A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z
HAM-TMC Library
Databases
Our databases contain a wide variety of medical information resources: journal articles, statistics, images, government information, and more. Browse the alphabetical list of database titles or search for terms that appear in the database descriptions.Search:
"H" Databases
The Library has 211 databases and
11 under the letter "H"
- 1. Handbook of Texas Online (TexShare)
- Provider: Texas State Historical Association and the General Libraries at UT Austin -- TexShare
- Contents: encyclopedia , full text
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Multidisciplinary encyclopedia of Texas history, geography, and culture sponsored by the Texas State Historical Association and the General Libraries at UT Austin. It comprises more than 23,000 articles on people, places, events, historical themes, institutions, and a host of other topic categories. The scope is broad and inclusive, designed to provide readers with concise, authoritative and accessible articles that provide factual, nonpartisan accounts on virtually every aspect of Texas history and culture.
- Keywords: culture | history | homework | Texas
- 2. HarpWeek
- Provider: HarpWeek
- Contents: full text , newspapers
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Full text of Harper's Weekly, the leading 19th Century American illustrated newspaper, from 1857-1912.
- Keywords: American history | culture | history | society
- 3. Health & Wellness Resource Center (TexShare)
- Provider: Gale
- Contents: citations , encyclopedia , full text , indexing , links , reference , websites
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Provides integrated access to medical, statistical, health and wellness information for consumers, students, and professionals; provides the Alternative Health Module. Includes the Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine. Delivers reference material as well as full-text magazines, journals, and pamphlets from a wide variety of medical sources. Also includes descriptions and links for some useful and appropriate Websites.
- Keywords: alternative medicine | consumer health | journal | medicine
- 4. Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HAPI)
- Provider: OVID
- Contents: research tools , test questions
- Access Levels: Clinical Partner , Educational
- Descriptions: Provides access to information on measurement instruments (questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/ manuals, rating scales, projective techniques, vignettes/scenarios, tests) in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information science. Helps to identify measures needed for research studies, grant proposals, client/patient assessment, class papers/projects, theses/dissertations, and program evaluation. For a brief guide to searching any Ovid database, access the full list of available databases by clicking "Change Databases," and click the "i" (information) logo next to its title.
- Keywords: education | libraries | psychology | social sciences | student
- 5. Health Reference Center Academic (TexShare)
- Provider: Gale
- Contents: audio , full text , newspapers , videos
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Provides access to the full text of nursing and allied health journals, plus a wide variety of personal health information sources, including newspapers and multimedia.
- Keywords: allied health | healthcare | nursing | periodicals
- 6. Health Source: Consumer Edition (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: abstracts , e-books , full text , indexing
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Provides information on many health topics: medical sciences, food science and nutrition, child care, sports medicine and general health. Features searchable full text for nearly 190 journals, as well as abstracts and indexing for over 200 general health, nutrition and professional health care publications. Also included are USP Pharmacopoeia DI: Volume II Advice for the Lay Patient and 20 health research books, including books published by the People's Medical Society.
- Keywords: consumer health | diet | drugs | general health | nutrition | sports medicine
- 7. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing , reference
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on various medical disciplines and features abstracts and indexing for 850 journals, with coverage of nursing and allied health being particularly strong, including full text from many nursing journals. In addition, this database includes Clinical Pharmacology, which provides access to up-to-date, concise and clinically relevant drug monographs for all U.S. prescription drugs, hard-to-find herbal and nutritional supplements, over-the-counter products and new drugs. Full text information in this database dates as far back as 1975.
- Keywords: allied health | drugs | medicine | nursing
- 8. Herbs and Supplements Information (MedlinePlus)
- Provider: National Library of Medicine and Natural Standard
- Contents: free , full text , indexing
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: Entries for individual herbs and supplements include: background, synonyms, evidence, dosing, safety, interactions, methodology, and selected references. Information is also available in Spanish.
- Keywords: dietary supplements | herbs | open access | open source | products
- 9. HeritageQuest Online
- Provider: ProQuest
- Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Contains over 20,000 books currently available, the entire US Federal Census, PERSI, Freedman's Bank Records, Revolutionary War Pension Records, and other expanding collections.
- Keywords: American history | books | census | genealogy
- 10. Historical Abstracts and America: History and Life
- Provider: EBSCO
- Contents: abstracts , bibliographic records , citations , full text , indexing
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Combined with its sister database America: History and Life, Historical Abstracts contains over 1 million abstracts and citations of book and media reviews, books, and dissertations, many with links to the fulltext. Historical Abstracts provides a complete bibliographic reference to the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Together, America: History and Life and Historical Abstracts cover over 1,700 journals published throughout the world, in over forty languages. Each database deals with those articles that are pertinent to its period of coverage.
- Keywords: American history | books | dissertations | history | homework | multicultural | reviews | society
- 11. Historical New York Times
- Provider: ProQuest
- Contents: archive , full text , newspapers
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Searchable database of the New York Times newspaper, 1851 - 2004.
- Keywords: American history | foreign policy | history | policy | politics | popular

