A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z
HAM-TMC Library
Databases
Our databases contain a wide variety of medical information resources: journal articles, statistics, images, government information, and more. Browse the alphabetical list of database titles or search for terms that appear in the database descriptions.Search:
"medicine" Databases
The Library has 211 databases and
28 under medicine"
- 1. AccessMedicine
- Provider: McGraw-Hill
- Contents: e-books , full text , images , reference , textbooks , videos
- Access Levels: Clinical Partner , Educational
- Descriptions: An integrated clinical database, featuring daily updates, that quickly pulls information from a pool of over 50 trusted medical texts, a drug index, a diagnostic tool and an image and video library. Also contains patient handouts. This resource is available to Educational and Clinical Partner users.
- Keywords: clinical | database | diagnosis | drugs | e-books | evidence-based medicine | medicine | point-of-care | video
- 2. BioMed Central
- Provider: BioMed Central
- Contents: abstracts , free , interactive , news , partial open access , research tools , videos , websites
- Access Levels: Clinical Partner , Educational , Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: All the research articles published in BioMed Central's more than 160 journals are open access, but other articles in a minority of BMC's journals are available only by subscription. BioMed Central also provides various additional products and services for subscribers only. Because BioMed Central views open access to research as essential to ensure the rapid and efficient communication of research findings, original research articles are made freely and permanently accessible online immediately upon publication.
- Keywords: biomedical research | journal | medicine | open access | research | science
- 3. Digital Commons@The Texas Medical Center
- Provider: HAM-TMC Library
- Contents: archive , bibliographic records , dissertation , free , full text , open access , thesis
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: Digital Commons is the institutional repository for research work produced by TMC faculty, researchers, and students. It is an open access digital library containing preprints, postprints, datasets, conference proceedings, working papers, teaching materials, dissertations, and more.
- Keywords: digital | dissertations | e-prints | medicine | nursing | open access | publishing
- 4. Exam Master (USMLE)
- Provider: Exam Master Corp.
- Contents: test questions
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Exam Master's question bank contains exam practice material for: USMLE Steps 1, 2 and 3; Medical Board Exams, including family practice, internal medicine, and surgery; several medical specialties, including anatomy, microbiology and physiology; and Part I of the National Board Dental Exam. Users register via Remote Access at Exam Master, and set up personal logins in order to create and save their exam questions in the Exam Master database. To register or access your account, log in to your Remote Access account first. Follow the link that says, "Not registered yet?" if you are a new user. The publisher recommends new users take the tutorial they are presented with on first login, before proceeding to select their exam materials.
- Keywords: medicine | tests | USMLE
- 5. Faculty of 1000 Medicine
- Provider: BioMed Central
- Contents: abstracts , citations , summaries
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Aimed at clinicians (highlighting evidence that questions current clinical practice) and researchers (highlighting important areas of research and drawing attention to new developments); provides a rapidly updated consensus map of the important papers and trends across medicine, including anesthesiology, cardiovascular disorders, diabetes and endocrinology, and evidence-based health care.
- Keywords: citation analysis | medicine | MedLine | periodicals | reviews
- 6. Health & Wellness Resource Center (TexShare)
- Provider: Gale
- Contents: citations , encyclopedia , full text , indexing , links , reference , websites
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Provides integrated access to medical, statistical, health and wellness information for consumers, students, and professionals; provides the Alternative Health Module. Includes the Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine. Delivers reference material as well as full-text magazines, journals, and pamphlets from a wide variety of medical sources. Also includes descriptions and links for some useful and appropriate Websites.
- Keywords: alternative medicine | consumer health | journal | medicine
- 7. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing , reference
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on various medical disciplines and features abstracts and indexing for 850 journals, with coverage of nursing and allied health being particularly strong, including full text from many nursing journals. In addition, this database includes Clinical Pharmacology, which provides access to up-to-date, concise and clinically relevant drug monographs for all U.S. prescription drugs, hard-to-find herbal and nutritional supplements, over-the-counter products and new drugs. Full text information in this database dates as far back as 1975.
- Keywords: allied health | drugs | medicine | nursing
- 8. images.MD, the online encyclopedia of medical images
- Provider: Current Medicine
- Contents: charts and graphs , illustrations , images , research tools , text
- Access Levels: Clinical Partner , Educational
- Descriptions: Compiles over 50,000 images in internal medicine, all derived from Current Medicine’s series of illustrated atlases. Each image is accompanied by detailed text written by over 2,000 contributing experts. Continually updated, with content added throughout the year. Detailed references accompany each image.
- Keywords: biomedical | internal medicine | medical imaging | medicine
- 9. MD Consult
- Provider: Elsevier
- Contents: abstracts , CME , e-books , full text , indexing , patient education , practice guidelines , reference , textbooks
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: MD Consult is a database of clinical point-of-care resources. This subscription includes full-text access to over 50 medical reference books covering a wealth of specialties; browsable access to a large journal collection and to 35 Clinics of North America titles; drug information from Gold Standard; more than 1,000 practice guidelines; and thousands of customizable patient education handouts. It offers the option to create personal accounts and participate in CME activities, and includes a news section. Available to Educational level users.
- Keywords: drugs | medicine | pharmaceutical | point-of-care
- 10. MedicLatina (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing , Spanish language interface
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Spanish language collection of medical research and investigative medicine journals, providing full text in Spanish to peer-reviewed medical journals. A wide range of topics is covered, including neuroscience, cardiology, nephrology, biomedicine, clinical research, pediatrics, human reproduction, clinical pathology, cancer research, and hematology. Publications covered in this database include Revista Medica del IMSS, Revista Mexicana de Patologia Clinica, Boletin Medico del Hospital Infantil de Mexico, Archivos de Neurociencias, Revista Biomedica, Veterinaria Mexico, and Salud Publica de Mexico.
- Keywords: journal | Latin America | medicine | peer review | physicians | research | scientist | Spanish
- 11. Medline (CSA)
- Provider: ProQuest
- Contents: abstracts , citations , index , indexing , links to full text , research tools
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE contains all records published in Index Medicus and since 2002, most citations previously included in separate NLM specialty databases such as SPACELINE and HISTLINE
- Keywords: allied health | dentistry | health sciences | journal | life sciences | medicine | pharmacology | physicians | science | scientist | veterinary medicine
- 12. Medline (EBSCO)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: abstracts , citations , index , indexing , links to full text , research tools
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: This bibliographic database provides information from the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, allied health, and the pre-clinical sciences. It is the electronic counterpart of Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and the International Nursing Index.
- Keywords: allied health | dentistry | health sciences | life sciences | medicine | pharmacology | physicians | science | scientist | veterinary medicine
- 13. Medline (PubMed)
- Provider: National Library of Medicine
- Contents: abstracts , free , index , indexing , links to full text , research tools
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: Bibliographic database providing information from the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, allied health, and the pre-clinical sciences; the electronic counterpart of Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and the International Nursing Index. PubMed is a service of the US National Library of Medicine that includes over 16 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. PubMed includes links to full text articles and other related resources.
- Keywords: allied health | dentistry | journal | life sciences | medicine | nursing | open access | pharmacology | physicians | science | scientist | veterinary medicine
- 14. Merck Manuals Online Medical Library- Home Edition
- Provider: Merck & Co., Inc.
- Contents: free , full text , glossary of terms , illustrations , manual , quick reference , reference , tables of contents
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: This manual is an invaluable resource for the layman, explaining medical conditions from every aspect, with introductions giving background information on the biology of body systems and organs, and providing supporting anatomical and 3-D visual aids. Of particular value is the Drugs section, with information on pharmacokinetics, drug interaction and adverse reactions, herbal supplements and over-the-counter drugs. The Special Subjects area contains sections on medical decision-making, limb prosthetics, travel medicine, women's health, alternative and complementary medicines, and more.
- Keywords: consumer health | drugs | medicine
- 15. Military & Government Collection (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing , monographs
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Offers current news pertaining to all branches of the military and includes cover-to-cover full text for nearly 300 academic journals and other periodicals. The database also includes full text for 245 pamphlets and offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 400 titles.
- Keywords: government | journal | medicine | military | technology | workforce
- 16. NCME TV
- Provider: Network for Continuing Medical Education
- Contents: CME , videos
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: NCME TV™ provides a variety of contemporary topics of interest to primary care physicians, hospitalists, and other specialists. NCME covers important CME topics, some of which are rarely covered by other CME providers. Each month, a new program is posted from one of the following categories: Masters Programs on Critical Topics in Medicine (grand-rounds style reviews of important topics in emergency medicine); State-Mandated CME Topics (needed for licensure in many states); Hospital Quality/Performance Issues;and Late-Breaking and Hot Topics. NCME is accredited by the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education to provide continuing medical education for physicians. All NCME programs are certified for AMA PRA Category 1 Credit™ on an hour-for-hour basis. (Some individual programs are supported by educational grants from industry.) See http://resource.library.tmc.edu/resources/ncme.cfm for clarification on how to register at the NCME TV website.
- Keywords: education | medicine | physicians | point-of-care | video
- 17. NLM Gateway: search engine for the resources of the National Library of Medicine
- Provider: National Library of Medicine
- Contents: federated search , free , government documents , indexing , partial full text , partial open access , search engine
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: The NLM Gateway is a Web-based system that lets users search simultaneously in multiple retrieval systems administered by the National Library of Medicine (NLM). Users of NLM services can initiate multi-database searches of many NLM information resources from this site.
- Keywords: biomedical | consumer health | medicine | MedLine | MeSH | multidisciplinary | NLM | open access | U.S. Government
- 18. OMMBID (Online Metabolic & Molecular Bases of Inherited Disease)
- Provider: McGraw-Hill
- Contents: charts and graphs , e-books , full text , illustrations , images , textbooks
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Scriver’s OMMBID,updated several times a year, provides online access to the leading genetic information from renowned international experts. The site now features a researchers' blog, podcasts, the ability to limit searches to images and tables, creation of personal storage and bookmarking.
- Keywords: drugs | genetics | medicine
- 19. Public Library of Science (PLoS)
- Provider: Public Library of Science
- Contents: free , full text
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: In 2003, PLoS launched a nonprofit scientific and medical publishing venture that provides scientists and physicians with high-quality, high-profile journals in which to publish their most important work; under the open access model, PLoS journals are immediately available online, with no charge for access and no restrictions on subsequent redistribution or use, as long as the author(s) and source are cited in the manner specified by its Creative Commons Attribution License.
- Keywords: biology | creative commons | genetics | infectious disease | journal | life sciences | medicine | multidisciplinary | open access | research | science | scientist
- 20. PubMed
- Provider: National Library of Medicine and National Center for Biotechnology Information
- Contents: abstracts , citations , free , indexing , links to full text , partial full text , reference
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: PubMed is a database of citations from the biomedical literature, including bibliographic information from MEDLINE, covering all aspects of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine and the preclinical sciences. MEDLINE contains bibliographic citations and author abstracts from more than 4,800 biomedical journals published in the United States and 70 other countries. The database contains over 14 million citations dating back to the mid-1960's. Articles in many languages are indexed, but all abstracts are in English. An excellent tutorial on using PubMed's many search refinements and features can be found by clicking here.
- Keywords: biomedical research | journal | life sciences | medicine | multidisciplinary | open access | research | scientist
- 21. PubMed Central
- Provider: National Library of Medicine
- Contents: archive , free , full text , open access
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: Digital archive of life sciences journal literature from the US National Institutes of Health (NIH). With PubMed Central, NLM took the lead in preserving and maintaining unrestricted access to electronic literature, just as it has done for decades with print biomedical literature. PubMed Central aims to fill the role of being a world-class library of the digital age, a repository of knowledge. The National Library of Medicine believes that providing free, unrestricted access to the material in PubMed Central is the best way to ensure the durability and utility of the archive as technology evolves.
- Keywords: allied health | digital | journal | medicine | open access
- 22. RePORTER (Report Expenditures and Results)
- Provider: National Institutes of Health
- Contents: abstracts , free , index
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: RePORTER is a module within NIH's Research Portfolio Online Reporting Tool, which provides access to reports, data, and analyses of NIH-funded research activities, including information on NIH expenditures and the results of NIH-supported research. RePORTER replaces the CRISP database, withdrawn in October 2009.
- Keywords: biomedical | biotechnology | federal agencies | grants | medicine | open access | research | scientist | U.S. Government
- 23. Science Citation Index (via Web of Science)
- Provider: Thomson
- Contents: abstracts , citations , full text , indexing
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: A multidisciplinary index to the scientific journal literature; indexes 5,900 journals across 150 scientific disciplines and includes all cited references captured from indexed articles. Provides access to current and retrospective data from 1900 to the present. Contains searchable, full-length English-language author abstracts for approximately 70% of the articles indexed, as well as links to full text. Covers the physical, earth and life sciences.
- Keywords: biology | medicine | multidisciplinary | science
- 24. Scopus
- Provider: Elsevier
- Contents: abstracts , charts and graphs , citations , full text , government documents , indexing , links to full text , proceedings , research tools , websites
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: SCOPUS contains millions of records from 15,000 publications in the health sciences (including 100% of the journals contained in Medline and EmBase), as well as chemistry, physics, mathematics, engineering, biology, agriculture, environmental sciences and the humanities. Link to full text articles from journals in the HAM-TMC Library's collection by clicking the HAM-TMC Library Find It! button. SCOPUS covers the proceedings of 750 conferences, and retrieves a separate set of relevant Web resources with every literature search. Another tab separates a set of patent results from U.S., U.K. and worldwide patent offices. SCOPUS includes a Journal Analyzer tool that graphs journals, singly or for comparison, from 1996 to present, showing total citations, number of articles published, total citations divided by number of articles, and the percentage of uncited articles. A search by affiliation is provided. Free login for authorized users provides additional advantages: a personal profile, with space to save lists of citations and track authors; a publication alerts service; and direct export to RefWorks, each with the user's own settings. For tutorials on searching and SCOPUS features, click here.
- Keywords: biology | biomedical research | chemistry | conference | internet | journal | life sciences | medicine | multidisciplinary | nursing | patents | pharmacology | science
- 25. STAT!Ref (TexShare)
- Provider: Teton Data Systems
- Contents: e-books , full text , handbook , reference , tables of contents , textbooks
- Access Levels: Clinical Partners via their portal page , Educational
- Descriptions: Cross-searchable healthcare reference that integrates core electronic book titles with evidence-based resources and innovative tools. Includes numerous titles selected for the Doody’s Core Titles List (DCT), as well as many titles from the Brandon-Hill medical librarians’ list. Titles include the latest editions of ACS Surgery: Principles and Practice, Goodman and Gilman's The Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics, and Hurst's The Heart.
- Keywords: books | communicable diseases | evidence-based | genetics | ICD-9 | infectious disease | internal medicine | medical coding | medicine | nursing | office practice | pediatrics | physicians | surgery
- 26. SUMSearch
- Provider: University of Texas Health Science Center - San Antonio
- Contents: free , full text , links , search engine
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: Searches free Web sources for evidence-based health care information (PubMed, including Cochrane Systematic Reviews, National Guideline Clearinghouse and the Merck Index.) SumSearch groups results by category: reviews, practice guidelines, systematic reviews and research articles.
- Keywords: education | evidence-based | evidence-based medicine | medicine | open access
- 27. TRIP Database: the search engine for Evidence-Based Medicine
- Provider: TRIP Knowledge Services
- Contents: e-books , free , full text , images , patient education , websites
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: Openly accessible database that simultaneously searches evidence-based resources: systematic reviews, Medline's Clinical Queries, practice guidelines, e-books, images, and patient information handouts. From the website: "The aims of the TRIP Database have remained the same since 1997 - allow health professionals to easily find the highest-quality material available on the web - to help support evidence based practice... The evolution of the TRIP Database has been guided by the desire to answer real clinical questions using the principles of evidence-based medicine."
- Keywords: evidence-based medicine | medicine | open access | systematic reviews
- 28. Wiley Interscience Journals
- Provider: Wiley InterScience
- Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing
- Access Levels: Clinical Partner , Educational
- Descriptions: This is the browse and search interface for Wiley Interscience journals.
- Keywords: biology | biomedical | journal | medicine | science








