A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z
HAM-TMC Library
Databases
Our databases contain a wide variety of medical information resources: journal articles, statistics, images, government information, and more. Browse the alphabetical list of database titles or search for terms that appear in the database descriptions.Search:
"nursing" Databases
The Library has 211 databases and
13 under nursing"
- 1. Books@Ovid
- Provider: OVID
- Contents: e-books , full text
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: This browsable, searchable database of electronic books includes a collection of nursing volumes from Lippincott, Williams and Wilkins and the Oxford Textbook of Medicine. All displayed titles are accessible in full text.
- Keywords: nursing
- 2. CINAHL Plus with Full Text
- Provider: EBSCO
- Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing
- Access Levels: Clinical Partners via their portal page , Educational
- Descriptions: CINAHL Plus with Full Text is the comprehensive index to nursing and allied health articles, and contains cover-to-cover, current full text for more than 400 of the top journals indexed. Also provides more than 600,000 historical full-text articles dating back to 1937. A tutorial for the CINAHL interface is available here.
- Keywords: allied health | nursing
- 3. Clin-eguide: Clinical Decision Support
- Provider: OVID
- Contents: e-books , full text , handbook , patient education , practice guidelines , quick reference , textbooks
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Clin-eguide is a clinical decision support system that combines clinical disease management, drug therapy and laboratory testing information in a single resource. It provides both patient- and disease-specific recommendations, taking into account patient status and concomitant conditions, and prompts the clinician to consider issues that may influence individual patient outcome. Clin-eguide is extensively and systematically researched and updated. It draws information from Evidence-Based Guidelines, Nursing Advisor, Facts & Comparisons drug information, national guidelines, the Cancer Chemotherapy Manual and many other sources, and includes patient handouts. The mobile version is compatible with Palm OS, Windows Mobile, Blackberry and iPhone. To get started with the mobile version, click "MyPDA" in the line of links at top right of the first screen, and register. Your "serial number" entry key will be emailed to you within a few minutes. If you don't receive it within a reasonable time, re-register.
- Keywords: clinical evidence | clinical practice guidelines | decision support | drugs | evidence-based medicine | nursing | pharmaceutical | physicians | point-of-care
- 4. Digital Commons@The Texas Medical Center
- Provider: HAM-TMC Library
- Contents: archive , bibliographic records , dissertation , free , full text , open access , thesis
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: Digital Commons is the institutional repository for research work produced by TMC faculty, researchers, and students. It is an open access digital library containing preprints, postprints, datasets, conference proceedings, working papers, teaching materials, dissertations, and more.
- Keywords: digital | dissertations | e-prints | medicine | nursing | open access | publishing
- 5. Health Reference Center Academic (TexShare)
- Provider: Gale
- Contents: audio , full text , newspapers , videos
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Provides access to the full text of nursing and allied health journals, plus a wide variety of personal health information sources, including newspapers and multimedia.
- Keywords: allied health | healthcare | nursing | periodicals
- 6. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing , reference
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on various medical disciplines and features abstracts and indexing for 850 journals, with coverage of nursing and allied health being particularly strong, including full text from many nursing journals. In addition, this database includes Clinical Pharmacology, which provides access to up-to-date, concise and clinically relevant drug monographs for all U.S. prescription drugs, hard-to-find herbal and nutritional supplements, over-the-counter products and new drugs. Full text information in this database dates as far back as 1975.
- Keywords: allied health | drugs | medicine | nursing
- 7. Journals@ OVID Full Text
- Provider: OVID
- Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing , links to full text , tables of contents
- Access Levels: Clinical Partner , Educational
- Descriptions: Collection of Ovid full text journals. Provides access to all tables of contents, bibliographic citations, abstracts and references; full text for journals subscribed to by the Library.
- Keywords: allied health | journal | nursing | portal | research
- 8. Medline (OVID)
- Provider: OVID
- Contents: abstracts , citations , index , indexing , research tools
- Access Levels: Clinical Partner , Educational
- Descriptions: Bibliographic database providing information from the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, allied health, and the pre-clinical sciences; the electronic counterpart of Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and the International Nursing Index.
- Keywords: allied health | dentistry | health sciences | life sciences | nursing | pharmacology | physicians | science | scientist | veterinary medicine
- 9. Medline (PubMed)
- Provider: National Library of Medicine
- Contents: abstracts , free , index , indexing , links to full text , research tools
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: Bibliographic database providing information from the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, allied health, and the pre-clinical sciences; the electronic counterpart of Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and the International Nursing Index. PubMed is a service of the US National Library of Medicine that includes over 16 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. PubMed includes links to full text articles and other related resources.
- Keywords: allied health | dentistry | journal | life sciences | medicine | nursing | open access | pharmacology | physicians | science | scientist | veterinary medicine
- 10. Nursing & Allied Health Source (ProQuest)
- Provider: ProQuest
- Contents: abstracts , dissertation , full text , indexing
- Access Levels: Clinical Partner , Educational
- Descriptions: This mostly full text database provides scholarly articles, dissertations, reports and evidence-based resources (notably from the Joanna Briggs Institute) supporting the study of nursing and the allied health professions, including physical therapy, radiography, dietetics, dental hygiene and the clinical laboratory sciences. Features "Study Paths" (collections of resources particularly relevant for either RN or LPN students); evidence summaries; MMWR reports on public health issues; and practice guidelines.
- Keywords: allied health | care | diet | evidence-based | health insurance | journal | medical imaging | multidisciplinary | nursing | nutrition | systematic reviews
- 11. Nursing Reference Center
- Provider: EBSCO
- Contents: CME , e-books , full text , links to full text , news , patient education , reference
- Access Levels: Clinical Partner , Educational
- Descriptions: A comprehensive, point-of-care resource for nursing, Nursing Reference Center draws search results in part from Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses; AHFS Drug Information Essentials; Diseases and Disorders: A Nursing Therapeutics Manual; Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary; and Davis's Comprehensive Handbook of Laboratory & Diagnostic Tests with Nursing Implications. Nursing Reference Center includes: "quick lessons" on diseases and disorders; evidence-based care sheets; practice guidelines; patient education sheets, some available in Spanish; CE modules; news; research instruments; and information on legal cases. Nursing Reference Center provides direct access to full text articles found in CINAHL. First-time users are encouraged to "take the tour" on the database's home page (FlashPlayer required) to learn more.
- Keywords: clinical practice guidelines | drugs | evidence-based | journal | legal | monographs | nursing | point-of-care
- 12. Scopus
- Provider: Elsevier
- Contents: abstracts , charts and graphs , citations , full text , government documents , indexing , links to full text , proceedings , research tools , websites
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: SCOPUS contains millions of records from 15,000 publications in the health sciences (including 100% of the journals contained in Medline and EmBase), as well as chemistry, physics, mathematics, engineering, biology, agriculture, environmental sciences and the humanities. Link to full text articles from journals in the HAM-TMC Library's collection by clicking the HAM-TMC Library Find It! button. SCOPUS covers the proceedings of 750 conferences, and retrieves a separate set of relevant Web resources with every literature search. Another tab separates a set of patent results from U.S., U.K. and worldwide patent offices. SCOPUS includes a Journal Analyzer tool that graphs journals, singly or for comparison, from 1996 to present, showing total citations, number of articles published, total citations divided by number of articles, and the percentage of uncited articles. A search by affiliation is provided. Free login for authorized users provides additional advantages: a personal profile, with space to save lists of citations and track authors; a publication alerts service; and direct export to RefWorks, each with the user's own settings. For tutorials on searching and SCOPUS features, click here.
- Keywords: biology | biomedical research | chemistry | conference | internet | journal | life sciences | medicine | multidisciplinary | nursing | patents | pharmacology | science
- 13. STAT!Ref (TexShare)
- Provider: Teton Data Systems
- Contents: e-books , full text , handbook , reference , tables of contents , textbooks
- Access Levels: Clinical Partners via their portal page , Educational
- Descriptions: Cross-searchable healthcare reference that integrates core electronic book titles with evidence-based resources and innovative tools. Includes numerous titles selected for the Doody’s Core Titles List (DCT), as well as many titles from the Brandon-Hill medical librarians’ list. Titles include the latest editions of ACS Surgery: Principles and Practice, Goodman and Gilman's The Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics, and Hurst's The Heart.
- Keywords: books | communicable diseases | evidence-based | genetics | ICD-9 | infectious disease | internal medicine | medical coding | medicine | nursing | office practice | pediatrics | physicians | surgery



