A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z
HAM-TMC Library
Databases
Our databases contain a wide variety of medical information resources: journal articles, statistics, images, government information, and more. Browse the alphabetical list of database titles or search for terms that appear in the database descriptions.Search:
"evidence-based medicine" Databases
The Library has 211 databases and
14 under evidence-based medicine"
- 1. AccessMedicine
- Provider: McGraw-Hill
- Contents: e-books , full text , images , reference , textbooks , videos
- Access Levels: Clinical Partner , Educational
- Descriptions: An integrated clinical database, featuring daily updates, that quickly pulls information from a pool of over 50 trusted medical texts, a drug index, a diagnostic tool and an image and video library. Also contains patient handouts. This resource is available to Educational and Clinical Partner users.
- Keywords: clinical | database | diagnosis | drugs | e-books | evidence-based medicine | medicine | point-of-care | video
- 2. ACP Medicine (STAT!Ref -- TexShare)
- Provider: WebMD and The American College of Physicians via STAT!Ref
- Contents: CME , e-books , full text
- Access Levels: Clinical Partners via their portal page , Educational
- Descriptions: A peer-reviewed, evidence-based guide to clinical decision-making, ACP Medicine covers the 11 sub-specialties of internal medicine, along with other key topics. Individually-authored chapters on Clinical Essentials, Cardiovascular Medicine, Dermatology, Endocrinology, Gastroenterology, Hematology, Immunology/Allergy, Infectious Disease, Interdisciplinary Medicine, Metabolism, Nephrology, Neurology, Oncology, Psychiatry, Respiratory Medicine, Rheumatology, and Women's Health. Includes CME.
- Keywords: decision support | evidence-based medicine | internal medicine
- 3. ACP's PIER--Physician's Information and Education Resource (STAT!Ref -- TexShare)
- Provider: Teton Data Systems
- Contents: e-books , full text , handbook , patient education , websites
- Access Levels: Clinical Partners via their portal page , Educational
- Descriptions: Web-based, evidence-based guidance tool to improve clinical care. Disease topics are selected by the American College of Physicians (ACP), based on prevalence in clinical settings. Evidence for all diseases is evaluated; credibility of the evidence is displayed with a rating. Subcategories for each disease are: Prevention, Non-drug Therapy, Screening, Drug Therapy, Diagnosis, Patient Education, Consultation for Diagnosis, Consultation for Management, Hospitalization, Follow-up. PIER includes AHFS DI® Essentials, with drug information monographs drawn from evidence-based guidelines in the full AHFS DI® database; distills information on prescription and key over-the-counter (OTC) drugs in a structured outline format.
- Keywords: clinical evidence | drugs | evidence-based medicine | internal medicine | physicians | point-of-care
- 4. BestBETS: Best Evidence Topics
- Provider: Manchester Royal Infirmary, Manchester, UK
- Contents: free , full text
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: The BestBETS system was begun in 1996 to address the need for an evidence-based practice tool in the field of Emergency Medicine. Creating a BET (Best Evidence Topic) means following a well-defined set of rules that guide one to formulate effective questions, define the clinical scenario, develop a search strategy and record the search outcome. Literature appraisal results in the assignment of levels of evidence. These guidelines have been published in such journals as Emergency Medicine Journal, Archives of Disease in Childhood, and Interactive Cardiovascular and Thoracic Surgery.
- Keywords: clinical evidence | emergency medicine | evidence-based medicine | open access | point-of-care
- 5. CKS - Clinical Knowledge Summaries
- Provider: National Library for Health, National Health Service, UK
- Contents: free , full text , links
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: This evidence-based care tool provides the practitioner with "a reliable source of evidence-based information and practical 'know how' about the common conditions managed in primary care." For each topic, information is provided on scope and age range, how recently the topic and the supporting evidence have been updated, background, diagnosis and management information on the condition, the recommended prescribing information, and (for users in the UK) links out to the full text of articles cited. Patient information handouts are also provided. A free registration allows the user to customize the resource according to preference.
- Keywords: evidence-based medicine | open access
- 6. Clin-eguide: Clinical Decision Support
- Provider: OVID
- Contents: e-books , full text , handbook , patient education , practice guidelines , quick reference , textbooks
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Clin-eguide is a clinical decision support system that combines clinical disease management, drug therapy and laboratory testing information in a single resource. It provides both patient- and disease-specific recommendations, taking into account patient status and concomitant conditions, and prompts the clinician to consider issues that may influence individual patient outcome. Clin-eguide is extensively and systematically researched and updated. It draws information from Evidence-Based Guidelines, Nursing Advisor, Facts & Comparisons drug information, national guidelines, the Cancer Chemotherapy Manual and many other sources, and includes patient handouts. The mobile version is compatible with Palm OS, Windows Mobile, Blackberry and iPhone. To get started with the mobile version, click "MyPDA" in the line of links at top right of the first screen, and register. Your "serial number" entry key will be emailed to you within a few minutes. If you don't receive it within a reasonable time, re-register.
- Keywords: clinical evidence | clinical practice guidelines | decision support | drugs | evidence-based medicine | nursing | pharmaceutical | physicians | point-of-care
- 7. Clinical Queries (PubMed)
- Provider: National Institutes of Health/National Library of Medicine
- Contents: abstracts , citations , free , indexing , links to full text
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: A specialized PubMed search interface that affords an easier, more focused access to clinical studies, systematic reviews and medical genetics information.
- Keywords: clinical evidence | clinical studies | clinical trials | decision support | evidence-based medicine | genetics | open access | point-of-care | systematic reviews
- 8. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews - EBM Reviews
- Provider: OVID
- Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing
- Access Levels: Clinical Partner , Educational
- Descriptions: Includes the full text of the regularly updated systematic reviews of the effects of healthcare prepared by The Cochrane Collaboration. Reviews are presented in two types: complete reviews- regularly updated Cochrane Reviews, prepared and maintained by Collaborative Review Groups; and protocols- the background, objectives and methods of reviews in preparation. This database is updated and amended regularly, as new evidence becomes available and errors are identified. For a brief guide to searching any Ovid database, access the full list of available databases by clicking "Change Databases," and click the "i" (information) logo next to its title.
- Keywords: clinical evidence | clinical studies | clinical trials | evidence-based medicine | point-of-care | systematic reviews
- 9. National Guideline Clearinghouse
- Provider: Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality
- Contents: free , full text , links to full text , open access , practice guidelines , summaries
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: National Guideline Clearinghouse™ (NGC) is a comprehensive database of evidence-based clinical practice guidelines and related documents, updated weekly. Summaries with links to full text. User-friendly features of the site include: summaries available for download to hand-held devices; a guideline comparison utility for the end user; guideline syntheses prepared by NGC staff; an expert commentary feature from the editorial board; and an annotated bibliography of resources about guidelines- their development, methodology, structure, evaluation and implementation.
- Keywords: clinical evidence | clinical practice guidelines | evidence-based medicine | open access | PDA access
- 10. Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database
- Provider: Therapeutic Research Faculty
- Contents: abstracts , CME , full text , indexing , patient education
- Access Levels: Clinical Partner , Educational
- Descriptions: Updated daily, Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database provides clinically relevant information in an easy-to-use format. Product search is available from any page; click a button to get a patient handout for any product, or click references to see abstracts of articles. Supports PDA access for Palm OS or Windows mobile PDA, except for Smartphones.
- Keywords: dietary supplements | evidence-based medicine | herbs | PDA access | pharmacology | products
- 11. OncologyStat
- Provider: Elsevier
- Contents: free , full text , interactive , patient education , reference , videos
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: From the website: "OncologySTAT integrates a multitude of authoritative professional cancer information sources, such as peer-reviewed research, news and regulatory updates, a professional drug monograph and interactions database, chemotherapy regimens, and conference coverage into one easy-to-use online destination. Information and educational materials are delivered across multiple media formats: text, audio, video, interactive, user-generated forums, etc. Community oncologists and cancer-care practitioners in private practice or a non-institutional setting will find OncologySTAT especially useful in gaining immediate integrated access to the latest evidence-based research, news, treatment, and decision support information." Note: Free registration is required to access full text articles and to contribute comments to blogs in this database.
- Keywords: cancer | clinical trials | database | decision support | evidence-based medicine | oncology | open access
- 12. SUMSearch
- Provider: University of Texas Health Science Center - San Antonio
- Contents: free , full text , links , search engine
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: Searches free Web sources for evidence-based health care information (PubMed, including Cochrane Systematic Reviews, National Guideline Clearinghouse and the Merck Index.) SumSearch groups results by category: reviews, practice guidelines, systematic reviews and research articles.
- Keywords: education | evidence-based | evidence-based medicine | medicine | open access
- 13. TRIP Database: the search engine for Evidence-Based Medicine
- Provider: TRIP Knowledge Services
- Contents: e-books , free , full text , images , patient education , websites
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: Openly accessible database that simultaneously searches evidence-based resources: systematic reviews, Medline's Clinical Queries, practice guidelines, e-books, images, and patient information handouts. From the website: "The aims of the TRIP Database have remained the same since 1997 - allow health professionals to easily find the highest-quality material available on the web - to help support evidence based practice... The evolution of the TRIP Database has been guided by the desire to answer real clinical questions using the principles of evidence-based medicine."
- Keywords: evidence-based medicine | medicine | open access | systematic reviews
- 14. UpToDate
- Provider: UpToDate.com
- Contents: abstracts , CME , full text , indexing , quick reference
- Access Level: Provided only for a specific user group- see database description for details.
- Descriptions: This evidence-based resource is designed for use at the point of care, with topic reviews provided by nearly 3,000 physicians. Information presented is peer-reviewed. Provides access to current information within defined specialties; helps clinicians recognize the clinical manifestations of a wide variety of disorders and describes current options for diagnosis, management and therapy, including drug efficacy, dosage and interactions; and also assists with the identification of optimal screening and prevention strategies. NOTES: FOR BAYLOR USERS: Please go to your ERC's (Education Resource Center's) database list to use UpToDate. FOR ALL USERS: There is no Remote Access Service available for this resource. Access is available at UTHSC TMC campus locations and at HAM-TMC Library.
- Keywords: diagnosis | drugs | evidence-based medicine | pharmaceutical | physicians | point-of-care




