A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z
HAM-TMC Library
Databases
Our databases contain a wide variety of medical information resources: journal articles, statistics, images, government information, and more. Browse the alphabetical list of database titles or search for terms that appear in the database descriptions.Search:
"biomedical" Databases
The Library has 211 databases and
8 under biomedical"
- 1. Biology Image Library
- Provider: BioMed Central
- Contents: animation , illustrations , images , partial open access , videos
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Brought to you by BioMed Central, the open access publisher, Biology Image Library provides scientific images for downloading and use for non-commercial purposes. For images not in the public domain, Biology Image Library can direct the user to the copyright holder or in some cases handle the sale of rights for commercial use. Submission of contributions is also welcomed. See "About..." for information. The Biology Image Library allows free access to all to view image thumbnails and annotations, but only authorized HAM-TMC users can view full-size versions, save, make PowerPoint slides, or e-mail the images that are under copyright.
- Keywords: biology | biomedical | e-publishing | education | microbiology
- 2. BIOSIS - Biological Abstracts, 1980 - 2003
- Provider: OVID
- Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: BIOSIS encompasses the breadth of life sciences and provides coverage of published biological and biomedical research; includes traditional areas of biology, such as botany, zoology and microbiology, as well as experimental, clinical and veterinary medicine, biotechnology, environmental studies, and agriculture. Interdisciplinary fields like biochemistry, biophysics and bioengineering are also included. The Library's coverage ends with 2003. For a brief guide to searching any Ovid database, access the full list of available databases by clicking "Change Databases," and click the "i" (information) logo next to its title.
- Keywords: biology | biomedical | life sciences | microbiology | veterinary medicine | zoology
- 3. images.MD, the online encyclopedia of medical images
- Provider: Current Medicine
- Contents: charts and graphs , illustrations , images , research tools , text
- Access Levels: Clinical Partner , Educational
- Descriptions: Compiles over 50,000 images in internal medicine, all derived from Current Medicine’s series of illustrated atlases. Each image is accompanied by detailed text written by over 2,000 contributing experts. Continually updated, with content added throughout the year. Detailed references accompany each image.
- Keywords: biomedical | internal medicine | medical imaging | medicine
- 4. Nature.com Databases and Gateways
- Provider: Nature.com
- Contents: career and jobs , free , news , partial open access , protocols
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: Nature.com has developed a collection of subject portals to news, conferences and other related links, and recent Nature publications in various areas of interest to researchers, for example: neuroscience; specific areas of cell science; human signaling pathways; laboratory technologies and protocols; and climate change.
- Keywords: biology | biomedical | biomedical research | biotechnology | cell biology | communicable diseases | environmental | gateway | genomics | infectious disease | journal | multidisciplinary | neuroscience | portal | products | proteins | public health | social networking
- 5. NLM Gateway: search engine for the resources of the National Library of Medicine
- Provider: National Library of Medicine
- Contents: federated search , free , government documents , indexing , partial full text , partial open access , search engine
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: The NLM Gateway is a Web-based system that lets users search simultaneously in multiple retrieval systems administered by the National Library of Medicine (NLM). Users of NLM services can initiate multi-database searches of many NLM information resources from this site.
- Keywords: biomedical | consumer health | medicine | MedLine | MeSH | multidisciplinary | NLM | open access | U.S. Government
- 6. PubMed Bookshelf
- Provider: National Library of Medicine and National Center for Biotechnology Information
- Contents: e-books , free , full text , links , open access
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: Collaborating with authors and publishers, the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) adapts biomedical books for the web. They may either be accessed via direct search or via "Books" links in PubMed abstracts. In the future, more links will be made between this collection of books and other types of information provided by NCBI, for instance, gene and protein sequences and macromolecular structures.
- Keywords: biomedical | books | e-books | open access
- 7. RePORTER (Report Expenditures and Results)
- Provider: National Institutes of Health
- Contents: abstracts , free , index
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: RePORTER is a module within NIH's Research Portfolio Online Reporting Tool, which provides access to reports, data, and analyses of NIH-funded research activities, including information on NIH expenditures and the results of NIH-supported research. RePORTER replaces the CRISP database, withdrawn in October 2009.
- Keywords: biomedical | biotechnology | federal agencies | grants | medicine | open access | research | scientist | U.S. Government
- 8. Wiley Interscience Journals
- Provider: Wiley InterScience
- Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing
- Access Levels: Clinical Partner , Educational
- Descriptions: This is the browse and search interface for Wiley Interscience journals.
- Keywords: biology | biomedical | journal | medicine | science


