A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z
HAM-TMC Library
Databases
Our databases contain a wide variety of medical information resources: journal articles, statistics, images, government information, and more. Browse the alphabetical list of database titles or search for terms that appear in the database descriptions.Search:
"C" Databases
The Library has 211 databases and
17 under the letter "C"
- 1. Canary Database: Animals as Sentinels of Human Environmental Health Hazards
- Provider: Yale University Occupational and Environmental Medicine and Yale University School of Medicine
- Contents: free , full text
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: Compilation of peer-reviewed research articles related to the use of animals as sentinels of human health hazards; contains information added by trained curators in addition to bibliographic records from MEDLINE and other databases. Includes studies of wildlife, companion and livestock animals, where either the exposure or the health effect may be considered relevant to human health.
- Keywords: animal | biohazard | environmental | open access | pesticides | workplace
- 2. ChemID Plus
- Provider: National Library of Medicine
- Contents: brief records , chemical compounds , free
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: Web-based search system that provides access to structure and nomenclature authority files used for the identification of chemical substances cited in National Library of Medicine (NLM) databases, including the TOXNET system; also provides structure searching and direct links to many biomedical resources at NLM and on the Internet for chemicals of interest. The database contains over 379,000 chemical records, of which over 257,000 include chemical structures, and is searchable by Name, Synonym, CAS Registry Number, Molecular Formula, Classification Code, Locator Code, and Structure.
- Keywords: chemicals | chemistry | open access | toxicology | toxins
- 3. ChemSpider: Building Community for Chemists
- Provider: Royal Society of Chemistry
- Contents: abstracts , charts and graphs , chemical compounds , chemical structure , citations , free , images , open access , research tools , search engine , videos , websites
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: "ChemSpider is a free access service providing a structure-centric community for chemists. Providing access to millions of chemical structures and integration to a multitude of other online services, ChemSpider is the richest single source of structure-based chemistry information." A list of the databases drawn upon is provided. In addition to the integration of these sources, qualified users (after a free registration) can also further enrich this database by contributing their own data. Numerous features and applications are to be found here in addition to the main database. Tutorials are provided (also available via YouTube) and a blog helps keep the user up to date on new developments at this site.
- Keywords: chemicals | chemistry | collaborative | data | open access | research | scientist | search | tutorial
- 4. CINAHL Plus with Full Text
- Provider: EBSCO
- Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing
- Access Levels: Clinical Partners via their portal page , Educational
- Descriptions: CINAHL Plus with Full Text is the comprehensive index to nursing and allied health articles, and contains cover-to-cover, current full text for more than 400 of the top journals indexed. Also provides more than 600,000 historical full-text articles dating back to 1937. A tutorial for the CINAHL interface is available here.
- Keywords: allied health | nursing
- 5. CKS - Clinical Knowledge Summaries
- Provider: National Library for Health, National Health Service, UK
- Contents: free , full text , links
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: This evidence-based care tool provides the practitioner with "a reliable source of evidence-based information and practical 'know how' about the common conditions managed in primary care." For each topic, information is provided on scope and age range, how recently the topic and the supporting evidence have been updated, background, diagnosis and management information on the condition, the recommended prescribing information, and (for users in the UK) links out to the full text of articles cited. Patient information handouts are also provided. A free registration allows the user to customize the resource according to preference.
- Keywords: evidence-based medicine | open access
- 6. CLASE and PERIODICA (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: indexing
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: CLASE covers documents published in Latin American and Caribbean social sciences and humanities journals. PERIODICA covers science and technology specialty journals. Coverage is from 1978 to the present; updated quarterly.
- Keywords: humanities | social sciences | Spanish
- 7. Clin-eguide: Clinical Decision Support
- Provider: OVID
- Contents: e-books , full text , handbook , patient education , practice guidelines , quick reference , textbooks
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Clin-eguide is a clinical decision support system that combines clinical disease management, drug therapy and laboratory testing information in a single resource. It provides both patient- and disease-specific recommendations, taking into account patient status and concomitant conditions, and prompts the clinician to consider issues that may influence individual patient outcome. Clin-eguide is extensively and systematically researched and updated. It draws information from Evidence-Based Guidelines, Nursing Advisor, Facts & Comparisons drug information, national guidelines, the Cancer Chemotherapy Manual and many other sources, and includes patient handouts. The mobile version is compatible with Palm OS, Windows Mobile, Blackberry and iPhone. To get started with the mobile version, click "MyPDA" in the line of links at top right of the first screen, and register. Your "serial number" entry key will be emailed to you within a few minutes. If you don't receive it within a reasonable time, re-register.
- Keywords: clinical evidence | clinical practice guidelines | decision support | drugs | evidence-based medicine | nursing | pharmaceutical | physicians | point-of-care
- 8. Clinical Queries (PubMed)
- Provider: National Institutes of Health/National Library of Medicine
- Contents: abstracts , citations , free , indexing , links to full text
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: A specialized PubMed search interface that affords an easier, more focused access to clinical studies, systematic reviews and medical genetics information.
- Keywords: clinical evidence | clinical studies | clinical trials | decision support | evidence-based medicine | genetics | open access | point-of-care | systematic reviews
- 9. ClinicalTrials.gov
- Provider: National Institutes of Health/National Library of Medicine
- Contents: free , full text
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: Contains approximately 29,500 clinical studies sponsored by the National Institutes of Health, other federal agencies, and private industry. Draws on studies conducted in all 50 States and in over 130 other countries. Provides regularly updated information about federally and privately supported clinical research on human volunteers; includes purpose of the trial, who may participate, locations, and phone numbers for learning more details.
- Keywords: clinical trials | open access
- 10. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews - EBM Reviews
- Provider: OVID
- Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing
- Access Levels: Clinical Partner , Educational
- Descriptions: Includes the full text of the regularly updated systematic reviews of the effects of healthcare prepared by The Cochrane Collaboration. Reviews are presented in two types: complete reviews- regularly updated Cochrane Reviews, prepared and maintained by Collaborative Review Groups; and protocols- the background, objectives and methods of reviews in preparation. This database is updated and amended regularly, as new evidence becomes available and errors are identified. For a brief guide to searching any Ovid database, access the full list of available databases by clicking "Change Databases," and click the "i" (information) logo next to its title.
- Keywords: clinical evidence | clinical studies | clinical trials | evidence-based medicine | point-of-care | systematic reviews
- 11. Cochrane Library
- Provider: Wiley InterScience
- Contents: full text
- Access Levels: Clinical Partner , Educational
- Descriptions: Aggregated database of information from the following: The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews; Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects; The Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials; Cochrane Database of Methodology Reviews; Cochrane Methodology Register; Health Technology Assessment Database; and NHS Economic Evaluation Database. For information on searching this resource, click here.
- Keywords: clinical evidence | clinical studies | clinical trials | point-of-care | systematic reviews
- 12. Cold Spring Harbor Protocols
- Provider: Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory Press
- Contents: full text , protocols
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Cold Spring Harbor Protocols is an interactive source of new and classic research techniques. The database is searchable by keyword and subject, and includes discussion forums and personal folders. Its coverage includes cell and molecular biology, genetics, bioinformatics, protein science, and imaging. Protocols will be continuously expanded, updated, and annotated by the originators and users of the techniques.
- Keywords: bioinformatics | biology | genetics | medical imaging | proteins
- 13. Complementary and Alternative Therapies (MedlinePlus)
- Provider: National Institutes of Health/National Library of Medicine
- Contents: free , full text , patient education
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: Includes sections on acupuncture, alternative medicine, herbal medicine, cancer alternative therapies, chiropractic, and dietary supplements. These sections include latest news, topic overviews, links to associations and organizations, interactive tutorials, and clinical trials. A Spanish language version is also available.
- Keywords: acupuncture | alternative medicine | consumer health | herbs | open access
- 14. Computer Source (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: bibliographic records , full text
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Provides latest information and current trends in high technology; offers full text for nearly 300 publications, covering topics such as computer science, programming, artificial intelligence, cybernetics, information systems, robotics, and software. In addition, this database offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 450 publications.
- Keywords: computers | electronics | information science | technology
- 15. Consumer Health Complete (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: abstracts , encyclopedia , full text , indexing , monographs , reference
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Provides encyclopedias and reference books, health reports and pamphlets, health news, drug and herb information, alternative health sources, and medical images and diagrams. Includes full-text articles from a variety of journals. A Spanish language version (Salud en Espanol) is available.
- Keywords: consumer health
- 16. Contemporary Authors (TexShare)
- Provider: Gale
- Contents: bibliographies , biographical , literary criticism
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: A bio-bibliographical guide that covers more than 124,000 current writers in a wide range of media, including: current writers of fiction, general nonfiction, poetry, and drama; prominent print and broadcast journalists, editors, photojournalists, syndicated cartoonists, screenwriters, television scriptwriters, and other media people; authors who write in languages other than English, provided their works have been published in the United States or translated into English; and literary greats of the early twentieth century whose works are popular in today's high school and college curriculums and continue to elicit critical attention.
- Keywords: books | culture | homework | literature
- 17. Contemporary Literary Criticism (TexShare)
- Provider: Gale
- Contents: literary criticism
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Provides significant published criticism on the works of novelists, poets, playwrights, short story writers, and other creative writers. A strong emphasis is placed on including criticism of works by established authors who frequently appear on syllabuses of high school and college literature courses. Each entry contains the following: a biographical essay that discusses the author's life, works, and critical importance; critical essays or excerpts taken from books, magazines, literary reviews, newspapers, and scholarly journals; and, where available, interviews with featured authors. A complete bibliographical citation prefaces each critical essay and most essays are introduced by a brief annotation that establishes a context and purpose for the criticism. Entries also provide suggestions for further reading.
- Keywords: books | culture | homework | humanities | literature





