Home


<<< E-Access Help >>>

SEARCH10...

 

HAM-TMC Library

Databases

Our databases contain a wide variety of medical information resources: journal articles, statistics, images, government information, and more. Browse the alphabetical list of database titles or search for terms that appear in the database descriptions.

Search:

 

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

View All...

Choose By

Institution:

OR

Access Level:

  1. Clinical Partner
  2. Clinical Partners via their portal page
  3. Educational
  4. Institutional
  5. Open Access (freely accessible to all)
  6. Provided only for a specific user group- see database description for details.
  7. Visitor/Cardholder

FREE Databases

Currently, the Library has 79 databases for the content term: "free".

AgeLine

  • 1. AgeLine
  • Provider: AARP
  • Contents: abstracts , free , indexing
  • Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
  • Descriptions: Provides abstracts of the literature of social gerontology, as well as aging-related research from psychology, sociology, social work, economics, public policy, and the health sciences. It covers aging-related issues for professionals in aging services, health, business, law, and mental health. Also includes selected consumer content. Summarizes journal articles, books and chapters, research reports, dissertations, gray literature, and educational videos from many publishers and organizations, including AARP.
  • Keywords: aging | geriatrics | open access

ALFRED: The Allele Frequency Database

American Hospital Directory

Approved Drug Products with Therapeutic Equivalence Evaluations (Orange Book)

arXiv

  • 5. arXiv
  • Provider: Cornell University Library
  • Contents: e-prints , free
  • Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
  • Descriptions: Provides open access to e-prints in physics, mathematics, non-linear science, computer science, and quantitative biology. Started in August 1991, arXiv.org (formerly xxx.lanl.gov) is a highly-automated electronic archive and distribution server for research papers. Users can retrieve papers from arXiv either via the web interface, or by sending commands to the system via e-mail. Authors can use a web form to submit their papers and can also update their submissions if they choose, though previous versions remain available. Users can register to automatically receive a listing via email of newly submitted papers in areas of interest to them.
  • Keywords: biology | computers | open access | physics | research

BestBETS: Best Evidence Topics

  • 6. BestBETS: Best Evidence Topics
  • Provider: Manchester Royal Infirmary, Manchester, UK
  • Contents: free , full text
  • Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
  • Descriptions: The BestBETS system was begun in 1996 to address the need for an evidence-based practice tool in the field of Emergency Medicine. Creating a BET (Best Evidence Topic) means following a well-defined set of rules that guide one to formulate effective questions, define the clinical scenario, develop a search strategy and record the search outcome. Literature appraisal results in the assignment of levels of evidence. These guidelines have been published in such journals as Emergency Medicine Journal, Archives of Disease in Childhood, and Interactive Cardiovascular and Thoracic Surgery.
  • Keywords: clinical evidence | emergency medicine | evidence-based medicine | open access | point-of-care

BioethicsWeb

  • 7. BioethicsWeb
  • Provider: Wellcome Library, Joint Information Systems Committee, University of Nottingham
  • Contents: free , links , links to full text , open access , websites
  • Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
  • Descriptions: Gateway to evaluated, quality Internet resources relating to biomedical ethics, including ethical, social, legal and public policy questions arising from advances in medicine and biology, issues relating to the conduct of biomedical research, and approaches to bioethics. BioethicsWeb is part of Intute, "...a free online service providing access to Web resources for education and research. The service is created by a network of UK universities and partners. Subject specialists select and evaluate the websites in our database and write high quality descriptions of the resources." BioethicsWeb is also affiliated with the BIOME life sciences hub and the Resource Discovery Network (RDN). It is developed and managed by the Wellcome Library for the History and Understanding of Medicine at the Wellcome Trust.
  • Keywords: animal | bioethics | biomedical ethics | open access

BioMed Central

BioMed Experts

  • 9. BioMed Experts
  • Provider: Collexis Holdings, Inc.
  • Contents: free , interactive
  • Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
  • Descriptions: BioMed Experts is a scientific-literature-based social networking site. "BME connects biomedical researchers to each other through the display and analysis of each scientist’s co-author network, allowing scientists and researchers across organizations to collaborate in new and time-saving ways. BME is available as a free online community to individuals while value-added services are provided for institutional customers." Free registration is required, and fully functional access is now restricted: "If you have published at least three papers over the last ten years that have been indexed in the Pubmed database, you can validate your pre-calculated expert profile and network in a simple, 4-step wizard after you register. If you have not published in Pubmed over the last ten years, you can still register, search, and network with researchers you know."
  • Keywords: biomedical research | citation analysis | collaborative | open access | research | science | scientist | social networking

BLAST (NCBI)

Canary Database: Animals as Sentinels of Human Environmental Health Hazards

ChemID Plus

  • 12. ChemID Plus
  • Provider: National Library of Medicine
  • Contents: brief records , chemical compounds , free
  • Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
  • Descriptions: Web-based search system that provides access to structure and nomenclature authority files used for the identification of chemical substances cited in National Library of Medicine (NLM) databases, including the TOXNET system; also provides structure searching and direct links to many biomedical resources at NLM and on the Internet for chemicals of interest. The database contains over 379,000 chemical records, of which over 257,000 include chemical structures, and is searchable by Name, Synonym, CAS Registry Number, Molecular Formula, Classification Code, Locator Code, and Structure.
  • Keywords: chemicals | chemistry | open access | toxicology | toxins

ChemSpider: Building Community for Chemists

CKS - Clinical Knowledge Summaries

  • 14. CKS - Clinical Knowledge Summaries
  • Provider: National Library for Health, National Health Service, UK
  • Contents: free , full text , links
  • Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
  • Descriptions: This evidence-based care tool provides the practitioner with "a reliable source of evidence-based information and practical 'know how' about the common conditions managed in primary care." For each topic, information is provided on scope and age range, how recently the topic and the supporting evidence have been updated, background, diagnosis and management information on the condition, the recommended prescribing information, and (for users in the UK) links out to the full text of articles cited. Patient information handouts are also provided. A free registration allows the user to customize the resource according to preference.
  • Keywords: evidence-based medicine | open access

Clinical Queries (PubMed)

ClinicalTrials.gov

  • 16. ClinicalTrials.gov
  • Provider: National Institutes of Health/National Library of Medicine
  • Contents: free , full text
  • Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
  • Descriptions: Contains approximately 29,500 clinical studies sponsored by the National Institutes of Health, other federal agencies, and private industry. Draws on studies conducted in all 50 States and in over 130 other countries. Provides regularly updated information about federally and privately supported clinical research on human volunteers; includes purpose of the trial, who may participate, locations, and phone numbers for learning more details.
  • Keywords: clinical trials | open access

Complementary and Alternative Therapies (MedlinePlus)

dbGaP (Database of Genotypes and Phenotypes)

Dietary Supplements Labels Database

Digital Commons@The Texas Medical Center

Digital National Security Archive

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)

Disaster Information Management Research Center

DPDx - Laboratory Identification of Parasites of Public Health Concern

Drug Information Pathfinder

Drug Resource Center

DrugBank

Entrez Cross-Database Search

Epocrates Online®

  • 29. Epocrates Online®
  • Provider: Epocrates, Inc.
  • Contents: free , indexing , monographs , patient education
  • Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
  • Descriptions: Epocrates Online is a database that (with the expected disclaimers and terms of use) provides useful and comprehensive information on pharmaceutical products at no cost to the user. Tabbed sections are provided on drugs, diseases, drug interactions and contraindications, and pill identification. A paid subscription is required for access to MedCalc and another section providing clinical tables/guidelines. Free registration is required to use Epocrates. A free mobile version is also available for download. Subscription information is easy to find on the website.
  • Keywords: drugs | open access | pharmaceutical | pharmacy

European Patent Office (esp@cenet)

Eye Pathologist, The

FDA Maude Database

Federal Register

Gene Ontology (GO) project

  • 34. Gene Ontology (GO) project
  • Provider: Gene Ontology Consortium
  • Contents: free , indexing , research tools
  • Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
  • Descriptions: The Gene Ontology (GO) project is a collaborative effort by various organizations and groups working on various genome projects to address the need for consistent description of gene products across different databases. The GO collaborators are developing three "ontologies" (in computer science, specifications of relational vocabularies) that describe three aspects of molecular biology- biological processes, cellular components, and molecular functions- in a species-independent manner. The GO database has a user-friendly interface (AmiGO) available, as well as other downloadable, local-use tools.
  • Keywords: biomedical research | database | genome | genomics | genotype | ontology | open access | sequencing | taxonomy

Genetics Home Reference

Go Local Texas Gulf Coast

  • 36. Go Local Texas Gulf Coast
  • Provider: HAM-TMC Library, UTMB-Galveston Moody Medical Library, and National Library of Medicine
  • Contents: brief records , free , websites
  • Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
  • Descriptions: A joint consumer health website project between the Jesse H Jones Community Health Information Service of the Houston Academy of Medicine-Texas Medical Center Library and the University of Texas Medical Branch, Galveston, Moody Medical Library in partnership with the National Libary of Medicine, this resource provides up-to-date information about local health resources for 38 counties in the Texas Gulf Coast region, and, by linking to MedlinePlus, makes available reliable health information about a number of diseases and conditions.
  • Keywords: consumer health | healthcare | open access | Texas

GoPubMed

Herbs and Supplements Information (MedlinePlus)

Index to Chiropractic Literature

Index-Catalogue of the Library of the Surgeon-General's Office. US Army.

LactMed: Drugs and Lactation Database

Medical Subject Headings (MeSH)

  • 42. Medical Subject Headings (MeSH)
  • Provider: National Library of Medicine
  • Contents: cross reference , free , index , thesaurus
  • Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
  • Descriptions: MeSH is the National Library of Medicine's controlled vocabulary thesaurus, consisting of sets of descriptors in a hierarchical structure to permit searching with increasing levels of specificity. This thesaurus is used by NLM for indexing articles from more than 4,800 of the world's leading biomedical journals for the MEDLINE/PubMed® database. It is also used for LocatorPlus, the NLM-produced catalog of books, documents, and audiovisuals acquired by the National Library of Medicine. Each bibliographic record is associated with a set of MeSH terms describing the item's content. MeSH vocabulary can be used in search queries to find items on a desired topic in any NLM database.
  • Keywords: life sciences | MeSH | NLM | open access | subject headings | taxonomy

Medline (PubMed)

MedlinePlus

Medscape

  • 45. Medscape
  • Provider: WebMD
  • Contents: CME , free , full text , patient education
  • Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
  • Descriptions: Original, professional medical content, including review articles, journal commentary, expert columns, patient education articles, book reviews, and more than 850 online CME activities. MedScape now offers free download of drug information for the iPhone and iPod Touch. This includes dosage, interactions and adverse effects and cost across more than 6,000 generics and brands, OTCs, herbals and supplements, as well as information for pregnant or lactating women. MedScape requires free registration.
  • Keywords: consumer health | open access | physicians | reviews

Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy, The

Merck Manuals Online Medical Library-  Home Edition

Merck Veterinary Manual

National Cancer Institute Website

National Criminal Justice Reference Service

National Guideline Clearinghouse

National Reference Center for Bioethics Literature

Nature Neuroscience Gateway

Nature.com Databases and Gateways

NLM Drug Information Portal

NLM Gateway: search engine for the resources of the National Library of Medicine

OncologyStat

  • 57. OncologyStat
  • Provider: Elsevier
  • Contents: free , full text , interactive , patient education , reference , videos
  • Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
  • Descriptions: From the website: "OncologySTAT integrates a multitude of authoritative professional cancer information sources, such as peer-reviewed research, news and regulatory updates, a professional drug monograph and interactions database, chemotherapy regimens, and conference coverage into one easy-to-use online destination. Information and educational materials are delivered across multiple media formats: text, audio, video, interactive, user-generated forums, etc. Community oncologists and cancer-care practitioners in private practice or a non-institutional setting will find OncologySTAT especially useful in gaining immediate integrated access to the latest evidence-based research, news, treatment, and decision support information." Note: Free registration is required to access full text articles and to contribute comments to blogs in this database.
  • Keywords: cancer | clinical trials | database | decision support | evidence-based medicine | oncology | open access

Orphanet: the Portal for Rare Diseases and Orphan Drugs

PDQ (Physician Data Query) Cancer Database

PEDro Physiotherapy Evidence Database

PLOS Hub for Clinical Trials

PubChem

Public Library of Science (PLoS)

PubMed

PubMed Bookshelf

  • 65. PubMed Bookshelf
  • Provider: National Library of Medicine and National Center for Biotechnology Information
  • Contents: e-books , free , full text , links , open access
  • Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
  • Descriptions: Collaborating with authors and publishers, the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) adapts biomedical books for the web. They may either be accessed via direct search or via "Books" links in PubMed abstracts. In the future, more links will be made between this collection of books and other types of information provided by NCBI, for instance, gene and protein sequences and macromolecular structures.
  • Keywords: biomedical | books | e-books | open access

PubMed Central

  • 66. PubMed Central
  • Provider: National Library of Medicine
  • Contents: archive , free , full text , open access
  • Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
  • Descriptions: Digital archive of life sciences journal literature from the US National Institutes of Health (NIH). With PubMed Central, NLM took the lead in preserving and maintaining unrestricted access to electronic literature, just as it has done for decades with print biomedical literature. PubMed Central aims to fill the role of being a world-class library of the digital age, a repository of knowledge. The National Library of Medicine believes that providing free, unrestricted access to the material in PubMed Central is the best way to ensure the durability and utility of the archive as technology evolves.
  • Keywords: allied health | digital | journal | medicine | open access

Radiation Event Medical Management (REMM)

RePORTER (Report Expenditures and Results)

Scitopia

Statistical Abstract of the United States

SUMSearch

Tox Town

TOXMAP

TOXNET: Toxicology Data Network

TRIP Database: the search engine for Evidence-Based Medicine

U.S. Patent and Trademark Office

UniProt

  • 77. UniProt
  • Provider: UniProt Consortium
  • Contents: citations , cross reference , free , glossary of terms , index , open access , research tools , sequencing data
  • Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
  • Descriptions: "The mission of UniProt is to provide the scientific community with a comprehensive, high-quality and freely accessible resource of protein sequence and functional information." Available material consists of: UniProtKB, a two-section protein knowledge base consisting of SwissProt (reviewed and annotated manually) and TrEMBL (not reviewed, annotated automatically;) UniRef (sequence clusters;) UniParc (a sequence archive for tracking sequences and identifiers;) and the supporting data (literature citations, taxonomy, keywords, nomenclature, guidelines and indexes.) A user manual and primer on annotation are provided as well. UniProt is distributed free under a Creative Commons attribution license. Updates happen frequently and it appears the updates must be retrieved from the website.
  • Keywords: biomedical research | genetics | ontology | open access | proteins | scientist | sequencing | taxonomy

WISER: Wireless Information System for Emergency Responders

WorldCat