A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z
HAM-TMC Library
Databases
Our databases contain a wide variety of medical information resources: journal articles, statistics, images, government information, and more. Browse the alphabetical list of database titles or search for terms that appear in the database descriptions.Search:
"genetics" Databases
The Library has 211 databases and
12 under genetics"
- 1. ALFRED: The Allele Frequency Database
- Provider: Kenneth K Kidd, Yale University
- Contents: charts and graphs , free , links , research tools
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: From the website: "ALFRED's focus is on allele frequencies in diverse anthropologically defined populations. It is not a compendium of human DNA polymorphisms but of frequencies of selected polymorphisms with an emphasis on those that have been studied in multiple populations. All of the data in ALFRED are considered to be in the public domain and available for use in research and teaching."
- Keywords: genetics | genotype | statistical
- 2. BLAST (NCBI)
- Provider: National Center for Biotechnology Information
- Contents: free , illustrations , open access , open-source software , research tools , sequencing data
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: "The Basic Local Alignment Search Tool (BLAST) finds regions of local similarity between sequences. The program compares nucleotide or protein sequences to sequence databases and calculates the statistical significance of matches. BLAST can be used to infer functional and evolutionary relationships between sequences as well as help identify members of gene families."
- Keywords: biomedical research | data analysis | DNA | genetics | genome | open access | open source | proteins | sequencing
- 3. Clinical Queries (PubMed)
- Provider: National Institutes of Health/National Library of Medicine
- Contents: abstracts , citations , free , indexing , links to full text
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: A specialized PubMed search interface that affords an easier, more focused access to clinical studies, systematic reviews and medical genetics information.
- Keywords: clinical evidence | clinical studies | clinical trials | decision support | evidence-based medicine | genetics | open access | point-of-care | systematic reviews
- 4. Cold Spring Harbor Protocols
- Provider: Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory Press
- Contents: full text , protocols
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Cold Spring Harbor Protocols is an interactive source of new and classic research techniques. The database is searchable by keyword and subject, and includes discussion forums and personal folders. Its coverage includes cell and molecular biology, genetics, bioinformatics, protein science, and imaging. Protocols will be continuously expanded, updated, and annotated by the originators and users of the techniques.
- Keywords: bioinformatics | biology | genetics | medical imaging | proteins
- 5. dbGaP (Database of Genotypes and Phenotypes)
- Provider: National Center for Biotechnology Information
- Contents: free , open access , partial open access , research tools , sequencing data
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: In dbGaP, NCBI archives and distributes the results of studies investigating the interaction of genotype and phenotype. Genome-wide association studies, medical sequencing, molecular diagnostic assays, and associations between genotype and non-clinical traits are covered. dbGaP contains both open- and controlled-access data. Non-sensitive data are released on a broad scale, but sensitive data sets involving personal health information are not publicly accessible. Search by study or disease, or use Advanced Search.
- Keywords: biology | database | genetics | genome | genomics | life sciences | open access
- 6. Eye Pathologist, The
- Provider: Duke University Medical Center
- Contents: free , glossary of terms , images , open access , reference
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: The Eye Pathologist is a web-based instructional database on the anatomy and pathology of the eye, a teaching and reference tool for medical students and professionals. This database contains more than 4,000 images and deals with more than 5,000 diseases affecting vision and the eye. It also includes links to a glossary of over 6,000 definitions. For the present, the database is free, although complete utilization of all features does require a free registration.
- Keywords: education | eye | genetics | microbiology | open access | ophthalmology | parasitology | pathogenesis | physicians | student | syndrome
- 7. Genetics Home Reference
- Provider: National Library of Medicine
- Contents: free , full text , glossary of terms , handbook , illustrations , patient education , summaries
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: The National Library of Medicine's web site for consumer information about genetic conditions and the genes or chromosomes responsible for those conditions. Includes condition, gene, and chromosome summaries, the Help Me Understand Genetics Handbook (with basic explanations of how genes work, genetic testing, and the Human Genome Project) and a glossary of genetic and medical terms.
- Keywords: genetics | mutation | open access
- 8. OMMBID (Online Metabolic & Molecular Bases of Inherited Disease)
- Provider: McGraw-Hill
- Contents: charts and graphs , e-books , full text , illustrations , images , textbooks
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Scriver’s OMMBID,updated several times a year, provides online access to the leading genetic information from renowned international experts. The site now features a researchers' blog, podcasts, the ability to limit searches to images and tables, creation of personal storage and bookmarking.
- Keywords: drugs | genetics | medicine
- 9. Orphanet: the Portal for Rare Diseases and Orphan Drugs
- Provider: Orphanet and funding organizations
- Contents: brief records , directory , encyclopedia , free , indexing , open access , reference
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: Orphanet is a portal to regularly-updated information on rare diseases, disorders and syndromes and related "orphan" drug, clinical research and trial, genetic and diagnostic information and includes an encyclopedia and other resources for patients. Orphanet was originally begun and funded in 1997 by the French Ministry of Health and INSERM (Institut National de la Santé et de la Recherche Médicale.) Funding and information-gathering are accomplished and sponsored by various relevant, authoritative European and national organizations.
- Keywords: drugs | genetics | open access | syndrome
- 10. Public Library of Science (PLoS)
- Provider: Public Library of Science
- Contents: free , full text
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: In 2003, PLoS launched a nonprofit scientific and medical publishing venture that provides scientists and physicians with high-quality, high-profile journals in which to publish their most important work; under the open access model, PLoS journals are immediately available online, with no charge for access and no restrictions on subsequent redistribution or use, as long as the author(s) and source are cited in the manner specified by its Creative Commons Attribution License.
- Keywords: biology | creative commons | genetics | infectious disease | journal | life sciences | medicine | multidisciplinary | open access | research | science | scientist
- 11. STAT!Ref (TexShare)
- Provider: Teton Data Systems
- Contents: e-books , full text , handbook , reference , tables of contents , textbooks
- Access Levels: Clinical Partners via their portal page , Educational
- Descriptions: Cross-searchable healthcare reference that integrates core electronic book titles with evidence-based resources and innovative tools. Includes numerous titles selected for the Doody’s Core Titles List (DCT), as well as many titles from the Brandon-Hill medical librarians’ list. Titles include the latest editions of ACS Surgery: Principles and Practice, Goodman and Gilman's The Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics, and Hurst's The Heart.
- Keywords: books | communicable diseases | evidence-based | genetics | ICD-9 | infectious disease | internal medicine | medical coding | medicine | nursing | office practice | pediatrics | physicians | surgery
- 12. UniProt
- Provider: UniProt Consortium
- Contents: citations , cross reference , free , glossary of terms , index , open access , research tools , sequencing data
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: "The mission of UniProt is to provide the scientific community with a comprehensive, high-quality and freely accessible resource of protein sequence and functional information." Available material consists of: UniProtKB, a two-section protein knowledge base consisting of SwissProt (reviewed and annotated manually) and TrEMBL (not reviewed, annotated automatically;) UniRef (sequence clusters;) UniParc (a sequence archive for tracking sequences and identifiers;) and the supporting data (literature citations, taxonomy, keywords, nomenclature, guidelines and indexes.) A user manual and primer on annotation are provided as well. UniProt is distributed free under a Creative Commons attribution license. Updates happen frequently and it appears the updates must be retrieved from the website.
- Keywords: biomedical research | genetics | ontology | open access | proteins | scientist | sequencing | taxonomy







