A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z
HAM-TMC Library
Databases
Our databases contain a wide variety of medical information resources: journal articles, statistics, images, government information, and more. Browse the alphabetical list of database titles or search for terms that appear in the database descriptions.Search:
"D" Databases
The Library has 211 databases and
13 under the letter "D"
- 1. Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE) (EBM Reviews)
- Provider: OVID
- Contents: abstracts , indexing , links
- Access Levels: Clinical Partner , Educational
- Descriptions: Provides critical assessments of systematic reviews from a variety of medical journals. DARE is produced by reviewers and information staff of the National Health Service's Centre for Reviews and Dissemination (NHS CRD) at the University of York, England, and consists of structured abstracts of systematic reviews from all over the world. DARE records cover topics such as diagnosis, prevention, rehabilitation, screening, and treatment.
- Keywords: diagnosis | reviews | Spanish | systematic reviews
- 2. dbGaP (Database of Genotypes and Phenotypes)
- Provider: National Center for Biotechnology Information
- Contents: free , open access , partial open access , research tools , sequencing data
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: In dbGaP, NCBI archives and distributes the results of studies investigating the interaction of genotype and phenotype. Genome-wide association studies, medical sequencing, molecular diagnostic assays, and associations between genotype and non-clinical traits are covered. dbGaP contains both open- and controlled-access data. Non-sensitive data are released on a broad scale, but sensitive data sets involving personal health information are not publicly accessible. Search by study or disease, or use Advanced Search.
- Keywords: biology | database | genetics | genome | genomics | life sciences | open access
- 3. Diagnosaurus
- Provider: McGraw-Hill
- Contents: brief records , links to full text
- Access Levels: Clinical Partner , Educational
- Descriptions: Diagnosaurus is a tool that links the user to information in texts within AccessMedicine's collection in order to assist with the formation of differential diagnoses on over a thousand diseases and disorders.
- Keywords: decision support | diagnosis | physicians
- 4. Dictionary of Literary Biography (TexShare)
- Provider: Gale
- Contents: bibliographies , biographical , literary criticism
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Essays outline the lives and careers of authors from all eras and genres and summarize the critical response to their work. Each DLB entry contains personal information- birth/death dates, nationality/ethnicity, principal genres, awards, family history, and in some cases an author portrait-a list of the author's principal works, further readings about the author, a list of additional writings, published interviews, biographies, and a bibliography of writings about the author.
- Keywords: biography | homework | humanities | literature | publishing
- 5. Dietary Supplements Labels Database
- Provider: National Library of Medicine
- Contents: brief records , free , full text , quick reference
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: Dietary Supplements Labels Database enables one to look up research results on dietary supplements based on brand name, active ingredients, manufacturer and even intended use. The information available may include adverse effects, mechanism of action and FDA warnings and recalls.
- Keywords: alternative medicine | dietary supplements | drugs | herbs | open access | products
- 6. Digital Commons@The Texas Medical Center
- Provider: HAM-TMC Library
- Contents: archive , bibliographic records , dissertation , free , full text , open access , thesis
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: Digital Commons is the institutional repository for research work produced by TMC faculty, researchers, and students. It is an open access digital library containing preprints, postprints, datasets, conference proceedings, working papers, teaching materials, dissertations, and more.
- Keywords: digital | dissertations | e-prints | medicine | nursing | open access | publishing
- 7. Digital National Security Archive
- Provider: ProQuest and the National Security Archive
- Contents: abstracts , free , full text
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: Comprehensive collection of primary documents, including more than 60,000 declassified documents regarding US policy decisions; there are 27 complete collections, each offering specialized insights, with new collections added regularly.
- Keywords: American history | open access | policy | U.S. Government
- 8. Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
- Provider: Lund University Libraries, Sweden
- Contents: free , full text , links to full text , open access
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: DOAJ is a consistently-updated service listing open access and "hybrid" (partially open access), quality-controlled scholarly journals covering a broad range of disciplines, with articles written in a variety of languages. Over 3,600 journals are included, approximately a third of which are searchable at article level.
- Keywords: e-publishing | humanities | journal | open access | periodicals | science | social sciences
- 9. Disaster Information Management Research Center
- Provider: National Library of Medicine
- Contents: free , full text , links , websites
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: "DIMRC is tasked with the effective collection, organization, and dissemination of health information for natural, accidental, or deliberate disasters."
- Keywords: disaster | open access | public administration | public health | society
- 10. DPDx - Laboratory Identification of Parasites of Public Health Concern
- Provider: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
- Contents: free
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: Sections of this CDC website include: Parasites and Health, Diagnostic Procedures, and the Parasite Image Library. Includes information of interest to consumers as well as health professionals.
- Keywords: consumer health | life cycle | open access | parasitology | pathogenesis | physicians | public health
- 11. Drug Information Pathfinder
- Provider: U.S. Food and Drug Administration
- Contents: free , full text , government documents , links , monographs , quick reference
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: From this starting point, find a link to the U.S. Pharmacopeia updates and revisions, as well as information about new pending and non-U.S. standards. The full text of the "Orange Book" of approved drug products is accessible from here, under the Generic Drugs heading. Additional sections provide guidance on the drug approval application process, best practices in manufacturing and clinical trials, consumer advice, information on over-the-counter drugs, and more.
- Keywords: clinical trials | drugs | federal agencies | law | marketing | open access | pharmaceutical | pharmacy | standards
- 12. Drug Resource Center
- Provider: AETNA Intelihealth
- Contents: free , patient education , quick reference
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: This section of the Aetna InteliHealth site provides articles on condition-specific drug issues. An editorial faculty from Harvard Medical School assures the accuracy and relevance of information presented by this website.
- Keywords: consumer health | drugs | open access | pharmaceutical
- 13. DrugBank
- Provider: University of Alberta
- Contents: chemical compounds , chemical structure , free , full text , links , open access , reference , sequencing data
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: Bioinformatics and cheminformatics resource that combines detailed drug (chemical, pharmacological and pharmaceutical) data with comprehensive drug target (sequence, structure, and pathway) information. The database contains nearly 4300 drug entries including FDA-approved small molecule drugs, FDA-approved biotech (protein/peptide) drugs, nutraceuticals and experimental drugs. Additionally, more than 6,000 protein (i.e. drug target) sequences are linked to these drug entries. Each DrugCard entry contains more than 80 data fields with half of the information being devoted to drug/chemical data and the other half devoted to drug target or protein data.
- Keywords: bioinformatics | biomedical research | biotechnology | chemistry | drugs | open source | pharmacology






