A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z
HAM-TMC Library
Databases
Our databases contain a wide variety of medical information resources: journal articles, statistics, images, government information, and more. Browse the alphabetical list of database titles or search for terms that appear in the database descriptions.Search:
HANDBOOK Databases
Currently, the Library has 8 databases for the content term: "handbook".
- 1. ACP's PIER--Physician's Information and Education Resource (STAT!Ref -- TexShare)
- Provider: Teton Data Systems
- Contents: e-books , full text , handbook , patient education , websites
- Access Levels: Clinical Partners via their portal page , Educational
- Descriptions: Web-based, evidence-based guidance tool to improve clinical care. Disease topics are selected by the American College of Physicians (ACP), based on prevalence in clinical settings. Evidence for all diseases is evaluated; credibility of the evidence is displayed with a rating. Subcategories for each disease are: Prevention, Non-drug Therapy, Screening, Drug Therapy, Diagnosis, Patient Education, Consultation for Diagnosis, Consultation for Management, Hospitalization, Follow-up. PIER includes AHFS DI® Essentials, with drug information monographs drawn from evidence-based guidelines in the full AHFS DI® database; distills information on prescription and key over-the-counter (OTC) drugs in a structured outline format.
- Keywords: clinical evidence | drugs | evidence-based medicine | internal medicine | physicians | point-of-care
- 2. Clin-eguide: Clinical Decision Support
- Provider: OVID
- Contents: e-books , full text , handbook , patient education , practice guidelines , quick reference , textbooks
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Clin-eguide is a clinical decision support system that combines clinical disease management, drug therapy and laboratory testing information in a single resource. It provides both patient- and disease-specific recommendations, taking into account patient status and concomitant conditions, and prompts the clinician to consider issues that may influence individual patient outcome. Clin-eguide is extensively and systematically researched and updated. It draws information from Evidence-Based Guidelines, Nursing Advisor, Facts & Comparisons drug information, national guidelines, the Cancer Chemotherapy Manual and many other sources, and includes patient handouts. The mobile version is compatible with Palm OS, Windows Mobile, Blackberry and iPhone. To get started with the mobile version, click "MyPDA" in the line of links at top right of the first screen, and register. Your "serial number" entry key will be emailed to you within a few minutes. If you don't receive it within a reasonable time, re-register.
- Keywords: clinical evidence | clinical practice guidelines | decision support | drugs | evidence-based medicine | nursing | pharmaceutical | physicians | point-of-care
- 3. Genetics Home Reference
- Provider: National Library of Medicine
- Contents: free , full text , glossary of terms , handbook , illustrations , patient education , summaries
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: The National Library of Medicine's web site for consumer information about genetic conditions and the genes or chromosomes responsible for those conditions. Includes condition, gene, and chromosome summaries, the Help Me Understand Genetics Handbook (with basic explanations of how genes work, genetic testing, and the Human Genome Project) and a glossary of genetic and medical terms.
- Keywords: genetics | mutation | open access
- 4. Medical Letter, The
- Provider: The Medical Letter, Inc.
- Contents: CME , full text , handbook , practice guidelines , reference , research tools
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: This database contains The Medical Letter on Drugs and Therapeutics, a searchable current database featuring biweekly updates. Archived information dates back to 1988. Also included: the database Treatment Guidelines from The Medical Letter, which includes guidelines from 2002 through the present; Adverse Drug Reactions Program, a proprietary, evidence-based database of drug interactions, updated frequently and searchable for up to 12 drugs simultaneously; and the Handbook of Antimicrobial Therapy, 17th ed. (2005.) Also available are ACCME/ACPE/AAFP-accredited CME's. PDA access is also supported, for Palm OS users only. Please contact the Circulation Desk staff for details on getting started with PDA and CME.
- Keywords: drugs | PDA access | pharmaceutical | pharmacology
- 5. Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy, The
- Provider: Merck & Co., Inc.
- Contents: audio , free , handbook , images , indexing , manual , text , videos
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: Standard text in the field of diagnosis and therapy, freely available on the Internet.
- Keywords: diagnosis | open access | physicians
- 6. Merck Veterinary Manual
- Provider: Merck & Co., Inc.
- Contents: audio , free , full text , handbook , images , indexing , links , manual , tables of contents , videos
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: Merck Veterinary Manual Online is a general reference text for veterinary professionals, containing information arranged primarily by body system with some information on specific species. This manual contains a section on laboratory animals and exotic species. Some images, audio and video files are included, along with quick references and lists of useful outside links.
- Keywords: open access | veterinary medicine
- 7. PsychiatryOnline
- Provider: American Psychiatric Publishing, Inc.
- Contents: CME , full text , handbook , news , textbooks
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Provides full text resources including DSM-IV-TR, DSM-IV-TR Casebook and its Treatment Companion, and the American Psychiatric Association Practice Guidelines for the Treatment of Psychiatric Disorders; journals including The American Journal of Psychiatry and Psychiatric Services; textbooks including Textbook of Clinical Psychiatry; self-assessment tools for study, board certification and recertification review, and lifelong learning; and clinical & research news from Psychiatric News.
- Keywords: neurology | psychiatry | psychoanalysis
- 8. STAT!Ref (TexShare)
- Provider: Teton Data Systems
- Contents: e-books , full text , handbook , reference , tables of contents , textbooks
- Access Levels: Clinical Partners via their portal page , Educational
- Descriptions: Cross-searchable healthcare reference that integrates core electronic book titles with evidence-based resources and innovative tools. Includes numerous titles selected for the Doody’s Core Titles List (DCT), as well as many titles from the Brandon-Hill medical librarians’ list. Titles include the latest editions of ACS Surgery: Principles and Practice, Goodman and Gilman's The Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics, and Hurst's The Heart.
- Keywords: books | communicable diseases | evidence-based | genetics | ICD-9 | infectious disease | internal medicine | medical coding | medicine | nursing | office practice | pediatrics | physicians | surgery



