A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z
HAM-TMC Library
Databases
Our databases contain a wide variety of medical information resources: journal articles, statistics, images, government information, and more. Browse the alphabetical list of database titles or search for terms that appear in the database descriptions.Search:
"biology" Databases
The Library has 211 databases and
15 under biology"
- 1. arXiv
- Provider: Cornell University Library
- Contents: e-prints , free
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: Provides open access to e-prints in physics, mathematics, non-linear science, computer science, and quantitative biology. Started in August 1991, arXiv.org (formerly xxx.lanl.gov) is a highly-automated electronic archive and distribution server for research papers. Users can retrieve papers from arXiv either via the web interface, or by sending commands to the system via e-mail. Authors can use a web form to submit their papers and can also update their submissions if they choose, though previous versions remain available. Users can register to automatically receive a listing via email of newly submitted papers in areas of interest to them.
- Keywords: biology | computers | open access | physics | research
- 2. Biology Image Library
- Provider: BioMed Central
- Contents: animation , illustrations , images , partial open access , videos
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Brought to you by BioMed Central, the open access publisher, Biology Image Library provides scientific images for downloading and use for non-commercial purposes. For images not in the public domain, Biology Image Library can direct the user to the copyright holder or in some cases handle the sale of rights for commercial use. Submission of contributions is also welcomed. See "About..." for information. The Biology Image Library allows free access to all to view image thumbnails and annotations, but only authorized HAM-TMC users can view full-size versions, save, make PowerPoint slides, or e-mail the images that are under copyright.
- Keywords: biology | biomedical | e-publishing | education | microbiology
- 3. BIOSIS - Biological Abstracts, 1980 - 2003
- Provider: OVID
- Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: BIOSIS encompasses the breadth of life sciences and provides coverage of published biological and biomedical research; includes traditional areas of biology, such as botany, zoology and microbiology, as well as experimental, clinical and veterinary medicine, biotechnology, environmental studies, and agriculture. Interdisciplinary fields like biochemistry, biophysics and bioengineering are also included. The Library's coverage ends with 2003. For a brief guide to searching any Ovid database, access the full list of available databases by clicking "Change Databases," and click the "i" (information) logo next to its title.
- Keywords: biology | biomedical | life sciences | microbiology | veterinary medicine | zoology
- 4. Cold Spring Harbor Protocols
- Provider: Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory Press
- Contents: full text , protocols
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Cold Spring Harbor Protocols is an interactive source of new and classic research techniques. The database is searchable by keyword and subject, and includes discussion forums and personal folders. Its coverage includes cell and molecular biology, genetics, bioinformatics, protein science, and imaging. Protocols will be continuously expanded, updated, and annotated by the originators and users of the techniques.
- Keywords: bioinformatics | biology | genetics | medical imaging | proteins
- 5. dbGaP (Database of Genotypes and Phenotypes)
- Provider: National Center for Biotechnology Information
- Contents: free , open access , partial open access , research tools , sequencing data
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: In dbGaP, NCBI archives and distributes the results of studies investigating the interaction of genotype and phenotype. Genome-wide association studies, medical sequencing, molecular diagnostic assays, and associations between genotype and non-clinical traits are covered. dbGaP contains both open- and controlled-access data. Non-sensitive data are released on a broad scale, but sensitive data sets involving personal health information are not publicly accessible. Search by study or disease, or use Advanced Search.
- Keywords: biology | database | genetics | genome | genomics | life sciences | open access
- 6. Early Encounters in North America
- Provider: Alexander Street Press
- Contents: full text , illustrations , images , reference
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: This highly searchable database contains over 100,000 pages of letters, diaries, memoirs and accounts of "early encounters" with the humans, flora and fauna of North America, from explorers, missionaries and others new to the "New World." Many images are also included.
- Keywords: American history | biology | botany | culture | history | homework | multicultural | multidisciplinary | Native American
- 7. Encyclopedia of Animals (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: brief records , encyclopedia , illustrations , images
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Offers information on a variety of topics relating to animals; consists of indexing, abstracts, and full text records describing the nature and habitat of familiar animals. Within some of the full text, image links are available for the Windows client. Images are accessed by double-clicking any image graphic.
- Keywords: animal | biology | homework | K-12 | kids | zoology
- 8. GreenFile (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: abstracts , full text , images , indexing
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: GreenFILE covers human impact on the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green buildings, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling and more. Indexing and abstracts of more than 384,000 records, and full text of approximately 4,700 open access records.
- Keywords: biology | current events | environmental | general health | government | life sciences | multidisciplinary | policy | public health | society | student | toxins
- 9. Index-Catalogue of the Library of the Surgeon-General's Office. US Army.
- Provider: National Library of Medicine
- Contents: bibliographic records , catalog records , free , indexing
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: Multi-part, searchable bibliography or list of items in the Library of the Surgeon-General’s Office, US Army; contains material dated from the 1400's through 1950, covering the history of medicine, history of science, and clinical research. The Index-Catalogue contains records for journal articles, books, dissertations, pamphlets, and reports.
- Keywords: biology | biomedical research | history of medicine | open access | research | subject headings
- 10. Nature.com Databases and Gateways
- Provider: Nature.com
- Contents: career and jobs , free , news , partial open access , protocols
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: Nature.com has developed a collection of subject portals to news, conferences and other related links, and recent Nature publications in various areas of interest to researchers, for example: neuroscience; specific areas of cell science; human signaling pathways; laboratory technologies and protocols; and climate change.
- Keywords: biology | biomedical | biomedical research | biotechnology | cell biology | communicable diseases | environmental | gateway | genomics | infectious disease | journal | multidisciplinary | neuroscience | portal | products | proteins | public health | social networking
- 11. Public Library of Science (PLoS)
- Provider: Public Library of Science
- Contents: free , full text
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: In 2003, PLoS launched a nonprofit scientific and medical publishing venture that provides scientists and physicians with high-quality, high-profile journals in which to publish their most important work; under the open access model, PLoS journals are immediately available online, with no charge for access and no restrictions on subsequent redistribution or use, as long as the author(s) and source are cited in the manner specified by its Creative Commons Attribution License.
- Keywords: biology | creative commons | genetics | infectious disease | journal | life sciences | medicine | multidisciplinary | open access | research | science | scientist
- 12. Science and Technology Collection (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Contains over 800 full text, mostly scholarly journals focusing on fields such as aeronautics, astrophysics, biology, chemistry, computer technology, geology, aviation, physics, archaeology, marine sciences and materials science. Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 1,700 publications.
- Keywords: biology | chemistry | geoscience | physics | science | technology
- 13. Science Citation Index (via Web of Science)
- Provider: Thomson
- Contents: abstracts , citations , full text , indexing
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: A multidisciplinary index to the scientific journal literature; indexes 5,900 journals across 150 scientific disciplines and includes all cited references captured from indexed articles. Provides access to current and retrospective data from 1900 to the present. Contains searchable, full-length English-language author abstracts for approximately 70% of the articles indexed, as well as links to full text. Covers the physical, earth and life sciences.
- Keywords: biology | medicine | multidisciplinary | science
- 14. Scopus
- Provider: Elsevier
- Contents: abstracts , charts and graphs , citations , full text , government documents , indexing , links to full text , proceedings , research tools , websites
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: SCOPUS contains millions of records from 15,000 publications in the health sciences (including 100% of the journals contained in Medline and EmBase), as well as chemistry, physics, mathematics, engineering, biology, agriculture, environmental sciences and the humanities. Link to full text articles from journals in the HAM-TMC Library's collection by clicking the HAM-TMC Library Find It! button. SCOPUS covers the proceedings of 750 conferences, and retrieves a separate set of relevant Web resources with every literature search. Another tab separates a set of patent results from U.S., U.K. and worldwide patent offices. SCOPUS includes a Journal Analyzer tool that graphs journals, singly or for comparison, from 1996 to present, showing total citations, number of articles published, total citations divided by number of articles, and the percentage of uncited articles. A search by affiliation is provided. Free login for authorized users provides additional advantages: a personal profile, with space to save lists of citations and track authors; a publication alerts service; and direct export to RefWorks, each with the user's own settings. For tutorials on searching and SCOPUS features, click here.
- Keywords: biology | biomedical research | chemistry | conference | internet | journal | life sciences | medicine | multidisciplinary | nursing | patents | pharmacology | science
- 15. Wiley Interscience Journals
- Provider: Wiley InterScience
- Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing
- Access Levels: Clinical Partner , Educational
- Descriptions: This is the browse and search interface for Wiley Interscience journals.
- Keywords: biology | biomedical | journal | medicine | science



