A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z
HAM-TMC Library
Databases
Our databases contain a wide variety of medical information resources: journal articles, statistics, images, government information, and more. Browse the alphabetical list of database titles or search for terms that appear in the database descriptions.Search:
PATIENT EDUCATION Databases
Currently, the Library has 16 databases for the content term: "patient education".
- 1. ACP's PIER--Physician's Information and Education Resource (STAT!Ref -- TexShare)
- Provider: Teton Data Systems
- Contents: e-books , full text , handbook , patient education , websites
- Access Levels: Clinical Partners via their portal page , Educational
- Descriptions: Web-based, evidence-based guidance tool to improve clinical care. Disease topics are selected by the American College of Physicians (ACP), based on prevalence in clinical settings. Evidence for all diseases is evaluated; credibility of the evidence is displayed with a rating. Subcategories for each disease are: Prevention, Non-drug Therapy, Screening, Drug Therapy, Diagnosis, Patient Education, Consultation for Diagnosis, Consultation for Management, Hospitalization, Follow-up. PIER includes AHFS DI® Essentials, with drug information monographs drawn from evidence-based guidelines in the full AHFS DI® database; distills information on prescription and key over-the-counter (OTC) drugs in a structured outline format.
- Keywords: clinical evidence | drugs | evidence-based medicine | internal medicine | physicians | point-of-care
- 2. Clin-eguide: Clinical Decision Support
- Provider: OVID
- Contents: e-books , full text , handbook , patient education , practice guidelines , quick reference , textbooks
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Clin-eguide is a clinical decision support system that combines clinical disease management, drug therapy and laboratory testing information in a single resource. It provides both patient- and disease-specific recommendations, taking into account patient status and concomitant conditions, and prompts the clinician to consider issues that may influence individual patient outcome. Clin-eguide is extensively and systematically researched and updated. It draws information from Evidence-Based Guidelines, Nursing Advisor, Facts & Comparisons drug information, national guidelines, the Cancer Chemotherapy Manual and many other sources, and includes patient handouts. The mobile version is compatible with Palm OS, Windows Mobile, Blackberry and iPhone. To get started with the mobile version, click "MyPDA" in the line of links at top right of the first screen, and register. Your "serial number" entry key will be emailed to you within a few minutes. If you don't receive it within a reasonable time, re-register.
- Keywords: clinical evidence | clinical practice guidelines | decision support | drugs | evidence-based medicine | nursing | pharmaceutical | physicians | point-of-care
- 3. Complementary and Alternative Therapies (MedlinePlus)
- Provider: National Institutes of Health/National Library of Medicine
- Contents: free , full text , patient education
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: Includes sections on acupuncture, alternative medicine, herbal medicine, cancer alternative therapies, chiropractic, and dietary supplements. These sections include latest news, topic overviews, links to associations and organizations, interactive tutorials, and clinical trials. A Spanish language version is also available.
- Keywords: acupuncture | alternative medicine | consumer health | herbs | open access
- 4. Drug Resource Center
- Provider: AETNA Intelihealth
- Contents: free , patient education , quick reference
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: This section of the Aetna InteliHealth site provides articles on condition-specific drug issues. An editorial faculty from Harvard Medical School assures the accuracy and relevance of information presented by this website.
- Keywords: consumer health | drugs | open access | pharmaceutical
- 5. Epocrates Online®
- Provider: Epocrates, Inc.
- Contents: free , indexing , monographs , patient education
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: Epocrates Online is a database that (with the expected disclaimers and terms of use) provides useful and comprehensive information on pharmaceutical products at no cost to the user. Tabbed sections are provided on drugs, diseases, drug interactions and contraindications, and pill identification. A paid subscription is required for access to MedCalc and another section providing clinical tables/guidelines. Free registration is required to use Epocrates. A free mobile version is also available for download. Subscription information is easy to find on the website.
- Keywords: drugs | open access | pharmaceutical | pharmacy
- 6. Genetics Home Reference
- Provider: National Library of Medicine
- Contents: free , full text , glossary of terms , handbook , illustrations , patient education , summaries
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: The National Library of Medicine's web site for consumer information about genetic conditions and the genes or chromosomes responsible for those conditions. Includes condition, gene, and chromosome summaries, the Help Me Understand Genetics Handbook (with basic explanations of how genes work, genetic testing, and the Human Genome Project) and a glossary of genetic and medical terms.
- Keywords: genetics | mutation | open access
- 7. LactMed: Drugs and Lactation Database
- Provider: National Library of Medicine
- Contents: free , full text , patient education
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: A peer-reviewed and fully referenced database of drugs to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed. Among the data included are maternal and infant levels of drugs, possible effects on breastfed infants and on lactation, and alternate drugs to consider.
- Keywords: drugs | open access | women
- 8. MD Consult
- Provider: Elsevier
- Contents: abstracts , CME , e-books , full text , indexing , patient education , practice guidelines , reference , textbooks
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: MD Consult is a database of clinical point-of-care resources. This subscription includes full-text access to over 50 medical reference books covering a wealth of specialties; browsable access to a large journal collection and to 35 Clinics of North America titles; drug information from Gold Standard; more than 1,000 practice guidelines; and thousands of customizable patient education handouts. It offers the option to create personal accounts and participate in CME activities, and includes a news section. Available to Educational level users.
- Keywords: drugs | medicine | pharmaceutical | point-of-care
- 9. Medscape
- Provider: WebMD
- Contents: CME , free , full text , patient education
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: Original, professional medical content, including review articles, journal commentary, expert columns, patient education articles, book reviews, and more than 850 online CME activities. MedScape now offers free download of drug information for the iPhone and iPod Touch. This includes dosage, interactions and adverse effects and cost across more than 6,000 generics and brands, OTCs, herbals and supplements, as well as information for pregnant or lactating women. MedScape requires free registration.
- Keywords: consumer health | open access | physicians | reviews
- 10. National Cancer Institute Website
- Provider: National Cancer Institute
- Contents: free , full text , patient education , websites
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: A comprehensive layman's website. Cancer Topics searches link the user to PubMed with pre-set search limits and retrieve literature citations on more than 100 major cancer topics; search results can be further refined using PubMed's search options and limits. Tabbed categories lead the user to other resources, including information on statistics, clinical trials, research and recent news releases, and dictionaries of oncology terms and drug information.
- Keywords: cancer | clinical trials | consumer health | open access | statistical | U.S. Government
- 11. Natural & Alternative Treatments (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: full text , monographs , patient education , reference
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Detailed information on: more than 180 different conditions and the conventional and natural treatments used to treat them; over 200 herbs and supplements; and drug-herb and drug-supplement interactions for more than 75 drug categories can be found in this database.
- Keywords: alternative medicine | botanical | consumer health | diet | dietary supplements | drugs | herbs
- 12. Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database
- Provider: Therapeutic Research Faculty
- Contents: abstracts , CME , full text , indexing , patient education
- Access Levels: Clinical Partner , Educational
- Descriptions: Updated daily, Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database provides clinically relevant information in an easy-to-use format. Product search is available from any page; click a button to get a patient handout for any product, or click references to see abstracts of articles. Supports PDA access for Palm OS or Windows mobile PDA, except for Smartphones.
- Keywords: dietary supplements | evidence-based medicine | herbs | PDA access | pharmacology | products
- 13. Nursing Reference Center
- Provider: EBSCO
- Contents: CME , e-books , full text , links to full text , news , patient education , reference
- Access Levels: Clinical Partner , Educational
- Descriptions: A comprehensive, point-of-care resource for nursing, Nursing Reference Center draws search results in part from Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses; AHFS Drug Information Essentials; Diseases and Disorders: A Nursing Therapeutics Manual; Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary; and Davis's Comprehensive Handbook of Laboratory & Diagnostic Tests with Nursing Implications. Nursing Reference Center includes: "quick lessons" on diseases and disorders; evidence-based care sheets; practice guidelines; patient education sheets, some available in Spanish; CE modules; news; research instruments; and information on legal cases. Nursing Reference Center provides direct access to full text articles found in CINAHL. First-time users are encouraged to "take the tour" on the database's home page (FlashPlayer required) to learn more.
- Keywords: clinical practice guidelines | drugs | evidence-based | journal | legal | monographs | nursing | point-of-care
- 14. OncologyStat
- Provider: Elsevier
- Contents: free , full text , interactive , patient education , reference , videos
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: From the website: "OncologySTAT integrates a multitude of authoritative professional cancer information sources, such as peer-reviewed research, news and regulatory updates, a professional drug monograph and interactions database, chemotherapy regimens, and conference coverage into one easy-to-use online destination. Information and educational materials are delivered across multiple media formats: text, audio, video, interactive, user-generated forums, etc. Community oncologists and cancer-care practitioners in private practice or a non-institutional setting will find OncologySTAT especially useful in gaining immediate integrated access to the latest evidence-based research, news, treatment, and decision support information." Note: Free registration is required to access full text articles and to contribute comments to blogs in this database.
- Keywords: cancer | clinical trials | database | decision support | evidence-based medicine | oncology | open access
- 15. PDQ (Physician Data Query) Cancer Database
- Provider: National Cancer Institute
- Contents: dictionary , free , full text , links , open access , patient education , reference , statistics , websites
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: PDQ contains peer-reviewed summaries on cancer treatment, screening, prevention, genetics, supportive care, and complementary and alternative medicine; a registry of more than 4,000 open and 15,000 closed cancer clinical trials from around the world; and directories of physicians, genetic counseling professionals, and organizations that provide cancer care. Also included: a dictionary of cancer terms and a drug dictionary.
- Keywords: alternative medicine | cancer | clinical trials | open access | physicians | reviews
- 16. TRIP Database: the search engine for Evidence-Based Medicine
- Provider: TRIP Knowledge Services
- Contents: e-books , free , full text , images , patient education , websites
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: Openly accessible database that simultaneously searches evidence-based resources: systematic reviews, Medline's Clinical Queries, practice guidelines, e-books, images, and patient information handouts. From the website: "The aims of the TRIP Database have remained the same since 1997 - allow health professionals to easily find the highest-quality material available on the web - to help support evidence based practice... The evolution of the TRIP Database has been guided by the desire to answer real clinical questions using the principles of evidence-based medicine."
- Keywords: evidence-based medicine | medicine | open access | systematic reviews






