Monday, May 12, 2008
A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z |
20th Century Poetry (American & English)
Provider: ProQuest -- TexShare
Contents: Full text
Descriptions: American Section: includes 50,000 poems drawn from 750 volumes by over 300 poets, including Adrienne Rich, Andrei Codrescu, Ezra Pound, William Carlos Williams, Denise Levertov, Wallace Stevens, Langston Hughes, Lucille Clifton, and Cathy Song. English Section: collection of 598 volumes of poetry by 283 poets from 1900 to the present day, including W.B. Yeats, Rudyard Kipling, Thomas Hardy, Wilfred Owen, Thom Gunn, Fleur Adcock, Paul Muldoon, Tony Harrison, Benjamin Zephaniah and Carol Ann Duffy, and incorporating the poets in The Faber Poetry Library.
Academic Search Complete
Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
Contents: Full text/indexing and abstracts
Descriptions: Contains full text for nearly 4,650 serials and offers indexing and abstracts for more than 8,200 journals; this scholarly collection offers information in: computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
AccessMedicine
Provider: McGraw-Hill
Contents: Full text
Descriptions: An integrated clinical database, featuring daily updates, that quickly pulls information from a pool of over 50 trusted medical texts, a drug index, a diagnostic tool and an image and video library. Also contains patient handouts. This resource is available to Educational and Clinical Partner users.
AccessSurgery
Provider: McGraw-Hill
Contents: Full text, videos
Descriptions: An integrated database of surgical resources, both written and visual, that provides medical students, surgical residents, and practicing surgeons with quick answers to surgical inquiries, from trusted sources. Organized around the ACGME's (Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education) mandate for a core curriculum, AccessSurgery delivers content in context. This is a tool for the student, the educator, and the practitioner, and is available to Educational and Clinical Partner users.
ACP Medicine (STAT!Ref)
Provider: WebMD and The American College of Physicians on the STAT!Ref Platform
Contents: Full text
Descriptions: Peer-reviewed, evidence based resource containing 11 subspecialties of internal medicine, plus key topics. Individual chapters on topics including Clinical Essentials, Cardiovascular Medicine, Dermatology, Endocrinology, Gastroenterology, Hematology, Immunology/Allergy, Infectious Disease, Interdisciplinary Medicine, Metabolism, Nephrology, Neurology, Oncology, Psychiatry, Respiratory Medicine, Rheumatology, and Women's Health. Includes CME.
ACP's PIER--Physician's Information and Education Resource (STAT!Ref)
Provider: The American College of Physicians on the STAT!Ref Platform
Contents: Full text
Descriptions: Web-based evidence-based guidance tool to improve clinical care, with topics being selected by ACP based upon prevalence in clinical settings; evidence for all diseases is evaluated, and the credibility of the evidence is displayed with a rating. Subcategories for each disease are: Prevention, Non-drug Therapy, Screening, Drug Therapy, Diagnosis,Patient Education, Consultation for Diagnosis, Consultation for Management, Hospitalization, Follow-up. Includes AHFS DI® Essentials, containg drug information monographs which draw on the evidence-based guidelines in the full AHFS DI® database, distilling information on prescription and key over-the-counter (OTC) drugs in a structured outline format.
AgeLine
Provider: AARP
Contents: Indexing/abstracts
Descriptions: Provides abstracts of the literature of social gerontology, as well as aging-related research from psychology, sociology, social work, economics, public policy, and the health sciences. It covers aging-related issues for professionals in aging services, health, business, law, and mental health. Also includes selected consumer content. Summarizes journal articles, books and chapters, research reports, dissertations, gray literature, and educational videos from many publishers and organizations, including AARP.
AgeSource Worldwide
Provider: AARP
Contents: Links to full text
Descriptions: Identifies and provides links to over 300 major or unique libraries, clearinghouses, databases, directories, bibliographies, and Web metasites around the world that focus on aging or closely allied subjects. More than 30 countries are represented. The information resources included in this database have been chosen based on one or more of the following criteria: sizable collections of 1,000 or more items; exclusive or significant focus on aging; unique in the nature of the information collected; and the information they provide is easily accessible via the Internet.
Agricola
Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
Contents: Indexing/abstracts with links to full text of journals owned by the Library
Descriptions: Compiled by the US National Agricultural Library, this bibliographic information resource consists of over 2 million citations to journal articles, monographs, theses, patents, software, audio-visual materials, and technical reports. The records describe publications and resources encompassing all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines including plant and animal sciences, forestry, entomology, soil and water resources, agricultural economics, agricultural engineering, agricultural products, alternative farming practices, and food and nutrition.
AHFS Drug Information
Provider: American Hospital Formulary Service on STAT!Ref Platform
Contents: Full text
Descriptions: Collection of drug monographs on single-drug entities available in the United States; information on various trademarked preparations and brands of a drug is contained in a single monograph. Monographs on principal ingredients also include descriptive information about drug combinations. There are general statements on groups of drugs whose activities and uses permit their discussion as a class. Information on older and prototype drugs is also provided.
Alt Health Watch
Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
Contents: Full text/indexing and abstracts
Descriptions: Focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness; it offers full text articles for nearly 180 international and often peer-reviewed journals and reports. In addition, there are hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts.
America: History and Life
Provider: ABC-CLIO
Contents: Indexing/abstracts, full text
Descriptions: America: History and Life (AHL) is a complete bibliographic reference to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Published since 1964, the database comprises over 530,000 bibliographic entries for periodicals dating back to 1954. Additional bibliographical entries are constantly added to the databases from editorial projects such as retrospective coverage of journals issues published prior to 1954. This extensive database covers over 1,700 journals published worldwide. In addition to covering all key English-language historical journals, America: History and Life coverage includes selected historical journals from major countries, state and local history journals, and a targeted selection of hundreds of journals in the social sciences and humanities. Over 90% of the articles included are published in English-language journals.
American Film Scripts Online
Provider: Alexander Street Press
Contents: Full text
Descriptions: Contains full text movie scripts written between 1920- present.
American Periodicals Series Online, 1740-1900
Provider: ProQuest
Contents: Full text
Descriptions: Contains digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals that originated between 1741 and 1900, deriving from the American Periodicals Series microform collection, with over 1,100 periodicals spanning nearly 200 years-from colonial times to the advent of American involvement in World War II. Titles range from America's first scientific journal, Medical Repository, to popular magazines such as Vanity Fair and Ladies' Home Journal.
anatomy.tv
Provider: Primal Pictures on the STAT!Ref Platform
Contents: Images with accompanying text
Descriptions: Representation of the anatomy of the human body derived from medical scan data interpreted by a team of staff anatomists and "built' by an in-house team of graphics specialists. The anatomy is accompanied by 3D animations showing function, biomechanics, and surgical procedures. Supplementing the core 3D anatomy are clinical videos and text written by medical specialists. Note: if any problems are encountered when logging on, please contact the Information Desk at 713.799.7161.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index
Provider: ISI Web of Knowledge
Contents: Citations and abstracts
Descriptions: Multidisciplinary index of the journal literature of the arts and humanities, covering over 1,000 arts and humanities journals and indexing relevant items from more than 6,800 major science and social science journals. Provides access to current information and retrospective data from 1975 forward. As of January 2000, the Arts & Humanities Index contains searchable, full-length, English-language author abstracts.
ARTStor
Provider: ARTStor
Contents: Images
Descriptions: ARTStor contains roughly half a million images of architecture, paintings, sculpture, photography, decorative arts and design, as well as images from other forms of 'visual culture.' This database documents the art of many cultures and eras.
arXiv
Provider: Cornell University Library
Contents: E-prints
Descriptions: Provides open access to e-prints in physics, mathematics, non-linear science, computer science, and quantitative biology. Started in August 1991, arXiv.org (formerly xxx.lanl.gov) is a highly-automated electronic archive and distribution server for research papers. Users can retrieve papers from arXiv either via the web interface, or by sending commands to the system via e-mail. Authors can use a web form to submit their papers and can also update their submissions if they choose, though previous versions remain available. Users can register to automatically receive a listing via email of newly submitted papers in areas of interest to them.
Bibliography of Native North Americans
Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
Contents: Citations and abstracts
Descriptions: Covers all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life; also provides information on a wide range of topics including archaeology, multicultural relations, gaming, governance, legend, and literacy. BNNA contains more than 100,000 citations for books, essays, journal articles, and government documents of the United States and Canada. Dates of coverage for included content range from the sixteenth century to the present.
BioethicsWeb
Provider: Wellcome Library, Joint Information Systems Committee, University of Nottingham
Contents: Internet links
Descriptions: Gateway to evaluated, quality Internet resources relating to biomedical ethics, including ethical, social, legal and public policy questions arising from advances in medicine and biology, issues relating to the conduct of biomedical research, and approaches to bioethics. BioethicsWeb is affiliated with the BIOME life sciences hub and the Resource Discovery Network (RDN), but is developed and managed by the Wellcome Library for the History and Understanding of Medicine at the Wellcome Trust.
BioMed Central
Provider: BioMed Central
Contents: Full text/indexing and abstracts
Descriptions: All the research published by BioMed Central's more than 160 journals is open access, but BioMed Central also provides access to various additional products and services that require a subscription. All original research articles published by BioMed Central are made freely and permanently accessible online immediately upon publication. BioMed Central views open access to research as essential in order to ensure the rapid and efficient communication of research findings.
BioMed Experts
Provider: Collexis Holdings, Inc.
Contents: links
Descriptions: BioMed Experts is a literature-based social networking site. "BioMedExperts (BME) is a new Collexis community with more than 1.4 million expert profiles generated by Collexis Fingerprint technology. BME connects biomedical researchers to each other through the display and analysis of each scientist’s co-author network, allowing scientists and researchers across organizations to collaborate in new and time-saving ways. BME is available as a free online community to individuals while value-added services are provided for institutional customers." Free registration required.
BIOSIS - Biological Abstracts, 1980 - 2003
Provider: OVID
Contents: Full text/indexing and abstracts
Descriptions: Encompasses the entire field of life sciences and provides coverage of published biological and biomedical research; includes traditional areas of biology, such as botany, zoology and microbiology, as well as experimental, clinical and veterinary medicine, biotechnology, environmental studies, and
agriculture. Interdisciplinary fields such as biochemistry, biophysics and bioengineering are also included. For a brief guide to searching any Ovid database, access the full list of available databases by clicking "Change Databases," and click the "i" (information) logo next to its title.
Books@Ovid
Provider: Wolters Kluwer Health/OvidSP
Contents: Full text.
Descriptions: Books@Ovid is a browseable, searchable database of approximately 70 E-books. All displayed titles are library subscriptions, available in full text. This collection contains primarily volumes from the Lippincott Williams and Wilkins imprint; the Oxford Textbook of Medicine is also in this collection.
Business Source Complete
Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
Contents: Full text/indexing and abstracts
Descriptions: Scholarly business database, providing both bibliographic and full text content; includes indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back to 1886. In addition to the searchable cited references provided for more than 1,200 journals, Business Source Complete contains detailed author profiles for the 20,000 most-cited authors in the database. Provides full text journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
Business Source Complete (enhanced interface)
Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
Contents: Full text
Descriptions: Provides full text articles from more than 8,800 journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed business publications; coverage in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics.
Canary Database: Animals as Sentinels of Human Environmental Health Hazards
Provider: Yale University Occupational and Environmental Medicine and Yale University School of Medicine
Contents: Full text
Descriptions: Compilation of peer-reviewed research articles related to the use of animals as sentinels of human health hazards; contains information added by trained curators in addition to bibliographic records from MEDLINE and other databases. Includes studies of wildlife, companion, and livestock animals, where either the exposure or the health effect could be considered potentially relevant to human health.
ChemID Plus
Provider: National Library of Medicine
Contents: Chemical structure and nomenclature authority files with links to external resources
Descriptions: Web-based search system that provides access to structure and nomenclature authority files used for the identification of chemical substances cited in National Library of Medicine (NLM) databases, including the TOXNET system; also provides structure searching and direct links to many biomedical resources at NLM and on the Internet for chemicals of interest. The database contains over 379,000 chemical records, of which over 257,000 include chemical structures, and is searchable by Name, Synonym, CAS Registry Number, Molecular Formula, Classification Code, Locator Code, and Structure.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text
Provider: EBSCO
Contents: Citations and full text
Descriptions: CINAHL Plus with Full Text is a comprehensive source of full text for nursing and allied health journals, providing full text for more than 560 journals indexed in CINAHL. Of those, nearly 400 have cover-to-cover indexing in CINAHL. This database contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index - with no embargo – and provides more than 600,000 full-text articles dating back to 1937.
CKS - Clinical Knowledge Summaries
Provider: National Library for Health, National Health Service, UK
Contents: full text, links
Descriptions: This evidence-based care tool provides the practitioner with "a reliable source of evidence-based information and practical 'know how' about the common conditions managed in primary care." For each topic, information is provided on scope and age range, how recently the topic and the supporting evidence have been updated, background, diagnosis and management information on the condition; the recommended prescribing information, and (for users in the UK) links out to the full text of articles cited. Patient information handouts are also provided. The user can customize the resource according to preference with free registration.
Clin-eguide: Clinical Decision Support
Provider: OVID
Contents: Summaries, full-text, and journal articles
Descriptions: Clin-eguide is a clinical decision support system that distills disease management, drug therapy and laboratory results knowledge into a single resource. Clin-eguide includes evidence-based guidelines, books, Facts & Comparison drug information, national guidelines, and patient handouts.
Clin-eguide also provides patient- and disease-specific recommendations, taking into account patient status and concomitant conditions; prompts the clinician to consider issues that may influence the patient outcome, and is extensively and systematically researched and constantly updated.
Clinical Evidence (BMJ)
Provider: BMJ Publishing Group
Contents: Full text
Descriptions: Summarises what's known -- and not known -- about more than 200 medical conditions and over 2000 treatments; summarizes the current state of knowledge and uncertainty about the prevention and treatment of clinical conditions, based on thorough searches and appraisal of the literature.
Clinical Pharmacology
Provider: Gold Standard, Inc.
Contents: Full text
Descriptions: Drug information application that provides peer reviewed, clinically-relevant information on drugs available in the United States, including off-label uses and dosages, herbal supplements, nutritional products, and new and investigational drugs. Available to all Educational level users.
ClinicalTrials.gov
Provider: National Institutes of Health/National Library of Medicine
Contents: Full text
Descriptions: Contains approximately 29,500 clinical studies sponsored by the National Institutes of Health, other federal agencies, and private industry. Studies listed in the database are conducted in all 50 States and in over 130 countries. Provides regularly updated information about federally and privately supported clinical research in human volunteers, including information about a trial's purpose, who may participate, locations, and phone numbers for more details.
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews - EBM Reviews
Provider: OVID
Contents: Full text
Descriptions: Includes the full text of the regularly updated systematic reviews of the effects of healthcare prepared by The Cochrane Collaboration; reviews are presented in two types: complete reviews - regularly updated Cochrane Reviews, prepared and maintained by Collaborative Review Groups and protocols - the background, objectives and methods of reviews in preparation. COCH is updated and amended regularly as new evidence becomes available and errors are identified. For a brief guide to searching any Ovid database, access the full list of available databases by clicking "Change Databases," and click the "i" (information) logo next to its title.
Cochrane Library
Provider: Wiley InterScience
Contents: Full text
Descriptions: Aggregated database of information from the following: The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews; Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects; The Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials; The Cochrane Database of Methodology Reviews; The Cochrane Methodology Register; Health Technology Assessment Database; NHS Economic Evaluation Database.
Cold Spring Harbor Protocols
Provider: Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory Press
Contents: Full text protocols
Descriptions: Cold Spring Harbor Protocols is an interactive source of new and classic research techniques. The database is searchable by keyword and subject, and it has many novel features, including discussion forums and personal folders. Its coverage includes cell and molecular biology, genetics, bioinformatics, protein science, and imaging. Protocols will be continuously expanded, updated, and annotated by the originators and users of the techniques.
Communication Sciences and Disorders DOME (ComDisDOME)
Provider: Cambridge Scientific Abstracts
Contents: Indexing and abstracts
Descriptions: ComDisDOME is an information service, or portal, developed by Communication Sciences and Disorders educators and professionals for educators, clinicians, researchers, and students in the fields of Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology. The database connects users to over 130,000 citations from over 125 journals in the field (with full-text purchase options) and searches multiple content sources, including books and dissertations, from one location. It also provides links to associated authors, institutions, and Web sites.
Complementary and Alternative Therapies (MedlinePlus)
Provider: National Library of Medicine
Contents: Full text
Descriptions: Includes sections on acupuncture, alternative medicine, herbal medicine, cancer alternative therapies, chiropractic, and dietary supplements. These sections include latest news, topic overviews, links to associations and organizations, interactive tutorials, and clinical trials. A Spanish language version is also available.
Computer Source
Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
Contents: Full text/indexing and abstracts
Descriptions: Provides latest information and current trends in high technology; offers full text for nearly 300 publications, covering topics such as computer science, programming, artificial intelligence, cybernetics, information systems, robotics, and software. In addition, this database offers
indexing and abstracts for nearly 450 publications.
Consumer Health Complete
Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
Contents: Full text/indexing and abstracts
Descriptions: Provides encyclopedias and reference books, health reports and pamphlets, health news, drug and herb information, alternative health sources, and medical images and diagrams. Includes full-text articles from a variety of journals. A Spanish language version (Salud en Espanol) is available.
Contemporary Authors
Provider: Thomson Gale
Contents: Full text
Descriptions: A bio-bibliographical guide that covers more than 124,000 current writers in a wide range of media, including: current writers of fiction, general nonfiction, poetry, and drama; prominent print and broadcast journalists, editors, photojournalists, syndicated cartoonists, screenwriters, television scriptwriters, and other media people; authors who write in languages other than English, provided their works have been published in the United States or translated into English; and literary greats of the early twentieth century whose works are popular in today's high school and college curriculums and continue to elicit critical attention.
Contemporary Literary Criticism
Provider: Thomson Gale
Contents: Full text
Descriptions: Provides significant published criticism on the works of novelists, poets, playwrights, short story writers, and other creative writers. A strong emphasis is placed on including criticism of works by established authors who frequently appear on syllabuses of high school and college literature courses.
Each entry contains the following: a biographical essay that discusses the author's life, works, and critical importance; critical essays or excerpts taken from books, magazines, literary reviews, newspapers, and scholarly journals; and, where available, interviews with featured authors. A complete bibliographical citation prefaces each critical essay and most essays are introduced by a brief annotation that establishes a context and purpose for the criticism. Entries also provide suggestions for further reading.
CRISP (Computer Retrieval of Information on Scientific Projects)
Provider: National Institutes of Health
Contents: Abstracts
Descriptions: Provides information on federally funded biomedical research projects conducted at universities, hospitals, and other research institutions. The database, maintained by the Office of Extramural Research at the National Institutes of Health, includes projects funded by the National Institutes of Health (NIH), Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services (SAMHSA), Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA), Food and Drug Administration (FDA), Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDCP), Agency for Health Care Research and Quality (AHRQ), and Office of Assistant Secretary of Health (OASH). Provides information on scientific concepts and emerging trends and techniques and helps identify specific projects and/or investigators.
Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE) (EBM Reviews)
Provider: OVID
Contents: Full text and abstracts
Descriptions: Provides critical assessments of systematic reviews from a variety of medical journals. DARE is produced by reviewers and information staff of the National Health Services' Centre for Reviews and Dissemination (NHS CRD) at the University of York, England, and consists of structured abstracts of systematic reviews from all over the world. DARE records cover topics such as diagnosis, prevention, rehabilitation, screening, and treatment.
dbGaP
Provider: National Center for Biotechnology Information
Contents: Open-access data and controlled-access data
Descriptions: The database of Genotype and Phenotype (dbGaP) was developed to archive and distribute the results of studies that have investigated the interaction of genotype and phenotype. Such studies include genome-wide association studies, medical sequencing, molecular diagnostic assays, as well as association between genotype and non-clinical traits. The advent of high-throughput, cost-effective methods for genotyping and sequencing has provided powerful tools that allow for the generation of the massive amount of genotypic data required to make these analyses possible.
dbGaP provides two levels of access - open and controlled - in order to allow broad release of non-sensitive data, while providing oversight and investigator accountability for sensitive data sets involving personal health information. Summaries of studies and the contents of measured variables as well as original study document text are generally available to the public, while access to individual-level data including phenotyp
Dictionary of Literary Biography
Provider: Thomson Gale
Contents: Full text
Descriptions: Essays outline the lives and careers of authors from all eras and genres and summarize the critical response to their work. In addition, each DLB entry contains: personal information: birth/death dates, nationality/ethnicity, principal genres, awards, family history, and some entries include an author portrait; principal Works (a list of the author's most important writings) and further readings about the author, a list of additional writings, published interviews, biographies, and a bibliography of writings about the author.
Dietary Supplements Labels Database
Provider: National Library of Medicine
Contents: Quick reference
Descriptions: Dietary Supplements Labels Database enables one to look up research results on dietary supplements based on brand name, active ingredients, manufacturer and even intended use. The information available may include adverse effects, mechanism of action and FDA warnings and recalls.
Digital National Security Archive
Provider: ProQuest and the National Security Archive
Contents: Full text and abstracts
Descriptions: Comprehensive collection of primary documents, including more than 60,000 declassified documents regarding US policy decisions; there are 27 complete collections, each offering specialized insights, with new collections added regularly.
Directory of Open Access Journals
Provider: Lund University Libraries, Sweden
Contents: Indexing and abstracts
Descriptions: Consistently updated list of open access journals; covers all open access scientific and scholarly journals that use a quality control system to guarantee the content.
Disaster Information Management Research Center
Provider: National Library of Medicine
Contents: Full text, links
Descriptions: " DIMRC is tasked with the effective collection, organization, and dissemination of health information for natural, accidental, or deliberate disasters."
Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest)
Provider: ProQuest
Contents: Full text/indexing and abstracts
Descriptions: Web-based access to citations and abstracts and 24-page full-text previews of dissertations and theses from educational institutions in the United States.
Drug Resource Center
Provider: AETNA Intelihealth
Contents: Full text
Descriptions: Provides articles on condition-specific drug issues; includes information from Harvard Medical School's Consumer Health Information.
DrugBank
Provider: University of Alberta
Contents: Full text
Descriptions: Bioinformatics and cheminformatics resource that combines detailed drug (chemical, pharmacological and pharmaceutical) data with comprehensive drug target (sequence, structure, and pathway) information. The database contains nearly 4300 drug entries including FDA-approved small molecule drugs, FDA-approved biotech (protein/peptide) drugs, nutraceuticals and experimental drugs. Additionally, more than 6,000 protein (i.e. drug target) sequences are linked to these drug entries. Each DrugCard entry contains more than 80 data fields with half of the information being devoted to drug/chemical data and the other half devoted to drug target or protein data.
DynaMed
Provider: EBSCO
Contents: Summaries and full text
Descriptions: DynaMed is a clinical reference tool designed for use primarily at the 'point-of-care', providing
clinically-organized summaries for nearly 2,000 topics. DynaMed is updated daily and monitors the content of over 500 medical journals and systematic evidence review databases. Each publication is reviewed cover-to-cover, and each article is evaluated for clinical relevance and scientific validity. The new evidence is then integrated with existing content, and overall conclusions are changed as appropriate, representing a synthesis of the best available evidence. DynaMed can also be integrated with the EMR. DynaMed is available to Clinical Partner, Educational and Institutional level users.
Early Encounters in North America
Provider: Alexander Street Press
Contents: Full text
Descriptions: This highly searchable database contains over 100,000 pages of letters, diaries, memoirs and accounts of "early encounters" with the humans, flora and fauna of North America, from explorers, missionaries and others new to the "New World." Many images are also included.
EBSCOHost Espanol
Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
Contents: Spanish language database interface
Descriptions: Spanish language version of the interface to multiple databases provided by EBSCO.
Economia y Negocios
Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
Contents: Bibliographic citations and abstracts
Descriptions: A collaborative effort between EBSCO Publishing and ESAN (Escuela de Administración de Negocios para Graduados), this bibliographic database provides information on research conducted in the areas of business and economics. Search functionality is enhanced through the incorporation of author keywords supplied in Spanish and English. More than 60,000 records, dating back to the early 1980s, provide coverage for over 200 Spanish and Portuguese-language periodicals published in Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Spain, the United States and elsewhere. Active titles include Revista de la CEPAL, Revista de Administraçao, Estudios Empresariales, and Agroeconómico.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online
Provider: Gale
Contents: Full text
Descriptions: Digital images of over 13 million pages from over 1,500 English-language titles and editions published between 1701 and 1800, with images and maps included. A wide variety of subject matter is represented, from Fine Arts to Medicine. Titles from the British Library and many other university, private and public libraries worldwide.
eLibrary Curriculum Edition
Provider: ProQuest -- TexShare
Contents: Full text, including maps, images, websites and audio/video content
Descriptions: Large collection of periodical and digital media content designed specifically for K-12 students. Powered by the MediaSeek® knowledge base of educational standards to supplement instruction and research. Contains more than 2,000 full-text magazines, newspapers, reference books, and transcripts-plus pictures, maps, educator-approved websites from Homework Central®, and audio/video content
Encyclopedia of Animals
Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
Contents: Full text/indexing and abstracts
Descriptions: Offers information on a variety of topics relating to animals; consists of indexing, abstracts, and full text records describing the nature and habitat of familiar animals. Within some of the full text, image links are available for the Windows client. Images are accessed by double-clicking any image graphic.
Enhanced Business Search Interface
Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
Contents: Full text/indexing and abstracts
Descriptions: The Business Searching Interface (BSI) provides an easy way to both browse and search for country economic data, company profiles, industry information and market research, and then use the results as limiters in a keyword search, if desired.
Entrez Cross-Database Search
Provider: National Center for Biotechnology Information
Contents: Indexing and abstracts, full-text articles, and sequencing data
Descriptions: Integrated, text-based search and retrieval system used at the National Center for Biotechnology Information for the major databases, including PubMed, Nucleotide and Protein Sequences, Protein Structures, Complete Genomes, Taxonomy, and others. Entrez integrates the scientific
literature, DNA and protein sequence databases, 3D protein structure and protein domain data, population study datasets, expression data, assemblies of complete genomes, and taxonomic information into a tightly interlinked system.
ERIC (CSA)
Provider: Cambridge Scientific Abstracts (CSA Illumina)
Contents: Indexing and abstracts
Descriptions: ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) database is sponsored by the US Department of Education to provide access to educational-related literature; provides coverage of conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs. Dates of coverage: 1966 - current. Subject coverage includes counseling and personnel services, education management, information resources, languages and linguistics, science, mathematics, and environmental education, teacher education, and tests, measurement, and evaluation.
ERIC (EBSCO)
Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
Contents: Full text/indexing and abstracts
Descriptions: ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) database is sponsored by the US Department of Education to provide access to educational-related literature; provides coverage of conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs. Dates of coverage: 1966 - current. Subject coverage includes counseling and personnel services, education management, information resources, languages and linguistics, science, mathematics, and environmental education, teacher education, and tests, measurement, and evaluation.
ERIC (OCLC)
Provider: OCLC
Contents: Indexing and abstracts
Descriptions: ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) database is sponsored by the US Department of Education to provide access to educational-related literature; provides coverage of conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs. Dates of coverage: 1966 - current. Subject coverage includes counseling and personnel services, education management, information resources, languages and linguistics, science, mathematics, and environmental education, teacher education, and tests, measurement, and evaluation.
Exam Master (USMLE)
Provider: Exam Master Corp.
Contents: Medical test question bank containing over 16,000 questions for examination review
Descriptions: Question bank contains questions for USMLE, Steps 1, 2, and 3; Medical Board Exams, including family practice, internal medicine, and surgery; and several medical subject areas, including anatomy, microbiology, and physiology.
Faculty of 1000 Biology
Provider: BioMed Central
Contents: Citations to current literature in biological sciences with evaluations and links to PubMed
Descriptions: Online research service that highlights and reviews the most interesting papers published in the biological sciences, based on the recommendations of a faculty of well over 1000 researchers. Provides a rapidly updated consensus map of the important papers and trends across biology, including biochemistry, bioinformatics, biotechnology, cell biology, chemical biology, developmental biology, ecology, evolutionary biology, genomics and genetics, immunology, microbiology, molecular biology, molecular medicine, neuroscience, pharmacology and drug discovery, physiology, plant biology, and structural biology. Faculty of 1000 Biology highlights papers on the basis of their scientific merit rather than the journal in which they appear and offers the researcher a consensus of recommendations from well over 1000 leading scientists.
Faculty of 1000 Medicine
Provider: BioMed Central
Contents: Citations to current literature in medicine with evaluations and links to PubMed
Descriptions: Aimed at clinicians (highlighting evidence that questions current clinical practice) and researchers (highlighting important areas of research and drawing attention to new developments); provides a rapidly updated consensus map of the important papers and trends across medicine, including anesthesiology, cardiovascular disorders, diabetes and endocrinology, and evidence-based health care.
FDA Maude Database
Provider: Food and Drug Administration
Contents: Index, Full text
Descriptions: MAUDE = Manufacturer And User Device Experience. MAUDE data are reports of adverse events involving medical devices. Reporting is voluntary and updates are posted quarterly.
Federal Register
Provider: US Government Printing Office and US National Archives and Records Administration
Contents: Full-text of official published government documents
Descriptions: Published by the Office of the Federal Register, National Archives and Records Administration (NARA), the Federal Register is the official daily publication for rules, proposed rules, and notices of Federal agencies and organizations, as well as executive orders and other presidential documents. Frequently requested materials from the Federal Register include grant information and Relative Value Units (RVU), also known as the Unique Physician Fee Schedule.
Fuente Academica
Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
Contents: Full text/indexing and abstracts
Descriptions: Collection of scholarly journals from Latin American and Spanish publishers; offers full text content from many academic areas, including business and economics, medical sciences, political science, law, computer science, library and information sciences, literature, linguistics, history, philosophy and theology. Database provides full text (including PDF) for 260 scholarly Spanish language
journals. Content is provided in Spanish from many publishers, including Revista de Arquitectura, Estudios Sobre Educacion, Revista de Estudios Hispanicos, Comunicacion y Sociedad, Revista de Ciencia Politica, Revista Historia, and more.
Funk & Wagnall's New Encyclopedia
Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
Contents: Full text
Descriptions: Indexes over 25,000 records, covering an array of topics, contains various images, and offers brief biographies as well as information on a variety of subject areas; updated annually.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Provider: Thomson Gale
Contents: Full text electronic reference books
Descriptions: E-book reference content in a database format, including multi-volume encyclopedias, biographical collections, business plan handbooks, company history compilations, consumer health references, and specialized reference sources. Subjects covered include Arts, Biography, Business, Education,
Environment, History, Law, Literature, Medicine, Multicultural Studies, Nation and World, Religion, Science, and Social Science. In addition to titles available from Thomson Gale, content from other publishers is also available, including John Wiley & Sons, SAGE Reference, Cambridge University Press and
the xreferplus collection.
Genetics Home Reference
Provider: National Library of Medicine
Contents: Full text, including summaries, the illustrated Help Me Understand Genetics Handbook, and a glossary
Descriptions: The National Library of Medicine's web site for consumer information about genetic conditions and the genes or chromosomes responsible for those conditions. Includes condition, gene, and chromosome summaries, the Help Me Understand Genetics Handbook (with basic explanations of how genes work,
genetic testing, and the Human Genome Project) and a glossary of genetic and medical terms.
Go Local Texas Gulf Coast
Provider: HAM-TMC Library, UTMB-Galveston Moody Medical Library, and National Library of Medicine
Contents: Directory
Descriptions: A joint consumer health website project between the Jesse H Jones Community Health Information Service of the Houston Academy of Medicine-Texas Medical Center Library and the University of Texas Medical Branch, Galveston, Moody Medical Library in partnership with the National Libary of Medicine, this resource provides up-to-date information about local health resources for 38 counties in the Texas Gulf Coast region, and, by linking to MedlinePlus, makes available reliable health information about a number of diseases and conditions.
Government Printing Office Monthly Catalog
Provider: OCLC
Contents: Indexing and abstracts
Descriptions: Covers all types of US government documents, including Congressional reports, hearings, debates, and records, judiciary materials, and documents issued by executive departments (Defense, State, Labor, Office of the President); includes a bibliographic citation in each record.
Handbook of Texas Online
Provider: Texas State Historical Association and the General Libraries at UT Austin -- TexShare
Contents: Full text multidisciplinary encyclopedia
Descriptions: Multidisciplinary encyclopedia of Texas history, geography, and culture sponsored by the Texas State Historical Association and the General Libraries at UT Austin. It comprises more than 23,000 articles on people, places, events, historical themes, institutions, and a host of other topic categories. The scope is broad and inclusive, designed to provide readers with concise, authoritative, and accessible articles that provide factual, nonpartisan accounts on virtually every aspect of Texas history and culture.
HarpWeek
Provider: HarpWeek
Contents: Full text
Descriptions: Full text of Harper's Weekly, the leading 19th Century American illustrated newspaper, from 1857-1912.
Health & Wellness Resource Center
Provider: Thomson Gale -- TexShare
Contents: Full text from journals, newspapers, electronic books, websites, and other sources
Descriptions: Provides integrated access to medical, statistical, health, and wellness information for consumers, students, and professionals; provides the Alternative Health Module. Includes the Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine. Delivers reference material as well as full-text magazines, journals, and pamphlets from a wide variety of medical sources. Also includes descriptions of and links to several pertinent Web sites, selected for their usefulness and appropriateness.
Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HAPI)
Provider: OVID
Contents: Indexing and abstracts with links to full-text
Descriptions: Provides access to information on measurement instruments (questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/ manuals, rating scales, projective techniques, vignettes/scenarios, tests) in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information science. Helps to identify measures needed for research studies, grant proposals, client/patient assessment, class papers/projects, theses/dissertations, and program evaluation. For a brief guide to searching any Ovid database, access the full list of available databases by clicking "Change Databases," and click the "i" (information) logo next to its title.
Health Reference Center Academic
Provider: Thomson Gale -- TexShare
Contents: Full text articles; indexing and abstracts
Descriptions: Provides access to the full text of nursing and allied health journals, plus a wide variety of personal health information sources, including newspapers and multimedia.
Health Source: Consumer Edition
Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
Contents: Full text/indexing and abstracts
Descriptions: Provides information on many health topics, including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, child care, sports medicine and general health. Features searchable full text for nearly 190 journals, as well as abstracts and indexing for over 200 general health, nutrition and professional health care publications. Also included is USP Pharmacopoeia DI: Volume II Advice for the Lay Patient and 20 health research books, including books published by the People's Medical Society.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
Contents: Full text/indexing and abstracts
Descriptions: Provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on various medical disciplines and features abstracts and indexing for 850 journals, with coverage of nursing and allied health being particularly strong, including full text from many nursing journals. In addition, this database includes
Clinical Pharmacology, which provides access to up-to-date, concise and clinically relevant drug monographs for all U.S. prescription drugs, hard-to-find herbal and nutritional supplements, over-the-counter products and new drugs. Full text information in this database dates as far back as 1975.
Herbs and Supplements Information (MedlinePlus)
Provider: National Library of Medicine and Natural Standard
Contents: Full text with illustrations
Descriptions: Entries for individual herbs and supplements include: background, synonyms, evidence, dosing, safety, interactions, methodology, and selected references. Information is also available in Spanish.
HeritageQuest Online
Provider: ProQuest -- TexShare
Contents: Full text/indexing and abstracts
Descriptions: Contains over 20,000 books currently available, the entire US Federal Census, PERSI, Freedman's Bank Records, Revolutionary War Pension Records, and other expanding collections.
Historical Abstracts
Provider: ABC/Clio
Contents: Full text/indexing and abstracts
Descriptions: Combined with its sister database America: History and Life, Historical Abstracts contains over 1 million abstracts and citations of book and media reviews, books, and dissertations, many with links to the fulltext. Historical Abstracts provides a complete bibliographic reference to the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Together, America: History and Life and Historical Abstracts cover over 1,700 journals published throughout the world, in over forty languages. Each database deals with those articles that are pertinent to its period of coverage.
Historical New York Times
Provider: ProQuest
Contents: Full text
Descriptions: Searchable database of the New York Times newspaper, 1851 - 2003.
IEEE Xplore
Provider: IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers)
Contents: Full text/indexing and abstracts
Descriptions: Provides full text access to technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics. IEEE Xplore contains full text documents from IEEE journals, transactions, magazines, letters, conference proceedings, standards, and IEE (Institution of Electrical Engineers) publications from 1988, with select content back to 1952.
Illustrata (CSA)
Provider: Cambridge Scientific Abstracts
Contents: Full text and images
Descriptions: Provides access to nearly one million illustrations, charts, graphs, maps, and other figures from more than 665 journals; using this resource, researchers can specifically search information presented in tables, figures, charts, and other illustrations within articles and then view the full object, including all caption and label text.
images.MD, the online encyclopedia of medical images
Provider: Current Medicine
Contents: Internal medicine images, including histology, pathology, radiographs, original artwork, graphs, tables, and commentary.
Descriptions: Compiles over 50,000 images in internal medicine, all derived from Current Medicine’s series of illustrated atlases. Each image is accompanied by detailed text written by over 2,000 contributing experts. Continually updated, with content added throughout the year. Detailed references accompany each image.
Index-Catalogue of the Library of the Surgeon-General's Office. US Army.
Provider: National Library of Medicine
Contents: Bibliographic records
Descriptions: Multi-part searchable bibliography or list of items in the Library of the Surgeon-General’s Office, US Army; contains material dated from the 1400's through 1950, covering the history of medicine, history of science, and clinical research. Contains records for journal articles, books, dissertations, pamphlets, and reports.
Information Science & Technology Abstracts
Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
Contents: Full text/indexing and abstracts
Descriptions: Coverage includes classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management, search engines, printed and electronic information sources, the information industry, scholarly communication, electronic publishing, and more. ISTA indexes journal articles from more
than 450 publications plus books, research reports, and conference proceedings and patents. Coverage extends back to the mid 1960s.
InfoTrac Newspapers
Provider: Thomson Gale -- TexShare
Contents: Full text articles
Descriptions: Collection of over 400 newspapers from the US and around the world, including several Texas newspapers and a 365 day rolling file for the New York Times. Dates of coverage vary.
International Pharmaceutical Abstracts
Provider: OVID
Contents: Full text/indexing and abstracts
Descriptions: Provides international coverage of pharmaceutical science and health related literature from 1970 to the present, and is updated monthly. Comprehensive information is included for drug therapy, toxicity, and pharmacy practice as well as legislation, regulation, technology, utilization, biopharmaceutics, information processing, education, economics, and ethics as related to pharmaceutical science and practice.
Internet and Personal Computing Abstracts
Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
Contents: Full text/indexing and abstracts
Descriptions: Provides abstracts and indexing for literature related to personal computing products and developments in business, the Internet, the home, and all other applied areas. Contains content coverage that extends back to the 1980s. Over 400 trade publications, mainstream computer magazines, and professional journals are covered, including those that focus on specific topics such as Macintosh and Windows platforms, programming, and web development. Special emphasis is also given to hardware and software reviews. Includes content from such titles as Byte.com, PC World, Macworld, and Linux Journal, as
well as editor-selected articles from hundreds of popular magazine titles.
Journal Citation Reports
Provider: ISI Web of Knowledge
Contents: Citation and journal impact factor data
Descriptions: Provides statistical information to evaluate and compare journals using citation data drawn from over 7,500 scholarly and technical journals from more than 3,300 publishers. Provides information on: most frequently cited journals in a field; highest impact journals in a field; and largest journals in a field. Citation and article counts are indicators of how frequently current researchers are using individual journals.
Journals@ OVID Full Text
Provider: OVID
Contents: Full text for journals to which the Library subscribes.
Descriptions: Aggregated online database of all Ovid full text journals. Provides access to all of the tables of contents, bibliographic citations, abstracts, and references.
JSTOR, the Scholarly Journal Archive
Provider: JSTOR
Contents: Full text
Descriptions: The JSTOR archive contains the complete digitized back runs of core scholarly journals in multiple disciplines, starting with the very first issues, some dating as far back as the 1600's. New titles and disciplines are added regularly. Via HAM-TMC Library the following collections are available: Arts and Sciences I-IV; Biological Sciences; Business I-II; Ecology & Botany; Health & General Sciences; and Language & Literature.
Kids Search
Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
Contents: Full text, images
Descriptions: Search interface designed specifically for elementary/middle school students according to their needs and search abilities. The Kids Search interface combines a search engine with a child-friendly, graphically-rich design that is both powerful and fun to use. Important features and functionality of Kids Search include a completely new, visually appealing look and feel and the ability to search by topic, subtopic, or keywords.
LactMed: Drugs and Lactation Database
Provider: National Library of Medicine
Contents: Full text
Descriptions: A peer-reviewed and fully referenced database of drugs to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed. Among the data included are maternal and infant levels of drugs, possible effects on breastfed infants and on lactation, and alternate drugs to consider.
Legal Collection
Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
Contents: Full text/indexing and abstracts
Descriptions: Collection of scholarly peer-reviewed publications including law journals, documents, and case studies, with information on current issues, studies, thoughts and trends of the legal world. Legal Collection offers full text for nearly 250 law journals and provides information centered on the discipline of law and legal topics such as criminal justice, international law, federal law, organized crime, medical, labor & human resource law, ethics, the environment and much more. Full text information in this database dates as far back as 1965.
Library Literature and Information Full Text
Provider: HW Wilson
Contents: Full text/indexing and abstracts
Descriptions: Bibliographic database that indexes articles and book reviews in more than 200 key library and information science periodicals published in the United States and elsewhere, with full-text coverage for selected periodicals also provided. Books, chapters in collected works such as conference
proceedings, library school theses, and pamphlets are also indexed. Full-text coverage begins in 1994.
Library of Texas
Provider: Texas State Library and Archives Commission -- TexShare
Contents: Search engine
Descriptions: Provides searching capabilities across multiple Texas library catalog and other knowledge collections, including databases provided by TexShare.
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts
Provider: EBSCO
Contents: Indexing and abstracts
Descriptions: Indexes more than 600 periodicals, plus books, research reports and proceedings; coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Coverage in the database extends back as far as the mid-1960s.
Literature Resource Center
Provider: Thomson Gale -- TexShare
Contents: Full text
Descriptions: Literature reference database designed for both undergraduate and graduate students; provides biographical, bibliographical, critical content, and information on literary figures from all time periods writing in such genres as fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, journalism, and more. Includes information from the Thomson Gale databases Contemporary Authors Online, Contemporary Literary Criticism Select, and Dictionary of Literary Biography Online.
MAS Ultra School Edition
Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
Contents: Full text
Descriptions: Contains full text for more than 700 popular magazines, including Nation, National Review, New Republic, New Scientist, Science News, and Scientific American. All full text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full text is available for biographies and primary source documents. Also included are pamphlets, reference books (including the Columbia Encyclopedia, the CIA World Fact Book and World Almanac & Book of Facts), an image collection, maps & flags, color PDFs and expanded full text backfiles (back to 1975) for key magazines.
MasterFILE Premier
Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
Contents: Full text/indexing and abstracts
Descriptions: Provides full text for more than 1,700 general periodicals covering a broad range of disciplines including general reference, business, education, health, general science, and multi-cultural issues. In addition to the full text, this database provides indexing and abstracts for nearly 2,400 titles. This database includes full text Magill Book Reviews, full text reference books including the World Almanac & Book of Facts; full
text from biographies, full text primary source documents, American Heritage Dictionary, 4th Edition and an image collection of photos, maps and flags. Includes PDF backfiles as far back as 1975 for key publications.
MD Consult
Provider: Elsevier
Contents: Full text
Descriptions: MD Consult is a database of clinical point-of-care resources. This subscription includes full-text access to over 50 medical reference books covering a wealth of specialties; browsable access to a large journal collection and to 35 Clinics of North America titles; drug information from Gold Standard; more than 1,000 practice guidelines; and thousands of customizable patient education handouts. It offers the option to create personal accounts and participate in CME activities, and includes a news section. Available to Educational level users.
Medical Letter, The
Provider: The Medical Letter, Inc.
Contents: Full text
Descriptions: This database contains The Medical Letter on Drugs and Therapeutics, a searchable current database featuring biweekly updates. Archived information dates back to 1988. Also included: the database Treatment Guidelines from The Medical Letter, which includes guidelines from 2002 through the present; Adverse Drug Reactions Program, a proprietary, evidence-based database of drug interactions, updated frequently and searchable for up to 12 drugs simultaneously; and the Handbook of Antimicrobial Therapy, 17th ed. (2005.) Also available are ACCME/ACPE/AAFP-accredited CME's. PDA access is also supported, for Palm OS users only. Please contact the Circulation Desk staff for details on getting started with PDA and CME.
Medical Subject Headings (MeSH)
Provider: National Library of Medicine
Contents: Thesaurus
Descriptions: MeSH is the National Library of Medicine's controlled vocabulary thesaurus, consisting of sets of terms naming descriptors in a hierarchical structure that permits searching at various levels of specificity; the thesaurus is used by NLM for indexing articles from 4,800 of the world's leading biomedical journals for the MEDLINE/PubMED® database. It is also used for the NLM-produced database that includes cataloging of books, documents, and audiovisuals acquired by the Library. Each bibliographic reference is associated with a set of MeSH terms that describe the content of the item. Similarly, MeSH vocabulary can be used in search queries to find items on a desired topic.
MedicLatina
Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
Contents: Full text/indexing and abstracts
Descriptions: Spanish language collection of medical research and investigative journals, providing access to full text for peer-reviewed medical journals in native Spanish. A wide range of topics are covered including neuroscience, cardiology, nephrology, biomedicine, clinical research, pediatrics, human reproduction, clinical pathology, cancer research, and hematology. Publications covered in this database include Revista Medica del IMSS, Revista Mexicana de Patologia Clinica, Boletin Medico del Hospital Infantil de Mexico, Archivos de Neurociencias, Revista Biomedica, Veterinaria Mexico, and Salud Publica de Mexico.
Medline (CSA)
Provider: Cambridge Scientific Abstracts
Contents: Citations and abstracts
Descriptions: Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE contains all records published in Index Medicus and since 2002, most citations previously included in separate NLM specialty databases such as SPACELINE and HISTLINE
Medline (EBSCO)
Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
Contents: Indexing and abstracts, with links to full text
Descriptions: Bibliographic database providing information from the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, allied health, and the pre-clinical sciences; the electronic counterpart of Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and the International Nursing Index.
Medline (OCLC)
Provider: OCLC
Contents: Indexing and abstracts
Descriptions: Bibliographic database providing information from the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, allied health, and the pre-clinical sciences; the electronic counterpart of Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and the International Nursing Index.
Medline (OVID)
Provider: OVID
Contents: Full text/indexing and abstracts
Descriptions: Bibliographic database providing information from the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, allied health, and the pre-clinical sciences; the electronic counterpart of Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and the International Nursing Index.
Medline (PubMed)
Provider: National Library of Medicine
Contents: Indexing and abstracts, with links to full text
Descriptions: Bibliographic database providing information from the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, allied health, and the pre-clinical sciences; the electronic counterpart of Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and the International Nursing Index. PubMed is a service of the US National Library of Medicine that includes over 16 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. PubMed includes links to full text articles and other related resources.
MedlinePlus
Provider: National Library of Medicine
Contents: Full text
Descriptions: Provides information from the National Institutes of Health and other trusted sources on over 700 diseases and conditions; includes lists of hospitals and physicians, a medical encyclopedia and a medical dictionary, health information in Spanish, extensive information on prescription and nonprescription drugs, health information from the media, and links to thousands of clinical trials.
Medscape
Provider: WebMD
Contents: Full text
Descriptions: Original, professional medical content, including review articles, journal commentary, expert columns, patient education articles, book reviews, and more than 850 online CME activities. Requires free registration.
Mental Measurements Yearbook
Provider: EBSCOHost
Contents: Full text
Descriptions: Produced by the Buros Institute, contains full text information about and reviews of all English-language standardized tests covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas as included in the printed "Mental Measurements Yearbooks."
Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy, The
Provider: Merck
Contents: Full text electronic book
Descriptions: Standard text in the field of diagnosis and therapy, freely available on the Internet.
Middle Search Plus
Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
Contents: Full text/indexing and abstracts
Descriptions: Contains full text for nearly 140 popular magazines. All full text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full text is also available for thousands of biographies, historical essays and student pamphlets. Also contains primary source documents (Essential Documents in American History), reference books (Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia and American Heritage Dictionary), the Encyclopedia of Animals, and an image collection of photos, maps and flags.
Military & Government Collection
Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
Contents: Full text/indexing and abstracts
Descriptions: Offers current news pertaining to all branches of the military and includes periodicals, academic journals and other content, including cover-to-cover full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals. The database also includes full text for 245 pamphlets and offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 400 titles.
National Cancer Institute Website
Provider: National Cancer Institute
Contents: Full text
Descriptions: A comprehensive layman's website. Cancer Topics searches link the user to PubMed with pre-set search limits and retrieve literature citations on more than 100 major cancer topics; search results can be further refined using PubMed's search options and limits. Tabbed categories lead the user to other resources, including information on statistics, clinical trials, research and recent news releases, and dictionaries of oncology terms and drug information.
National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts
Provider: Cambridge Scientific Abstracts (CSA)
Contents: Full text/summaries/indexing and abstracts
Descriptions: Contains summaries of over 189,000 US and international publications, including federal, state, and local government reports, books, research reports, journal articles, audiovisual presentations, and unpublished research, while excluding most legal decisions, opinions, and statutes.
National Reference Center for Bioethics Literature
Provider: Kennedy Institute of Ethics
Contents: Indexing and abstracts/bibliographies
Descriptions: Provides a single service point to: search for books and articles; request a custom bibliography; retrieve a bibliography on a bioethics topic; and find publications, organizations, and links.
Natural & Alternative Treatments
Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
Contents: Full text
Descriptions: Provides detailed information for more than 180 different conditions and the conventional and natural treatments used to treat them, over 200 herbs and supplements, plus drug-herb and drug-supplement interactions for more than 75 drug categories.
Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database
Provider: Therapeutic Research Faculty
Contents: Full text/indexing and abstracts
Descriptions: Provides clinically relevant information in an easy-to-use format; users can perform a product search from any page, click a button to get a patient handout for each product, or click references to see abstracts of articles.
Nature Neuroscience Gateway
Provider: Nature Publishing Group and the Allen Institute for Brain Science
Contents: Full text, citations, and images
Descriptions: A comprehensive source for current research, news and events in neuroscience and genomics research developed collaboratively by the Allen Institute for Brain Science and Nature Publishing Group; includes the Allen Brain Atlas, a freely available scientific resource developed by the Allen Institute, which provides maps of the expression of approximately 20,000 genes in the mouse brain. Together, the Neuroscience Gateway and the Allen Brain Atlas are new tools to help researchers navigate neuroscience and genomics research.
Nature.com Databases and Gateways
Provider: Nature.com
Contents: News summaries, links, Full Text
Descriptions: Nature.com has developed a collection of subject portals to news, conferences and other related links, and recent Nature publications in various areas of interest to researchers, for example: neuroscience; specific areas of cell science; human signaling pathways; laboratory technologies and protocols; and climate change.
NCME TV
Provider: Network for Continuing Medical Education
Contents: CME video programs
Descriptions: NCME TV™ provides a variety of contemporary topics of interest to primary care physicians, hospitalists, and other specialists. NCME covers important CME topics, some of which are rarely covered by other CME providers. Each month, a new program is posted from one of the following categories: Masters Programs on Critical Topics in Medicine (grand-rounds style reviews of important topics in emergency medicine); State-Mandated CME Topics (needed for licensure in many states); Hospital Quality/Performance Issues;and Late-Breaking and Hot Topics. NCME is accredited by the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education to provide continuing medical education for physicians. All NCME programs are certified for AMA PRA Category 1 Credit™ on an hour-for-hour basis. (Some individual programs are supported by educational grants from industry.)
See this page for clarification on how to register at the NCME TV website.
NetLibrary E-Books Collection Basic Search Interface
Provider: NetLibrary/OCLC -- TexShare
Contents: Full text
Descriptions: Electronic book collection of more than 100,000 titles of trade, reference and STM content.
Newspaper Source
Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
Contents: Full text/partial full text/transcripts
Descriptions: Provides cover-to-cover full text for 20 national (US) & international newspapers, including The Christian Science Monitor, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Times (London), Toronto Star, etc. The database also contains selected full text for more than 230 regional (US) newspapers, including The Boston Globe, Chicago Tribune, Detroit Free Press, The Miami Herald, Daily News (New York), San Jose Mercury News, etc. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are provided from CBS News, FOX News, NPR, and other sources.
NLM Drug Information Portal
Provider: National Library of Medicine
Contents: Links to full text
Descriptions: This resource provides the public, healthcare professionals, and researchers with a gateway to current and accurate drug information from the National Library of Medicine as well as links to drug information from other key government agencies, PubMed and MedlinePlus.
NLM Gateway: search engine for the resources of the National Library of Medicine
Provider: National Library of Medicine
Contents: Full text/indexing and abstracts
Descriptions: The NLM Gateway is a Web-based system that lets users search simultaneously in multiple retrieval systems at the National Library of Medicine (NLM), allowing users of NLM services to initiate searches from one Web interface, providing "one-stop searching" for many of NLM's information resources or databases.
North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, and Oral Histories
Provider: Alexander Street Press
Contents: Full text
Descriptions: Personal narratives, including autobiographies and pamphlets, from 342 authors, providing insight on what it meant to be an immigrant to the U.S.A. and Canada during the period from 1840 to 1950.
North American Women's Letters and Diaries
Provider: Alexander Street Press
Contents: Full text
Descriptions: Diaries, journals and letters written by women residents and visitors to North America between 1700 and 1950; to include the personal experiences of 1,500 women from all walks of life and classes in society.
NursingCenter
Provider: Lippincott Williams & Wilkins (LWW)
Contents: Some full text
Descriptions: This site is a multi-faceted resource for nurses which includes CME activities, job search resources, news, drug update alerts and discussion forums. Although registration is not required, optional free registration allows the user to create an individualized profile for tracking your CME activities and filtering information to your own specialty or interests. Please note: many free full-text articles are included, but many references do not provide free full text if accessed directly from NursingCenter. Please, always check HAM-TMC Library's A-Z journal list before paying for an article at NursingCenter; the Library subscribes to a full collection of LWW journals on your behalf.
OCLC Electronic Books (Ebooks)
Provider: OCLC -- TexShare
Contents: Catalog records and indexing
Descriptions: Contains bibliographic records for over 295,000 online electronic books cataloged by OCLC member libraries. Updated daily.
OCLC Electronic Collections Online
Provider: OCLC -- TexShare
Contents: Catalog records and indexing
Descriptions: Collection of scholarly journals, including all of the original content and images of articles and bibliographic information for all journals.
Lets you view abstracts and full-text articles from journals to which your library or institution subscribes.
OMMBID (Online Metabolic & Molecular Bases of Inherited Disease)
Provider: McGraw-Hill
Contents: Full text
Descriptions: Scriver’s OMMBID provides online access to the leading genetic information from renowned international experts. Updated several times yearly.
OncologyStat
Provider: Elsevier
Contents: Full text
Descriptions: From the website: "OncologySTAT integrates a multitude of authoritative professional cancer information sources, such as peer-reviewed research, news and regulatory updates, a professional drug monograph and interactions database, chemotherapy regimens, and conference coverage into one easy-to-use online destination. Information and educational materials are delivered across multiple media formats: text, audio, video, interactive, user-generated forums, etc. Community oncologists and cancer-care practitioners in private practice or a non-institutional setting will find OncologySTAT especially useful in gaining immediate integrated access to the latest evidence-based research, news, treatment, and decision support information."
Note: Free registration is required to access full text articles and to contribute comments to blogs in this database.
PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) International
Provider: Cambridge Scientific Abstracts (CSA)
Contents: Indexing and abstracts
Descriptions: Contains references to journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more. PAIS International includes publications from over 120 countries throughout the world. In addition to English, some of the indexed materials are published in French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish. Includes access to the PAIS Archive.
PapersFirst
Provider: OCLC -- TexShare
Contents: Indexing and abstracts
Descriptions: Index of papers presented at conferences worldwide, including congresses, symposia, expositions, workshops, and meetings.
PDQ Cancer Database
Provider: National Cancer Institute
Contents: Full text
Descriptions: Contains peer-reviewed summaries on cancer treatment, screening, prevention, genetics, and supportive care, and complementary and alternative medicine; a registry of more than 4,000 open and 15,000 closed cancer clinical trials from around the world; and directories of physicians, professionals who provide genetics services, and organizations that provide cancer care.
PEDro Physiotherapy Evidence Database
Provider: Centre of Evidence-Based Physiotherapy, School of Physiotherapy, University of Sydney
Contents: Indexing and abstracts
Descriptions: Provides access to bibliographic details and abstracts of randomised controlled trials, systematic reviews and evidence-based clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy. Most trials have been rated for quality.
Periodicals Archive Online
Provider: ProQuest
Contents: Full text/indexing and abstracts
Descriptions: Contains over 350 journals, providing access to over 1 million articles, on target to grow to over 400 journals during 2006, to give undergraduate and graduate students, university faculty and libraries access to the most historically respected journals in the humanities and social sciences.
PLOS Hub for Clinical Trials
Provider: PLOS
Contents: Full text, interactive
Descriptions: The PLoS Hub for Clinical Trials collects PLoS journal articles that relate to clinical trials. The Hub is a site for researchers to share their views and build a dynamic, interactive community.
Primary Search
Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
Contents: Full text/indexing and abstracts
Descriptions: Contains full text for nearly 70 popular, elementary school magazines, with all full text articles being assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 100 magazines. Full text is also available for over 100 student pamphlets. Examples of publications include: Boys’ Life, Cricket, Highlights for Children, Hopscotch, Jack & Jill, Ladybug, Ranger Rick, Science World, Spider, SuperScience, and Time for Kids. This database also provides the American Heritage Children’s Dictionary, 3rd Edition from Houghton Mifflin, and an Image Collection of 202,164 photos, maps and flags.
ProceedingsFirst
Provider: OCLC
Contents: Indexing and abstracts
Descriptions: Index of worldwide conference proccedings; covers every published congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop and meeting received by The British Library Document Supply Centre. Each record provides a list of papers presented at each conference.
Professional Development Collection
Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
Contents: Indexing and abstracts/Full text
Descriptions: Designed for professional educators, this database provides a specialized collection of nearly 550 education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports. In addition to full text, indexing and abstracts are provided for more than 700 journals. Examples of titles offered include: Booklist, Curriculum Administrator, Education, Education Digest, Educational Leadership, Journal of Education, Journal of Educational Research, Journal of Learning Disabilities, and School Library Journal.
Protein Lounge
Provider: www.ProteinLounge.com
Contents: Systems biology databases and online research tools
Descriptions: Comprised of several databases, including Pathway, siRNA, Peptide-Antigen, and Protein Interaction, as well as tools such as the Protein Hydroplotter and Peptide Finder, Protein Lounge has developed many interactive web-based databases and software to help life-scientists understand the complexity of systems biology. Systems biology efforts focus on understanding cellular networks, protein interactions involved in cell signaling, mechanisms of cell survival, and apoptosis leading to development or identification of drug candidates against a variety of diseases.
PsycARTICLES (EbscoHost)
Provider: EBSCOHost
Contents: Full text/indexing and abstracts
Descriptions: Provides full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA’s Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber, including all the material (with the exception of ads and editorial board lists) from 55 top psychology publications. Covers a range of subjects such as general psychology and specialized basic, applied, clinical, and theoretical research areas within psychology. Titles include: Behavioral Neuroscience, Journal of Abnormal Psychology, Psychology of Addictive Behaviors, Psychological Bulletin, and Journal of Personality & Social Psychology
PsychiatryOnline
Provider: American Psychiatric Publishing, Inc.
Contents: Full text
Descriptions: Provides full text resources including DSM-IV-TR, DSM-IV-TR Casebook and its Treatment Companion, and the American Psychiatric Association Practice Guidelines for the Treatment of Psychiatric Disorders; journals including The American Journal of Psychiatry and Psychiatric Services; textbooks including Textbook of Clinical Psychiatry; self-assessment tools for study, board certification and recertification review, and lifelong learning; and clinical & research news from Psychiatric News
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
Contents: Full text/indexing and abstracts
Descriptions: Provides nearly 575 full text publications, including 550 peer-reviewed journals, covering topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. In addition to the full text, indexing and abstracts are provided for all journals in the collection. Publications include: Clinical Neuropsychologist, European Archives of Psychiatry & Clinical Neuroscience, European Child & Adolescent Psychiatry, European Journal of Cognitive Psychology, European Journal of Neuroscience, International Journal of Behavioral Medicine, International Journal of Psychiatry in Clinical Practice, International Journal of Social Psychiatry, International Review of
Psychiatry, Journal of Clinical & Experimental Neuropsychology, Journal of Cognitive Neurosciences, Journal of Mental Health, and Journal of Psychiatry & Neuroscience
PsycINFO (OVID)
Provider: OVID
Contents: Indexing and abstracts
Descriptions: Provides citations with abstracts to the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences, including material of relevance to psychologists, students, and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, and education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work. Journal coverage includes material selected from approximately 2,000 periodicals. Chapter and book coverage includes English-language material published from 1987 to the present. For a brief guide to searching any Ovid database, access the full list of available databases by clicking "Change Databases," and click the "i" (information) logo next to its title.
PubChem
Provider: National Library of Medicine and National Center for Biotechnology Information
Contents: Chemical compound structures and substance and bioassay records
Descriptions: Provides information on the biological activities of small molecules and is a component of NIH's Molecular Libraries Roadmap Initiative; includes substance information, compound structures, and bioactivity data in three primary databases, PCSubstance, PCCompound, and PCBioAssay. PCSubstance contains more than 12 million records; PCCompound contains more than 7 million unique structures; and PCBioAssay contains more than 200 bioassays, with each bioassay containing a various number of data points
Public Library of Science (PLoS)
Provider: Public Library of Science
Contents: Full text
Descriptions: In 2003, PLoS launched a nonprofit scientific and medical publishing venture that provides scientists and physicians with high-quality, high-profile journals in which to publish their most important work; under the open access model, PLoS journals are immediately available online, with no charges for access and no restrictions on subsequent redistribution or use, as long as the author(s) and source are cited, as specified by the Creative Commons Attribution License.
PubMed
Provider: National Library of Medicine
Contents: Bibliographic citations with links to journals owned by the Library
Descriptions: Provides access to citations from the biomedical literature, including bibliographic information from MEDLINE, covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences; MEDLINE contains bibliographic citations and author abstracts from more than 4,800 biomedical journals published in the United States and 70 other countries. The database contains over 14 million citations dating back to the mid-1960's . Coverage is worldwide, but most records are from English-language sources or have English abstracts.
PubMed Bookshelf
Provider: National Library of Medicine/National Center for Biotechnology Information
Contents: Full text electronic books
Descriptions: In collaboration with authors and publishers, the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) is adapting biomedical books for the web; the books may be accessed in two ways: (1) they may be searched directly or (2) they can be found through links to PubMed abstracts. The majority of the links are between the books and PubMed. In the future, more links will be made between the books and other types of information, such as gene and protein sequences and macromolecular structures.
PubMed Central
Provider: National Library of Medicine
Contents: Full text
Descriptions: Digital archive of life sciences journal literature at the US National Institutes of Health (NIH). With PubMed Central, NLM is taking the lead in preserving and maintaining unrestricted access to the electronic literature, just as it has done for decades with the printed biomedical literature. PubMed Central aims to fill the role of a world class library in the digital age. It is not a journal publisher. NLM believes that giving all users free and unrestricted access to the material in PubMed Central is the best way to ensure the durability and utility of the archive as technology changes over time.
PubMed link for Remote Access Users
Provider: National Library of Medicine
Contents: Indexing and abstracts, with links to full text
Descriptions: This link will enable you to access full-text articles from a PubMed search when you are using your remote access login.
Radiation Event Medical Management (REMM)
Provider: National Library of Medicine/DHHS
Contents: Full text
Descriptions: REMM provides detailed information and government documents on the types of devices via which radiation might be deliberately inflicted, the isotopes that might be used and their properties, and on-site initial response guidelines. Graphically-presented management algorithms and subsequent treatment guidelines for health care providers are included, with links to the full text of referenced articles and documents.
RefWorks
Provider: RefWorks
Contents: Bibliographic and citation management tool
Descriptions: RefWorks is a web-based bibliographic management tool that enables users to organize and create a personal database online, format bibliographies and manuscripts, and import references from a variety of databases using the already created Import Filters. RefWorks has incorporated a RSS feed reader so users can establish links to RSS feeds and import data from those feeds directly. RefWorks automatically creates author, descriptor and periodical indexes when importing. RefWorks is a web-based tool; authorized users may access the program from anywhere at any time. It can also be used across multiple platforms, including Windows, Mac, and Unix.
Regional Business News
Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
Contents: Full text/indexing and abstracts
Descriptions: Full text of 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
Religion and Philosophy Collection
Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
Contents: Full text/indexing and abstracts
Descriptions: Covers world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy; contains more than 300 full text journals, including more than 250 peer-reviewed titles. In addition to the full text, indexing and abstracts are provided for all journals in the database. Journals include: Archaeology, Biblical Interpretation, British Journal for the History of Philosophy, Catholic Historical Review, Christianity Today, Comparative Sociology, Ethics, Greek Orthodox Theological Review, Islamic Law & Society, Journal of Jewish Thought & Philosophy, Metaphilosophy, Method & Theory in the Study of Religion, Philosophical Perspectives, and Religion & Theology
Salud en Espanol
Provider: EBSCO
Contents: Full text articles
Descriptions: Provides an interface designed for the consumer of Spanish-language health care information, with convenient access to the same health and medical information found in the Consumer Health Complete database.
Science and Technology Collection
Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
Contents: Full text/indexing and abstracts
Descriptions: Contains over 800 full text journals covering aeronautics, astrophysics, biology, chemistry, computer technology, geology, aviation, physics, archaeology, marine sciences and materials science. Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 1,700 publications. Journals include: Advances in Physics,
American Scientist, Archaeoastronomy, Astronomy & Geophysics, Civil Engineering, Engineering Management Journal, International Journal of Computational Engineering Science, Journal of Aerospace Engineering, Journal of Architectural Engineering, Journal of Applied Microbiology, Journal of Mathematical Logic, Journal of Theoretical & Computational Chemistry, Molecular Physics, Plant Biotechnology Journal, Quarterly Review of Biology, Space Communications, and Spatial Vision
Science Citation Index (via Web of Science)
Provider: Thomson
Contents: Full text/indexing and abstracts
Descriptions: Multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the sciences; indexes 5,900 journals across 150 scientific disciplines and includes all cited references captured from indexed articles. Provides access to current information and retrospective data from 1900 to the present. Contains searchable, full-length, English-language author abstracts for approximately 70% of the articles in the index, as well as links to full text. Disciplines covered include: agriculture, astronomy, biochemistry, giology, biotechnology, chemistry, computer science, materials science, mathematics, medicine, neuroscience, oncology, pediatrics, pharmacology, physics, plant sciences, psychiatry, surgery, veterinary science, and zoology.
Science of Synthesis
Provider: Thieme
Contents: Science of Synthesis Version 3.3 (release date: March 2007)
Science of Synthesis currently contains 28 volumes, covering the fields of Organometallics; Hetarenes; and Compounds with various Carbon—Heteroatom Bonds.The 48 volumes of Science of Synthesis provide chemists with reliable methods to solve their synthesis problems. Science of Synthesis is updated on a regular basis.
Descriptions: Full text electronic book
ScienceDirect
Provider: Elsevier
Contents: Full text/indexing and abstracts
Descriptions: Search gateway to all Elsevier journals; the journals to which the Library subscribes are marked with a green icon.
SciFinder Scholar
Provider: Chemical Abstracts Service
Contents: Full text/indexing and abstracts
Descriptions: Provides references to organic and inorganic substance information from over 9,500 currently published journals and patent information from active patent issuing authorities; covers chemistry and the life sciences including biochemistry, biology, pharmacology, medicine, and related disciplines
Scitopia
Provider: Scitopia.org
Contents: Federated search portal
Descriptions: Scitopia provides free federated search across the literature of 15 science and technology societies' publications. Search results are also drawn from U.S., European and Japanese patent databases and the U.S. Department of Energy's Information Bridge site. Among the disciplines covered are: acoustics, physics, geophysics, engineering, optics and applied mathematics.
Scopus
Provider: Elsevier
Contents: Indexing and abstracts with links to full text
Descriptions: Contains 28 million records from 14,000 publications in the health sciences (including 100% of the journals contained in Medline and EmBase), chemistry, physics, mathematics, engineering, biology, agriculture, and environmental Sciences; also covers the proceedings from 750 conferences. Linking to
the full text of articles from journals owned by the HAM-TMC Library is available by clicking on the HAM-TMC Library Find It! button that appears in Scopus search results. In addition, beginning with 1996 literature, Scopus records contain cited references. References generally link to their corresponding
Scopus database records and display the HAM-TMC Library Find It! button for linking to the complete articles, when available.
Scribner Writers Series
Provider: Thomson Gale -- TexShare
Contents: Full text
Descriptions: Provides 15-20 page signed essays on more than 1,600 authors and literary genres, from ancient to modern; includes in-depth search tool and a research ideas section