A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z
HAM-TMC Library
Databases
Our databases contain a wide variety of medical information resources: journal articles, statistics, images, government information, and more. Browse the alphabetical list of database titles or search for terms that appear in the database descriptions.Search:
"O" Databases
The Library has 211 databases and
3 under the letter "O"
- 1. OMMBID (Online Metabolic & Molecular Bases of Inherited Disease)
- Provider: McGraw-Hill
- Contents: charts and graphs , e-books , full text , illustrations , images , textbooks
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Scriver’s OMMBID,updated several times a year, provides online access to the leading genetic information from renowned international experts. The site now features a researchers' blog, podcasts, the ability to limit searches to images and tables, creation of personal storage and bookmarking.
- Keywords: drugs | genetics | medicine
- 2. OncologyStat
- Provider: Elsevier
- Contents: free , full text , interactive , patient education , reference , videos
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: From the website: "OncologySTAT integrates a multitude of authoritative professional cancer information sources, such as peer-reviewed research, news and regulatory updates, a professional drug monograph and interactions database, chemotherapy regimens, and conference coverage into one easy-to-use online destination. Information and educational materials are delivered across multiple media formats: text, audio, video, interactive, user-generated forums, etc. Community oncologists and cancer-care practitioners in private practice or a non-institutional setting will find OncologySTAT especially useful in gaining immediate integrated access to the latest evidence-based research, news, treatment, and decision support information." Note: Free registration is required to access full text articles and to contribute comments to blogs in this database.
- Keywords: cancer | clinical trials | database | decision support | evidence-based medicine | oncology | open access
- 3. Orphanet: the Portal for Rare Diseases and Orphan Drugs
- Provider: Orphanet and funding organizations
- Contents: brief records , directory , encyclopedia , free , indexing , open access , reference
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: Orphanet is a portal to regularly-updated information on rare diseases, disorders and syndromes and related "orphan" drug, clinical research and trial, genetic and diagnostic information and includes an encyclopedia and other resources for patients. Orphanet was originally begun and funded in 1997 by the French Ministry of Health and INSERM (Institut National de la Santé et de la Recherche Médicale.) Funding and information-gathering are accomplished and sponsored by various relevant, authoritative European and national organizations.
- Keywords: drugs | genetics | open access | syndrome

