A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z
HAM-TMC Library
Databases
Our databases contain a wide variety of medical information resources: journal articles, statistics, images, government information, and more. Browse the alphabetical list of database titles or search for terms that appear in the database descriptions.Search:
"U" Databases
The Library has 211 databases and
3 under the letter "U"
- 1. U.S. Patent and Trademark Office
- Provider: U. S. Department of Commerce
- Contents: free , full text , government documents , indexing
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: Provides full text of registered patents and trademarks, including search aids, a browsable collection of recent patents, and special notices.
- Keywords: open access | patents
- 2. UniProt
- Provider: UniProt Consortium
- Contents: citations , cross reference , free , glossary of terms , index , open access , research tools , sequencing data
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: "The mission of UniProt is to provide the scientific community with a comprehensive, high-quality and freely accessible resource of protein sequence and functional information." Available material consists of: UniProtKB, a two-section protein knowledge base consisting of SwissProt (reviewed and annotated manually) and TrEMBL (not reviewed, annotated automatically;) UniRef (sequence clusters;) UniParc (a sequence archive for tracking sequences and identifiers;) and the supporting data (literature citations, taxonomy, keywords, nomenclature, guidelines and indexes.) A user manual and primer on annotation are provided as well. UniProt is distributed free under a Creative Commons attribution license. Updates happen frequently and it appears the updates must be retrieved from the website.
- Keywords: biomedical research | genetics | ontology | open access | proteins | scientist | sequencing | taxonomy
- 3. UpToDate
- Provider: UpToDate.com
- Contents: abstracts , CME , full text , indexing , quick reference
- Access Level: Provided only for a specific user group- see database description for details.
- Descriptions: This evidence-based resource is designed for use at the point of care, with topic reviews provided by nearly 3,000 physicians. Information presented is peer-reviewed. Provides access to current information within defined specialties; helps clinicians recognize the clinical manifestations of a wide variety of disorders and describes current options for diagnosis, management and therapy, including drug efficacy, dosage and interactions; and also assists with the identification of optimal screening and prevention strategies. NOTES: FOR BAYLOR USERS: Please go to your ERC's (Education Resource Center's) database list to use UpToDate. FOR ALL USERS: There is no Remote Access Service available for this resource. Access is available at UTHSC TMC campus locations and at HAM-TMC Library.
- Keywords: diagnosis | drugs | evidence-based medicine | pharmaceutical | physicians | point-of-care



