A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z
HAM-TMC Library
Databases
Our databases contain a wide variety of medical information resources: journal articles, statistics, images, government information, and more. Browse the alphabetical list of database titles or search for terms that appear in the database descriptions.Search:
"M" Databases
The Library has 211 databases and
18 under the letter "M"
- 1. MAS Ultra School Edition (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: encyclopedia , full text , images , maps , monographs , reference
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Contains full text for more than 700 popular magazines, including The Nation, National Review, New Republic, New Scientist, Science News, and Scientific American. All full text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full text is available for biographies and primary source documents. Also included are pamphlets, reference books (including the Columbia Encyclopedia, the CIA World Fact Book and World Almanac & Book of Facts), an image collection, maps & flags, color PDFs and expanded full text backfiles (back to 1975) for key magazines.
- Keywords: kids | magazines | multidisciplinary | research | student
- 2. MasterFILE Premier (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: abstracts , dictionary , e-books , indexing , maps , quick reference , reference , research tools
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Provides full text for more than 1,700 general periodicals covering a broad range of disciplines including general reference, business, education, health, general science, and multicultural issues. In addition to the full text, this database provides indexing and abstracts for nearly 2,400 titles. This database includes full text Magill Book Reviews, full text reference books including the World Almanac & Book of Facts; full text from biographies, full text primary source documents, American Heritage Dictionary, 4th Edition and an image collection of photos, maps and flags. Includes PDF backfiles as far back as 1975 for key publications.
- Keywords: general reference | multicultural | multidisciplinary | reviews | student
- 3. MD Consult
- Provider: Elsevier
- Contents: abstracts , CME , e-books , full text , indexing , patient education , practice guidelines , reference , textbooks
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: MD Consult is a database of clinical point-of-care resources. This subscription includes full-text access to over 50 medical reference books covering a wealth of specialties; browsable access to a large journal collection and to 35 Clinics of North America titles; drug information from Gold Standard; more than 1,000 practice guidelines; and thousands of customizable patient education handouts. It offers the option to create personal accounts and participate in CME activities, and includes a news section. Available to Educational level users.
- Keywords: drugs | medicine | pharmaceutical | point-of-care
- 4. Medical Letter, The
- Provider: The Medical Letter, Inc.
- Contents: CME , full text , handbook , practice guidelines , reference , research tools
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: This database contains The Medical Letter on Drugs and Therapeutics, a searchable current database featuring biweekly updates. Archived information dates back to 1988. Also included: the database Treatment Guidelines from The Medical Letter, which includes guidelines from 2002 through the present; Adverse Drug Reactions Program, a proprietary, evidence-based database of drug interactions, updated frequently and searchable for up to 12 drugs simultaneously; and the Handbook of Antimicrobial Therapy, 17th ed. (2005.) Also available are ACCME/ACPE/AAFP-accredited CME's. PDA access is also supported, for Palm OS users only. Please contact the Circulation Desk staff for details on getting started with PDA and CME.
- Keywords: drugs | PDA access | pharmaceutical | pharmacology
- 5. Medical Subject Headings (MeSH)
- Provider: National Library of Medicine
- Contents: cross reference , free , index , thesaurus
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: MeSH is the National Library of Medicine's controlled vocabulary thesaurus, consisting of sets of descriptors in a hierarchical structure to permit searching with increasing levels of specificity. This thesaurus is used by NLM for indexing articles from more than 4,800 of the world's leading biomedical journals for the MEDLINE/PubMed® database. It is also used for LocatorPlus, the NLM-produced catalog of books, documents, and audiovisuals acquired by the National Library of Medicine. Each bibliographic record is associated with a set of MeSH terms describing the item's content. MeSH vocabulary can be used in search queries to find items on a desired topic in any NLM database.
- Keywords: life sciences | MeSH | NLM | open access | subject headings | taxonomy
- 6. MedicLatina (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing , Spanish language interface
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Spanish language collection of medical research and investigative medicine journals, providing full text in Spanish to peer-reviewed medical journals. A wide range of topics is covered, including neuroscience, cardiology, nephrology, biomedicine, clinical research, pediatrics, human reproduction, clinical pathology, cancer research, and hematology. Publications covered in this database include Revista Medica del IMSS, Revista Mexicana de Patologia Clinica, Boletin Medico del Hospital Infantil de Mexico, Archivos de Neurociencias, Revista Biomedica, Veterinaria Mexico, and Salud Publica de Mexico.
- Keywords: journal | Latin America | medicine | peer review | physicians | research | scientist | Spanish
- 7. Medline (CSA)
- Provider: ProQuest
- Contents: abstracts , citations , index , indexing , links to full text , research tools
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE contains all records published in Index Medicus and since 2002, most citations previously included in separate NLM specialty databases such as SPACELINE and HISTLINE
- Keywords: allied health | dentistry | health sciences | journal | life sciences | medicine | pharmacology | physicians | science | scientist | veterinary medicine
- 8. Medline (EBSCO)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: abstracts , citations , index , indexing , links to full text , research tools
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: This bibliographic database provides information from the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, allied health, and the pre-clinical sciences. It is the electronic counterpart of Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and the International Nursing Index.
- Keywords: allied health | dentistry | health sciences | life sciences | medicine | pharmacology | physicians | science | scientist | veterinary medicine
- 9. Medline (OVID)
- Provider: OVID
- Contents: abstracts , citations , index , indexing , research tools
- Access Levels: Clinical Partner , Educational
- Descriptions: Bibliographic database providing information from the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, allied health, and the pre-clinical sciences; the electronic counterpart of Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and the International Nursing Index.
- Keywords: allied health | dentistry | health sciences | life sciences | nursing | pharmacology | physicians | science | scientist | veterinary medicine
- 10. Medline (PubMed)
- Provider: National Library of Medicine
- Contents: abstracts , free , index , indexing , links to full text , research tools
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: Bibliographic database providing information from the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, allied health, and the pre-clinical sciences; the electronic counterpart of Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and the International Nursing Index. PubMed is a service of the US National Library of Medicine that includes over 16 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. PubMed includes links to full text articles and other related resources.
- Keywords: allied health | dentistry | journal | life sciences | medicine | nursing | open access | pharmacology | physicians | science | scientist | veterinary medicine
- 11. MedlinePlus
- Provider: National Library of Medicine
- Contents: dictionary , encyclopedia , free , full text , illustrations , links , news
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: Provides information from the National Institutes of Health and other trusted sources on more than 700 diseases and conditions; includes lists of hospitals and physicians, a medical encyclopedia and a medical dictionary, health information in Spanish, extensive information on prescription and nonprescription drugs, health information from the media, and links to thousands of clinical trials.
- Keywords: clinical trials | consumer health | drugs | healthcare | open access
- 12. Medscape
- Provider: WebMD
- Contents: CME , free , full text , patient education
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: Original, professional medical content, including review articles, journal commentary, expert columns, patient education articles, book reviews, and more than 850 online CME activities. MedScape now offers free download of drug information for the iPhone and iPod Touch. This includes dosage, interactions and adverse effects and cost across more than 6,000 generics and brands, OTCs, herbals and supplements, as well as information for pregnant or lactating women. MedScape requires free registration.
- Keywords: consumer health | open access | physicians | reviews
- 13. Mental Measurements Yearbook
- Provider: EBSCO
- Contents: citations , full text , indexing
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Produced by the Buros Institute, contains full text information about and reviews of all English-language standardized tests covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas. A comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments, and designed for users from experienced professionals to novice test consumers, Mental Measurement Yearbook contains information essential for a complete evaluation of test products.
- Keywords: business | education | mental health | psychology | reviews | sociology | tests | workforce
- 14. Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy, The
- Provider: Merck & Co., Inc.
- Contents: audio , free , handbook , images , indexing , manual , text , videos
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: Standard text in the field of diagnosis and therapy, freely available on the Internet.
- Keywords: diagnosis | open access | physicians
- 15. Merck Manuals Online Medical Library- Home Edition
- Provider: Merck & Co., Inc.
- Contents: free , full text , glossary of terms , illustrations , manual , quick reference , reference , tables of contents
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: This manual is an invaluable resource for the layman, explaining medical conditions from every aspect, with introductions giving background information on the biology of body systems and organs, and providing supporting anatomical and 3-D visual aids. Of particular value is the Drugs section, with information on pharmacokinetics, drug interaction and adverse reactions, herbal supplements and over-the-counter drugs. The Special Subjects area contains sections on medical decision-making, limb prosthetics, travel medicine, women's health, alternative and complementary medicines, and more.
- Keywords: consumer health | drugs | medicine
- 16. Merck Veterinary Manual
- Provider: Merck & Co., Inc.
- Contents: audio , free , full text , handbook , images , indexing , links , manual , tables of contents , videos
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: Merck Veterinary Manual Online is a general reference text for veterinary professionals, containing information arranged primarily by body system with some information on specific species. This manual contains a section on laboratory animals and exotic species. Some images, audio and video files are included, along with quick references and lists of useful outside links.
- Keywords: open access | veterinary medicine
- 17. Middle Search Plus (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: abstracts , biographical , dictionary , encyclopedia , full text , images , indexing
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Contains full text for nearly 140 popular magazines. All full text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full text is also available for thousands of biographies, historical essays and student pamphlets. Also contains primary source documents (Essential Documents in American History), reference books (Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia and American Heritage Dictionary), the Encyclopedia of Animals, and an image collection of photos, maps and flags.
- Keywords: biography | general reference | homework | kids | magazines
- 18. Military & Government Collection (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing , monographs
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Offers current news pertaining to all branches of the military and includes cover-to-cover full text for nearly 300 academic journals and other periodicals. The database also includes full text for 245 pamphlets and offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 400 titles.
- Keywords: government | journal | medicine | military | technology | workforce



