A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z
HAM-TMC Library
Databases
Our databases contain a wide variety of medical information resources: journal articles, statistics, images, government information, and more. Browse the alphabetical list of database titles or search for terms that appear in the database descriptions.Search:
"multidisciplinary" Databases
The Library has 211 databases and
34 under multidisciplinary"
- 1. Academic Search Complete (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: abstracts , citations , full text
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Contains full text for nearly 4,650 serials and offers indexing and abstracts for more than 8,200 journals; this scholarly collection offers information in: computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
- Keywords: multidisciplinary | periodicals
- 2. Early Encounters in North America
- Provider: Alexander Street Press
- Contents: full text , illustrations , images , reference
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: This highly searchable database contains over 100,000 pages of letters, diaries, memoirs and accounts of "early encounters" with the humans, flora and fauna of North America, from explorers, missionaries and others new to the "New World." Many images are also included.
- Keywords: American history | biology | botany | culture | history | homework | multicultural | multidisciplinary | Native American
- 3. Early English Books Online
- Provider: ProQuest
- Contents: full text , images
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: "Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700 - from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War..." Historians of science and medicine may find useful material here.
- Keywords: books | digital | history | history of medicine | literature | multidisciplinary | research | science
- 4. EBSCOHost Espanol (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: abstracts , index , links , partial full text , research tools , Spanish language interface
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Spanish language version of the interface to multiple databases provided by EBSCO.
- Keywords: database | gateway | homework | multidisciplinary | periodicals | portal | Spanish
- 5. eLibrary Curriculum Edition (TexShare)
- Provider: ProQuest -- TexShare
- Contents: full text , illustrations , newspapers , websites
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Large collection of periodical and digital media content designed specifically for K-12 students. Powered by the MediaSeek® knowledge base of educational standards to supplement instruction and research. Contains more than 2,000 full-text magazines, newspapers, reference books, and transcripts-plus pictures, maps, educator-approved websites from Homework Central®, and audio/video content
- Keywords: general reference | homework | K-12 | kids | magazines | multidisciplinary
- 6. European Patent Office (esp@cenet)
- Provider: European Patent Office
- Contents: bibliographic records , free , government documents , illustrations , index , links , links to full text , open access
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: The European Patent Office (EPO) database actually includes records of patents worldwide, drawing its information also from WIPO (the World Intellectual Property Organization.) Unlike most patent databases, this one is very user-friendly, offering searches without the use of field tags. Search by keyword, author or organization; publication, application, priority or reference number; or search by EPO classification, which is based on the International Patent Classification system. The advanced search offers inclusive searching or limit to WIPO or EPO databases, and entry of up to ten specifics, including keyword. Relevant help information is offered in each screen. The Patent Information Tour (last link on the esp@cenet home page) offers several short video tutorials.
- Keywords: biomedical research | biotechnology | industry | medical devices | multidisciplinary | open access | patents | science | scientist
- 7. Fuente Academica (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: abstracts , citations , full text , Spanish language interface
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Collection of scholarly journals from Latin American and Spanish publishers, with full text content from the fields of business and economics, medical sciences, political science, law, computer science, library and information sciences, literature, linguistics, history, philosophy and theology. Database provides full text (including PDF) for about 260 scholarly Spanish language journals.
- Keywords: homework | Latin America | multicultural | multidisciplinary | periodicals | Spanish
- 8. Funk & Wagnall's New Encyclopedia
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: encyclopedia , full text , images , quick reference
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Indexes over 25,000 records, covering an array of topics, contains various images, and offers brief biographies as well as information on a variety of subject areas; updated annually.
- Keywords: homework | kids | monographs | multidisciplinary
- 9. Gale Virtual Reference Library (TexShare)
- Provider: Gale
- Contents: biographical , dictionary , e-books , encyclopedia , full text , indexing , reference , tables of contents , thesaurus
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: This is a large collection (approx. 150 titles) of Electronic Reference Books that can be searched simultaneously as a database, or singly. GVRL offers access to a wide spectrum of disciplines in multi-volume encyclopedias and other reference books, each focusing on an overview or an aspect of arts and humanities, medicine, social and "hard" sciences. These works are published by Gale and other established, well-known publishers, for instance Wiley, Cambridge and MacMillan.
- Keywords: general reference | multidisciplinary
- 10. GreenFile (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: abstracts , full text , images , indexing
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: GreenFILE covers human impact on the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green buildings, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling and more. Indexing and abstracts of more than 384,000 records, and full text of approximately 4,700 open access records.
- Keywords: biology | current events | environmental | general health | government | life sciences | multidisciplinary | policy | public health | society | student | toxins
- 11. JSTOR, the Scholarly Journal Archive
- Provider: JSTOR
- Contents: archive , full text , indexing
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: The JSTOR archive contains the complete digitized back runs of core scholarly journals in multiple disciplines, starting with the very first issues, some dating as far back as the 1600's. New titles and disciplines are added regularly. Via HAM-TMC Library the following collections are available: Arts and Sciences I-IV; Biological Sciences; Business I-II; Ecology & Botany; Health & General Sciences; and Language & Literature.
- Keywords: digital | journal | multidisciplinary
- 12. Kids Search (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: full text , illustrations , search engine
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Search interface designed specifically for elementary/middle school students' needs and search abilities. The Kids Search interface combines a search engine with a child-friendly, graphically rich design that is both powerful and fun to use. Important features and functionality of Kids Search include a completely new, visually appealing look and feel and the ability to search by topic, subtopic, or keywords.
- Keywords: homework | K-12 | kids | multidisciplinary
- 13. Legal Collection (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Collection of scholarly peer-reviewed publications including law journals, documents, and case studies, with information on current issues, studies, thoughts and trends of the legal world. Legal Collection offers full text for nearly 250 law journals and provides information centered on the discipline of law and legal topics such as criminal justice, international law, federal law, organized crime, medical, labor & human resource law, ethics, the environment and much more. Full text information in this database dates as far back as 1965.
- Keywords: criminal justice | law | legal | multidisciplinary | social sciences
- 14. MAS Ultra School Edition (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: encyclopedia , full text , images , maps , monographs , reference
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Contains full text for more than 700 popular magazines, including The Nation, National Review, New Republic, New Scientist, Science News, and Scientific American. All full text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full text is available for biographies and primary source documents. Also included are pamphlets, reference books (including the Columbia Encyclopedia, the CIA World Fact Book and World Almanac & Book of Facts), an image collection, maps & flags, color PDFs and expanded full text backfiles (back to 1975) for key magazines.
- Keywords: kids | magazines | multidisciplinary | research | student
- 15. MasterFILE Premier (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: abstracts , dictionary , e-books , indexing , maps , quick reference , reference , research tools
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Provides full text for more than 1,700 general periodicals covering a broad range of disciplines including general reference, business, education, health, general science, and multicultural issues. In addition to the full text, this database provides indexing and abstracts for nearly 2,400 titles. This database includes full text Magill Book Reviews, full text reference books including the World Almanac & Book of Facts; full text from biographies, full text primary source documents, American Heritage Dictionary, 4th Edition and an image collection of photos, maps and flags. Includes PDF backfiles as far back as 1975 for key publications.
- Keywords: general reference | multicultural | multidisciplinary | reviews | student
- 16. Nature.com Databases and Gateways
- Provider: Nature.com
- Contents: career and jobs , free , news , partial open access , protocols
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: Nature.com has developed a collection of subject portals to news, conferences and other related links, and recent Nature publications in various areas of interest to researchers, for example: neuroscience; specific areas of cell science; human signaling pathways; laboratory technologies and protocols; and climate change.
- Keywords: biology | biomedical | biomedical research | biotechnology | cell biology | communicable diseases | environmental | gateway | genomics | infectious disease | journal | multidisciplinary | neuroscience | portal | products | proteins | public health | social networking
- 17. NetLibrary E-Books Collection Basic Search Interface (TexShare)
- Provider: NetLibrary/OCLC -- TexShare
- Contents: bibliographic records , dictionary , e-books , full text , indexing , tables of contents
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Electronic book collection of more than 100,000 titles of trade, reference, science, technology and medicine content. Some content is free (out of copyright) and most is licensed by the State Library (TexShare) and restricted to Educational users.
- Keywords: books | e-books | multidisciplinary
- 18. NLM Gateway: search engine for the resources of the National Library of Medicine
- Provider: National Library of Medicine
- Contents: federated search , free , government documents , indexing , partial full text , partial open access , search engine
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: The NLM Gateway is a Web-based system that lets users search simultaneously in multiple retrieval systems administered by the National Library of Medicine (NLM). Users of NLM services can initiate multi-database searches of many NLM information resources from this site.
- Keywords: biomedical | consumer health | medicine | MedLine | MeSH | multidisciplinary | NLM | open access | U.S. Government
- 19. Nursing & Allied Health Source (ProQuest)
- Provider: ProQuest
- Contents: abstracts , dissertation , full text , indexing
- Access Levels: Clinical Partner , Educational
- Descriptions: This mostly full text database provides scholarly articles, dissertations, reports and evidence-based resources (notably from the Joanna Briggs Institute) supporting the study of nursing and the allied health professions, including physical therapy, radiography, dietetics, dental hygiene and the clinical laboratory sciences. Features "Study Paths" (collections of resources particularly relevant for either RN or LPN students); evidence summaries; MMWR reports on public health issues; and practice guidelines.
- Keywords: allied health | care | diet | evidence-based | health insurance | journal | medical imaging | multidisciplinary | nursing | nutrition | systematic reviews
- 20. PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) International
- Provider: ProQuest
- Contents: abstracts , bibliographies , full text , indexing , links , proceedings , websites
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Contains references to journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more. PAIS International includes publications from over 120 countries throughout the world. In addition to English, some of the indexed materials are published in French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish. Includes access to the PAIS Archive.
- Keywords: foreign policy | internet | journal | multicultural | multidisciplinary | peer review | policy | politics | public affairs | social sciences
- 21. Periodicals Archive Online
- Provider: ProQuest
- Contents: abstracts , archive , full text , indexing
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Contains full text of more than 500 journals, providing access to nearly 2 million articles and affording the user historical access to some of the most respected journals published in the humanities and social sciences.
- Keywords: culture | history | homework | humanities | journal | literature | multidisciplinary | reviews | social sciences
- 22. Primary Search (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: citations , full text , images
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Indexes nearly 70 popular elementary school magazines, with all full text articles (about a third of the material indexed) being assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 100 magazines. Full text is also available for over 100 student pamphlets. Examples of publications include: Boys’ Life, Cricket, Highlights for Children, Hopscotch, Jack & Jill, Ladybug, Ranger Rick, Science World, Spider, SuperScience, and Time for Kids. This database also provides the American Heritage Children’s Dictionary, 3rd Edition from Houghton Mifflin, and an image collection of 202,164 photos, maps and flags.
- Keywords: culture | K-12 | kids | multidisciplinary | search
- 23. Public Library of Science (PLoS)
- Provider: Public Library of Science
- Contents: free , full text
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: In 2003, PLoS launched a nonprofit scientific and medical publishing venture that provides scientists and physicians with high-quality, high-profile journals in which to publish their most important work; under the open access model, PLoS journals are immediately available online, with no charge for access and no restrictions on subsequent redistribution or use, as long as the author(s) and source are cited in the manner specified by its Creative Commons Attribution License.
- Keywords: biology | creative commons | genetics | infectious disease | journal | life sciences | medicine | multidisciplinary | open access | research | science | scientist
- 24. PubMed
- Provider: National Library of Medicine and National Center for Biotechnology Information
- Contents: abstracts , citations , free , indexing , links to full text , partial full text , reference
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: PubMed is a database of citations from the biomedical literature, including bibliographic information from MEDLINE, covering all aspects of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine and the preclinical sciences. MEDLINE contains bibliographic citations and author abstracts from more than 4,800 biomedical journals published in the United States and 70 other countries. The database contains over 14 million citations dating back to the mid-1960's. Articles in many languages are indexed, but all abstracts are in English. An excellent tutorial on using PubMed's many search refinements and features can be found by clicking here.
- Keywords: biomedical research | journal | life sciences | medicine | multidisciplinary | open access | research | scientist
- 25. Science Citation Index (via Web of Science)
- Provider: Thomson
- Contents: abstracts , citations , full text , indexing
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: A multidisciplinary index to the scientific journal literature; indexes 5,900 journals across 150 scientific disciplines and includes all cited references captured from indexed articles. Provides access to current and retrospective data from 1900 to the present. Contains searchable, full-length English-language author abstracts for approximately 70% of the articles indexed, as well as links to full text. Covers the physical, earth and life sciences.
- Keywords: biology | medicine | multidisciplinary | science
- 26. ScienceDirect
- Provider: Elsevier
- Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Search gateway to the Elsevier online journals and book series; titles accessible to HAM-TMC Library users are flanked by a green icon.
- Keywords: e-books | journal | multidisciplinary | peer review | science
- 27. Scitopia
- Provider: Scitopia.org
- Contents: federated search , free
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: Scitopia provides a free federated search engine drawing on the published literature of 21 science and technology societies. Search results are also drawn from U.S., European and Japanese patent databases and the U.S. Department of Energy's Information Bridge site. Among the disciplines covered are: acoustics, physics, geophysics, engineering, optics and applied mathematics. Scitopia is powered by Deep Web Technologies.
- Keywords: audiology | geoscience | mathematics | multidisciplinary | open access | optics | physics
- 28. Scopus
- Provider: Elsevier
- Contents: abstracts , charts and graphs , citations , full text , government documents , indexing , links to full text , proceedings , research tools , websites
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: SCOPUS contains millions of records from 15,000 publications in the health sciences (including 100% of the journals contained in Medline and EmBase), as well as chemistry, physics, mathematics, engineering, biology, agriculture, environmental sciences and the humanities. Link to full text articles from journals in the HAM-TMC Library's collection by clicking the HAM-TMC Library Find It! button. SCOPUS covers the proceedings of 750 conferences, and retrieves a separate set of relevant Web resources with every literature search. Another tab separates a set of patent results from U.S., U.K. and worldwide patent offices. SCOPUS includes a Journal Analyzer tool that graphs journals, singly or for comparison, from 1996 to present, showing total citations, number of articles published, total citations divided by number of articles, and the percentage of uncited articles. A search by affiliation is provided. Free login for authorized users provides additional advantages: a personal profile, with space to save lists of citations and track authors; a publication alerts service; and direct export to RefWorks, each with the user's own settings. For tutorials on searching and SCOPUS features, click here.
- Keywords: biology | biomedical research | chemistry | conference | internet | journal | life sciences | medicine | multidisciplinary | nursing | patents | pharmacology | science
- 29. Searchasaurus (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: encyclopedia , full text , illustrations , indexing
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Graphical search interface for EBSCO's general student resources, including Encyclopedia of Animals, Middle Search Plus, and Primary Search
- Keywords: K-12 | kids | multidisciplinary | student
- 30. Social Sciences Citation Index (Via Web of Science)
- Provider: Thomson
- Contents: abstracts , indexing , links to full text
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the social sciences; fully indexes more than 1,700 journals across 50 social sciences disciplines, and indexes individually selected, relevant items from over 3,300 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals. Disciplines covered include anthropology, linguistics, psychology, psychiatry, public health, social work, sociology, and substance abuse.
- Keywords: anthropology | criminal justice | journal | linguistics | multidisciplinary | psychiatry | psychology | public health | social sciences | social work | sociology
- 31. Spanish Language Interface to EBSCO Databases (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: citations , indexing
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Provides Spanish language interface for searching databases provided by EBSCO, including Academic Search Complete, Business Source Complete, Regional Business News and Medline.
- Keywords: business | general reference | multidisciplinary | Spanish
- 32. Statistical Abstract of the United States
- Provider: U. S. Census Bureau
- Contents: free , reference , statistics , websites
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: Data presented here ranges from the most recent edition (2006) to the historical abstracts compiled throughout the decades (1878-1900). Some of the data has been scanned in an effort to make historical abstract information available to the public. Updated data will continue to be added as more historical records become available.
- Keywords: federal agencies | general reference | history | multidisciplinary | social sciences | statistical | U.S. Government
- 33. Student Research Center Interface (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: abstracts , full text , illustrations , images , indexing , reference
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: EBSCO's Student Research Center (SRC) makes it easy for students to search by keyword or by topic to find the most useful search results. Results can be easily sorted by source type: magazines, reference books, photos, flags, etc.
- Keywords: K-12 | kids | magazines | multidisciplinary
- 34. Web of Science
- Provider: Thomson
- Contents: citations , impact factors , index , links to full text , research tools
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: This is the portal to two citation databases, Science Citation Index and Social Sciences Citation Index. (We no longer subscribe to Arts & Humanities Citation Index.) Journal Citation Reports also resides here in ISI Web of Knowledge. Some free resources for researchers are also included: ISI Highly Cited, a database identifying (via citation data) the top researchers currently publishing; ResearcherID, an index to author information; the RSS-capable, customizable Knowledge Link Newsletter; and more. To register free for a training session, click here.
- Keywords: biomedical research | life sciences | multidisciplinary | science | scientist





