A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z
HAM-TMC Library
Databases
Our databases contain a wide variety of medical information resources: journal articles, statistics, images, government information, and more. Browse the alphabetical list of database titles or search for terms that appear in the database descriptions.Search:
PARTIAL OPEN ACCESS Databases
Currently, the Library has 7 databases for the content term: "partial open access".
- 1. American Hospital Directory
- Provider: American Hospital Association
- Contents: directory , free , partial open access , quick reference
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: Not all content here is free, but visitors can search for hospitals and view free profile information like location, number of beds, types of services offered, Medicare patient charge and utilization numbers, and general state and national hospital statistics.
- Keywords: consumer health | healthcare system
- 2. Biology Image Library
- Provider: BioMed Central
- Contents: animation , illustrations , images , partial open access , videos
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Brought to you by BioMed Central, the open access publisher, Biology Image Library provides scientific images for downloading and use for non-commercial purposes. For images not in the public domain, Biology Image Library can direct the user to the copyright holder or in some cases handle the sale of rights for commercial use. Submission of contributions is also welcomed. See "About..." for information. The Biology Image Library allows free access to all to view image thumbnails and annotations, but only authorized HAM-TMC users can view full-size versions, save, make PowerPoint slides, or e-mail the images that are under copyright.
- Keywords: biology | biomedical | e-publishing | education | microbiology
- 3. BioMed Central
- Provider: BioMed Central
- Contents: abstracts , free , interactive , news , partial open access , research tools , videos , websites
- Access Levels: Clinical Partner , Educational , Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: All the research articles published in BioMed Central's more than 160 journals are open access, but other articles in a minority of BMC's journals are available only by subscription. BioMed Central also provides various additional products and services for subscribers only. Because BioMed Central views open access to research as essential to ensure the rapid and efficient communication of research findings, original research articles are made freely and permanently accessible online immediately upon publication.
- Keywords: biomedical research | journal | medicine | open access | research | science
- 4. dbGaP (Database of Genotypes and Phenotypes)
- Provider: National Center for Biotechnology Information
- Contents: free , open access , partial open access , research tools , sequencing data
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: In dbGaP, NCBI archives and distributes the results of studies investigating the interaction of genotype and phenotype. Genome-wide association studies, medical sequencing, molecular diagnostic assays, and associations between genotype and non-clinical traits are covered. dbGaP contains both open- and controlled-access data. Non-sensitive data are released on a broad scale, but sensitive data sets involving personal health information are not publicly accessible. Search by study or disease, or use Advanced Search.
- Keywords: biology | database | genetics | genome | genomics | life sciences | open access
- 5. Nature Neuroscience Gateway
- Provider: Nature Publishing Group and the Allen Institute for Brain Science
- Contents: career and jobs , free , full text , news , partial open access
- Access Levels: Clinical Partner , Educational , Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: A comprehensive source for current research, news and events in neuroscience and genomics research developed collaboratively by the Allen Institute for Brain Science and Nature Publishing Group; includes the Allen Brain Atlas, a freely available scientific resource developed by the Allen Institute, which provides maps of the expression of approximately 20,000 genes in the mouse brain. Together, the Neuroscience Gateway and the Allen Brain Atlas are new tools to help researchers navigate neuroscience and genomics research.
- Keywords: gateway | neurology | neuroscience | open access | portal | research | scientist
- 6. Nature.com Databases and Gateways
- Provider: Nature.com
- Contents: career and jobs , free , news , partial open access , protocols
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: Nature.com has developed a collection of subject portals to news, conferences and other related links, and recent Nature publications in various areas of interest to researchers, for example: neuroscience; specific areas of cell science; human signaling pathways; laboratory technologies and protocols; and climate change.
- Keywords: biology | biomedical | biomedical research | biotechnology | cell biology | communicable diseases | environmental | gateway | genomics | infectious disease | journal | multidisciplinary | neuroscience | portal | products | proteins | public health | social networking
- 7. NLM Gateway: search engine for the resources of the National Library of Medicine
- Provider: National Library of Medicine
- Contents: federated search , free , government documents , indexing , partial full text , partial open access , search engine
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: The NLM Gateway is a Web-based system that lets users search simultaneously in multiple retrieval systems administered by the National Library of Medicine (NLM). Users of NLM services can initiate multi-database searches of many NLM information resources from this site.
- Keywords: biomedical | consumer health | medicine | MedLine | MeSH | multidisciplinary | NLM | open access | U.S. Government


