A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z
HAM-TMC Library
Databases
Our databases contain a wide variety of medical information resources: journal articles, statistics, images, government information, and more. Browse the alphabetical list of database titles or search for terms that appear in the database descriptions.Search:
"E" Databases
The Library has 211 databases and
15 under the letter "E"
- 1. Early Encounters in North America
- Provider: Alexander Street Press
- Contents: full text , illustrations , images , reference
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: This highly searchable database contains over 100,000 pages of letters, diaries, memoirs and accounts of "early encounters" with the humans, flora and fauna of North America, from explorers, missionaries and others new to the "New World." Many images are also included.
- Keywords: American history | biology | botany | culture | history | homework | multicultural | multidisciplinary | Native American
- 2. Early English Books Online
- Provider: ProQuest
- Contents: full text , images
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: "Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700 - from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War..." Historians of science and medicine may find useful material here.
- Keywords: books | digital | history | history of medicine | literature | multidisciplinary | research | science
- 3. EBSCOHost Espanol (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: abstracts , index , links , partial full text , research tools , Spanish language interface
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Spanish language version of the interface to multiple databases provided by EBSCO.
- Keywords: database | gateway | homework | multidisciplinary | periodicals | portal | Spanish
- 4. Economia y Negocios (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: bibliographic records , Spanish language interface
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: A collaborative effort between EBSCO Publishing and ESAN (Escuela de Administración de Negocios para Graduados), this bibliographic database provides information on research conducted in the areas of business and economics. Search functionality is enhanced through the incorporation of author keywords supplied in Spanish and English. More than 60,000 records, dating back to the early 1980s, provide coverage for over 200 Spanish and Portuguese-language periodicals published in Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Spain, the United States and elsewhere. Active titles include Revista de la CEPAL, Revista de Administraçao, Estudios Empresariales, and Agroeconómico.
- Keywords: business | economics | Latin America | management | research | Spanish
- 5. Eighteenth Century Collections Online (TexShare)
- Provider: Gale
- Contents: full text
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Digital images of over 13 million pages from over 1,500 English-language titles and editions published between 1701 and 1800, with images and maps included. A wide variety of subject matter is represented, from Fine Arts to Medicine. Titles from the British Library and many other university, private and public libraries worldwide.
- Keywords: culture | history | homework | kids | society
- 6. eLibrary Curriculum Edition (TexShare)
- Provider: ProQuest -- TexShare
- Contents: full text , illustrations , newspapers , websites
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Large collection of periodical and digital media content designed specifically for K-12 students. Powered by the MediaSeek® knowledge base of educational standards to supplement instruction and research. Contains more than 2,000 full-text magazines, newspapers, reference books, and transcripts-plus pictures, maps, educator-approved websites from Homework Central®, and audio/video content
- Keywords: general reference | homework | K-12 | kids | magazines | multidisciplinary
- 7. Encyclopedia of Animals (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: brief records , encyclopedia , illustrations , images
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Offers information on a variety of topics relating to animals; consists of indexing, abstracts, and full text records describing the nature and habitat of familiar animals. Within some of the full text, image links are available for the Windows client. Images are accessed by double-clicking any image graphic.
- Keywords: animal | biology | homework | K-12 | kids | zoology
- 8. Enhanced Business Search Interface (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: The Business Searching Interface (BSI) provides an easy way to both browse and search for country economic data, company profiles, industry information and market research, and then use the results as limiters in a keyword search, if desired.
- Keywords: business | company profiles | economics | industry | marketing
- 9. Entrez Cross-Database Search
- Provider: National Center for Biotechnology Information
- Contents: abstracts , free , full text , indexing , sequencing data
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: Integrated, text-based search and retrieval system used at the National Center for Biotechnology Information for its major databases: PubMed, Nucleotide and Protein Sequences, Protein Structures, Complete Genomes, Taxonomy, and others. Entrez integrates the scientific literature, DNA and protein sequence databases, 3D protein structure and protein domain data, population study datasets, expression data, assemblies of complete genomes, and taxonomic information into a tightly interlinked system.
- Keywords: genome | journal | life sciences | NLM | open access | proteins | taxonomy
- 10. Epocrates Online®
- Provider: Epocrates, Inc.
- Contents: free , indexing , monographs , patient education
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: Epocrates Online is a database that (with the expected disclaimers and terms of use) provides useful and comprehensive information on pharmaceutical products at no cost to the user. Tabbed sections are provided on drugs, diseases, drug interactions and contraindications, and pill identification. A paid subscription is required for access to MedCalc and another section providing clinical tables/guidelines. Free registration is required to use Epocrates. A free mobile version is also available for download. Subscription information is easy to find on the website.
- Keywords: drugs | open access | pharmaceutical | pharmacy
- 11. ERIC (EBSCO -- TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: abstracts , bibliographies , directory , dissertation , government documents , indexing , monographs , proceedings , thesis
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) database is sponsored by the US Department of Education to provide access to educational-related literature; provides coverage of conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs. Dates of coverage: 1966 - current. Subject coverage includes counseling and personnel services, education management, information resources, languages and linguistics, science, mathematics, and environmental education, teacher education, and tests, measurement, and evaluation.
- Keywords: education | science | tests | workforce
- 12. Ethnic NewsWatch
- Provider: ProQuest -- TexShare
- Contents:
- Access Level:
- Descriptions: An interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of newspapers, magazines and journals from ethnic, minority and native presses. Coverage begins with 1990.
- Keywords:
- 13. European Patent Office (esp@cenet)
- Provider: European Patent Office
- Contents: bibliographic records , free , government documents , illustrations , index , links , links to full text , open access
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: The European Patent Office (EPO) database actually includes records of patents worldwide, drawing its information also from WIPO (the World Intellectual Property Organization.) Unlike most patent databases, this one is very user-friendly, offering searches without the use of field tags. Search by keyword, author or organization; publication, application, priority or reference number; or search by EPO classification, which is based on the International Patent Classification system. The advanced search offers inclusive searching or limit to WIPO or EPO databases, and entry of up to ten specifics, including keyword. Relevant help information is offered in each screen. The Patent Information Tour (last link on the esp@cenet home page) offers several short video tutorials.
- Keywords: biomedical research | biotechnology | industry | medical devices | multidisciplinary | open access | patents | science | scientist
- 14. Exam Master (USMLE)
- Provider: Exam Master Corp.
- Contents: test questions
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Exam Master's question bank contains exam practice material for: USMLE Steps 1, 2 and 3; Medical Board Exams, including family practice, internal medicine, and surgery; several medical specialties, including anatomy, microbiology and physiology; and Part I of the National Board Dental Exam. Users register via Remote Access at Exam Master, and set up personal logins in order to create and save their exam questions in the Exam Master database. To register or access your account, log in to your Remote Access account first. Follow the link that says, "Not registered yet?" if you are a new user. The publisher recommends new users take the tutorial they are presented with on first login, before proceeding to select their exam materials.
- Keywords: medicine | tests | USMLE
- 15. Eye Pathologist, The
- Provider: Duke University Medical Center
- Contents: free , glossary of terms , images , open access , reference
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: The Eye Pathologist is a web-based instructional database on the anatomy and pathology of the eye, a teaching and reference tool for medical students and professionals. This database contains more than 4,000 images and deals with more than 5,000 diseases affecting vision and the eye. It also includes links to a glossary of over 6,000 definitions. For the present, the database is free, although complete utilization of all features does require a free registration.
- Keywords: education | eye | genetics | microbiology | open access | ophthalmology | parasitology | pathogenesis | physicians | student | syndrome




