A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z
HAM-TMC Library
Databases
Our databases contain a wide variety of medical information resources: journal articles, statistics, images, government information, and more. Browse the alphabetical list of database titles or search for terms that appear in the database descriptions.Search:
"physicians" Databases
The Library has 211 databases and
17 under physicians"
- 1. ACP's PIER--Physician's Information and Education Resource (STAT!Ref -- TexShare)
- Provider: Teton Data Systems
- Contents: e-books , full text , handbook , patient education , websites
- Access Levels: Clinical Partners via their portal page , Educational
- Descriptions: Web-based, evidence-based guidance tool to improve clinical care. Disease topics are selected by the American College of Physicians (ACP), based on prevalence in clinical settings. Evidence for all diseases is evaluated; credibility of the evidence is displayed with a rating. Subcategories for each disease are: Prevention, Non-drug Therapy, Screening, Drug Therapy, Diagnosis, Patient Education, Consultation for Diagnosis, Consultation for Management, Hospitalization, Follow-up. PIER includes AHFS DI® Essentials, with drug information monographs drawn from evidence-based guidelines in the full AHFS DI® database; distills information on prescription and key over-the-counter (OTC) drugs in a structured outline format.
- Keywords: clinical evidence | drugs | evidence-based medicine | internal medicine | physicians | point-of-care
- 2. Clin-eguide: Clinical Decision Support
- Provider: OVID
- Contents: e-books , full text , handbook , patient education , practice guidelines , quick reference , textbooks
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Clin-eguide is a clinical decision support system that combines clinical disease management, drug therapy and laboratory testing information in a single resource. It provides both patient- and disease-specific recommendations, taking into account patient status and concomitant conditions, and prompts the clinician to consider issues that may influence individual patient outcome. Clin-eguide is extensively and systematically researched and updated. It draws information from Evidence-Based Guidelines, Nursing Advisor, Facts & Comparisons drug information, national guidelines, the Cancer Chemotherapy Manual and many other sources, and includes patient handouts. The mobile version is compatible with Palm OS, Windows Mobile, Blackberry and iPhone. To get started with the mobile version, click "MyPDA" in the line of links at top right of the first screen, and register. Your "serial number" entry key will be emailed to you within a few minutes. If you don't receive it within a reasonable time, re-register.
- Keywords: clinical evidence | clinical practice guidelines | decision support | drugs | evidence-based medicine | nursing | pharmaceutical | physicians | point-of-care
- 3. Diagnosaurus
- Provider: McGraw-Hill
- Contents: brief records , links to full text
- Access Levels: Clinical Partner , Educational
- Descriptions: Diagnosaurus is a tool that links the user to information in texts within AccessMedicine's collection in order to assist with the formation of differential diagnoses on over a thousand diseases and disorders.
- Keywords: decision support | diagnosis | physicians
- 4. DPDx - Laboratory Identification of Parasites of Public Health Concern
- Provider: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
- Contents: free
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: Sections of this CDC website include: Parasites and Health, Diagnostic Procedures, and the Parasite Image Library. Includes information of interest to consumers as well as health professionals.
- Keywords: consumer health | life cycle | open access | parasitology | pathogenesis | physicians | public health
- 5. Eye Pathologist, The
- Provider: Duke University Medical Center
- Contents: free , glossary of terms , images , open access , reference
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: The Eye Pathologist is a web-based instructional database on the anatomy and pathology of the eye, a teaching and reference tool for medical students and professionals. This database contains more than 4,000 images and deals with more than 5,000 diseases affecting vision and the eye. It also includes links to a glossary of over 6,000 definitions. For the present, the database is free, although complete utilization of all features does require a free registration.
- Keywords: education | eye | genetics | microbiology | open access | ophthalmology | parasitology | pathogenesis | physicians | student | syndrome
- 6. Federal Register
- Provider: US Government Printing Office and US National Archives and Records Administration
- Contents: free , full text , government documents , reference
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: Published by the Office of the Federal Register, National Archives and Records Administration (NARA), the Federal Register is the official daily publication for rules, proposed rules, and notices of Federal agencies and organizations, as well as executive orders and other presidential documents. Frequently requested materials from the Federal Register include grant information and Relative Value Units (RVU), also known as the Unique Physician Fee Schedule.
- Keywords: federal agencies | government | law | medicare/medicaid | office practice | open access | physicians
- 7. MedicLatina (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing , Spanish language interface
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Spanish language collection of medical research and investigative medicine journals, providing full text in Spanish to peer-reviewed medical journals. A wide range of topics is covered, including neuroscience, cardiology, nephrology, biomedicine, clinical research, pediatrics, human reproduction, clinical pathology, cancer research, and hematology. Publications covered in this database include Revista Medica del IMSS, Revista Mexicana de Patologia Clinica, Boletin Medico del Hospital Infantil de Mexico, Archivos de Neurociencias, Revista Biomedica, Veterinaria Mexico, and Salud Publica de Mexico.
- Keywords: journal | Latin America | medicine | peer review | physicians | research | scientist | Spanish
- 8. Medline (CSA)
- Provider: ProQuest
- Contents: abstracts , citations , index , indexing , links to full text , research tools
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE contains all records published in Index Medicus and since 2002, most citations previously included in separate NLM specialty databases such as SPACELINE and HISTLINE
- Keywords: allied health | dentistry | health sciences | journal | life sciences | medicine | pharmacology | physicians | science | scientist | veterinary medicine
- 9. Medline (EBSCO)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: abstracts , citations , index , indexing , links to full text , research tools
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: This bibliographic database provides information from the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, allied health, and the pre-clinical sciences. It is the electronic counterpart of Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and the International Nursing Index.
- Keywords: allied health | dentistry | health sciences | life sciences | medicine | pharmacology | physicians | science | scientist | veterinary medicine
- 10. Medline (OVID)
- Provider: OVID
- Contents: abstracts , citations , index , indexing , research tools
- Access Levels: Clinical Partner , Educational
- Descriptions: Bibliographic database providing information from the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, allied health, and the pre-clinical sciences; the electronic counterpart of Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and the International Nursing Index.
- Keywords: allied health | dentistry | health sciences | life sciences | nursing | pharmacology | physicians | science | scientist | veterinary medicine
- 11. Medline (PubMed)
- Provider: National Library of Medicine
- Contents: abstracts , free , index , indexing , links to full text , research tools
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: Bibliographic database providing information from the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, allied health, and the pre-clinical sciences; the electronic counterpart of Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and the International Nursing Index. PubMed is a service of the US National Library of Medicine that includes over 16 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. PubMed includes links to full text articles and other related resources.
- Keywords: allied health | dentistry | journal | life sciences | medicine | nursing | open access | pharmacology | physicians | science | scientist | veterinary medicine
- 12. Medscape
- Provider: WebMD
- Contents: CME , free , full text , patient education
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: Original, professional medical content, including review articles, journal commentary, expert columns, patient education articles, book reviews, and more than 850 online CME activities. MedScape now offers free download of drug information for the iPhone and iPod Touch. This includes dosage, interactions and adverse effects and cost across more than 6,000 generics and brands, OTCs, herbals and supplements, as well as information for pregnant or lactating women. MedScape requires free registration.
- Keywords: consumer health | open access | physicians | reviews
- 13. Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy, The
- Provider: Merck & Co., Inc.
- Contents: audio , free , handbook , images , indexing , manual , text , videos
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: Standard text in the field of diagnosis and therapy, freely available on the Internet.
- Keywords: diagnosis | open access | physicians
- 14. NCME TV
- Provider: Network for Continuing Medical Education
- Contents: CME , videos
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: NCME TV™ provides a variety of contemporary topics of interest to primary care physicians, hospitalists, and other specialists. NCME covers important CME topics, some of which are rarely covered by other CME providers. Each month, a new program is posted from one of the following categories: Masters Programs on Critical Topics in Medicine (grand-rounds style reviews of important topics in emergency medicine); State-Mandated CME Topics (needed for licensure in many states); Hospital Quality/Performance Issues;and Late-Breaking and Hot Topics. NCME is accredited by the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education to provide continuing medical education for physicians. All NCME programs are certified for AMA PRA Category 1 Credit™ on an hour-for-hour basis. (Some individual programs are supported by educational grants from industry.) See http://resource.library.tmc.edu/resources/ncme.cfm for clarification on how to register at the NCME TV website.
- Keywords: education | medicine | physicians | point-of-care | video
- 15. PDQ (Physician Data Query) Cancer Database
- Provider: National Cancer Institute
- Contents: dictionary , free , full text , links , open access , patient education , reference , statistics , websites
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: PDQ contains peer-reviewed summaries on cancer treatment, screening, prevention, genetics, supportive care, and complementary and alternative medicine; a registry of more than 4,000 open and 15,000 closed cancer clinical trials from around the world; and directories of physicians, genetic counseling professionals, and organizations that provide cancer care. Also included: a dictionary of cancer terms and a drug dictionary.
- Keywords: alternative medicine | cancer | clinical trials | open access | physicians | reviews
- 16. STAT!Ref (TexShare)
- Provider: Teton Data Systems
- Contents: e-books , full text , handbook , reference , tables of contents , textbooks
- Access Levels: Clinical Partners via their portal page , Educational
- Descriptions: Cross-searchable healthcare reference that integrates core electronic book titles with evidence-based resources and innovative tools. Includes numerous titles selected for the Doody’s Core Titles List (DCT), as well as many titles from the Brandon-Hill medical librarians’ list. Titles include the latest editions of ACS Surgery: Principles and Practice, Goodman and Gilman's The Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics, and Hurst's The Heart.
- Keywords: books | communicable diseases | evidence-based | genetics | ICD-9 | infectious disease | internal medicine | medical coding | medicine | nursing | office practice | pediatrics | physicians | surgery
- 17. UpToDate
- Provider: UpToDate.com
- Contents: abstracts , CME , full text , indexing , quick reference
- Access Level: Provided only for a specific user group- see database description for details.
- Descriptions: This evidence-based resource is designed for use at the point of care, with topic reviews provided by nearly 3,000 physicians. Information presented is peer-reviewed. Provides access to current information within defined specialties; helps clinicians recognize the clinical manifestations of a wide variety of disorders and describes current options for diagnosis, management and therapy, including drug efficacy, dosage and interactions; and also assists with the identification of optimal screening and prevention strategies. NOTES: FOR BAYLOR USERS: Please go to your ERC's (Education Resource Center's) database list to use UpToDate. FOR ALL USERS: There is no Remote Access Service available for this resource. Access is available at UTHSC TMC campus locations and at HAM-TMC Library.
- Keywords: diagnosis | drugs | evidence-based medicine | pharmaceutical | physicians | point-of-care






