A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z
HAM-TMC Library
Databases
Our databases contain a wide variety of medical information resources: journal articles, statistics, images, government information, and more. Browse the alphabetical list of database titles or search for terms that appear in the database descriptions.Search:
"periodicals" Databases
The Library has 211 databases and
10 under periodicals"
- 1. Academic Search Complete (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: abstracts , citations , full text
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Contains full text for nearly 4,650 serials and offers indexing and abstracts for more than 8,200 journals; this scholarly collection offers information in: computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
- Keywords: multidisciplinary | periodicals
- 2. American Periodicals Series Online, 1740-1900
- Provider: ProQuest
- Contents: full text , illustrations , images , newspapers
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Contains digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals that originated between 1741 and 1900, deriving from the American Periodicals Series microform collection, with over 1,100 periodicals spanning nearly 200 years-from colonial times to the advent of American involvement in World War II. Titles range from America's first scientific journal, Medical Repository, to popular magazines such as Vanity Fair and Ladies' Home Journal.
- Keywords: history | history of North America | homework | magazines | periodicals
- 3. Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
- Provider: Lund University Libraries, Sweden
- Contents: free , full text , links to full text , open access
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: DOAJ is a consistently-updated service listing open access and "hybrid" (partially open access), quality-controlled scholarly journals covering a broad range of disciplines, with articles written in a variety of languages. Over 3,600 journals are included, approximately a third of which are searchable at article level.
- Keywords: e-publishing | humanities | journal | open access | periodicals | science | social sciences
- 4. EBSCOHost Espanol (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: abstracts , index , links , partial full text , research tools , Spanish language interface
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Spanish language version of the interface to multiple databases provided by EBSCO.
- Keywords: database | gateway | homework | multidisciplinary | periodicals | portal | Spanish
- 5. Faculty of 1000 Medicine
- Provider: BioMed Central
- Contents: abstracts , citations , summaries
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Aimed at clinicians (highlighting evidence that questions current clinical practice) and researchers (highlighting important areas of research and drawing attention to new developments); provides a rapidly updated consensus map of the important papers and trends across medicine, including anesthesiology, cardiovascular disorders, diabetes and endocrinology, and evidence-based health care.
- Keywords: citation analysis | medicine | MedLine | periodicals | reviews
- 6. Fuente Academica (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: abstracts , citations , full text , Spanish language interface
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Collection of scholarly journals from Latin American and Spanish publishers, with full text content from the fields of business and economics, medical sciences, political science, law, computer science, library and information sciences, literature, linguistics, history, philosophy and theology. Database provides full text (including PDF) for about 260 scholarly Spanish language journals.
- Keywords: homework | Latin America | multicultural | multidisciplinary | periodicals | Spanish
- 7. Health Reference Center Academic (TexShare)
- Provider: Gale
- Contents: audio , full text , newspapers , videos
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Provides access to the full text of nursing and allied health journals, plus a wide variety of personal health information sources, including newspapers and multimedia.
- Keywords: allied health | healthcare | nursing | periodicals
- 8. Serials Directory (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: bibliographic records , directory , newspapers
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Provides bibliographic information and current pricing structures for popular serials; lists over 184,000 U.S. and international titles, including newspapers; data from nearly 83,500 publishers worldwide, including e-mail and Internet addresses. Historical data is provided for an additional 20,000 titles; and Library of Congress and Dewey Decimal Classification numbers are listed for each entry.
- Keywords: journal | libraries | magazines | periodicals
- 9. Social Services Abstracts
- Provider: ProQuest
- Contents: abstracts , dissertation , indexing , links to full text
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. Indexes 1,300+ serials publications; includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations, and includes citations of book reviews. Major areas of coverage include: community and mental health services, gerontology, social and health policy, and support groups/networks.
- Keywords: journal | mental health | periodicals | policy | social sciences | social work | women | workforce
- 10. Sociological Abstracts
- Provider: ProQuest
- Contents: abstracts , indexing
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences; provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,800+ serials publications, along with abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Search tutorials are located at: http://www.csa.com/tutorials/.
- Keywords: behavioral sciences | books | conference | journal | periodicals | reviews | social sciences | sociology

