A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z
HAM-TMC Library
Databases
Our databases contain a wide variety of medical information resources: journal articles, statistics, images, government information, and more. Browse the alphabetical list of database titles or search for terms that appear in the database descriptions.Search:
"consumer health" Databases
The Library has 211 databases and
17 under consumer health"
- 1. American Hospital Directory
- Provider: American Hospital Association
- Contents: directory , free , partial open access , quick reference
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: Not all content here is free, but visitors can search for hospitals and view free profile information like location, number of beds, types of services offered, Medicare patient charge and utilization numbers, and general state and national hospital statistics.
- Keywords: consumer health | healthcare system
- 2. Complementary and Alternative Therapies (MedlinePlus)
- Provider: National Institutes of Health/National Library of Medicine
- Contents: free , full text , patient education
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: Includes sections on acupuncture, alternative medicine, herbal medicine, cancer alternative therapies, chiropractic, and dietary supplements. These sections include latest news, topic overviews, links to associations and organizations, interactive tutorials, and clinical trials. A Spanish language version is also available.
- Keywords: acupuncture | alternative medicine | consumer health | herbs | open access
- 3. Consumer Health Complete (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: abstracts , encyclopedia , full text , indexing , monographs , reference
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Provides encyclopedias and reference books, health reports and pamphlets, health news, drug and herb information, alternative health sources, and medical images and diagrams. Includes full-text articles from a variety of journals. A Spanish language version (Salud en Espanol) is available.
- Keywords: consumer health
- 4. DPDx - Laboratory Identification of Parasites of Public Health Concern
- Provider: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
- Contents: free
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: Sections of this CDC website include: Parasites and Health, Diagnostic Procedures, and the Parasite Image Library. Includes information of interest to consumers as well as health professionals.
- Keywords: consumer health | life cycle | open access | parasitology | pathogenesis | physicians | public health
- 5. Drug Resource Center
- Provider: AETNA Intelihealth
- Contents: free , patient education , quick reference
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: This section of the Aetna InteliHealth site provides articles on condition-specific drug issues. An editorial faculty from Harvard Medical School assures the accuracy and relevance of information presented by this website.
- Keywords: consumer health | drugs | open access | pharmaceutical
- 6. Go Local Texas Gulf Coast
- Provider: HAM-TMC Library, UTMB-Galveston Moody Medical Library, and National Library of Medicine
- Contents: brief records , free , websites
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: A joint consumer health website project between the Jesse H Jones Community Health Information Service of the Houston Academy of Medicine-Texas Medical Center Library and the University of Texas Medical Branch, Galveston, Moody Medical Library in partnership with the National Libary of Medicine, this resource provides up-to-date information about local health resources for 38 counties in the Texas Gulf Coast region, and, by linking to MedlinePlus, makes available reliable health information about a number of diseases and conditions.
- Keywords: consumer health | healthcare | open access | Texas
- 7. Health & Wellness Resource Center (TexShare)
- Provider: Gale
- Contents: citations , encyclopedia , full text , indexing , links , reference , websites
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Provides integrated access to medical, statistical, health and wellness information for consumers, students, and professionals; provides the Alternative Health Module. Includes the Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine. Delivers reference material as well as full-text magazines, journals, and pamphlets from a wide variety of medical sources. Also includes descriptions and links for some useful and appropriate Websites.
- Keywords: alternative medicine | consumer health | journal | medicine
- 8. Health Source: Consumer Edition (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: abstracts , e-books , full text , indexing
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Provides information on many health topics: medical sciences, food science and nutrition, child care, sports medicine and general health. Features searchable full text for nearly 190 journals, as well as abstracts and indexing for over 200 general health, nutrition and professional health care publications. Also included are USP Pharmacopoeia DI: Volume II Advice for the Lay Patient and 20 health research books, including books published by the People's Medical Society.
- Keywords: consumer health | diet | drugs | general health | nutrition | sports medicine
- 9. MedlinePlus
- Provider: National Library of Medicine
- Contents: dictionary , encyclopedia , free , full text , illustrations , links , news
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: Provides information from the National Institutes of Health and other trusted sources on more than 700 diseases and conditions; includes lists of hospitals and physicians, a medical encyclopedia and a medical dictionary, health information in Spanish, extensive information on prescription and nonprescription drugs, health information from the media, and links to thousands of clinical trials.
- Keywords: clinical trials | consumer health | drugs | healthcare | open access
- 10. Medscape
- Provider: WebMD
- Contents: CME , free , full text , patient education
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: Original, professional medical content, including review articles, journal commentary, expert columns, patient education articles, book reviews, and more than 850 online CME activities. MedScape now offers free download of drug information for the iPhone and iPod Touch. This includes dosage, interactions and adverse effects and cost across more than 6,000 generics and brands, OTCs, herbals and supplements, as well as information for pregnant or lactating women. MedScape requires free registration.
- Keywords: consumer health | open access | physicians | reviews
- 11. Merck Manuals Online Medical Library- Home Edition
- Provider: Merck & Co., Inc.
- Contents: free , full text , glossary of terms , illustrations , manual , quick reference , reference , tables of contents
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: This manual is an invaluable resource for the layman, explaining medical conditions from every aspect, with introductions giving background information on the biology of body systems and organs, and providing supporting anatomical and 3-D visual aids. Of particular value is the Drugs section, with information on pharmacokinetics, drug interaction and adverse reactions, herbal supplements and over-the-counter drugs. The Special Subjects area contains sections on medical decision-making, limb prosthetics, travel medicine, women's health, alternative and complementary medicines, and more.
- Keywords: consumer health | drugs | medicine
- 12. National Cancer Institute Website
- Provider: National Cancer Institute
- Contents: free , full text , patient education , websites
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: A comprehensive layman's website. Cancer Topics searches link the user to PubMed with pre-set search limits and retrieve literature citations on more than 100 major cancer topics; search results can be further refined using PubMed's search options and limits. Tabbed categories lead the user to other resources, including information on statistics, clinical trials, research and recent news releases, and dictionaries of oncology terms and drug information.
- Keywords: cancer | clinical trials | consumer health | open access | statistical | U.S. Government
- 13. Natural & Alternative Treatments (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: full text , monographs , patient education , reference
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Detailed information on: more than 180 different conditions and the conventional and natural treatments used to treat them; over 200 herbs and supplements; and drug-herb and drug-supplement interactions for more than 75 drug categories can be found in this database.
- Keywords: alternative medicine | botanical | consumer health | diet | dietary supplements | drugs | herbs
- 14. NLM Drug Information Portal
- Provider: National Library of Medicine
- Contents: federated search , free , government documents , links , news , open access , reference , websites
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: This resource provides the public, healthcare professionals and researchers with a gateway to current and accurate drug information from the National Library of Medicine, as well as links to drug information from other key government agencies, PubMed and MedlinePlus.
- Keywords: consumer health | drugs | gateway | government | journal | open access | portal | toxicology
- 15. NLM Gateway: search engine for the resources of the National Library of Medicine
- Provider: National Library of Medicine
- Contents: federated search , free , government documents , indexing , partial full text , partial open access , search engine
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: The NLM Gateway is a Web-based system that lets users search simultaneously in multiple retrieval systems administered by the National Library of Medicine (NLM). Users of NLM services can initiate multi-database searches of many NLM information resources from this site.
- Keywords: biomedical | consumer health | medicine | MedLine | MeSH | multidisciplinary | NLM | open access | U.S. Government
- 16. Salud en Espanol (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: abstracts , encyclopedia , full text , indexing , monographs , news , reference
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Provides an interface designed for the consumer of Spanish-language health care information, with convenient access to the same health and medical information found in the Consumer Health Complete database.
- Keywords: consumer health | drugs | herbs | journal
- 17. Tox Town
- Provider: National Library of Medicine
- Contents: free , full text , government documents , images , indexing , links , videos , websites
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: Provides information on everyday locations where you might find toxic chemicals; non-technical descriptions of chemicals; links to selected, authoritative chemical information on the Internet; how the environment can impact human health; and Internet resources on environmental health topics. Tox Town uses color, graphics, sounds and animation to add interest to learning about connections between chemicals, the environment, and the public's health. A Spanish language version is available. FlashPlayer is required to view videos.
- Keywords: biohazard | chemicals | consumer health | disaster | environmental | NLM | open access | public health | radiation | toxins








