A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z
HAM-TMC Library
Databases
Our databases contain a wide variety of medical information resources: journal articles, statistics, images, government information, and more. Browse the alphabetical list of database titles or search for terms that appear in the database descriptions.Search:
"W" Databases
The Library has 211 databases and
6 under the letter "W"
- 1. Web of Science
- Provider: Thomson
- Contents: citations , impact factors , index , links to full text , research tools
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: This is the portal to two citation databases, Science Citation Index and Social Sciences Citation Index. (We no longer subscribe to Arts & Humanities Citation Index.) Journal Citation Reports also resides here in ISI Web of Knowledge. Some free resources for researchers are also included: ISI Highly Cited, a database identifying (via citation data) the top researchers currently publishing; ResearcherID, an index to author information; the RSS-capable, customizable Knowledge Link Newsletter; and more. To register free for a training session, click here.
- Keywords: biomedical research | life sciences | multidisciplinary | science | scientist
- 2. Wiley Interscience Journals
- Provider: Wiley InterScience
- Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing
- Access Levels: Clinical Partner , Educational
- Descriptions: This is the browse and search interface for Wiley Interscience journals.
- Keywords: biology | biomedical | journal | medicine | science
- 3. WISER: Wireless Information System for Emergency Responders
- Provider: National Library of Medicine
- Contents: chemical compounds , free , index , reference
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: This database is focused on hazardous chemicals, and helps the user to identify unknown chemicals. "WISER is a system designed to assist first responders in hazardous material incidents. WISER provides a wide range of information on hazardous substances, including substance identification support, physical characteristics, human health information, and containment and suppression advice... WISER is also available as a standalone application for PCs and PDAs." The Web version can also be used on PDAs, including BlackBerry and iPhone.
- Keywords: chemicals | emergency medicine | NLM | open access | toxins
- 4. World History Collection (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Provides a global look at history in content from Africa, Asia, North and South America, Europe and the Middle East. Contains full text for nearly 150 fully indexed and abstracted titles, including many peer-reviewed journals covering a wide range of historical topics including anthropology, art, culture, economics, government, heritage, the military, politics, regional issues, and more.
- Keywords: anthropology | art | culture | economics | government | history | politics
- 5. WorldCat
- Provider: OCLC
- Contents: bibliographic records , catalog records , free
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: Search for items in library collections around the country and the world. Input your ZIP code to find items locally. Register for a free account in order to create and save lists and bibliographies or write reviews.
- Keywords: general reference | libraries
- 6. WorldCat (TexShare)
- Provider: OCLC -- TexShare
- Contents: bibliographic records , index
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Catalog of books, journals, audiovisual materials, websites, internet resources, newspapers and maps held by libraries worldwide, including records for items held by HAM-TMC Library.
- Keywords: books | journal | open access | video


