A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z
HAM-TMC Library
Databases
Our databases contain a wide variety of medical information resources: journal articles, statistics, images, government information, and more. Browse the alphabetical list of database titles or search for terms that appear in the database descriptions.Search:
"N" Databases
The Library has 211 databases and
17 under the letter "N"
- 1. National Cancer Institute Website
- Provider: National Cancer Institute
- Contents: free , full text , patient education , websites
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: A comprehensive layman's website. Cancer Topics searches link the user to PubMed with pre-set search limits and retrieve literature citations on more than 100 major cancer topics; search results can be further refined using PubMed's search options and limits. Tabbed categories lead the user to other resources, including information on statistics, clinical trials, research and recent news releases, and dictionaries of oncology terms and drug information.
- Keywords: cancer | clinical trials | consumer health | open access | statistical | U.S. Government
- 2. National Criminal Justice Reference Service
- Provider: U.S. Department of Justice
- Contents: abstracts , free , full text , government documents , indexing , links to full text , statistics , summaries , videos
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: Contains summaries of over 189,000 US and international publications, including federal, state, and local government reports, books, research reports, journal articles, audiovisual presentations, and unpublished research, while excluding most legal decisions, opinions, and statutes.
- Keywords: criminal justice | journal | law enforcement | open access | social sciences | society | sociology | statistical
- 3. National Guideline Clearinghouse
- Provider: Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality
- Contents: free , full text , links to full text , open access , practice guidelines , summaries
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: National Guideline Clearinghouse™ (NGC) is a comprehensive database of evidence-based clinical practice guidelines and related documents, updated weekly. Summaries with links to full text. User-friendly features of the site include: summaries available for download to hand-held devices; a guideline comparison utility for the end user; guideline syntheses prepared by NGC staff; an expert commentary feature from the editorial board; and an annotated bibliography of resources about guidelines- their development, methodology, structure, evaluation and implementation.
- Keywords: clinical evidence | clinical practice guidelines | evidence-based medicine | open access | PDA access
- 4. National Reference Center for Bioethics Literature
- Provider: Kennedy Institute of Ethics
- Contents: abstracts , bibliographies , free , indexing , links , websites
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: Provides a single service point to: search for books and articles; request a custom bibliography; retrieve a bibliography on a bioethics topic; and find publications, organizations, and links.
- Keywords: bioethics | biomedical ethics | open access
- 5. Natural & Alternative Treatments (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: full text , monographs , patient education , reference
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Detailed information on: more than 180 different conditions and the conventional and natural treatments used to treat them; over 200 herbs and supplements; and drug-herb and drug-supplement interactions for more than 75 drug categories can be found in this database.
- Keywords: alternative medicine | botanical | consumer health | diet | dietary supplements | drugs | herbs
- 6. Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database
- Provider: Therapeutic Research Faculty
- Contents: abstracts , CME , full text , indexing , patient education
- Access Levels: Clinical Partner , Educational
- Descriptions: Updated daily, Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database provides clinically relevant information in an easy-to-use format. Product search is available from any page; click a button to get a patient handout for any product, or click references to see abstracts of articles. Supports PDA access for Palm OS or Windows mobile PDA, except for Smartphones.
- Keywords: dietary supplements | evidence-based medicine | herbs | PDA access | pharmacology | products
- 7. Nature Neuroscience Gateway
- Provider: Nature Publishing Group and the Allen Institute for Brain Science
- Contents: career and jobs , free , full text , news , partial open access
- Access Levels: Clinical Partner , Educational , Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: A comprehensive source for current research, news and events in neuroscience and genomics research developed collaboratively by the Allen Institute for Brain Science and Nature Publishing Group; includes the Allen Brain Atlas, a freely available scientific resource developed by the Allen Institute, which provides maps of the expression of approximately 20,000 genes in the mouse brain. Together, the Neuroscience Gateway and the Allen Brain Atlas are new tools to help researchers navigate neuroscience and genomics research.
- Keywords: gateway | neurology | neuroscience | open access | portal | research | scientist
- 8. Nature.com Databases and Gateways
- Provider: Nature.com
- Contents: career and jobs , free , news , partial open access , protocols
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: Nature.com has developed a collection of subject portals to news, conferences and other related links, and recent Nature publications in various areas of interest to researchers, for example: neuroscience; specific areas of cell science; human signaling pathways; laboratory technologies and protocols; and climate change.
- Keywords: biology | biomedical | biomedical research | biotechnology | cell biology | communicable diseases | environmental | gateway | genomics | infectious disease | journal | multidisciplinary | neuroscience | portal | products | proteins | public health | social networking
- 9. NCME TV
- Provider: Network for Continuing Medical Education
- Contents: CME , videos
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: NCME TV™ provides a variety of contemporary topics of interest to primary care physicians, hospitalists, and other specialists. NCME covers important CME topics, some of which are rarely covered by other CME providers. Each month, a new program is posted from one of the following categories: Masters Programs on Critical Topics in Medicine (grand-rounds style reviews of important topics in emergency medicine); State-Mandated CME Topics (needed for licensure in many states); Hospital Quality/Performance Issues;and Late-Breaking and Hot Topics. NCME is accredited by the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education to provide continuing medical education for physicians. All NCME programs are certified for AMA PRA Category 1 Credit™ on an hour-for-hour basis. (Some individual programs are supported by educational grants from industry.) See http://resource.library.tmc.edu/resources/ncme.cfm for clarification on how to register at the NCME TV website.
- Keywords: education | medicine | physicians | point-of-care | video
- 10. NetLibrary E-Books Collection Basic Search Interface (TexShare)
- Provider: NetLibrary/OCLC -- TexShare
- Contents: bibliographic records , dictionary , e-books , full text , indexing , tables of contents
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Electronic book collection of more than 100,000 titles of trade, reference, science, technology and medicine content. Some content is free (out of copyright) and most is licensed by the State Library (TexShare) and restricted to Educational users.
- Keywords: books | e-books | multidisciplinary
- 11. Newspaper Source (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: citations , full text , indexing , news , newspapers , radio , transcripts
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Provides cover-to-cover full text for 20 national (US) & international newspapers, including The Christian Science Monitor, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Times (London), Toronto Star, etc. The database also contains selected full text for more than 230 regional (US) newspapers, including The Boston Globe, Chicago Tribune, Detroit Free Press, The Miami Herald, Daily News (New York), San Jose Mercury News, etc. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are provided from CBS News, FOX News, NPR, and other sources.
- Keywords: business | culture | current events | government | politics | public affairs | society
- 12. NLM Drug Information Portal
- Provider: National Library of Medicine
- Contents: federated search , free , government documents , links , news , open access , reference , websites
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: This resource provides the public, healthcare professionals and researchers with a gateway to current and accurate drug information from the National Library of Medicine, as well as links to drug information from other key government agencies, PubMed and MedlinePlus.
- Keywords: consumer health | drugs | gateway | government | journal | open access | portal | toxicology
- 13. NLM Gateway: search engine for the resources of the National Library of Medicine
- Provider: National Library of Medicine
- Contents: federated search , free , government documents , indexing , partial full text , partial open access , search engine
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: The NLM Gateway is a Web-based system that lets users search simultaneously in multiple retrieval systems administered by the National Library of Medicine (NLM). Users of NLM services can initiate multi-database searches of many NLM information resources from this site.
- Keywords: biomedical | consumer health | medicine | MedLine | MeSH | multidisciplinary | NLM | open access | U.S. Government
- 14. North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, and Oral Histories
- Provider: Alexander Street Press
- Contents: archive , biographical , full text
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Personal narratives, including autobiographies and pamphlets, from 342 authors, providing insight on what it meant to be an immigrant to the U.S.A. and Canada during the period from 1840 to 1950.
- Keywords: anthropology | culture | history of North America | homework | humanities | social sciences | society | sociology
- 15. North American Women's Letters and Diaries
- Provider: Alexander Street Press
- Contents: biographical , full text , research tools
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Diaries, journals and letters written by women residents and visitors to North America between 1700 and 1950; to include the personal experiences of 1,500 women from all walks of life and classes in society.
- Keywords: American history | history of North America | homework | humanities | society | sociology | women
- 16. Nursing & Allied Health Source (ProQuest)
- Provider: ProQuest
- Contents: abstracts , dissertation , full text , indexing
- Access Levels: Clinical Partner , Educational
- Descriptions: This mostly full text database provides scholarly articles, dissertations, reports and evidence-based resources (notably from the Joanna Briggs Institute) supporting the study of nursing and the allied health professions, including physical therapy, radiography, dietetics, dental hygiene and the clinical laboratory sciences. Features "Study Paths" (collections of resources particularly relevant for either RN or LPN students); evidence summaries; MMWR reports on public health issues; and practice guidelines.
- Keywords: allied health | care | diet | evidence-based | health insurance | journal | medical imaging | multidisciplinary | nursing | nutrition | systematic reviews
- 17. Nursing Reference Center
- Provider: EBSCO
- Contents: CME , e-books , full text , links to full text , news , patient education , reference
- Access Levels: Clinical Partner , Educational
- Descriptions: A comprehensive, point-of-care resource for nursing, Nursing Reference Center draws search results in part from Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses; AHFS Drug Information Essentials; Diseases and Disorders: A Nursing Therapeutics Manual; Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary; and Davis's Comprehensive Handbook of Laboratory & Diagnostic Tests with Nursing Implications. Nursing Reference Center includes: "quick lessons" on diseases and disorders; evidence-based care sheets; practice guidelines; patient education sheets, some available in Spanish; CE modules; news; research instruments; and information on legal cases. Nursing Reference Center provides direct access to full text articles found in CINAHL. First-time users are encouraged to "take the tour" on the database's home page (FlashPlayer required) to learn more.
- Keywords: clinical practice guidelines | drugs | evidence-based | journal | legal | monographs | nursing | point-of-care




