A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z
HAM-TMC Library
Databases
Our databases contain a wide variety of medical information resources: journal articles, statistics, images, government information, and more. Browse the alphabetical list of database titles or search for terms that appear in the database descriptions.Search:
"I" Databases
The Library has 211 databases and
9 under the letter "I"
- 1. IEEE Xplore
- Provider: IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers)
- Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing , proceedings
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Provides full text access to technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics. IEEE Xplore contains full text documents from IEEE journals, transactions, magazines, letters, conference proceedings, standards, and IEE (Institution of Electrical Engineers) publications from 1988, with select content back to 1952.
- Keywords: computers | conference | electronics | engineering | information science | measurement | medical devices | portal | science | standards
- 2. Illustrata (CSA)
- Provider: ProQuest
- Contents: abstracts , charts and graphs , full text , illustrations , images , indexing , maps , research tools
- Access Levels: Clinical Partner , Educational
- Descriptions: Provides access to nearly one million illustrations, charts, graphs, maps, and other figures from more than 665 journals; using this resource, researchers can specifically search information presented in tables, figures, charts, and other illustrations within articles and then view the full object, including all caption and label text.
- Keywords: figures | science | search
- 3. images.MD, the online encyclopedia of medical images
- Provider: Current Medicine
- Contents: charts and graphs , illustrations , images , research tools , text
- Access Levels: Clinical Partner , Educational
- Descriptions: Compiles over 50,000 images in internal medicine, all derived from Current Medicine’s series of illustrated atlases. Each image is accompanied by detailed text written by over 2,000 contributing experts. Continually updated, with content added throughout the year. Detailed references accompany each image.
- Keywords: biomedical | internal medicine | medical imaging | medicine
- 4. Index to Chiropractic Literature
- Provider: International Chiropractors' Association
- Contents: abstracts , free , index , practice guidelines , reference
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: Produced by members of the Chiropractic Library Consortium (CLIBCON) the Index to Chiropractic Literature provides cover-to-cover indexing of peer-reviewed literature from chiropractic publishers (see Journals Indexed.) A small number of non-peer-reviewed chiropractic publications are also selectively indexed. The ICL website also includes links to other chiropractic resources- American and international organizations, libraries, colleges, chiropractic clinical practice guidelines, and the Chiropractic Subject Headings.
- Keywords: alternative medicine | chiropractic | healthcare | libraries | open access | peer review | subject headings
- 5. Index-Catalogue of the Library of the Surgeon-General's Office. US Army.
- Provider: National Library of Medicine
- Contents: bibliographic records , catalog records , free , indexing
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: Multi-part, searchable bibliography or list of items in the Library of the Surgeon-General’s Office, US Army; contains material dated from the 1400's through 1950, covering the history of medicine, history of science, and clinical research. The Index-Catalogue contains records for journal articles, books, dissertations, pamphlets, and reports.
- Keywords: biology | biomedical research | history of medicine | open access | research | subject headings
- 6. Information Science & Technology Abstracts (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing , monographs , proceedings
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Coverage includes classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management, search engines, printed and electronic information sources, the information industry, scholarly communication, electronic publishing, and more. ISTA indexes journal articles from more than 450 publications plus books, research reports, and conference proceedings and patents. Coverage extends back to the mid 1960s.
- Keywords: books | computers | e-publishing | industry | informatics | information science | libraries | patents
- 7. InfoTrac Newspapers (TexShare)
- Provider: Gale
- Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing , newspapers
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Collection of over 400 newspapers from the US and around the world, including several Texas newspapers and a 365-day rolling file of the New York Times. Dates of coverage vary.
- Keywords: general reference | Texas
- 8. International Pharmaceutical Abstracts
- Provider: OVID
- Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Provides international coverage of pharmaceutical science and health related literature from 1970 to the present, and is updated monthly. Comprehensive information is included for drug therapy, toxicity, and pharmacy practice as well as legislation, regulation, technology, utilization, biopharmaceutics, information processing, education, economics, and ethics as related to pharmaceutical science and practice.
- Keywords: drugs | ethics | law | office practice | pharmaceutical | pharmacy | toxicology
- 9. Internet and Personal Computing Abstracts (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Provides abstracts and indexing for literature related to personal computing products and developments in business, the Internet, the home, and all other applied areas. Coverage extends back to the 1980s. Over 400 trade publications, mainstream computer magazines and professional journals are covered, including those that focus on specific topics such as Macintosh and Windows platforms, programming and web development, with special emphasis on hardware and software reviews. Includes content from such titles as Byte.com, PC World, Macworld, and Linux Journal, as well as editor-selected articles from hundreds of popular magazine titles.
- Keywords: computers | industry | internet | journal | products | technology



