A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z
HAM-TMC Library
Databases
Our databases contain a wide variety of medical information resources: journal articles, statistics, images, government information, and more. Browse the alphabetical list of database titles or search for terms that appear in the database descriptions.Search:
"G" Databases
The Library has 211 databases and
6 under the letter "G"
- 1. Gale Virtual Reference Library (TexShare)
- Provider: Gale
- Contents: biographical , dictionary , e-books , encyclopedia , full text , indexing , reference , tables of contents , thesaurus
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: This is a large collection (approx. 150 titles) of Electronic Reference Books that can be searched simultaneously as a database, or singly. GVRL offers access to a wide spectrum of disciplines in multi-volume encyclopedias and other reference books, each focusing on an overview or an aspect of arts and humanities, medicine, social and "hard" sciences. These works are published by Gale and other established, well-known publishers, for instance Wiley, Cambridge and MacMillan.
- Keywords: general reference | multidisciplinary
- 2. Gene Ontology (GO) project
- Provider: Gene Ontology Consortium
- Contents: free , indexing , research tools
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: The Gene Ontology (GO) project is a collaborative effort by various organizations and groups working on various genome projects to address the need for consistent description of gene products across different databases. The GO collaborators are developing three "ontologies" (in computer science, specifications of relational vocabularies) that describe three aspects of molecular biology- biological processes, cellular components, and molecular functions- in a species-independent manner. The GO database has a user-friendly interface (AmiGO) available, as well as other downloadable, local-use tools.
- Keywords: biomedical research | database | genome | genomics | genotype | ontology | open access | sequencing | taxonomy
- 3. Genetics Home Reference
- Provider: National Library of Medicine
- Contents: free , full text , glossary of terms , handbook , illustrations , patient education , summaries
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: The National Library of Medicine's web site for consumer information about genetic conditions and the genes or chromosomes responsible for those conditions. Includes condition, gene, and chromosome summaries, the Help Me Understand Genetics Handbook (with basic explanations of how genes work, genetic testing, and the Human Genome Project) and a glossary of genetic and medical terms.
- Keywords: genetics | mutation | open access
- 4. Go Local Texas Gulf Coast
- Provider: HAM-TMC Library, UTMB-Galveston Moody Medical Library, and National Library of Medicine
- Contents: brief records , free , websites
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: A joint consumer health website project between the Jesse H Jones Community Health Information Service of the Houston Academy of Medicine-Texas Medical Center Library and the University of Texas Medical Branch, Galveston, Moody Medical Library in partnership with the National Libary of Medicine, this resource provides up-to-date information about local health resources for 38 counties in the Texas Gulf Coast region, and, by linking to MedlinePlus, makes available reliable health information about a number of diseases and conditions.
- Keywords: consumer health | healthcare | open access | Texas
- 5. GoPubMed
- Provider: Transinsight
- Contents: federated search , free , research tools , search engine
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: GoPubMed is an innovative, powerful search tool that combines the MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) and GO (Gene Ontology) terminologies to optimize the effectiveness of queries to PubMed- for everyone, but for molecular biologists in particular. Searching elicits results presented very quickly (maximum display: the most recent 1,000 citations), along with a sidebar presenting the full results in categorized, hierarchical groups of terms that help the user to focus in further- the producers of this search engine refer to it as a "knowledge-based semantic search." There are many more features to this search tool than can be described here.
- Keywords: biomedical research | cell biology | informatics | MedLine | MeSH | microbiology | ontology | open access | proteins | scientist | search | semantic | subject headings
- 6. GreenFile (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: abstracts , full text , images , indexing
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: GreenFILE covers human impact on the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green buildings, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling and more. Indexing and abstracts of more than 384,000 records, and full text of approximately 4,700 open access records.
- Keywords: biology | current events | environmental | general health | government | life sciences | multidisciplinary | policy | public health | society | student | toxins



