A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z
HAM-TMC Library
Databases
Our databases contain a wide variety of medical information resources: journal articles, statistics, images, government information, and more. Browse the alphabetical list of database titles or search for terms that appear in the database descriptions.Search:
"patents" Databases
The Library has 211 databases and
5 under patents"
- 1. Approved Drug Products with Therapeutic Equivalence Evaluations (Orange Book)
- Provider: U.S. Food and Drug Administration
- Contents: cross reference , free , full text , government documents , index , open access , quick reference , reference
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: The Orange Book provides updated information on prescription, over-the-counter and discontinued FDA-approved drug products. It can be searched and consulted online, or the annual edition and monthly cumulative supplements can be downloaded in .pdf format. The Electronic Orange Book provides daily updates of new generic drug approvals. Search by active ingredient, proprietary name, patent, application number or application holder. If a newly-approved drug product is not turned up in the search, use the search box at top right of the page to find results from the Orange Book's monthly supplements and other FDA sources.
- Keywords: drugs | federal agencies | open access | patents | pharmaceutical | products | public health | U.S. Government
- 2. European Patent Office (esp@cenet)
- Provider: European Patent Office
- Contents: bibliographic records , free , government documents , illustrations , index , links , links to full text , open access
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: The European Patent Office (EPO) database actually includes records of patents worldwide, drawing its information also from WIPO (the World Intellectual Property Organization.) Unlike most patent databases, this one is very user-friendly, offering searches without the use of field tags. Search by keyword, author or organization; publication, application, priority or reference number; or search by EPO classification, which is based on the International Patent Classification system. The advanced search offers inclusive searching or limit to WIPO or EPO databases, and entry of up to ten specifics, including keyword. Relevant help information is offered in each screen. The Patent Information Tour (last link on the esp@cenet home page) offers several short video tutorials.
- Keywords: biomedical research | biotechnology | industry | medical devices | multidisciplinary | open access | patents | science | scientist
- 3. Information Science & Technology Abstracts (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing , monographs , proceedings
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Coverage includes classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management, search engines, printed and electronic information sources, the information industry, scholarly communication, electronic publishing, and more. ISTA indexes journal articles from more than 450 publications plus books, research reports, and conference proceedings and patents. Coverage extends back to the mid 1960s.
- Keywords: books | computers | e-publishing | industry | informatics | information science | libraries | patents
- 4. Scopus
- Provider: Elsevier
- Contents: abstracts , charts and graphs , citations , full text , government documents , indexing , links to full text , proceedings , research tools , websites
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: SCOPUS contains millions of records from 15,000 publications in the health sciences (including 100% of the journals contained in Medline and EmBase), as well as chemistry, physics, mathematics, engineering, biology, agriculture, environmental sciences and the humanities. Link to full text articles from journals in the HAM-TMC Library's collection by clicking the HAM-TMC Library Find It! button. SCOPUS covers the proceedings of 750 conferences, and retrieves a separate set of relevant Web resources with every literature search. Another tab separates a set of patent results from U.S., U.K. and worldwide patent offices. SCOPUS includes a Journal Analyzer tool that graphs journals, singly or for comparison, from 1996 to present, showing total citations, number of articles published, total citations divided by number of articles, and the percentage of uncited articles. A search by affiliation is provided. Free login for authorized users provides additional advantages: a personal profile, with space to save lists of citations and track authors; a publication alerts service; and direct export to RefWorks, each with the user's own settings. For tutorials on searching and SCOPUS features, click here.
- Keywords: biology | biomedical research | chemistry | conference | internet | journal | life sciences | medicine | multidisciplinary | nursing | patents | pharmacology | science
- 5. U.S. Patent and Trademark Office
- Provider: U. S. Department of Commerce
- Contents: free , full text , government documents , indexing
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: Provides full text of registered patents and trademarks, including search aids, a browsable collection of recent patents, and special notices.
- Keywords: open access | patents



