicine | consumer health | journal | medicine
- 9. National Cancer Institute Website
- Provider: National Cancer Institute
- Contents: free , full text , patient education , websites
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: A comprehensive layman's website. Cancer Topics searches link the user to PubMed with pre-set search limits and retrieve literature citations on more than 100 major cancer topics; search results can be further refined using PubMed's search options and limits. Tabbed categories lead the user to other resources, including information on statistics, clinical trials, research and recent news releases, and dictionaries of oncology terms and drug information.
- Keywords: cancer | clinical trials | consumer health | open access | statistical | U.S. Government
- 10. National Reference Center for Bioethics Literature
- Provider: Kennedy Institute of Ethics
- Contents: abstracts , bibliographies , free , indexing , links , websites
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: Provides a single service point to: search for books and articles; request a custom bibliography; retrieve a bibliography on a bioethics topic; and find publications, organizations, and links.
- Keywords: bioethics | biomedical ethics | open access
- 11. NLM Drug Information Portal
- Provider: National Library of Medicine
- Contents: federated search , free , government documents , links , news , open access , reference , websites
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: This resource provides the public, healthcare professionals and researchers with a gateway to current and accurate drug information from the National Library of Medicine, as well as links to drug information from other key government agencies, PubMed and MedlinePlus.
- Keywords: consumer health | drugs | gateway | government | journal | open access | portal | toxicology
- 12. PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) International
- Provider: ProQuest
- Contents: abstracts , bibliographies , full text , indexing , links , proceedings , websites
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Contains references to journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more. PAIS International includes publications from over 120 countries throughout the world. In addition to English, some of the indexed materials are published in French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish. Includes access to the PAIS Archive.
- Keywords: foreign policy | internet | journal | multicultural | multidisciplinary | peer review | policy | politics | public affairs | social sciences
- 13. PDQ (Physician Data Query) Cancer Database
- Provider: National Cancer Institute
- Contents: dictionary , free , full text , links , open access , patient education , reference , statistics , websites
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: PDQ contains peer-reviewed summaries on cancer treatment, screening, prevention, genetics, supportive care, and complementary and alternative medicine; a registry of more than 4,000 open and 15,000 closed cancer clinical trials from around the world; and directories of physicians, genetic counseling professionals, and organizations that provide cancer care. Also included: a dictionary of cancer terms and a drug dictionary.
- Keywords: alternative medicine | cancer | clinical trials | open access | physicians | reviews
- 14. PEDro Physiotherapy Evidence Database
- Provider: Centre of Evidence-Based Physiotherapy, School of Physiotherapy, University of Sydney
- Contents: abstracts , free , indexing , links , practice guidelines , summaries , websites
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: PEDro provides access to bibliographic details and abstracts of randomized controlled trials, systematic reviews and evidence-based clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy. Most trials covered in PEDro have been rated for quality.
- Keywords: evidence-based | open access | sports medicine
- 15. Radiation Event Medical Management (REMM)
- Provider: National Library of Medicine/DHHS
- Contents: free , full text , links , links to full text , websites
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: REMM provides detailed information and government documents on the types of devices via which radiation might be deliberately inflicted, the isotopes that might be used and their properties, and on-site initial response guidelines. Graphically-presented management algorithms and subsequent treatment guidelines for health care providers are included, with links to the full text of referenced articles and documents.
- Keywords: disaster | emergency medicine | open access | public health | radiation | toxicology | toxins
- 16. Scopus
- Provider: Elsevier
- Contents: abstracts , charts and graphs , citations , full text , government documents , indexing , links to full text , proceedings , research tools , websites
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: SCOPUS contains millions of records from 15,000 publications in the health sciences (including 100% of the journals contained in Medline and EmBase), as well as chemistry, physics, mathematics, engineering, biology, agriculture, environmental sciences and the humanities. Link to full text articles from journals in the HAM-TMC Library's collection by clicking the HAM-TMC Library Find It! button. SCOPUS covers the proceedings of 750 conferences, and retrieves a separate set of relevant Web resources with every literature search. Another tab separates a set of patent results from U.S., U.K. and worldwide patent offices. SCOPUS includes a Journal Analyzer tool that graphs journals, singly or for comparison, from 1996 to present, showing total citations, number of articles published, total citations divided by number of articles, and the percentage of uncited articles. A search by affiliation is provided. Free login for authorized users provides additional advantages: a personal profile, with space to save lists of citations and track authors; a publication alerts service; and direct export to RefWorks, each with the user's own settings. For tutorials on searching and SCOPUS features, click here.
- Keywords: biology | biomedical research | chemistry | conference | internet | journal | life sciences | medicine | multidisciplinary | nursing | patents | pharmacology | science
- 17. Statistical Abstract of the United States
- Provider: U. S. Census Bureau
- Contents: free , reference , statistics , websites
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: Data presented here ranges from the most recent edition (2006) to the historical abstracts compiled throughout the decades (1878-1900). Some of the data has been scanned in an effort to make historical abstract information available to the public. Updated data will continue to be added as more historical records become available.
- Keywords: federal agencies | general reference | history | multidisciplinary | social sciences | statistical | U.S. Government
- 18. Tox Town
- Provider: National Library of Medicine
- Contents: free , full text , government documents , images , indexing , links , videos , websites
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: Provides information on everyday locations where you might find toxic chemicals; non-technical descriptions of chemicals; links to selected, authoritative chemical information on the Internet; how the environment can impact human health; and Internet resources on environmental health topics. Tox Town uses color, graphics, sounds and animation to add interest to learning about connections between chemicals, the environment, and the public's health. A Spanish language version is available. FlashPlayer is required to view videos.
- Keywords: biohazard | chemicals | consumer health | disaster | environmental | NLM | open access | public health | radiation | toxins
- 19. TRIP Database: the search engine for Evidence-Based Medicine
- Provider: TRIP Knowledge Services
- Contents: e-books , free , full text , images , patient education , websites
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: Openly accessible database that simultaneously searches evidence-based resources: systematic reviews, Medline's Clinical Queries, practice guidelines, e-books, images, and patient information handouts. From the website: "The aims of the TRIP Database have remained the same since 1997 - allow health professionals to easily find the highest-quality material available on the web - to help support evidence based practice... The evolution of the TRIP Database has been guided by the desire to answer real clinical questions using the principles of evidence-based medicine."
- Keywords: evidence-based medicine | medicine | open access | systematic reviews





