A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z
HAM-TMC Library
Databases
Our databases contain a wide variety of medical information resources: journal articles, statistics, images, government information, and more. Browse the alphabetical list of database titles or search for terms that appear in the database descriptions.Search:
"S" Databases
The Library has 211 databases and
17 under the letter "S"
- 1. Salud en Espanol (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: abstracts , encyclopedia , full text , indexing , monographs , news , reference
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Provides an interface designed for the consumer of Spanish-language health care information, with convenient access to the same health and medical information found in the Consumer Health Complete database.
- Keywords: consumer health | drugs | herbs | journal
- 2. Science and Technology Collection (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Contains over 800 full text, mostly scholarly journals focusing on fields such as aeronautics, astrophysics, biology, chemistry, computer technology, geology, aviation, physics, archaeology, marine sciences and materials science. Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 1,700 publications.
- Keywords: biology | chemistry | geoscience | physics | science | technology
- 3. Science Citation Index (via Web of Science)
- Provider: Thomson
- Contents: abstracts , citations , full text , indexing
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: A multidisciplinary index to the scientific journal literature; indexes 5,900 journals across 150 scientific disciplines and includes all cited references captured from indexed articles. Provides access to current and retrospective data from 1900 to the present. Contains searchable, full-length English-language author abstracts for approximately 70% of the articles indexed, as well as links to full text. Covers the physical, earth and life sciences.
- Keywords: biology | medicine | multidisciplinary | science
- 4. ScienceDirect
- Provider: Elsevier
- Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Search gateway to the Elsevier online journals and book series; titles accessible to HAM-TMC Library users are flanked by a green icon.
- Keywords: e-books | journal | multidisciplinary | peer review | science
- 5. Scitopia
- Provider: Scitopia.org
- Contents: federated search , free
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: Scitopia provides a free federated search engine drawing on the published literature of 21 science and technology societies. Search results are also drawn from U.S., European and Japanese patent databases and the U.S. Department of Energy's Information Bridge site. Among the disciplines covered are: acoustics, physics, geophysics, engineering, optics and applied mathematics. Scitopia is powered by Deep Web Technologies.
- Keywords: audiology | geoscience | mathematics | multidisciplinary | open access | optics | physics
- 6. Scopus
- Provider: Elsevier
- Contents: abstracts , charts and graphs , citations , full text , government documents , indexing , links to full text , proceedings , research tools , websites
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: SCOPUS contains millions of records from 15,000 publications in the health sciences (including 100% of the journals contained in Medline and EmBase), as well as chemistry, physics, mathematics, engineering, biology, agriculture, environmental sciences and the humanities. Link to full text articles from journals in the HAM-TMC Library's collection by clicking the HAM-TMC Library Find It! button. SCOPUS covers the proceedings of 750 conferences, and retrieves a separate set of relevant Web resources with every literature search. Another tab separates a set of patent results from U.S., U.K. and worldwide patent offices. SCOPUS includes a Journal Analyzer tool that graphs journals, singly or for comparison, from 1996 to present, showing total citations, number of articles published, total citations divided by number of articles, and the percentage of uncited articles. A search by affiliation is provided. Free login for authorized users provides additional advantages: a personal profile, with space to save lists of citations and track authors; a publication alerts service; and direct export to RefWorks, each with the user's own settings. For tutorials on searching and SCOPUS features, click here.
- Keywords: biology | biomedical research | chemistry | conference | internet | journal | life sciences | medicine | multidisciplinary | nursing | patents | pharmacology | science
- 7. Scribner Writers Series (TexShare)
- Provider: Thomson Gale -- TexShare
- Contents: biographical , full text , indexing , literary criticism
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Provides 15-20 page signed essays on more than 1,600 authors and literary genres, from ancient to modern; includes in-depth search tool and a research ideas section.
- Keywords: biography | literature
- 8. Searchasaurus (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: encyclopedia , full text , illustrations , indexing
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Graphical search interface for EBSCO's general student resources, including Encyclopedia of Animals, Middle Search Plus, and Primary Search
- Keywords: K-12 | kids | multidisciplinary | student
- 9. Serials Directory (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: bibliographic records , directory , newspapers
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Provides bibliographic information and current pricing structures for popular serials; lists over 184,000 U.S. and international titles, including newspapers; data from nearly 83,500 publishers worldwide, including e-mail and Internet addresses. Historical data is provided for an additional 20,000 titles; and Library of Congress and Dewey Decimal Classification numbers are listed for each entry.
- Keywords: journal | libraries | magazines | periodicals
- 10. Social Sciences Citation Index (Via Web of Science)
- Provider: Thomson
- Contents: abstracts , indexing , links to full text
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the social sciences; fully indexes more than 1,700 journals across 50 social sciences disciplines, and indexes individually selected, relevant items from over 3,300 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals. Disciplines covered include anthropology, linguistics, psychology, psychiatry, public health, social work, sociology, and substance abuse.
- Keywords: anthropology | criminal justice | journal | linguistics | multidisciplinary | psychiatry | psychology | public health | social sciences | social work | sociology
- 11. Social Services Abstracts
- Provider: ProQuest
- Contents: abstracts , dissertation , indexing , links to full text
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. Indexes 1,300+ serials publications; includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations, and includes citations of book reviews. Major areas of coverage include: community and mental health services, gerontology, social and health policy, and support groups/networks.
- Keywords: journal | mental health | periodicals | policy | social sciences | social work | women | workforce
- 12. Sociological Abstracts
- Provider: ProQuest
- Contents: abstracts , indexing
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences; provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,800+ serials publications, along with abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Search tutorials are located at: http://www.csa.com/tutorials/.
- Keywords: behavioral sciences | books | conference | journal | periodicals | reviews | social sciences | sociology
- 13. Spanish Language Interface to EBSCO Databases (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: citations , indexing
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Provides Spanish language interface for searching databases provided by EBSCO, including Academic Search Complete, Business Source Complete, Regional Business News and Medline.
- Keywords: business | general reference | multidisciplinary | Spanish
- 14. STAT!Ref (TexShare)
- Provider: Teton Data Systems
- Contents: e-books , full text , handbook , reference , tables of contents , textbooks
- Access Levels: Clinical Partners via their portal page , Educational
- Descriptions: Cross-searchable healthcare reference that integrates core electronic book titles with evidence-based resources and innovative tools. Includes numerous titles selected for the Doody’s Core Titles List (DCT), as well as many titles from the Brandon-Hill medical librarians’ list. Titles include the latest editions of ACS Surgery: Principles and Practice, Goodman and Gilman's The Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics, and Hurst's The Heart.
- Keywords: books | communicable diseases | evidence-based | genetics | ICD-9 | infectious disease | internal medicine | medical coding | medicine | nursing | office practice | pediatrics | physicians | surgery
- 15. Statistical Abstract of the United States
- Provider: U. S. Census Bureau
- Contents: free , reference , statistics , websites
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: Data presented here ranges from the most recent edition (2006) to the historical abstracts compiled throughout the decades (1878-1900). Some of the data has been scanned in an effort to make historical abstract information available to the public. Updated data will continue to be added as more historical records become available.
- Keywords: federal agencies | general reference | history | multidisciplinary | social sciences | statistical | U.S. Government
- 16. Student Research Center Interface (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: abstracts , full text , illustrations , images , indexing , reference
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: EBSCO's Student Research Center (SRC) makes it easy for students to search by keyword or by topic to find the most useful search results. Results can be easily sorted by source type: magazines, reference books, photos, flags, etc.
- Keywords: K-12 | kids | magazines | multidisciplinary
- 17. SUMSearch
- Provider: University of Texas Health Science Center - San Antonio
- Contents: free , full text , links , search engine
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: Searches free Web sources for evidence-based health care information (PubMed, including Cochrane Systematic Reviews, National Guideline Clearinghouse and the Merck Index.) SumSearch groups results by category: reviews, practice guidelines, systematic reviews and research articles.
- Keywords: education | evidence-based | evidence-based medicine | medicine | open access


