A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z
HAM-TMC Library
Databases
Our databases contain a wide variety of medical information resources: journal articles, statistics, images, government information, and more. Browse the alphabetical list of database titles or search for terms that appear in the database descriptions.Search:
CROSS REFERENCE Databases
Currently, the Library has 5 databases for the content term: "cross reference".
- 1. Approved Drug Products with Therapeutic Equivalence Evaluations (Orange Book)
- Provider: U.S. Food and Drug Administration
- Contents: cross reference , free , full text , government documents , index , open access , quick reference , reference
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: The Orange Book provides updated information on prescription, over-the-counter and discontinued FDA-approved drug products. It can be searched and consulted online, or the annual edition and monthly cumulative supplements can be downloaded in .pdf format. The Electronic Orange Book provides daily updates of new generic drug approvals. Search by active ingredient, proprietary name, patent, application number or application holder. If a newly-approved drug product is not turned up in the search, use the search box at top right of the page to find results from the Orange Book's monthly supplements and other FDA sources.
- Keywords: drugs | federal agencies | open access | patents | pharmaceutical | products | public health | U.S. Government
- 2. Medical Subject Headings (MeSH)
- Provider: National Library of Medicine
- Contents: cross reference , free , index , thesaurus
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: MeSH is the National Library of Medicine's controlled vocabulary thesaurus, consisting of sets of descriptors in a hierarchical structure to permit searching with increasing levels of specificity. This thesaurus is used by NLM for indexing articles from more than 4,800 of the world's leading biomedical journals for the MEDLINE/PubMed® database. It is also used for LocatorPlus, the NLM-produced catalog of books, documents, and audiovisuals acquired by the National Library of Medicine. Each bibliographic record is associated with a set of MeSH terms describing the item's content. MeSH vocabulary can be used in search queries to find items on a desired topic in any NLM database.
- Keywords: life sciences | MeSH | NLM | open access | subject headings | taxonomy
- 3. PubChem
- Provider: National Library of Medicine and National Center for Biotechnology Information
- Contents: brief records , chemical compounds , chemical structure , cross reference , free , indexing , links , links to full text , research tools , summaries
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: PubChem provides information on the biological activities of small molecules and is a component of NIH's Molecular Libraries Roadmap Initiative; includes substance information, compound structures, and bioactivity data in three primary databases: PCSubstance, PCCompound and PCBioAssay. PCSubstance contains more than 12 million records; PCCompound contains more than 7 million unique structures; and PCBioAssay contains more than 200 bioassays, each containing a number of data points.
- Keywords: bioassay | chemicals | chemistry | inorganic chemistry | NLM | open access | organic chemistry | pharmacology | taxonomy | toxins
- 4. TOXNET: Toxicology Data Network
- Provider: National Library of Medicine
- Contents: cross reference , federated search , free , full text , government documents , images , indexing
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: TOXNET is a cross-searchable cluster of databases covering toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, toxic releases and related areas. Includes Hazardous Substances Data Bank, Chemical Carcinogenesis Research Information System, Haz-Map, and LactMed (Drugs and Lactation). Managed by the Toxicology and Environmental Health Information Program in the Division of Specialized Information Services of the National Library of Medicine (NLM).
- Keywords: chemicals | environmental | open access | public health | toxicology | toxins
- 5. UniProt
- Provider: UniProt Consortium
- Contents: citations , cross reference , free , glossary of terms , index , open access , research tools , sequencing data
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: "The mission of UniProt is to provide the scientific community with a comprehensive, high-quality and freely accessible resource of protein sequence and functional information." Available material consists of: UniProtKB, a two-section protein knowledge base consisting of SwissProt (reviewed and annotated manually) and TrEMBL (not reviewed, annotated automatically;) UniRef (sequence clusters;) UniParc (a sequence archive for tracking sequences and identifiers;) and the supporting data (literature citations, taxonomy, keywords, nomenclature, guidelines and indexes.) A user manual and primer on annotation are provided as well. UniProt is distributed free under a Creative Commons attribution license. Updates happen frequently and it appears the updates must be retrieved from the website.
- Keywords: biomedical research | genetics | ontology | open access | proteins | scientist | sequencing | taxonomy


