A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z
HAM-TMC Library
Databases
Our databases contain a wide variety of medical information resources: journal articles, statistics, images, government information, and more. Browse the alphabetical list of database titles or search for terms that appear in the database descriptions.Search:
"P" Databases
The Library has 211 databases and
17 under the letter "P"
- 1. PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) International
- Provider: ProQuest
- Contents: abstracts , bibliographies , full text , indexing , links , proceedings , websites
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Contains references to journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more. PAIS International includes publications from over 120 countries throughout the world. In addition to English, some of the indexed materials are published in French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish. Includes access to the PAIS Archive.
- Keywords: foreign policy | internet | journal | multicultural | multidisciplinary | peer review | policy | politics | public affairs | social sciences
- 2. PDQ (Physician Data Query) Cancer Database
- Provider: National Cancer Institute
- Contents: dictionary , free , full text , links , open access , patient education , reference , statistics , websites
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: PDQ contains peer-reviewed summaries on cancer treatment, screening, prevention, genetics, supportive care, and complementary and alternative medicine; a registry of more than 4,000 open and 15,000 closed cancer clinical trials from around the world; and directories of physicians, genetic counseling professionals, and organizations that provide cancer care. Also included: a dictionary of cancer terms and a drug dictionary.
- Keywords: alternative medicine | cancer | clinical trials | open access | physicians | reviews
- 3. PEDro Physiotherapy Evidence Database
- Provider: Centre of Evidence-Based Physiotherapy, School of Physiotherapy, University of Sydney
- Contents: abstracts , free , indexing , links , practice guidelines , summaries , websites
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: PEDro provides access to bibliographic details and abstracts of randomized controlled trials, systematic reviews and evidence-based clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy. Most trials covered in PEDro have been rated for quality.
- Keywords: evidence-based | open access | sports medicine
- 4. Periodicals Archive Online
- Provider: ProQuest
- Contents: abstracts , archive , full text , indexing
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Contains full text of more than 500 journals, providing access to nearly 2 million articles and affording the user historical access to some of the most respected journals published in the humanities and social sciences.
- Keywords: culture | history | homework | humanities | journal | literature | multidisciplinary | reviews | social sciences
- 5. PLOS Hub for Clinical Trials
- Provider: Public Library of Science
- Contents: abstracts , free , full text , indexing , interactive , open access
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: The PLoS Hub for Clinical Trials collects PLoS journal articles that relate to clinical trials. The Hub is a site for researchers to share their views, comment on and rate the research articles posted there, and build a dynamic, interactive community.
- Keywords: clinical evidence | clinical studies | clinical trials | e-publishing | open access
- 6. Primary Search (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: citations , full text , images
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Indexes nearly 70 popular elementary school magazines, with all full text articles (about a third of the material indexed) being assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 100 magazines. Full text is also available for over 100 student pamphlets. Examples of publications include: Boys’ Life, Cricket, Highlights for Children, Hopscotch, Jack & Jill, Ladybug, Ranger Rick, Science World, Spider, SuperScience, and Time for Kids. This database also provides the American Heritage Children’s Dictionary, 3rd Edition from Houghton Mifflin, and an image collection of 202,164 photos, maps and flags.
- Keywords: culture | K-12 | kids | multidisciplinary | search
- 7. Professional Development Collection (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: abstracts , career and jobs , full text , indexing
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Designed for professional educators, this database provides a specialized collection of nearly 550 education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports. In addition to full text, indexing and abstracts are provided for more than 700 journals. Titles offered include: Booklist, Curriculum Administrator, Education, Education Digest, Educational Leadership, Journal of Education, Journal of Educational Research, Journal of Learning Disabilities, and School Library Journal.
- Keywords: education
- 8. PsycARTICLES (EbscoHost)
- Provider: EBSCO
- Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Provides full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA’s Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber, including all the material (with the exception of ads and editorial board lists) from 55 top psychology publications. Covers a range of subjects such as general psychology and specialized basic, applied, clinical, and theoretical research areas within psychology. Titles include: Behavioral Neuroscience, Journal of Abnormal Psychology, Psychology of Addictive Behaviors, Psychological Bulletin, and Journal of Personality & Social Psychology.
- Keywords: journal | neurology | psychology
- 9. PsychiatryOnline
- Provider: American Psychiatric Publishing, Inc.
- Contents: CME , full text , handbook , news , textbooks
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Provides full text resources including DSM-IV-TR, DSM-IV-TR Casebook and its Treatment Companion, and the American Psychiatric Association Practice Guidelines for the Treatment of Psychiatric Disorders; journals including The American Journal of Psychiatry and Psychiatric Services; textbooks including Textbook of Clinical Psychiatry; self-assessment tools for study, board certification and recertification review, and lifelong learning; and clinical & research news from Psychiatric News.
- Keywords: neurology | psychiatry | psychoanalysis
- 10. Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Provides full text, abstracts and indexing to approximately 575 publications, about 550 of which are peer-reviewed journals. Topics covered: emotional and behavioral characteristics; psychiatry & psychology; mental processes; anthropology; and observational and experimental methods.
- Keywords: anthropology | behavioral sciences | neurology | psychiatry | psychology
- 11. PsycINFO (OVID)
- Provider: OVID
- Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing
- Access Levels: Clinical Partner , Educational
- Descriptions: Provides citations with abstracts to the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences, covering material of relevance to psychologists, students, and professionals in related fields: psychiatry, management, business, and education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work. Journal coverage includes material selected from approximately 2,000 periodicals. Chapter and book coverage includes English-language material published from 1987 to the present. For a brief guide to searching any Ovid database, access the full list of available databases by clicking "Change Databases," and click the "i" (information) logo next to its title.
- Keywords: behavioral sciences | psychology
- 12. PubChem
- Provider: National Library of Medicine and National Center for Biotechnology Information
- Contents: brief records , chemical compounds , chemical structure , cross reference , free , indexing , links , links to full text , research tools , summaries
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: PubChem provides information on the biological activities of small molecules and is a component of NIH's Molecular Libraries Roadmap Initiative; includes substance information, compound structures, and bioactivity data in three primary databases: PCSubstance, PCCompound and PCBioAssay. PCSubstance contains more than 12 million records; PCCompound contains more than 7 million unique structures; and PCBioAssay contains more than 200 bioassays, each containing a number of data points.
- Keywords: bioassay | chemicals | chemistry | inorganic chemistry | NLM | open access | organic chemistry | pharmacology | taxonomy | toxins
- 13. Public Library of Science (PLoS)
- Provider: Public Library of Science
- Contents: free , full text
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: In 2003, PLoS launched a nonprofit scientific and medical publishing venture that provides scientists and physicians with high-quality, high-profile journals in which to publish their most important work; under the open access model, PLoS journals are immediately available online, with no charge for access and no restrictions on subsequent redistribution or use, as long as the author(s) and source are cited in the manner specified by its Creative Commons Attribution License.
- Keywords: biology | creative commons | genetics | infectious disease | journal | life sciences | medicine | multidisciplinary | open access | research | science | scientist
- 14. PubMed
- Provider: National Library of Medicine and National Center for Biotechnology Information
- Contents: abstracts , citations , free , indexing , links to full text , partial full text , reference
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: PubMed is a database of citations from the biomedical literature, including bibliographic information from MEDLINE, covering all aspects of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine and the preclinical sciences. MEDLINE contains bibliographic citations and author abstracts from more than 4,800 biomedical journals published in the United States and 70 other countries. The database contains over 14 million citations dating back to the mid-1960's. Articles in many languages are indexed, but all abstracts are in English. An excellent tutorial on using PubMed's many search refinements and features can be found by clicking here.
- Keywords: biomedical research | journal | life sciences | medicine | multidisciplinary | open access | research | scientist
- 15. PubMed Bookshelf
- Provider: National Library of Medicine and National Center for Biotechnology Information
- Contents: e-books , free , full text , links , open access
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: Collaborating with authors and publishers, the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) adapts biomedical books for the web. They may either be accessed via direct search or via "Books" links in PubMed abstracts. In the future, more links will be made between this collection of books and other types of information provided by NCBI, for instance, gene and protein sequences and macromolecular structures.
- Keywords: biomedical | books | e-books | open access
- 16. PubMed Central
- Provider: National Library of Medicine
- Contents: archive , free , full text , open access
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: Digital archive of life sciences journal literature from the US National Institutes of Health (NIH). With PubMed Central, NLM took the lead in preserving and maintaining unrestricted access to electronic literature, just as it has done for decades with print biomedical literature. PubMed Central aims to fill the role of being a world-class library of the digital age, a repository of knowledge. The National Library of Medicine believes that providing free, unrestricted access to the material in PubMed Central is the best way to ensure the durability and utility of the archive as technology evolves.
- Keywords: allied health | digital | journal | medicine | open access
- 17. PubMed Clinical Queries
- Provider: National Institutes of Health/National Library of Medicine
- Contents:
- Access Level:
- Descriptions: At this PubMed page aimed at the clinician, special search filtering helps the user find citations to clinical studies, systematic reviews or medical genetics studies.
- Keywords:




