A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z
HAM-TMC Library
Databases
Our databases contain a wide variety of medical information resources: journal articles, statistics, images, government information, and more. Browse the alphabetical list of database titles or search for terms that appear in the database descriptions.Search:
ABSTRACTS Databases
Currently, the Library has 76 databases for the content term: "abstracts".
- 1. Academic Search Complete (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: abstracts , citations , full text
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Contains full text for nearly 4,650 serials and offers indexing and abstracts for more than 8,200 journals; this scholarly collection offers information in: computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
- Keywords: multidisciplinary | periodicals
- 2. AgeLine
- Provider: AARP
- Contents: abstracts , free , indexing
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: Provides abstracts of the literature of social gerontology, as well as aging-related research from psychology, sociology, social work, economics, public policy, and the health sciences. It covers aging-related issues for professionals in aging services, health, business, law, and mental health. Also includes selected consumer content. Summarizes journal articles, books and chapters, research reports, dissertations, gray literature, and educational videos from many publishers and organizations, including AARP.
- Keywords: aging | geriatrics | open access
- 3. Agricola (EBSCO -- TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: abstracts , indexing
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Compiled by the US National Agricultural Library, this bibliographic information resource consists of over 2 million citations to journal articles, monographs, theses, patents, software, audio-visual materials, and technical reports. The records describe publications and resources encompassing all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including: plant and animal sciences; forestry; entomology; soil and water resources; agricultural economics; agricultural engineering; agricultural products; alternative farming practices; and food and nutrition.
- Keywords: agriculture | animal | nutrition
- 4. America: History and Life and Historical Abstracts
- Provider: EBSCO
- Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: America: History and Life (AHL) is a complete bibliographic reference to the history of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Published since 1964, the database comprises over 530,000 bibliographic entries for periodicals dating back to 1954. Additional bibliographical entries are constantly added to the databases from editorial projects such as retrospective coverage of journals issues published prior to 1954. This extensive database covers over 1,700 journals published worldwide. In addition to covering all key English-language historical journals, America: History and Life coverage includes selected historical journals from major countries, state and local history journals, and a targeted selection of hundreds of journals in the social sciences and humanities. Over 90% of the articles included are published in English-language journals.
- Keywords: history | humanities | social sciences
- 5. Bibliography of Native North Americans (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: abstracts , citations , partial full text
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Covers all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life; also provides information on a wide range of topics including archaeology, multicultural relations, gaming, governance, legend, and literacy. BNNA contains more than 100,000 citations for books, essays, journal articles, and government documents of the United States and Canada. Dates of coverage for included content range from the sixteenth century to the present.
- Keywords: American history | homework | Native American | sociology
- 6. BioMed Central
- Provider: BioMed Central
- Contents: abstracts , free , interactive , news , partial open access , research tools , videos , websites
- Access Levels: Clinical Partner , Educational , Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: All the research articles published in BioMed Central's more than 160 journals are open access, but other articles in a minority of BMC's journals are available only by subscription. BioMed Central also provides various additional products and services for subscribers only. Because BioMed Central views open access to research as essential to ensure the rapid and efficient communication of research findings, original research articles are made freely and permanently accessible online immediately upon publication.
- Keywords: biomedical research | journal | medicine | open access | research | science
- 7. BIOSIS - Biological Abstracts, 1980 - 2003
- Provider: OVID
- Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: BIOSIS encompasses the breadth of life sciences and provides coverage of published biological and biomedical research; includes traditional areas of biology, such as botany, zoology and microbiology, as well as experimental, clinical and veterinary medicine, biotechnology, environmental studies, and agriculture. Interdisciplinary fields like biochemistry, biophysics and bioengineering are also included. The Library's coverage ends with 2003. For a brief guide to searching any Ovid database, access the full list of available databases by clicking "Change Databases," and click the "i" (information) logo next to its title.
- Keywords: biology | biomedical | life sciences | microbiology | veterinary medicine | zoology
- 8. ChemSpider: Building Community for Chemists
- Provider: Royal Society of Chemistry
- Contents: abstracts , charts and graphs , chemical compounds , chemical structure , citations , free , images , open access , research tools , search engine , videos , websites
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: "ChemSpider is a free access service providing a structure-centric community for chemists. Providing access to millions of chemical structures and integration to a multitude of other online services, ChemSpider is the richest single source of structure-based chemistry information." A list of the databases drawn upon is provided. In addition to the integration of these sources, qualified users (after a free registration) can also further enrich this database by contributing their own data. Numerous features and applications are to be found here in addition to the main database. Tutorials are provided (also available via YouTube) and a blog helps keep the user up to date on new developments at this site.
- Keywords: chemicals | chemistry | collaborative | data | open access | research | scientist | search | tutorial
- 9. CINAHL Plus with Full Text
- Provider: EBSCO
- Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing
- Access Levels: Clinical Partners via their portal page , Educational
- Descriptions: CINAHL Plus with Full Text is the comprehensive index to nursing and allied health articles, and contains cover-to-cover, current full text for more than 400 of the top journals indexed. Also provides more than 600,000 historical full-text articles dating back to 1937. A tutorial for the CINAHL interface is available here.
- Keywords: allied health | nursing
- 10. Clinical Queries (PubMed)
- Provider: National Institutes of Health/National Library of Medicine
- Contents: abstracts , citations , free , indexing , links to full text
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: A specialized PubMed search interface that affords an easier, more focused access to clinical studies, systematic reviews and medical genetics information.
- Keywords: clinical evidence | clinical studies | clinical trials | decision support | evidence-based medicine | genetics | open access | point-of-care | systematic reviews
- 11. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews - EBM Reviews
- Provider: OVID
- Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing
- Access Levels: Clinical Partner , Educational
- Descriptions: Includes the full text of the regularly updated systematic reviews of the effects of healthcare prepared by The Cochrane Collaboration. Reviews are presented in two types: complete reviews- regularly updated Cochrane Reviews, prepared and maintained by Collaborative Review Groups; and protocols- the background, objectives and methods of reviews in preparation. This database is updated and amended regularly, as new evidence becomes available and errors are identified. For a brief guide to searching any Ovid database, access the full list of available databases by clicking "Change Databases," and click the "i" (information) logo next to its title.
- Keywords: clinical evidence | clinical studies | clinical trials | evidence-based medicine | point-of-care | systematic reviews
- 12. Consumer Health Complete (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: abstracts , encyclopedia , full text , indexing , monographs , reference
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Provides encyclopedias and reference books, health reports and pamphlets, health news, drug and herb information, alternative health sources, and medical images and diagrams. Includes full-text articles from a variety of journals. A Spanish language version (Salud en Espanol) is available.
- Keywords: consumer health
- 13. Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE) (EBM Reviews)
- Provider: OVID
- Contents: abstracts , indexing , links
- Access Levels: Clinical Partner , Educational
- Descriptions: Provides critical assessments of systematic reviews from a variety of medical journals. DARE is produced by reviewers and information staff of the National Health Service's Centre for Reviews and Dissemination (NHS CRD) at the University of York, England, and consists of structured abstracts of systematic reviews from all over the world. DARE records cover topics such as diagnosis, prevention, rehabilitation, screening, and treatment.
- Keywords: diagnosis | reviews | Spanish | systematic reviews
- 14. Digital National Security Archive
- Provider: ProQuest and the National Security Archive
- Contents: abstracts , free , full text
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: Comprehensive collection of primary documents, including more than 60,000 declassified documents regarding US policy decisions; there are 27 complete collections, each offering specialized insights, with new collections added regularly.
- Keywords: American history | open access | policy | U.S. Government
- 15. EBSCOHost Espanol (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: abstracts , index , links , partial full text , research tools , Spanish language interface
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Spanish language version of the interface to multiple databases provided by EBSCO.
- Keywords: database | gateway | homework | multidisciplinary | periodicals | portal | Spanish
- 16. Enhanced Business Search Interface (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: The Business Searching Interface (BSI) provides an easy way to both browse and search for country economic data, company profiles, industry information and market research, and then use the results as limiters in a keyword search, if desired.
- Keywords: business | company profiles | economics | industry | marketing
- 17. Entrez Cross-Database Search
- Provider: National Center for Biotechnology Information
- Contents: abstracts , free , full text , indexing , sequencing data
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: Integrated, text-based search and retrieval system used at the National Center for Biotechnology Information for its major databases: PubMed, Nucleotide and Protein Sequences, Protein Structures, Complete Genomes, Taxonomy, and others. Entrez integrates the scientific literature, DNA and protein sequence databases, 3D protein structure and protein domain data, population study datasets, expression data, assemblies of complete genomes, and taxonomic information into a tightly interlinked system.
- Keywords: genome | journal | life sciences | NLM | open access | proteins | taxonomy
- 18. ERIC (EBSCO -- TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: abstracts , bibliographies , directory , dissertation , government documents , indexing , monographs , proceedings , thesis
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) database is sponsored by the US Department of Education to provide access to educational-related literature; provides coverage of conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs. Dates of coverage: 1966 - current. Subject coverage includes counseling and personnel services, education management, information resources, languages and linguistics, science, mathematics, and environmental education, teacher education, and tests, measurement, and evaluation.
- Keywords: education | science | tests | workforce
- 19. Faculty of 1000 Medicine
- Provider: BioMed Central
- Contents: abstracts , citations , summaries
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Aimed at clinicians (highlighting evidence that questions current clinical practice) and researchers (highlighting important areas of research and drawing attention to new developments); provides a rapidly updated consensus map of the important papers and trends across medicine, including anesthesiology, cardiovascular disorders, diabetes and endocrinology, and evidence-based health care.
- Keywords: citation analysis | medicine | MedLine | periodicals | reviews
- 20. Fuente Academica (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: abstracts , citations , full text , Spanish language interface
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Collection of scholarly journals from Latin American and Spanish publishers, with full text content from the fields of business and economics, medical sciences, political science, law, computer science, library and information sciences, literature, linguistics, history, philosophy and theology. Database provides full text (including PDF) for about 260 scholarly Spanish language journals.
- Keywords: homework | Latin America | multicultural | multidisciplinary | periodicals | Spanish
- 21. GreenFile (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: abstracts , full text , images , indexing
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: GreenFILE covers human impact on the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green buildings, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling and more. Indexing and abstracts of more than 384,000 records, and full text of approximately 4,700 open access records.
- Keywords: biology | current events | environmental | general health | government | life sciences | multidisciplinary | policy | public health | society | student | toxins
- 22. Health Source: Consumer Edition (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: abstracts , e-books , full text , indexing
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Provides information on many health topics: medical sciences, food science and nutrition, child care, sports medicine and general health. Features searchable full text for nearly 190 journals, as well as abstracts and indexing for over 200 general health, nutrition and professional health care publications. Also included are USP Pharmacopoeia DI: Volume II Advice for the Lay Patient and 20 health research books, including books published by the People's Medical Society.
- Keywords: consumer health | diet | drugs | general health | nutrition | sports medicine
- 23. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing , reference
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on various medical disciplines and features abstracts and indexing for 850 journals, with coverage of nursing and allied health being particularly strong, including full text from many nursing journals. In addition, this database includes Clinical Pharmacology, which provides access to up-to-date, concise and clinically relevant drug monographs for all U.S. prescription drugs, hard-to-find herbal and nutritional supplements, over-the-counter products and new drugs. Full text information in this database dates as far back as 1975.
- Keywords: allied health | drugs | medicine | nursing
- 24. HeritageQuest Online
- Provider: ProQuest
- Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Contains over 20,000 books currently available, the entire US Federal Census, PERSI, Freedman's Bank Records, Revolutionary War Pension Records, and other expanding collections.
- Keywords: American history | books | census | genealogy
- 25. Historical Abstracts and America: History and Life
- Provider: EBSCO
- Contents: abstracts , bibliographic records , citations , full text , indexing
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Combined with its sister database America: History and Life, Historical Abstracts contains over 1 million abstracts and citations of book and media reviews, books, and dissertations, many with links to the fulltext. Historical Abstracts provides a complete bibliographic reference to the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Together, America: History and Life and Historical Abstracts cover over 1,700 journals published throughout the world, in over forty languages. Each database deals with those articles that are pertinent to its period of coverage.
- Keywords: American history | books | dissertations | history | homework | multicultural | reviews | society
- 26. IEEE Xplore
- Provider: IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers)
- Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing , proceedings
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Provides full text access to technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics. IEEE Xplore contains full text documents from IEEE journals, transactions, magazines, letters, conference proceedings, standards, and IEE (Institution of Electrical Engineers) publications from 1988, with select content back to 1952.
- Keywords: computers | conference | electronics | engineering | information science | measurement | medical devices | portal | science | standards
- 27. Illustrata (CSA)
- Provider: ProQuest
- Contents: abstracts , charts and graphs , full text , illustrations , images , indexing , maps , research tools
- Access Levels: Clinical Partner , Educational
- Descriptions: Provides access to nearly one million illustrations, charts, graphs, maps, and other figures from more than 665 journals; using this resource, researchers can specifically search information presented in tables, figures, charts, and other illustrations within articles and then view the full object, including all caption and label text.
- Keywords: figures | science | search
- 28. Index to Chiropractic Literature
- Provider: International Chiropractors' Association
- Contents: abstracts , free , index , practice guidelines , reference
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: Produced by members of the Chiropractic Library Consortium (CLIBCON) the Index to Chiropractic Literature provides cover-to-cover indexing of peer-reviewed literature from chiropractic publishers (see Journals Indexed.) A small number of non-peer-reviewed chiropractic publications are also selectively indexed. The ICL website also includes links to other chiropractic resources- American and international organizations, libraries, colleges, chiropractic clinical practice guidelines, and the Chiropractic Subject Headings.
- Keywords: alternative medicine | chiropractic | healthcare | libraries | open access | peer review | subject headings
- 29. Information Science & Technology Abstracts (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing , monographs , proceedings
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Coverage includes classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management, search engines, printed and electronic information sources, the information industry, scholarly communication, electronic publishing, and more. ISTA indexes journal articles from more than 450 publications plus books, research reports, and conference proceedings and patents. Coverage extends back to the mid 1960s.
- Keywords: books | computers | e-publishing | industry | informatics | information science | libraries | patents
- 30. InfoTrac Newspapers (TexShare)
- Provider: Gale
- Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing , newspapers
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Collection of over 400 newspapers from the US and around the world, including several Texas newspapers and a 365-day rolling file of the New York Times. Dates of coverage vary.
- Keywords: general reference | Texas
- 31. International Pharmaceutical Abstracts
- Provider: OVID
- Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Provides international coverage of pharmaceutical science and health related literature from 1970 to the present, and is updated monthly. Comprehensive information is included for drug therapy, toxicity, and pharmacy practice as well as legislation, regulation, technology, utilization, biopharmaceutics, information processing, education, economics, and ethics as related to pharmaceutical science and practice.
- Keywords: drugs | ethics | law | office practice | pharmaceutical | pharmacy | toxicology
- 32. Internet and Personal Computing Abstracts (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Provides abstracts and indexing for literature related to personal computing products and developments in business, the Internet, the home, and all other applied areas. Coverage extends back to the 1980s. Over 400 trade publications, mainstream computer magazines and professional journals are covered, including those that focus on specific topics such as Macintosh and Windows platforms, programming and web development, with special emphasis on hardware and software reviews. Includes content from such titles as Byte.com, PC World, Macworld, and Linux Journal, as well as editor-selected articles from hundreds of popular magazine titles.
- Keywords: computers | industry | internet | journal | products | technology
- 33. Journal Citation Reports
- Provider: ISI Web of Knowledge
- Contents: abstracts , citations , impact factors , indexing , links to full text , statistics
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Provides statistical information to evaluate and compare journals using citation data drawn from over 7,500 scholarly and technical journals from more than 3,300 publishers. Provides information on: most frequently cited journals in a field; highest impact journals in a field; and largest journals in a field. Citation and article counts are indicators of how frequently current researchers are using individual journals.
- Keywords: citation analysis | humanities | informatics | science | social sciences
- 34. Journals@ OVID Full Text
- Provider: OVID
- Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing , links to full text , tables of contents
- Access Levels: Clinical Partner , Educational
- Descriptions: Collection of Ovid full text journals. Provides access to all tables of contents, bibliographic citations, abstracts and references; full text for journals subscribed to by the Library.
- Keywords: allied health | journal | nursing | portal | research
- 35. Legal Collection (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Collection of scholarly peer-reviewed publications including law journals, documents, and case studies, with information on current issues, studies, thoughts and trends of the legal world. Legal Collection offers full text for nearly 250 law journals and provides information centered on the discipline of law and legal topics such as criminal justice, international law, federal law, organized crime, medical, labor & human resource law, ethics, the environment and much more. Full text information in this database dates as far back as 1965.
- Keywords: criminal justice | law | legal | multidisciplinary | social sciences
- 36. Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: abstracts , indexing , proceedings
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Indexes more than 600 periodicals as well as books, research reports and proceedings. Coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Coverage extends back as far as the mid-1960s.
- Keywords: informatics | information science | libraries
- 37. MasterFILE Premier (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: abstracts , dictionary , e-books , indexing , maps , quick reference , reference , research tools
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Provides full text for more than 1,700 general periodicals covering a broad range of disciplines including general reference, business, education, health, general science, and multicultural issues. In addition to the full text, this database provides indexing and abstracts for nearly 2,400 titles. This database includes full text Magill Book Reviews, full text reference books including the World Almanac & Book of Facts; full text from biographies, full text primary source documents, American Heritage Dictionary, 4th Edition and an image collection of photos, maps and flags. Includes PDF backfiles as far back as 1975 for key publications.
- Keywords: general reference | multicultural | multidisciplinary | reviews | student
- 38. MD Consult
- Provider: Elsevier
- Contents: abstracts , CME , e-books , full text , indexing , patient education , practice guidelines , reference , textbooks
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: MD Consult is a database of clinical point-of-care resources. This subscription includes full-text access to over 50 medical reference books covering a wealth of specialties; browsable access to a large journal collection and to 35 Clinics of North America titles; drug information from Gold Standard; more than 1,000 practice guidelines; and thousands of customizable patient education handouts. It offers the option to create personal accounts and participate in CME activities, and includes a news section. Available to Educational level users.
- Keywords: drugs | medicine | pharmaceutical | point-of-care
- 39. MedicLatina (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing , Spanish language interface
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Spanish language collection of medical research and investigative medicine journals, providing full text in Spanish to peer-reviewed medical journals. A wide range of topics is covered, including neuroscience, cardiology, nephrology, biomedicine, clinical research, pediatrics, human reproduction, clinical pathology, cancer research, and hematology. Publications covered in this database include Revista Medica del IMSS, Revista Mexicana de Patologia Clinica, Boletin Medico del Hospital Infantil de Mexico, Archivos de Neurociencias, Revista Biomedica, Veterinaria Mexico, and Salud Publica de Mexico.
- Keywords: journal | Latin America | medicine | peer review | physicians | research | scientist | Spanish
- 40. Medline (CSA)
- Provider: ProQuest
- Contents: abstracts , citations , index , indexing , links to full text , research tools
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE contains all records published in Index Medicus and since 2002, most citations previously included in separate NLM specialty databases such as SPACELINE and HISTLINE
- Keywords: allied health | dentistry | health sciences | journal | life sciences | medicine | pharmacology | physicians | science | scientist | veterinary medicine
- 41. Medline (EBSCO)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: abstracts , citations , index , indexing , links to full text , research tools
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: This bibliographic database provides information from the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, allied health, and the pre-clinical sciences. It is the electronic counterpart of Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and the International Nursing Index.
- Keywords: allied health | dentistry | health sciences | life sciences | medicine | pharmacology | physicians | science | scientist | veterinary medicine
- 42. Medline (OVID)
- Provider: OVID
- Contents: abstracts , citations , index , indexing , research tools
- Access Levels: Clinical Partner , Educational
- Descriptions: Bibliographic database providing information from the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, allied health, and the pre-clinical sciences; the electronic counterpart of Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and the International Nursing Index.
- Keywords: allied health | dentistry | health sciences | life sciences | nursing | pharmacology | physicians | science | scientist | veterinary medicine
- 43. Medline (PubMed)
- Provider: National Library of Medicine
- Contents: abstracts , free , index , indexing , links to full text , research tools
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: Bibliographic database providing information from the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, allied health, and the pre-clinical sciences; the electronic counterpart of Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and the International Nursing Index. PubMed is a service of the US National Library of Medicine that includes over 16 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. PubMed includes links to full text articles and other related resources.
- Keywords: allied health | dentistry | journal | life sciences | medicine | nursing | open access | pharmacology | physicians | science | scientist | veterinary medicine
- 44. Middle Search Plus (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: abstracts , biographical , dictionary , encyclopedia , full text , images , indexing
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Contains full text for nearly 140 popular magazines. All full text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full text is also available for thousands of biographies, historical essays and student pamphlets. Also contains primary source documents (Essential Documents in American History), reference books (Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia and American Heritage Dictionary), the Encyclopedia of Animals, and an image collection of photos, maps and flags.
- Keywords: biography | general reference | homework | kids | magazines
- 45. Military & Government Collection (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing , monographs
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Offers current news pertaining to all branches of the military and includes cover-to-cover full text for nearly 300 academic journals and other periodicals. The database also includes full text for 245 pamphlets and offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 400 titles.
- Keywords: government | journal | medicine | military | technology | workforce
- 46. National Criminal Justice Reference Service
- Provider: U.S. Department of Justice
- Contents: abstracts , free , full text , government documents , indexing , links to full text , statistics , summaries , videos
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: Contains summaries of over 189,000 US and international publications, including federal, state, and local government reports, books, research reports, journal articles, audiovisual presentations, and unpublished research, while excluding most legal decisions, opinions, and statutes.
- Keywords: criminal justice | journal | law enforcement | open access | social sciences | society | sociology | statistical
- 47. National Reference Center for Bioethics Literature
- Provider: Kennedy Institute of Ethics
- Contents: abstracts , bibliographies , free , indexing , links , websites
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: Provides a single service point to: search for books and articles; request a custom bibliography; retrieve a bibliography on a bioethics topic; and find publications, organizations, and links.
- Keywords: bioethics | biomedical ethics | open access
- 48. Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database
- Provider: Therapeutic Research Faculty
- Contents: abstracts , CME , full text , indexing , patient education
- Access Levels: Clinical Partner , Educational
- Descriptions: Updated daily, Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database provides clinically relevant information in an easy-to-use format. Product search is available from any page; click a button to get a patient handout for any product, or click references to see abstracts of articles. Supports PDA access for Palm OS or Windows mobile PDA, except for Smartphones.
- Keywords: dietary supplements | evidence-based medicine | herbs | PDA access | pharmacology | products
- 49. Nursing & Allied Health Source (ProQuest)
- Provider: ProQuest
- Contents: abstracts , dissertation , full text , indexing
- Access Levels: Clinical Partner , Educational
- Descriptions: This mostly full text database provides scholarly articles, dissertations, reports and evidence-based resources (notably from the Joanna Briggs Institute) supporting the study of nursing and the allied health professions, including physical therapy, radiography, dietetics, dental hygiene and the clinical laboratory sciences. Features "Study Paths" (collections of resources particularly relevant for either RN or LPN students); evidence summaries; MMWR reports on public health issues; and practice guidelines.
- Keywords: allied health | care | diet | evidence-based | health insurance | journal | medical imaging | multidisciplinary | nursing | nutrition | systematic reviews
- 50. PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) International
- Provider: ProQuest
- Contents: abstracts , bibliographies , full text , indexing , links , proceedings , websites
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Contains references to journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more. PAIS International includes publications from over 120 countries throughout the world. In addition to English, some of the indexed materials are published in French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish. Includes access to the PAIS Archive.
- Keywords: foreign policy | internet | journal | multicultural | multidisciplinary | peer review | policy | politics | public affairs | social sciences
- 51. PEDro Physiotherapy Evidence Database
- Provider: Centre of Evidence-Based Physiotherapy, School of Physiotherapy, University of Sydney
- Contents: abstracts , free , indexing , links , practice guidelines , summaries , websites
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: PEDro provides access to bibliographic details and abstracts of randomized controlled trials, systematic reviews and evidence-based clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy. Most trials covered in PEDro have been rated for quality.
- Keywords: evidence-based | open access | sports medicine
- 52. Periodicals Archive Online
- Provider: ProQuest
- Contents: abstracts , archive , full text , indexing
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Contains full text of more than 500 journals, providing access to nearly 2 million articles and affording the user historical access to some of the most respected journals published in the humanities and social sciences.
- Keywords: culture | history | homework | humanities | journal | literature | multidisciplinary | reviews | social sciences
- 53. PLOS Hub for Clinical Trials
- Provider: Public Library of Science
- Contents: abstracts , free , full text , indexing , interactive , open access
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: The PLoS Hub for Clinical Trials collects PLoS journal articles that relate to clinical trials. The Hub is a site for researchers to share their views, comment on and rate the research articles posted there, and build a dynamic, interactive community.
- Keywords: clinical evidence | clinical studies | clinical trials | e-publishing | open access
- 54. Professional Development Collection (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: abstracts , career and jobs , full text , indexing
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Designed for professional educators, this database provides a specialized collection of nearly 550 education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports. In addition to full text, indexing and abstracts are provided for more than 700 journals. Titles offered include: Booklist, Curriculum Administrator, Education, Education Digest, Educational Leadership, Journal of Education, Journal of Educational Research, Journal of Learning Disabilities, and School Library Journal.
- Keywords: education
- 55. PsycARTICLES (EbscoHost)
- Provider: EBSCO
- Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Provides full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA’s Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber, including all the material (with the exception of ads and editorial board lists) from 55 top psychology publications. Covers a range of subjects such as general psychology and specialized basic, applied, clinical, and theoretical research areas within psychology. Titles include: Behavioral Neuroscience, Journal of Abnormal Psychology, Psychology of Addictive Behaviors, Psychological Bulletin, and Journal of Personality & Social Psychology.
- Keywords: journal | neurology | psychology
- 56. Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Provides full text, abstracts and indexing to approximately 575 publications, about 550 of which are peer-reviewed journals. Topics covered: emotional and behavioral characteristics; psychiatry & psychology; mental processes; anthropology; and observational and experimental methods.
- Keywords: anthropology | behavioral sciences | neurology | psychiatry | psychology
- 57. PsycINFO (OVID)
- Provider: OVID
- Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing
- Access Levels: Clinical Partner , Educational
- Descriptions: Provides citations with abstracts to the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences, covering material of relevance to psychologists, students, and professionals in related fields: psychiatry, management, business, and education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work. Journal coverage includes material selected from approximately 2,000 periodicals. Chapter and book coverage includes English-language material published from 1987 to the present. For a brief guide to searching any Ovid database, access the full list of available databases by clicking "Change Databases," and click the "i" (information) logo next to its title.
- Keywords: behavioral sciences | psychology
- 58. PubMed
- Provider: National Library of Medicine and National Center for Biotechnology Information
- Contents: abstracts , citations , free , indexing , links to full text , partial full text , reference
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: PubMed is a database of citations from the biomedical literature, including bibliographic information from MEDLINE, covering all aspects of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine and the preclinical sciences. MEDLINE contains bibliographic citations and author abstracts from more than 4,800 biomedical journals published in the United States and 70 other countries. The database contains over 14 million citations dating back to the mid-1960's. Articles in many languages are indexed, but all abstracts are in English. An excellent tutorial on using PubMed's many search refinements and features can be found by clicking here.
- Keywords: biomedical research | journal | life sciences | medicine | multidisciplinary | open access | research | scientist
- 59. Regional Business News (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Full text of 75 business journals, newspapers and news wires covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
- Keywords: business | management | marketing
- 60. Religion and Philosophy Collection (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Covers the predominant world religions, biblical studies, archaeology, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy, ethics, history of philosophy. Contains more than 300 full text journals, among them more than 250 peer-reviewed titles. Indexing and abstracts are provided for all journals in the database.
- Keywords: ethics | philosophy
- 61. RePORTER (Report Expenditures and Results)
- Provider: National Institutes of Health
- Contents: abstracts , free , index
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: RePORTER is a module within NIH's Research Portfolio Online Reporting Tool, which provides access to reports, data, and analyses of NIH-funded research activities, including information on NIH expenditures and the results of NIH-supported research. RePORTER replaces the CRISP database, withdrawn in October 2009.
- Keywords: biomedical | biotechnology | federal agencies | grants | medicine | open access | research | scientist | U.S. Government
- 62. Salud en Espanol (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: abstracts , encyclopedia , full text , indexing , monographs , news , reference
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Provides an interface designed for the consumer of Spanish-language health care information, with convenient access to the same health and medical information found in the Consumer Health Complete database.
- Keywords: consumer health | drugs | herbs | journal
- 63. Science and Technology Collection (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Contains over 800 full text, mostly scholarly journals focusing on fields such as aeronautics, astrophysics, biology, chemistry, computer technology, geology, aviation, physics, archaeology, marine sciences and materials science. Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 1,700 publications.
- Keywords: biology | chemistry | geoscience | physics | science | technology
- 64. Science Citation Index (via Web of Science)
- Provider: Thomson
- Contents: abstracts , citations , full text , indexing
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: A multidisciplinary index to the scientific journal literature; indexes 5,900 journals across 150 scientific disciplines and includes all cited references captured from indexed articles. Provides access to current and retrospective data from 1900 to the present. Contains searchable, full-length English-language author abstracts for approximately 70% of the articles indexed, as well as links to full text. Covers the physical, earth and life sciences.
- Keywords: biology | medicine | multidisciplinary | science
- 65. ScienceDirect
- Provider: Elsevier
- Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Search gateway to the Elsevier online journals and book series; titles accessible to HAM-TMC Library users are flanked by a green icon.
- Keywords: e-books | journal | multidisciplinary | peer review | science
- 66. Scopus
- Provider: Elsevier
- Contents: abstracts , charts and graphs , citations , full text , government documents , indexing , links to full text , proceedings , research tools , websites
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: SCOPUS contains millions of records from 15,000 publications in the health sciences (including 100% of the journals contained in Medline and EmBase), as well as chemistry, physics, mathematics, engineering, biology, agriculture, environmental sciences and the humanities. Link to full text articles from journals in the HAM-TMC Library's collection by clicking the HAM-TMC Library Find It! button. SCOPUS covers the proceedings of 750 conferences, and retrieves a separate set of relevant Web resources with every literature search. Another tab separates a set of patent results from U.S., U.K. and worldwide patent offices. SCOPUS includes a Journal Analyzer tool that graphs journals, singly or for comparison, from 1996 to present, showing total citations, number of articles published, total citations divided by number of articles, and the percentage of uncited articles. A search by affiliation is provided. Free login for authorized users provides additional advantages: a personal profile, with space to save lists of citations and track authors; a publication alerts service; and direct export to RefWorks, each with the user's own settings. For tutorials on searching and SCOPUS features, click here.
- Keywords: biology | biomedical research | chemistry | conference | internet | journal | life sciences | medicine | multidisciplinary | nursing | patents | pharmacology | science
- 67. Social Sciences Citation Index (Via Web of Science)
- Provider: Thomson
- Contents: abstracts , indexing , links to full text
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the social sciences; fully indexes more than 1,700 journals across 50 social sciences disciplines, and indexes individually selected, relevant items from over 3,300 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals. Disciplines covered include anthropology, linguistics, psychology, psychiatry, public health, social work, sociology, and substance abuse.
- Keywords: anthropology | criminal justice | journal | linguistics | multidisciplinary | psychiatry | psychology | public health | social sciences | social work | sociology
- 68. Social Services Abstracts
- Provider: ProQuest
- Contents: abstracts , dissertation , indexing , links to full text
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. Indexes 1,300+ serials publications; includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations, and includes citations of book reviews. Major areas of coverage include: community and mental health services, gerontology, social and health policy, and support groups/networks.
- Keywords: journal | mental health | periodicals | policy | social sciences | social work | women | workforce
- 69. Sociological Abstracts
- Provider: ProQuest
- Contents: abstracts , indexing
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences; provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,800+ serials publications, along with abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Search tutorials are located at: http://www.csa.com/tutorials/.
- Keywords: behavioral sciences | books | conference | journal | periodicals | reviews | social sciences | sociology
- 70. Student Research Center Interface (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: abstracts , full text , illustrations , images , indexing , reference
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: EBSCO's Student Research Center (SRC) makes it easy for students to search by keyword or by topic to find the most useful search results. Results can be easily sorted by source type: magazines, reference books, photos, flags, etc.
- Keywords: K-12 | kids | magazines | multidisciplinary
- 71. TOPICsearch (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing , monographs , news , newspapers
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Current events database focusing on social, political and economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics discussed in today’s classrooms; contains full text from diverse sources including international and regional newspapers, EBSCO’s collection of periodicals, biographies, public opinion polls, book reviews, pamphlets, and government information. This database provides full text from more than 1,550 publications. In addition to the full text, indexing and abstracts are provided for more than 1,650 journals.
- Keywords: biography | current events | economics | homework | journal | politics | reviews | science | society | student | technology | U.S. Government
- 72. TOXLINE (CSA)
- Provider: ProQuest
- Contents: abstracts , citations , indexing
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, provides bibliographic citations and abstracts from the core journal literature in toxicology. Note: this version of TOXLINE has no information from Chemical Abstracts Service, BIOSIS, or International Pharmaceutical Abstracts; it is a "rolling 5-year" database, consisting of records from the last 5 years plus the current year.
- Keywords: biohazard | environmental | NLM | toxicology
- 73. Twayne's Author Series (TexShare)
- Provider: Gale
- Contents: abstracts , biographical , full text , indexing , literary criticism , reference
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Comprises 600 full-text titles from the Literary Masters series, 200 each from Twayne's World Authors, Twayne's US Authors and Twayne's English Authors.
- Keywords: biography | books | homework | literature | multicultural | student
- 74. UpToDate
- Provider: UpToDate.com
- Contents: abstracts , CME , full text , indexing , quick reference
- Access Level: Provided only for a specific user group- see database description for details.
- Descriptions: This evidence-based resource is designed for use at the point of care, with topic reviews provided by nearly 3,000 physicians. Information presented is peer-reviewed. Provides access to current information within defined specialties; helps clinicians recognize the clinical manifestations of a wide variety of disorders and describes current options for diagnosis, management and therapy, including drug efficacy, dosage and interactions; and also assists with the identification of optimal screening and prevention strategies. NOTES: FOR BAYLOR USERS: Please go to your ERC's (Education Resource Center's) database list to use UpToDate. FOR ALL USERS: There is no Remote Access Service available for this resource. Access is available at UTHSC TMC campus locations and at HAM-TMC Library.
- Keywords: diagnosis | drugs | evidence-based medicine | pharmaceutical | physicians | point-of-care
- 75. Wiley Interscience Journals
- Provider: Wiley InterScience
- Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing
- Access Levels: Clinical Partner , Educational
- Descriptions: This is the browse and search interface for Wiley Interscience journals.
- Keywords: biology | biomedical | journal | medicine | science
- 76. World History Collection (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Provides a global look at history in content from Africa, Asia, North and South America, Europe and the Middle East. Contains full text for nearly 150 fully indexed and abstracted titles, including many peer-reviewed journals covering a wide range of historical topics including anthropology, art, culture, economics, government, heritage, the military, politics, regional issues, and more.
- Keywords: anthropology | art | culture | economics | government | history | politics







