A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z
HAM-TMC Library
Databases
Our databases contain a wide variety of medical information resources: journal articles, statistics, images, government information, and more. Browse the alphabetical list of database titles or search for terms that appear in the database descriptions.Search:
"public health" Databases
The Library has 211 databases and
10 under public health"
- 1. Approved Drug Products with Therapeutic Equivalence Evaluations (Orange Book)
- Provider: U.S. Food and Drug Administration
- Contents: cross reference , free , full text , government documents , index , open access , quick reference , reference
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: The Orange Book provides updated information on prescription, over-the-counter and discontinued FDA-approved drug products. It can be searched and consulted online, or the annual edition and monthly cumulative supplements can be downloaded in .pdf format. The Electronic Orange Book provides daily updates of new generic drug approvals. Search by active ingredient, proprietary name, patent, application number or application holder. If a newly-approved drug product is not turned up in the search, use the search box at top right of the page to find results from the Orange Book's monthly supplements and other FDA sources.
- Keywords: drugs | federal agencies | open access | patents | pharmaceutical | products | public health | U.S. Government
- 2. Disaster Information Management Research Center
- Provider: National Library of Medicine
- Contents: free , full text , links , websites
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: "DIMRC is tasked with the effective collection, organization, and dissemination of health information for natural, accidental, or deliberate disasters."
- Keywords: disaster | open access | public administration | public health | society
- 3. DPDx - Laboratory Identification of Parasites of Public Health Concern
- Provider: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
- Contents: free
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: Sections of this CDC website include: Parasites and Health, Diagnostic Procedures, and the Parasite Image Library. Includes information of interest to consumers as well as health professionals.
- Keywords: consumer health | life cycle | open access | parasitology | pathogenesis | physicians | public health
- 4. GreenFile (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: abstracts , full text , images , indexing
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: GreenFILE covers human impact on the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green buildings, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling and more. Indexing and abstracts of more than 384,000 records, and full text of approximately 4,700 open access records.
- Keywords: biology | current events | environmental | general health | government | life sciences | multidisciplinary | policy | public health | society | student | toxins
- 5. Nature.com Databases and Gateways
- Provider: Nature.com
- Contents: career and jobs , free , news , partial open access , protocols
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: Nature.com has developed a collection of subject portals to news, conferences and other related links, and recent Nature publications in various areas of interest to researchers, for example: neuroscience; specific areas of cell science; human signaling pathways; laboratory technologies and protocols; and climate change.
- Keywords: biology | biomedical | biomedical research | biotechnology | cell biology | communicable diseases | environmental | gateway | genomics | infectious disease | journal | multidisciplinary | neuroscience | portal | products | proteins | public health | social networking
- 6. Radiation Event Medical Management (REMM)
- Provider: National Library of Medicine/DHHS
- Contents: free , full text , links , links to full text , websites
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: REMM provides detailed information and government documents on the types of devices via which radiation might be deliberately inflicted, the isotopes that might be used and their properties, and on-site initial response guidelines. Graphically-presented management algorithms and subsequent treatment guidelines for health care providers are included, with links to the full text of referenced articles and documents.
- Keywords: disaster | emergency medicine | open access | public health | radiation | toxicology | toxins
- 7. Social Sciences Citation Index (Via Web of Science)
- Provider: Thomson
- Contents: abstracts , indexing , links to full text
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the social sciences; fully indexes more than 1,700 journals across 50 social sciences disciplines, and indexes individually selected, relevant items from over 3,300 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals. Disciplines covered include anthropology, linguistics, psychology, psychiatry, public health, social work, sociology, and substance abuse.
- Keywords: anthropology | criminal justice | journal | linguistics | multidisciplinary | psychiatry | psychology | public health | social sciences | social work | sociology
- 8. Tox Town
- Provider: National Library of Medicine
- Contents: free , full text , government documents , images , indexing , links , videos , websites
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: Provides information on everyday locations where you might find toxic chemicals; non-technical descriptions of chemicals; links to selected, authoritative chemical information on the Internet; how the environment can impact human health; and Internet resources on environmental health topics. Tox Town uses color, graphics, sounds and animation to add interest to learning about connections between chemicals, the environment, and the public's health. A Spanish language version is available. FlashPlayer is required to view videos.
- Keywords: biohazard | chemicals | consumer health | disaster | environmental | NLM | open access | public health | radiation | toxins
- 9. TOXMAP
- Provider: National Library of Medicine
- Contents: charts and graphs , free , images , maps , statistics
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: Geographic Information System (GIS) from NLM's Division of Specialized Information Services that uses maps of the United States to help users visually explore data from the Environmental Protection Agency Toxics Release Inventory (TRI) and Superfund Program. The chemical and environmental health information provided is taken from NLM's TOXNET and PubMed, and from other authoritative sources.
- Keywords: chemicals | environmental | open access | public health | toxins
- 10. TOXNET: Toxicology Data Network
- Provider: National Library of Medicine
- Contents: cross reference , federated search , free , full text , government documents , images , indexing
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: TOXNET is a cross-searchable cluster of databases covering toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, toxic releases and related areas. Includes Hazardous Substances Data Bank, Chemical Carcinogenesis Research Information System, Haz-Map, and LactMed (Drugs and Lactation). Managed by the Toxicology and Environmental Health Information Program in the Division of Specialized Information Services of the National Library of Medicine (NLM).
- Keywords: chemicals | environmental | open access | public health | toxicology | toxins



