A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z
HAM-TMC Library
Databases
Our databases contain a wide variety of medical information resources: journal articles, statistics, images, government information, and more. Browse the alphabetical list of database titles or search for terms that appear in the database descriptions.Search:
"A" Databases
The Library has 211 databases and
17 under the letter "A"
- 1. Academic Search Complete (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: abstracts , citations , full text
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Contains full text for nearly 4,650 serials and offers indexing and abstracts for more than 8,200 journals; this scholarly collection offers information in: computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
- Keywords: multidisciplinary | periodicals
- 2. AccessMedicine
- Provider: McGraw-Hill
- Contents: e-books , full text , images , reference , textbooks , videos
- Access Levels: Clinical Partner , Educational
- Descriptions: An integrated clinical database, featuring daily updates, that quickly pulls information from a pool of over 50 trusted medical texts, a drug index, a diagnostic tool and an image and video library. Also contains patient handouts. This resource is available to Educational and Clinical Partner users.
- Keywords: clinical | database | diagnosis | drugs | e-books | evidence-based medicine | medicine | point-of-care | video
- 3. AccessSurgery
- Provider: McGraw-Hill
- Contents: CME , full text , images , videos
- Access Levels: Clinical Partner , Educational
- Descriptions: An integrated database of surgical resources, both written and visual, that provides medical students, surgical residents, and practicing surgeons with quick answers to surgical inquiries, from trusted sources. Organized around the ACGME's (Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education) mandate for a core curriculum, AccessSurgery delivers content in context. This is a tool for the student, the educator, and the practitioner, and is available to Educational and Clinical Partner users.
- Keywords: clinical | surgery
- 4. ACP Medicine (STAT!Ref -- TexShare)
- Provider: WebMD and The American College of Physicians via STAT!Ref
- Contents: CME , e-books , full text
- Access Levels: Clinical Partners via their portal page , Educational
- Descriptions: A peer-reviewed, evidence-based guide to clinical decision-making, ACP Medicine covers the 11 sub-specialties of internal medicine, along with other key topics. Individually-authored chapters on Clinical Essentials, Cardiovascular Medicine, Dermatology, Endocrinology, Gastroenterology, Hematology, Immunology/Allergy, Infectious Disease, Interdisciplinary Medicine, Metabolism, Nephrology, Neurology, Oncology, Psychiatry, Respiratory Medicine, Rheumatology, and Women's Health. Includes CME.
- Keywords: decision support | evidence-based medicine | internal medicine
- 5. ACP's PIER--Physician's Information and Education Resource (STAT!Ref -- TexShare)
- Provider: Teton Data Systems
- Contents: e-books , full text , handbook , patient education , websites
- Access Levels: Clinical Partners via their portal page , Educational
- Descriptions: Web-based, evidence-based guidance tool to improve clinical care. Disease topics are selected by the American College of Physicians (ACP), based on prevalence in clinical settings. Evidence for all diseases is evaluated; credibility of the evidence is displayed with a rating. Subcategories for each disease are: Prevention, Non-drug Therapy, Screening, Drug Therapy, Diagnosis, Patient Education, Consultation for Diagnosis, Consultation for Management, Hospitalization, Follow-up. PIER includes AHFS DI® Essentials, with drug information monographs drawn from evidence-based guidelines in the full AHFS DI® database; distills information on prescription and key over-the-counter (OTC) drugs in a structured outline format.
- Keywords: clinical evidence | drugs | evidence-based medicine | internal medicine | physicians | point-of-care
- 6. AgeLine
- Provider: AARP
- Contents: abstracts , free , indexing
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: Provides abstracts of the literature of social gerontology, as well as aging-related research from psychology, sociology, social work, economics, public policy, and the health sciences. It covers aging-related issues for professionals in aging services, health, business, law, and mental health. Also includes selected consumer content. Summarizes journal articles, books and chapters, research reports, dissertations, gray literature, and educational videos from many publishers and organizations, including AARP.
- Keywords: aging | geriatrics | open access
- 7. Agricola (EBSCO -- TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: abstracts , indexing
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Compiled by the US National Agricultural Library, this bibliographic information resource consists of over 2 million citations to journal articles, monographs, theses, patents, software, audio-visual materials, and technical reports. The records describe publications and resources encompassing all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including: plant and animal sciences; forestry; entomology; soil and water resources; agricultural economics; agricultural engineering; agricultural products; alternative farming practices; and food and nutrition.
- Keywords: agriculture | animal | nutrition
- 8. AHFS Drug Information (Stat!Ref-- TexShare)
- Provider: American Hospital Formulary Service on STAT!Ref Platform
- Contents: monographs
- Access Levels: Clinical Partners via their portal page , Educational
- Descriptions: Collection of drug monographs on single-drug entities available in the United States; information on various trademarked preparations and brands of a drug is contained in a single monograph. Monographs on principal ingredients also include descriptive information about drug combinations. There are general statements on groups of drugs whose activities and uses permit their discussion as a class. Information on older and prototype drugs is also provided.
- Keywords: drugs | pharmaceutical
- 9. ALFRED: The Allele Frequency Database
- Provider: Kenneth K Kidd, Yale University
- Contents: charts and graphs , free , links , research tools
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: From the website: "ALFRED's focus is on allele frequencies in diverse anthropologically defined populations. It is not a compendium of human DNA polymorphisms but of frequencies of selected polymorphisms with an emphasis on those that have been studied in multiple populations. All of the data in ALFRED are considered to be in the public domain and available for use in research and teaching."
- Keywords: genetics | genotype | statistical
- 10. Alt Health Watch (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: citations , partial full text
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Focuses on complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness; offers full text articles for nearly 180 international reports and journals, many of which are peer-reviewed. In addition, there are hundreds of other publication types: pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research, and book excerpts.
- Keywords: alternative medicine | herbs | holistic | wellness
- 11. America: History and Life and Historical Abstracts
- Provider: EBSCO
- Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: America: History and Life (AHL) is a complete bibliographic reference to the history of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Published since 1964, the database comprises over 530,000 bibliographic entries for periodicals dating back to 1954. Additional bibliographical entries are constantly added to the databases from editorial projects such as retrospective coverage of journals issues published prior to 1954. This extensive database covers over 1,700 journals published worldwide. In addition to covering all key English-language historical journals, America: History and Life coverage includes selected historical journals from major countries, state and local history journals, and a targeted selection of hundreds of journals in the social sciences and humanities. Over 90% of the articles included are published in English-language journals.
- Keywords: history | humanities | social sciences
- 12. American Film Scripts Online
- Provider: Alexander Street Press
- Contents: archive , full text , text
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Contains full text movie scripts written between 1920- present.
- Keywords: culture | films | humanities | social sciences | society
- 13. American Hospital Directory
- Provider: American Hospital Association
- Contents: directory , free , partial open access , quick reference
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: Not all content here is free, but visitors can search for hospitals and view free profile information like location, number of beds, types of services offered, Medicare patient charge and utilization numbers, and general state and national hospital statistics.
- Keywords: consumer health | healthcare system
- 14. American Periodicals Series Online, 1740-1900
- Provider: ProQuest
- Contents: full text , illustrations , images , newspapers
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Contains digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals that originated between 1741 and 1900, deriving from the American Periodicals Series microform collection, with over 1,100 periodicals spanning nearly 200 years-from colonial times to the advent of American involvement in World War II. Titles range from America's first scientific journal, Medical Repository, to popular magazines such as Vanity Fair and Ladies' Home Journal.
- Keywords: history | history of North America | homework | magazines | periodicals
- 15. Approved Drug Products with Therapeutic Equivalence Evaluations (Orange Book)
- Provider: U.S. Food and Drug Administration
- Contents: cross reference , free , full text , government documents , index , open access , quick reference , reference
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: The Orange Book provides updated information on prescription, over-the-counter and discontinued FDA-approved drug products. It can be searched and consulted online, or the annual edition and monthly cumulative supplements can be downloaded in .pdf format. The Electronic Orange Book provides daily updates of new generic drug approvals. Search by active ingredient, proprietary name, patent, application number or application holder. If a newly-approved drug product is not turned up in the search, use the search box at top right of the page to find results from the Orange Book's monthly supplements and other FDA sources.
- Keywords: drugs | federal agencies | open access | patents | pharmaceutical | products | public health | U.S. Government
- 16. ARTStor
- Provider: ARTStor
- Contents: images
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: ARTStor contains roughly half a million images of architecture, paintings, sculpture, photography, decorative arts and design, as well as images from other forms of 'visual culture.' This database documents the art of many cultures and eras.
- Keywords: art | culture | humanities
- 17. arXiv
- Provider: Cornell University Library
- Contents: e-prints , free
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: Provides open access to e-prints in physics, mathematics, non-linear science, computer science, and quantitative biology. Started in August 1991, arXiv.org (formerly xxx.lanl.gov) is a highly-automated electronic archive and distribution server for research papers. Users can retrieve papers from arXiv either via the web interface, or by sending commands to the system via e-mail. Authors can use a web form to submit their papers and can also update their submissions if they choose, though previous versions remain available. Users can register to automatically receive a listing via email of newly submitted papers in areas of interest to them.
- Keywords: biology | computers | open access | physics | research




