A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z
HAM-TMC Library
Databases
Our databases contain a wide variety of medical information resources: journal articles, statistics, images, government information, and more. Browse the alphabetical list of database titles or search for terms that appear in the database descriptions.Search:
"drugs" Databases
The Library has 211 databases and
25 under drugs"
- 1. AccessMedicine
- Provider: McGraw-Hill
- Contents: e-books , full text , images , reference , textbooks , videos
- Access Levels: Clinical Partner , Educational
- Descriptions: An integrated clinical database, featuring daily updates, that quickly pulls information from a pool of over 50 trusted medical texts, a drug index, a diagnostic tool and an image and video library. Also contains patient handouts. This resource is available to Educational and Clinical Partner users.
- Keywords: clinical | database | diagnosis | drugs | e-books | evidence-based medicine | medicine | point-of-care | video
- 2. ACP's PIER--Physician's Information and Education Resource (STAT!Ref -- TexShare)
- Provider: Teton Data Systems
- Contents: e-books , full text , handbook , patient education , websites
- Access Levels: Clinical Partners via their portal page , Educational
- Descriptions: Web-based, evidence-based guidance tool to improve clinical care. Disease topics are selected by the American College of Physicians (ACP), based on prevalence in clinical settings. Evidence for all diseases is evaluated; credibility of the evidence is displayed with a rating. Subcategories for each disease are: Prevention, Non-drug Therapy, Screening, Drug Therapy, Diagnosis, Patient Education, Consultation for Diagnosis, Consultation for Management, Hospitalization, Follow-up. PIER includes AHFS DI® Essentials, with drug information monographs drawn from evidence-based guidelines in the full AHFS DI® database; distills information on prescription and key over-the-counter (OTC) drugs in a structured outline format.
- Keywords: clinical evidence | drugs | evidence-based medicine | internal medicine | physicians | point-of-care
- 3. AHFS Drug Information (Stat!Ref-- TexShare)
- Provider: American Hospital Formulary Service on STAT!Ref Platform
- Contents: monographs
- Access Levels: Clinical Partners via their portal page , Educational
- Descriptions: Collection of drug monographs on single-drug entities available in the United States; information on various trademarked preparations and brands of a drug is contained in a single monograph. Monographs on principal ingredients also include descriptive information about drug combinations. There are general statements on groups of drugs whose activities and uses permit their discussion as a class. Information on older and prototype drugs is also provided.
- Keywords: drugs | pharmaceutical
- 4. Approved Drug Products with Therapeutic Equivalence Evaluations (Orange Book)
- Provider: U.S. Food and Drug Administration
- Contents: cross reference , free , full text , government documents , index , open access , quick reference , reference
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: The Orange Book provides updated information on prescription, over-the-counter and discontinued FDA-approved drug products. It can be searched and consulted online, or the annual edition and monthly cumulative supplements can be downloaded in .pdf format. The Electronic Orange Book provides daily updates of new generic drug approvals. Search by active ingredient, proprietary name, patent, application number or application holder. If a newly-approved drug product is not turned up in the search, use the search box at top right of the page to find results from the Orange Book's monthly supplements and other FDA sources.
- Keywords: drugs | federal agencies | open access | patents | pharmaceutical | products | public health | U.S. Government
- 5. Clin-eguide: Clinical Decision Support
- Provider: OVID
- Contents: e-books , full text , handbook , patient education , practice guidelines , quick reference , textbooks
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Clin-eguide is a clinical decision support system that combines clinical disease management, drug therapy and laboratory testing information in a single resource. It provides both patient- and disease-specific recommendations, taking into account patient status and concomitant conditions, and prompts the clinician to consider issues that may influence individual patient outcome. Clin-eguide is extensively and systematically researched and updated. It draws information from Evidence-Based Guidelines, Nursing Advisor, Facts & Comparisons drug information, national guidelines, the Cancer Chemotherapy Manual and many other sources, and includes patient handouts. The mobile version is compatible with Palm OS, Windows Mobile, Blackberry and iPhone. To get started with the mobile version, click "MyPDA" in the line of links at top right of the first screen, and register. Your "serial number" entry key will be emailed to you within a few minutes. If you don't receive it within a reasonable time, re-register.
- Keywords: clinical evidence | clinical practice guidelines | decision support | drugs | evidence-based medicine | nursing | pharmaceutical | physicians | point-of-care
- 6. Dietary Supplements Labels Database
- Provider: National Library of Medicine
- Contents: brief records , free , full text , quick reference
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: Dietary Supplements Labels Database enables one to look up research results on dietary supplements based on brand name, active ingredients, manufacturer and even intended use. The information available may include adverse effects, mechanism of action and FDA warnings and recalls.
- Keywords: alternative medicine | dietary supplements | drugs | herbs | open access | products
- 7. Drug Information Pathfinder
- Provider: U.S. Food and Drug Administration
- Contents: free , full text , government documents , links , monographs , quick reference
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: From this starting point, find a link to the U.S. Pharmacopeia updates and revisions, as well as information about new pending and non-U.S. standards. The full text of the "Orange Book" of approved drug products is accessible from here, under the Generic Drugs heading. Additional sections provide guidance on the drug approval application process, best practices in manufacturing and clinical trials, consumer advice, information on over-the-counter drugs, and more.
- Keywords: clinical trials | drugs | federal agencies | law | marketing | open access | pharmaceutical | pharmacy | standards
- 8. Drug Resource Center
- Provider: AETNA Intelihealth
- Contents: free , patient education , quick reference
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: This section of the Aetna InteliHealth site provides articles on condition-specific drug issues. An editorial faculty from Harvard Medical School assures the accuracy and relevance of information presented by this website.
- Keywords: consumer health | drugs | open access | pharmaceutical
- 9. DrugBank
- Provider: University of Alberta
- Contents: chemical compounds , chemical structure , free , full text , links , open access , reference , sequencing data
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: Bioinformatics and cheminformatics resource that combines detailed drug (chemical, pharmacological and pharmaceutical) data with comprehensive drug target (sequence, structure, and pathway) information. The database contains nearly 4300 drug entries including FDA-approved small molecule drugs, FDA-approved biotech (protein/peptide) drugs, nutraceuticals and experimental drugs. Additionally, more than 6,000 protein (i.e. drug target) sequences are linked to these drug entries. Each DrugCard entry contains more than 80 data fields with half of the information being devoted to drug/chemical data and the other half devoted to drug target or protein data.
- Keywords: bioinformatics | biomedical research | biotechnology | chemistry | drugs | open source | pharmacology
- 10. Epocrates Online®
- Provider: Epocrates, Inc.
- Contents: free , indexing , monographs , patient education
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: Epocrates Online is a database that (with the expected disclaimers and terms of use) provides useful and comprehensive information on pharmaceutical products at no cost to the user. Tabbed sections are provided on drugs, diseases, drug interactions and contraindications, and pill identification. A paid subscription is required for access to MedCalc and another section providing clinical tables/guidelines. Free registration is required to use Epocrates. A free mobile version is also available for download. Subscription information is easy to find on the website.
- Keywords: drugs | open access | pharmaceutical | pharmacy
- 11. Health Source: Consumer Edition (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: abstracts , e-books , full text , indexing
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Provides information on many health topics: medical sciences, food science and nutrition, child care, sports medicine and general health. Features searchable full text for nearly 190 journals, as well as abstracts and indexing for over 200 general health, nutrition and professional health care publications. Also included are USP Pharmacopoeia DI: Volume II Advice for the Lay Patient and 20 health research books, including books published by the People's Medical Society.
- Keywords: consumer health | diet | drugs | general health | nutrition | sports medicine
- 12. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing , reference
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on various medical disciplines and features abstracts and indexing for 850 journals, with coverage of nursing and allied health being particularly strong, including full text from many nursing journals. In addition, this database includes Clinical Pharmacology, which provides access to up-to-date, concise and clinically relevant drug monographs for all U.S. prescription drugs, hard-to-find herbal and nutritional supplements, over-the-counter products and new drugs. Full text information in this database dates as far back as 1975.
- Keywords: allied health | drugs | medicine | nursing
- 13. International Pharmaceutical Abstracts
- Provider: OVID
- Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Provides international coverage of pharmaceutical science and health related literature from 1970 to the present, and is updated monthly. Comprehensive information is included for drug therapy, toxicity, and pharmacy practice as well as legislation, regulation, technology, utilization, biopharmaceutics, information processing, education, economics, and ethics as related to pharmaceutical science and practice.
- Keywords: drugs | ethics | law | office practice | pharmaceutical | pharmacy | toxicology
- 14. LactMed: Drugs and Lactation Database
- Provider: National Library of Medicine
- Contents: free , full text , patient education
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: A peer-reviewed and fully referenced database of drugs to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed. Among the data included are maternal and infant levels of drugs, possible effects on breastfed infants and on lactation, and alternate drugs to consider.
- Keywords: drugs | open access | women
- 15. MD Consult
- Provider: Elsevier
- Contents: abstracts , CME , e-books , full text , indexing , patient education , practice guidelines , reference , textbooks
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: MD Consult is a database of clinical point-of-care resources. This subscription includes full-text access to over 50 medical reference books covering a wealth of specialties; browsable access to a large journal collection and to 35 Clinics of North America titles; drug information from Gold Standard; more than 1,000 practice guidelines; and thousands of customizable patient education handouts. It offers the option to create personal accounts and participate in CME activities, and includes a news section. Available to Educational level users.
- Keywords: drugs | medicine | pharmaceutical | point-of-care
- 16. Medical Letter, The
- Provider: The Medical Letter, Inc.
- Contents: CME , full text , handbook , practice guidelines , reference , research tools
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: This database contains The Medical Letter on Drugs and Therapeutics, a searchable current database featuring biweekly updates. Archived information dates back to 1988. Also included: the database Treatment Guidelines from The Medical Letter, which includes guidelines from 2002 through the present; Adverse Drug Reactions Program, a proprietary, evidence-based database of drug interactions, updated frequently and searchable for up to 12 drugs simultaneously; and the Handbook of Antimicrobial Therapy, 17th ed. (2005.) Also available are ACCME/ACPE/AAFP-accredited CME's. PDA access is also supported, for Palm OS users only. Please contact the Circulation Desk staff for details on getting started with PDA and CME.
- Keywords: drugs | PDA access | pharmaceutical | pharmacology
- 17. MedlinePlus
- Provider: National Library of Medicine
- Contents: dictionary , encyclopedia , free , full text , illustrations , links , news
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: Provides information from the National Institutes of Health and other trusted sources on more than 700 diseases and conditions; includes lists of hospitals and physicians, a medical encyclopedia and a medical dictionary, health information in Spanish, extensive information on prescription and nonprescription drugs, health information from the media, and links to thousands of clinical trials.
- Keywords: clinical trials | consumer health | drugs | healthcare | open access
- 18. Merck Manuals Online Medical Library- Home Edition
- Provider: Merck & Co., Inc.
- Contents: free , full text , glossary of terms , illustrations , manual , quick reference , reference , tables of contents
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: This manual is an invaluable resource for the layman, explaining medical conditions from every aspect, with introductions giving background information on the biology of body systems and organs, and providing supporting anatomical and 3-D visual aids. Of particular value is the Drugs section, with information on pharmacokinetics, drug interaction and adverse reactions, herbal supplements and over-the-counter drugs. The Special Subjects area contains sections on medical decision-making, limb prosthetics, travel medicine, women's health, alternative and complementary medicines, and more.
- Keywords: consumer health | drugs | medicine
- 19. Natural & Alternative Treatments (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: full text , monographs , patient education , reference
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Detailed information on: more than 180 different conditions and the conventional and natural treatments used to treat them; over 200 herbs and supplements; and drug-herb and drug-supplement interactions for more than 75 drug categories can be found in this database.
- Keywords: alternative medicine | botanical | consumer health | diet | dietary supplements | drugs | herbs
- 20. NLM Drug Information Portal
- Provider: National Library of Medicine
- Contents: federated search , free , government documents , links , news , open access , reference , websites
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: This resource provides the public, healthcare professionals and researchers with a gateway to current and accurate drug information from the National Library of Medicine, as well as links to drug information from other key government agencies, PubMed and MedlinePlus.
- Keywords: consumer health | drugs | gateway | government | journal | open access | portal | toxicology
- 21. Nursing Reference Center
- Provider: EBSCO
- Contents: CME , e-books , full text , links to full text , news , patient education , reference
- Access Levels: Clinical Partner , Educational
- Descriptions: A comprehensive, point-of-care resource for nursing, Nursing Reference Center draws search results in part from Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses; AHFS Drug Information Essentials; Diseases and Disorders: A Nursing Therapeutics Manual; Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary; and Davis's Comprehensive Handbook of Laboratory & Diagnostic Tests with Nursing Implications. Nursing Reference Center includes: "quick lessons" on diseases and disorders; evidence-based care sheets; practice guidelines; patient education sheets, some available in Spanish; CE modules; news; research instruments; and information on legal cases. Nursing Reference Center provides direct access to full text articles found in CINAHL. First-time users are encouraged to "take the tour" on the database's home page (FlashPlayer required) to learn more.
- Keywords: clinical practice guidelines | drugs | evidence-based | journal | legal | monographs | nursing | point-of-care
- 22. OMMBID (Online Metabolic & Molecular Bases of Inherited Disease)
- Provider: McGraw-Hill
- Contents: charts and graphs , e-books , full text , illustrations , images , textbooks
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Scriver’s OMMBID,updated several times a year, provides online access to the leading genetic information from renowned international experts. The site now features a researchers' blog, podcasts, the ability to limit searches to images and tables, creation of personal storage and bookmarking.
- Keywords: drugs | genetics | medicine
- 23. Orphanet: the Portal for Rare Diseases and Orphan Drugs
- Provider: Orphanet and funding organizations
- Contents: brief records , directory , encyclopedia , free , indexing , open access , reference
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: Orphanet is a portal to regularly-updated information on rare diseases, disorders and syndromes and related "orphan" drug, clinical research and trial, genetic and diagnostic information and includes an encyclopedia and other resources for patients. Orphanet was originally begun and funded in 1997 by the French Ministry of Health and INSERM (Institut National de la Santé et de la Recherche Médicale.) Funding and information-gathering are accomplished and sponsored by various relevant, authoritative European and national organizations.
- Keywords: drugs | genetics | open access | syndrome
- 24. Salud en Espanol (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: abstracts , encyclopedia , full text , indexing , monographs , news , reference
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Provides an interface designed for the consumer of Spanish-language health care information, with convenient access to the same health and medical information found in the Consumer Health Complete database.
- Keywords: consumer health | drugs | herbs | journal
- 25. UpToDate
- Provider: UpToDate.com
- Contents: abstracts , CME , full text , indexing , quick reference
- Access Level: Provided only for a specific user group- see database description for details.
- Descriptions: This evidence-based resource is designed for use at the point of care, with topic reviews provided by nearly 3,000 physicians. Information presented is peer-reviewed. Provides access to current information within defined specialties; helps clinicians recognize the clinical manifestations of a wide variety of disorders and describes current options for diagnosis, management and therapy, including drug efficacy, dosage and interactions; and also assists with the identification of optimal screening and prevention strategies. NOTES: FOR BAYLOR USERS: Please go to your ERC's (Education Resource Center's) database list to use UpToDate. FOR ALL USERS: There is no Remote Access Service available for this resource. Access is available at UTHSC TMC campus locations and at HAM-TMC Library.
- Keywords: diagnosis | drugs | evidence-based medicine | pharmaceutical | physicians | point-of-care









